Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

No More Heroes: Desperate Struggle

The best Travis comeback since The Boy With No Name

When the legendary creator of No More Heroes, Suda 51, revealed that the sequel to No More Heroes would be called Desperate Struggle we had the feeling that he was making a DS game and using the old 'DS subtitle' trick. You know, as in Advance Wars: Dual Strike, Resident Evil: Deadly Silence and Mr Driller: Drill Spirits. It turns out that was just a coincidence - Desperate Struggle is very much a Wii game and it's on course for a release early next year.

Killer Heaven

In case you're not up to date, the original No More Heroes followed the story of Travis Touchdown, a wrestling geek who buys a beam katana (basically a fancy lightsaber) online and, after a chance meeting with a mysterious woman called Sylvia, finds himself caught up in the rankings system of the United Assassins Association. Starting at number 11, he has to fight his way to the top by killing all the other assassins on the list. If you've never played the game we really recommend it. It's stylish, action-packed stuff, with lashings of Suda's trademark madness.

Click to view larger image
Anyway, that was the first game. What's going on in No More Heroes 2? Well, Desperate Struggle takes place a few years later. The town of Santa Destroy, which used to be completely rundown, has now been renovated and turned into a tourist hotspot. More importantly though, Travis has been thrown out of the United Assassins Association since the last game, and as a result he's slipped right down the assassin rankings all the way to number 51 (a sneaky reference to Suda 51? Probably).

Sylvia finds Travis and urges him to fight his way back to the top of the charts. As if that wasn't enough, Travis finds out that his friend Bishop (the owner of the Beef Head video store from the first game) is in trouble and it's up to Travis to help him out. In short, the plot's really just an excuse for Travis to get stuck into hordes of goons again and swing his beam katana for all he's worth. And when we say "beam katana" we mean it in both the singular and plural sense, because this time Travis is able to dual-wield two katana for double the death-dealing delight.

Desperate Struggle will feature a host of all-new characters and enemies, including Nathan Copeland, a Jamaican assassin who's armed with a transforming beatbox and who thinks nothing of grabbing his bikini-clad lady friends and chucking them in Travis' direction.

A lot's been promised for No More Heroes 2. More katana attacks, more wrestling moves, a much busier town (the last one felt rather empty) and hopefully more lawnmowing too. And if the original was a little gore-lite for your tastes, a UK release of a full uncut version of the game has been mooted. Travis is one of the most inspired creations of recent years and we couldn't be happier to have him back.

Comments

16 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. 4 8 15 16 23 42 Thursday 30th Jul 2009 at 19:40

    Looking amazing

  2. Linkattack Thursday 30th Jul 2009 at 21:27

    I wonder how big Travis' wardrobe is gonna be...

  3. FortWilliamLoyal Friday 31st Jul 2009 at 00:31

    Motion Plus?

  4. lminett Friday 31st Jul 2009 at 09:17

    i want this game, the first was amazing this looks even better!

  5. linktothefuture Friday 31st Jul 2009 at 09:32

    Read this in the mag but I can't wait to see if he is going to use motion plus, the wii board was neglected and I have a feeling the motion plus wont be.

  6. TyrDragon Friday 31st Jul 2009 at 16:25

    looks awesome and yay for gore!

    i hope it uses motion plus D=

  7. darkandy666 Friday 31st Jul 2009 at 19:19

    can't wait stil havn't finished the 1st one yet still sits on my game rack should get on to that

  8. foxmcloud555 Friday 31st Jul 2009 at 22:04

    it's not a problem to me because i love the wii but i'm a bit doubtfull about how well they will handle making a much busier santa destroy. remember it's not just about how many people are on screen at once, despite what certain games tell you (im looking at you, dynasty warriors).

    i hope they manage it, because it would make a great game even better.

  9. pengin2008 Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 15:44

    They can't add multiplayer because of the time limit they're under.

  10. cpt man Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 17:10

    in the first one i never died until i faught destroy man and after that every asasain i faught i died and eventualy i decidid to buy cloths and upgrades and then i didnt have enough to battle in the rank matchs so i just stop playing the game hopefuly it wont end up the same way where im stuck in a lope of buy cloths and save money buy videos lose money save up money ect ect

  11. cpt man Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 17:11

    in the first one i never died until i faught destroy man and after that every asasain i faught i died and eventualy i decidid to buy cloths and upgrades and then i didnt have enough to battle in the rank matchs so i just stop playing the game hopefuly it wont end up the same way where im stuck in a lope of buy cloths and save money buy videos lose money save up money ect ect

  12. cpt man Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 17:11

    in the first one i never died until i faught destroy man and after that every asasain i faught i died and eventualy i decidid to buy cloths and upgrades and then i didnt have enough to battle in the rank matchs so i just stop playing the game hopefuly it wont end up the same way where im stuck in a lope of buy cloths and save money buy videos lose money save up money ect ect

  13. cpt man Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 17:11

    in the first one i never died until i faught destroy man and after that every asasain i faught i died and eventualy i decidid to buy cloths and upgrades and then i didnt have enough to battle in the rank matchs so i just stop playing the game hopefuly it wont end up the same way where im stuck in a lope of buy cloths and save money buy videos lose money save up money ect ect

  14. cpt man Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 17:11

    in the first one i never died until i faught destroy man and after that every asasain i faught i died and eventualy i decidid to buy cloths and upgrades and then i didnt have enough to battle in the rank matchs so i just stop playing the game hopefuly it wont end up the same way where im stuck in a lope of buy cloths and save money buy videos lose money save up money ect ect

  15. pengin2008 Saturday 1st Aug 2009 at 18:46

    I didn't die once on No More Heroes, but once on the final boss, I didn't know about dodging either, so without dodging, I dies once, after finding out about dodging I still haven't died.

  16. Callumg789 Friday 16th Oct 2009 at 11:44

    The first one was amazing so this one should be even better:P

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.