Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Guitar Hero 5 Review

(One, two, three, four) five'll make ya get down now

When it comes to Guitar Hero sequels, it's generally a case of 'evolution, not revolution'. Every entry in the series has slight improvements over its predecessor which are always enough to make it the best version yet but never enough to make the others seem out of date by comparison. Stick on the original PS2 Guitar Hero and you'll see what we mean - it's not drastically different. The key question, therefore, is simple: does Guitar Hero 5 continue this tradition? Yes, it does.

This fifth incarnation of the series (or 11th, if you want to count spin-offs) features a set list of 85 songs, performed by 83 different artists. The only artists with more than one song are Nirvana and Tom Petty (who have two each), and the selection is more varied than it has ever been before. While the main meat of the content still consists of the sort of classic and modern rock you'd associate with Guitar Hero, there are some interesting additions that freshen things up a bit. Feel Good Inc by Gorillaz, for example, is surprisingly satisfying to play, whereas Coldplay's In My Place is perfect for slowing things down a bit. Then you've got some funk in the shape of Stevie Wonder's Superstition and there's also some country courtesy of the legendary Johnny Cash.

Click to view larger image

Special Guests

Speaking of Cash, Guitar Hero 5 once again continues the series' tradition of having real guest musicians in the game and the Man In Black himself is one of them (and has been expertly motion-captured by a Johnny Cash impersonator, we might add). As well as Cash, there are also appearances by Matt Bellamy from Muse, Shirley Manson from Garbage, Carlos Santana and (surprisingly) Kurt Cobain. No doubt many Nirvana fans will moan about the 'outrage' of Kurt's likeness being used for commercial gain, but we think it's a great way to honour the man.

All five artists look spot on and, in a nice touch, they become unlockable and playable in any game mode from the moment you first see them in Career mode. There's no need to save up crazy amounts of in-game cash to buy them. Indeed, the whole money aspect has been pretty much dropped from the game, with the stars you earn from playing songs and completing bonus challenges determining when you unlock new outfits and the like.

These bonus challenges are different for each song, and require you to perform certain tasks to earn more stars. This could involve getting a long note streak on drums, building the star meter up to a certain level or getting a full band multiplier for as long as possible. The challenges are worth up to three stars (depending on how well you do), meaning each song is worth up to nine stars - five for the song, three for the challenge and one if you hit 100% of the notes.

Click to view larger image
This is a great way to balance things. More casual gamers can just get the bare minimum number of stars needed to unlock the next venue and continue their career, whereas experienced Guitar Hero veterans can try to get nine stars for every song.

The career mode is also much more flexible now when it comes to multiplayer options. There's no solo career and band career here, it's just a career, plain and simple. Players can then join in or leave throughout the course of the career without you having to start all over again with a new band. We also like the added ability to play as your Miis in any mode, including career, since it gives a nice splash of personality to your band.

We Could Be Heroes

Indeed, it's the multiplayer modes in general that have been most improved in Guitar Hero 5. The ability to create your own long setlist and have players just jump in and jump out whenever they feel like it, changing difficulty levels and even instruments on the fly without even having to pause the song, is a lovely new addition, as is the fact that players now aren't limited to the standard 'one guitar, one bass, one drummer, one singer' format. Want to rock out with three guitarists and a bass player? Done. How about two drummers and a guitarist? No problem. Four singers? What are you, The Beach Boys?

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

58 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. phil44 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 15:11

    Can someone confirm if you can have a full band on 4 different wii's or is it still that only 2 wii's can connect to each other online as the case with WT as this is the one thing that spoiled it, and also are wii owners still getting short changed with dlc on gh 5 i.e not getting all the same dlc as 360/ps3?

  2. Gothic_Geek Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 16:52

    Never been a guitar hero fan but glad this one turned out good :)

    and loving the grapes simile! 8)

  3. adamwalker222 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 17:06

    Gotta say. Looking at the screenshots, not much has changed. But, as always I'll play a selection of songs, and fall for it all over again. Loving how awesome Santana looks in that screenshot.

  4. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 17:08

    I have to say I'm quite tempted...

  5. TheAPERSON Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 17:42

    GH5 gets a higher score than Beatles. A lot of people are going to be angry with you ONM.

  6. adam2611 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 17:43

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

  7. markdean2012 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:06

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    just because it has more stuff in it doesn't make it better and also just because you don't like the set list doesn't mean everyone else hates it.

  8. Dark Lucario Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:13

    Being able to play as Miis in any mode now is fantastic, rather than jusat using them in that rubbish Mii Freestyle mode. And this game has 2 Minutes To Midnight by Iron Maiden which is AWESOME! The only things I want to see in the next GH is Fear Of The Dark/Hallowed Be Thy Name by Iron Maiden and/or (Preferably and) Would You Love A Monsterman/Hard Rock Hallelujah by Lordi. :)

  9. deadpool4 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:20

    GH5 gets a higher score than Beatles. A lot of people are going to be angry with you ONM.

    I am for one; *shakes fist angrily*

  10. Ben707 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:22

    Do not fund Activision to make this s**t anymore, its pop and the franchise is ruined. 92% Is an absoulute outrage for the same game as last year.

  11. swearingmonster Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:38

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    just because it has more stuff in it doesn't make it better and also just because you don't like the set list doesn't mean everyone else hates it.

    I must agree with markdean. Personally I have always preferred guitar hero to rock band. here is my theory

    Original = Best

    its like coke and pepsi, or spiderman or batman.
    I think i will always prefer guitar hero over rock band because of its original-ness :D

  12. nintendo_guy Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:38

    :oops: If by the 'same old Guitar Hero,' you mean same AWESOME Guitar Hero.

  13. cyborgsatan Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:40

    92%? with that horrid setlist, i think not
    now come on, its varied, fair enough if it had songs that were actually well known
    Most bands on there are modern and i've never heard of them before, and i listen to a hell of a lot of music
    The metal side of things is terrible
    Iron Maiden, but chose the wrong song
    Megadeth, but chose the wrong song (sweating bullets? come on, tons more better songs)
    Children of Bodom, but chose a dodgy song
    Darkest Hour......who????

    its lame, this is basically Guitar Hero: Indie Rock

  14. Spiky Idiot Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 18:44

    And this game has 2 Minutes To Midnight by Iron Maiden which is AWESOME!

    Yeah but they censored the lyrics which was pointless.

  15. markdean2012 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 19:18

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    just because it has more stuff in it doesn't make it better and also just because you don't like the set list doesn't mean everyone else hates it.

    I must agree with markdean. Personally I have always preferred guitar hero to rock band. here is my theory

    Original = Best

    its like coke and pepsi, or spiderman or batman.
    I think i will always prefer guitar hero over rock band because of its original-ness :D

    thanks for backing me, but spiderman and batman are completely different things.

  16. lui_gui Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 19:26

    That was a great review.

    Loved the metaphor for grapes at the end and the way you held it and pulled it off for the last line. Pretty clever!

    As for the actual game, I'm actually glad to see Fix You. Rather epic song!

  17. Oddworld98 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 19:56

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    Actually, ANY Rock Band is better than a Guitar Hero. Why?

    1) Harmonix realised Activison might milk GH to death, and so left to make a more passionate rock game.

    2) Rock Band came up with the whole band mechanic. Guitar Hero only ripped it off.

    3) DLC. Look at the prices for tracks on GH4 and you'll see it's Ł2.59 FOR ONE SONG. RB keeps it sensible with 99p per song.

    4) All Guitar Hero does in each sequel is add some multiplayer modes and a new touch panel. Rock Band makes it more fun.

    If I had to play a GH, I'd play GH2. Best. Guitar. Hero.


    EVAR.

  18. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 20:21

    1) Harmonix realised Activison might milk GH to death, and so left to make a more passionate rock game.


    Not really. Activision bought RedOctane and MTV made a bid for Harmonix so they agreed to the deal.

    3) DLC. Look at the prices for tracks on GH4 and you'll see it's Ł2.59 FOR ONE SONG. RB keeps it sensible with 99p per song.


    Dunno what music store you're using but they're 99p on both games for me. Think you might be looking at song packs, not individual songs.

    4) All Guitar Hero does in each sequel is add some multiplayer modes and a new touch panel. Rock Band makes it more fun.


    Explain. There really wasn't a lot of difference at all between Rock Band 1 and 2.

    Obviously, you're entitled to enjoy Rock Band better than Guitar Hero. But at least make the reasons valid ones. :wink:

  19. benjamin246 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 20:27

    Very tempted :shock:

  20. super_chris Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 20:38

    I'm not falling for this one ONM. Remember last year, when you said GH:WT was a good game? I brought that, complete rubbish.

    I'm not stupid enough to trust you again, so I'll be sticking with Beatles Rock Band. With a setlist of 45 great songs, not 5 good songs.

  21. Ubahquiet Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 20:46

    For me, what ultimately determines the quality of a Guitar Hero game is the setlist, nothing else. I don't care for all the bells and whistles, I want to play the music and feel awesome. Just going over Guitar Hero 5's setlist, I can say that if I were rating it, I'd rate it down the crapper. It may be a massive list, but that means nothing when about 3-5 of the songs are any good.

    Methinks I'll stick with Guitar Heroes 3 & Metallica, maybe pick up Van Halen at some point.

  22. wilfer 11 Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 21:58

    I'm not falling for this one ONM. Remember last year, when you said GH:WT was a good game? I brought that, complete rubbish.

    I'm not stupid enough to trust you again, so I'll be sticking with Beatles Rock Band. With a setlist of 45 great songs, not 5 good songs.


    this

  23. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Sep 2009 at 22:12

    Fail game. Move along people. Nowt to see.

  24. Don_Corleone Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 10:49

    I love the Guitar Hero series, and I'll likely pick this up as soon as it comes out. The setlist isnt the strongest ive seen, but its definatly one of the more diverse, which is a good thing.
    Personally i wish they had of chosen a better Johnny Cash song though. :wink:

  25. cjayp33 Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 11:23

    seems it does not add that much new to the game, so i will stick with world tour.

  26. piccadillio Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 12:13

    So no mention of the DS connectivity that seems to be the best new feature of this version. No mention either of multiplayer without friend codes. Nice one!

    Here's a better review.

    IGN rated the Wii version higher than the other consoles, and that doesn't happen often.

  27. markdean2012 Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 14:30

    So no mention of the DS connectivity that seems to be the best new feature of this version. No mention either of multiplayer without friend codes. Nice one!

    Here's a better review.

    IGN rated the Wii version higher than the other consoles, and that doesn't happen often.

    i hate IGN. (but thats my opinion)

  28. bloodandthunder Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 16:29

    Guitar Hero 5 and Beatles: Rock Band shouldn't be compared. Comparing Beatles: Rock Band with Guitar Hero: Metallica is a much fairer comparison.

    The reviews for this have been good so far, so I think I'll pick this up straight away. I'm not as enamoured with the series as I used to be, but its worth it for Iron Maiden, Kiss, Bodom, Kings of Leon and Eagles of Death Metal alone. OK, maybe not alone, there's a much wider scope to the game than that, but you catch my drift.

  29. SpinachPuffs Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 18:42

    Oh come on ONM - not one mention of the Roadie Battle mode? That sounds like the best bit of all!

    Can't wait for this to arrive tomorrow :)

    (Plus what's with all the complaints about it getting a higher score than the Beatles? It's as though you've all got your hands on this game already!)

  30. adam2611 Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 20:13

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    just because it has more stuff in it doesn't make it better and also just because you don't like the set list doesn't mean everyone else hates it.

    I must agree with markdean. Personally I have always preferred guitar hero to rock band. here is my theory

    Original = Best

    its like coke and pepsi, or spiderman or batman.
    I think i will always prefer guitar hero over rock band because of its original-ness :D

    thanks for backing me, but spiderman and batman are completely different things. yes but harmonix made guitar hero 1 and 2 before moving on to rock band plus i said it was MY opinion, i know a lot of people who will enjoy gh5 and im ok with that.

  31. linktothefuture Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 20:19

    Rock Band was beaten by the best!!!!!!(again)!!!!! :D

  32. linktothefuture Thursday 10th Sep 2009 at 20:30

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    just because it has more stuff in it doesn't make it better and also just because you don't like the set list doesn't mean everyone else hates it.

    I must agree with markdean. Personally I have always preferred guitar hero to rock band. here is my theory

    Original = Best

    its like coke and pepsi, or spiderman or batman.
    I think i will always prefer guitar hero over rock band because of its original-ness :D

    thanks for backing me, but spiderman and batman are completely different things.

    Again I have to agree with Mark, Original=Best

  33. maxmatt Friday 11th Sep 2009 at 06:48

    I just read on Gamecentral that Courtney Love has said on her twitter page that she's going to "sue the ass off of Activision" because she didn't know that it's possible to unlock kurt Cobain to use on any song. I find it hard to believe that Activision didn't tell her that.

  34. sciqueen Friday 11th Sep 2009 at 16:39

    I just read on Gamecentral that Courtney Love has said on her twitter page that she's going to "sue the ass off of Activision" because she didn't know that it's possible to unlock kurt Cobain to use on any song. I find it hard to believe that Activision didn't tell her that.

    Courtney and her lies! I wondered when she was going to say something about the game. If only there was a level where you play as Kurt smacking her with the guitar...

    Also, rating this game better than The Beatles RB is just stupid.

  35. phil44 Friday 11th Sep 2009 at 18:29

    I just read on Gamecentral that Courtney Love has said on her twitter page that she's going to "sue the ass off of Activision" because she didn't know that it's possible to unlock kurt Cobain to use on any song. I find it hard to believe that Activision didn't tell her that.

    Too be honest i CAN beleive that especially with my experience with activision with gh:wt when it was mis-advertised about the online portion of the game. They dont tell u until u open the game that its only possible for 2 wii's to conect online to each other and so they prob didn't tell her and wanted to wait until the game was out.
    Is it still the same with gh5 online is it only 2 wii's that are still only able to connect to each other online meaning u cant have a full band on 4 diffrent consoles??

  36. jct Friday 11th Sep 2009 at 20:21

    Strange, everyone seems to be taking the mick out of ONM for their reviews.

    I think Guitar Hero 5 is probably good, but ONM have sometimes recommended some poor games; Super Mario RPG anyone? How about Sonic Chronicles?

    Now, however, I'm stuck; should I get (on PS3) Rock Band, The Beatles: Rock Band, or Guitar Hero 5? Bear in mind that I'm set on getting the band in a box (PS3) with a guitar and a drum kit, and (I think) a mic.

    Oh, and for no reason at all, I have to say that 'Yesterday' and 'Can't buy me love' are my favourite Beatles songs. :D

  37. linktothefuture Friday 11th Sep 2009 at 21:29

    Strange, everyone seems to be taking the mick out of ONM for their reviews.

    I think Guitar Hero 5 is probably good, but ONM have sometimes recommended some poor games; Super Mario RPG anyone? How about Sonic Chronicles?

    Now, however, I'm stuck; should I get (on PS3) Rock Band, The Beatles: Rock Band, or Guitar Hero 5? Bear in mind that I'm set on getting the band in a box (PS3) with a guitar and a drum kit, and (I think) a mic.

    Oh, and for no reason at all, I have to say that 'Yesterday' and 'Can't buy me love' are my favourite Beatles songs. :D

    GFor me GH5, but if youlovethe Beatles then go for that. Tbh, I really don't like the Beatles so GH5 was beat it by default.

  38. markdean2012 Friday 11th Sep 2009 at 21:47

    IMO rock band 2 is still the best music game on all systems mainly because i dont like the gh5 setlist and rb2 has loads more dlc than guitar hero

    just because it has more stuff in it doesn't make it better and also just because you don't like the set list doesn't mean everyone else hates it.

    I must agree with markdean. Personally I have always preferred guitar hero to rock band. here is my theory

    Original = Best

    its like coke and pepsi, or spiderman or batman.
    I think i will always prefer guitar hero over rock band because of its original-ness :D

    thanks for backing me, but spiderman and batman are completely different things.

    Again I have to agree with Mark, Original=Best

    thank you for backing me up as well.

  39. sciqueen Saturday 12th Sep 2009 at 09:09

    Strange, everyone seems to be taking the mick out of ONM for their reviews.

    I think Guitar Hero 5 is probably good, but ONM have sometimes recommended some poor games; Super Mario RPG anyone? How about Sonic Chronicles?

    I was thinking of buying Super Mario RPG. Is it really a poor game? :(

  40. Pluck It Saturday 12th Sep 2009 at 12:14

    I love the Guitar Hero series, and I'll likely pick this up as soon as it comes out. The setlist isnt the strongest ive seen, but its definatly one of the more diverse, which is a good thing.
    Personally i wish they had of chosen a better Johnny Cash song though. :wink:


    Couldn't have said it better myself. Nearly every rock legend has their chance to shine here.

  41. markdean2012 Saturday 12th Sep 2009 at 12:29

    Strange, everyone seems to be taking the mick out of ONM for their reviews.

    I think Guitar Hero 5 is probably good, but ONM have sometimes recommended some poor games; Super Mario RPG anyone? How about Sonic Chronicles?

    I was thinking of buying Super Mario RPG. Is it really a poor game? :(

    no it isn't a poor game and me and onm aren't the only ones who think so.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_mario_rpg#Reception

  42. luigihewson12 Saturday 12th Sep 2009 at 15:25

    does any 1 no if you can get drums for GH5?

  43. lol364 Sunday 13th Sep 2009 at 09:52

    we should have jack black as a geust tenacious d are AWESOME!!!

  44. jct Monday 14th Sep 2009 at 17:08

    Strange, everyone seems to be taking the mick out of ONM for their reviews.

    I think Guitar Hero 5 is probably good, but ONM have sometimes recommended some poor games; Super Mario RPG anyone? How about Sonic Chronicles?

    I was thinking of buying Super Mario RPG. Is it really a poor game? :(

    no it isn't a poor game and me and onm aren't the only ones who think so.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_mario_rpg#Reception

    Yeah, I know everyone likes it. I;m entitled to MY OWN OPINION. I just found it had too harsh a learning curve, and the script wasn;t exactly funny... in fact I count just 3 funny parts of it. I might not have played much of it, but the overall quality (or lack thereof) made me want to stop plkaying.

  45. nintendo1423 Tuesday 15th Sep 2009 at 07:21

    I WOULD SO BY THIS :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

  46. markdean2012 Tuesday 15th Sep 2009 at 18:21

    Strange, everyone seems to be taking the mick out of ONM for their reviews.

    I think Guitar Hero 5 is probably good, but ONM have sometimes recommended some poor games; Super Mario RPG anyone? How about Sonic Chronicles?

    I was thinking of buying Super Mario RPG. Is it really a poor game? :(

    no it isn't a poor game and me and onm aren't the only ones who think so.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Super_mario_rpg#Reception

    Yeah, I know everyone likes it. I;m entitled to MY OWN OPINION. I just found it had too harsh a learning curve, and the script wasn;t exactly funny... in fact I count just 3 funny parts of it. I might not have played much of it, but the overall quality (or lack thereof) made me want to stop plkaying.

    i know you are entitled to your opinion, and i know everyone has a different sense of humour, i found it brilliant and funny, it gets better as it goes on so do try and play it all.

  47. SteveMega Tuesday 15th Sep 2009 at 22:28

    Rock Band was beaten by the best!!!!!!(again)!!!!! :D


    Are you a complete f**king retard or is it an act for some kind of game show?

    GH as it is now is NOT the original GH.

    If you want the original GH, look to GH1 and 2, then RB1, 2 and Beatles. They're original GH. All made by HARMONIX!

    Neversoft brought in their s**tty ways and ruined the series after GH2. This 'original' GH you praise is nothing but a terrible shadow of the real music game.

    Play some f**king Rock Band you t**t. It's infinitely better. Every RB game is SO much better than every GH game III onwards.

    You've made me so f**king angry I might just punch somebody.

  48. markdean2012 Wednesday 16th Sep 2009 at 13:52

    Rock Band was beaten by the best!!!!!!(again)!!!!! :D


    Are you a complete f**king retard or is it an act for some kind of game show?

    GH as it is now is NOT the original GH.

    If you want the original GH, look to GH1 and 2, then RB1, 2 and Beatles. They're original GH. All made by HARMONIX!

    Neversoft brought in their s**tty ways and ruined the series after GH2. This 'original' GH you praise is nothing but a terrible shadow of the real music game.

    Play some f**king Rock Band you t**t. It's infinitely better. Every RB game is SO much better than every GH game III onwards.

    You've made me so f**king angry I might just punch somebody.

    stop swearing!
    just because you like rock band better than GH doesn't mean its better than GH for everyone else thats just your opinion.
    and there was no need to swear at him he was just voicing his opinion!
    which game is better is down to personal preference, you like rock band better than GH which is fine other people are aloud to think otherwise we live in a free country, you know.
    me? i prefer GH to RB, but you don't see me swearing at you for having a different opinion.

  49. SteveMega Wednesday 16th Sep 2009 at 14:34

    He can like what he wants. He's just an idiot for thinking of GH as the 'original' anything.

  50. kiba-fang-over Thursday 17th Sep 2009 at 16:14

    I really want this game, it looks great Matt Bellamy playing Muse-plug in baby, this game is a win :D

  51. MetallicA-knight Thursday 17th Sep 2009 at 17:41

    92% Is an absoulute outrage for the same game as last year.


    You could say that about *Insert sport here with a year tacked on the end* (Eg Fifa 08, Fifa 09, Fifa 10 etc)

    Any Guitar Hero with Cobain is worth a buy... I want a GH Foo Fighters! Or a GH System of a Down!

  52. SteveMega Thursday 17th Sep 2009 at 18:01

    Any Guitar Hero with Cobain is worth a buy


    AHAHHAHAHHAHHAHAHA! Oh dear lord...

    ... I want a GH Foo Fighters! Or a GH System of a Down!


    RB2 has about 17 or so (give or take) Foo songs, and about four SOAD ones. That's more than enough. Those bands are great but not worthy of their own games. Not by a long shot.

  53. ChrisONM Sunday 20th Sep 2009 at 09:16

    Any Guitar Hero with Cobain is worth a buy


    AHAHHAHAHHAHHAHAHA! Oh dear lord...

    ... I want a GH Foo Fighters! Or a GH System of a Down!


    RB2 has about 17 or so (give or take) Foo songs, and about four SOAD ones. That's more than enough. Those bands are great but not worthy of their own games. Not by a long shot.


    In your opinion. I'd like a Guitar Hero Foo Fighters, actually.

    Anyway, if you don't pack in the swearing I'm going to suspend you. This has been going on for far too long.

  54. SteveMega Monday 21st Sep 2009 at 16:15

    In your opinion. I'd like a Guitar Hero Foo Fighters, actually.


    But again, RB2's library has more than enough in the way of Foo Fighters and other Grohl material.

  55. markdean2012 Wednesday 23rd Sep 2009 at 13:19

    In your opinion. I'd like a Guitar Hero Foo Fighters, actually.


    But again, RB2's library has more than enough in the way of Foo Fighters and other Grohl material.

    *facepalm*
    i'm facing palming you because you said that neversoft now makes the GH games and that makes them crap, well neversoft do make the GH on the other consoles, but the wii version of GH5 (and GH:WT) was made by Vicarious Visions, so there. :P

    you can still call it crap for being made by VV, i was just pointing out that neversoft doesn't make the wii version.

    i wasn't facepalming your foo fighters comment just to be clear.

  56. SteveMega Wednesday 23rd Sep 2009 at 21:10

    In your opinion. I'd like a Guitar Hero Foo Fighters, actually.


    But again, RB2's library has more than enough in the way of Foo Fighters and other Grohl material.

    *facepalm*
    i'm facing palming you because you said that neversoft now makes the GH games and that makes them crap, well neversoft do make the GH on the other consoles, but the wii version of GH5 (and GH:WT) was made by Vicarious Visions, so there. :P

    you can still call it crap for being made by VV, i was just pointing out that neversoft doesn't make the wii version.

    i wasn't facepalming your foo fighters comment just to be clear.


    Cool...?

    I prefer not to acknowledge the Wii as existant. I'm talking about the proper versions in this thread. Sorry.

  57. markdean2012 Tuesday 29th Sep 2009 at 14:53

    In your opinion. I'd like a Guitar Hero Foo Fighters, actually.


    But again, RB2's library has more than enough in the way of Foo Fighters and other Grohl material.

    *facepalm*
    i'm facing palming you because you said that neversoft now makes the GH games and that makes them crap, well neversoft do make the GH on the other consoles, but the wii version of GH5 (and GH:WT) was made by Vicarious Visions, so there. :P

    you can still call it crap for being made by VV, i was just pointing out that neversoft doesn't make the wii version.

    i wasn't facepalming your foo fighters comment just to be clear.


    Cool...?

    I prefer not to acknowledge the Wii as existant. I'm talking about the proper versions in this thread. Sorry.

    but this thread is about the wii version of GH5
    anyway the wii version is a proper version as it has all the stuff in it of the other version and more stuff the other versions don't have, IGN rated the wii version higher than the other and that doesn't happen very often, so you can't say its not a proper version.

  58. mr FBE Tuesday 29th Sep 2009 at 17:51

    for those of you who watched the trailers and thought this one looked good, prepare to have your hopes dashed. it looks bloody awful. matt bellamy looks like a reject from shaun of the dead. i mean what was the point in putting him in if you didn't motion capture properly or get the likeness right?

    oh and the guitar controller that came with thte game doesn't work right. im sorry but you can't hit bum notes before actually playing the thing. i still use my WT controller.

    disapointing. even the inclusion of dire straits can't soften the blow

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.