Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Mario Vs Donkey Kong 3: Minis March Again! Review

It's another Mini adventure

Put your hand up if you bought either the original Mario Vs Donkey Kong game on the GBA, or its DS sequel March Of The Minis. Unfortunately, if you put your hand up you're probably in fairly small company. Both of these cracking puzzle platformers weren't exactly best sellers and as a result we feared the series might be at an end. Thankfully, Nintendo has decided to bring the third game, Minis March Again, to DSiWare.

Don't be under the illusion that because this is a DSiWare game you're not going to get as much value for your money. Minis March Again is just as big as its cartridge-based predecessors, with as many levels to choose from and even more features than before.

Click to view larger image
Although the size of the game doesn't differ from March Of The Minis, the gameplay does. In case you're not familiar with the series, the aim is to get small clockwork Mario toys to an exit by making sure they avoid obstacles along the way. It's a little bit like Lemmings.

Lose Control

In March Of The Minis, players had a lot of control over the Minis - you could tap them to make them stop walking or swipe the stylus across them to make them change direction. This time, once they get going, they're pretty much out of your control and will continue to walk in whatever direction they're facing until they either reach the exit or are destroyed by an enemy or obstacle.

This makes Minis March Again the hardest game in the series by far as it requires you to properly think each level through before you attempt it. It's a nice challenge and it should take you a while to finish all of the game's levels, not to mention unlocking the bonus ones by collecting letters on each stage. However, it also means the game can get really stressful in the latter stages!

But what happens when you've finished the game? Do you just delete it from your DSi and never look at it again? Nope. The game has a level editor which lets you create your own stages and, crucially, upload them to Nintendo's servers. Mario Vs DK: March Of The Minis game only let you send stages to another friend using their friend code, so the fact they're now being uploaded to Nintendo servers means anyone can download your levels and, obviously, you can download stages made by others. Essentially, this means the game is virtually endless.

With the ArtStyle games, DSiWare certainly isn't without its fair share of puzzlers. However, Minis March Again is a fantastic addition to the service and a must-have game for anyone looking to have their mind melted by some tricky action-based puzzles.

Comments

23 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Luigibro606 Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 08:05

    I have the GBA one and the DS one. But I can't complete the GBA one. Im on the last world though... But the DS's construction zone is addictive to me ill sit there on a chair or sofa (preferably the great new sofa) and ill build for hours then put it back for tommorow. Even my grandma likes playing number two...


    MY FIRST FIRST POST!

  2. Pluck It Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 08:59

    I'm downloading this right now. Haters of DSiWare need to up their game if they're going to get their way.

  3. ploiper Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 10:08

    i think this is a great game, ive got the previous two games and love em so this was always going to be a guranteed purchase for me.

  4. FriarLawrenceIII Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 11:01

    I'm downloading this right now. Haters of DSiWare need to up their game if they're going to get their way.

    The haters of DSiware are generally people who hate puzzle games, which i beleive this is.

    I won't be getting this, as i grow bored of puzzle games, and disslike 2D platformers.

  5. niallswand Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 11:28

    This is a great game. And for around 6-8 is a bargain!!

  6. Otis P Jivefunk Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 11:44

    I've got the DS one, it's a great game. I don't have a DSI though so I'm unable to get this, shame...

  7. Luigibro606 Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 14:33

    I've got the DS one, it's a great game. I don't have a DSI though so I'm unable to get this, shame...


    I woulden't disagree. The DS one is great.

  8. Chocoeater Saturday 22nd Aug 2009 at 18:58

    Got this today and it's brilliant! I only played about two minutes of the DS version, so I don't know whether the game is better/worse than the prequels, but I'm definitely enjoying it. It's extremely simple to get into playing, and while it requires thought in the later levels which become challenging especially if you want the gold stars, it's the kind of puzzler that you can sit back and enjoy. The graphics are superb too! :D

  9. SoulSilver IV Sunday 23rd Aug 2009 at 00:00

    Well I downloaded this, and it's fair to say that Nintendo have delivered a spot-on game for DSiWare.

    Chris, you say it has just as many levels, but I'm sure it has less. :|

  10. ploiper Sunday 23rd Aug 2009 at 11:29

    this has no where near as many levels as the gba and ds version has. still grand though and hopefuly another one will be made.

  11. LEGEND MARIOID Sunday 23rd Aug 2009 at 11:56

    Yes but you can download a multitude of extra levels from online....one of the main attractions of this game.

    This game deserves a Gold Award if games like Driift and Kubos have recieved Gold Awards. The latter two are great games but, overall, this game is better.

    The only v.slight let down is that the bosses are the same as Mario v DK2. Driift is far more "frustrating" than this game. That game got 90%!

  12. LEGEND MARIOID Sunday 23rd Aug 2009 at 12:08

    I'm downloading this right now. Haters of DSiWare need to up their game if they're going to get their way.

    The haters of DSiware are generally people who hate puzzle games, which i beleive this is.

    I won't be getting this, as i grow bored of puzzle games, and disslike 2D platformers.

    Asphalt 4? Pop Plus Solo?

    There were once "too many puzzle games" proportionally on wiiware, that has changed over the last few months. DSiware will get there.

  13. TyrDragon Sunday 23rd Aug 2009 at 21:59

    I disliked the DS version when i had it (traded in long ago) i still played through it but it really wasnt my thing, i used to like puzzlers but lothe them now so DSiWare doesnt really offer much for me that i can be bothered buying points for.

    :D

  14. Sabrewulf Monday 24th Aug 2009 at 13:35

    94% - This should be a Gold Award, just brilliant and for the price amazing!

  15. Pannett Thursday 27th Aug 2009 at 17:36

    great games played it completed the normal levels and now on the +levels its highly addictive :lol:

  16. yubel Sunday 30th Aug 2009 at 10:09

    Well ive got to say theres a surprising amount of content here for just a download and ive completed it.
    I agree its as fustrating as onm say but its worth it in the end plsu the level editor tools and unlockables for use in this area is great fun.

  17. Double M Monday 31st Aug 2009 at 18:04

    Wow there is a lot of content :shock: I havn't
    even unlocked all the levels and I got this the day it came out.

  18. carnivine chaos Monday 14th Sep 2009 at 20:09

    Took me about 4 days to beat every level with gold star. I nearly did the same with the 2nd game, so, I was already pretty pro at this. ;P

  19. zelda08 Sunday 11th Oct 2009 at 11:16

    I bought this yesterday and its awsome!

  20. Nintendo Boy Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 00:34

    This game is very long, and i enjoy playing it as much as the other 2 titles. :)

  21. Ai64 Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 16:57

    I downloaded this yesterday.Virtualy endless. There's so much charm and replay value in this game. Anyway, PM to exchange friend codes for this game.

  22. Toad Rules Sunday 31st Jan 2010 at 20:35

    I downloaded this game, really good game also can be really really annoying wen i can't get a level, but im really enjoying the game.

  23. BlueSoup8 Friday 19th Mar 2010 at 16:02

    I've got the DS one, it's a great game. I don't have a DSI though so I'm unable to get this, shame...


    It's a great game, one of the best I've downlaoded so far I reckon. It'll keep you glued to your sofa/chair/whatever for hours!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.