Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

WWE SmackDown Vs Raw 2010 Review

Laying the smack in a downward direction once again

Well, it took a while, but the WWE Smackdown Vs Raw series on the Wii is now more or less as fully-featured as its HD counterparts on other systems. The 2008 version was an atrociously cut-down version of the game that was an embarrassment to the Wii. The 2009 instalment was much-improved but was still missing a few fun features (like create-a-finisher) and still had annoying, tacked-on motion controls. Third time's the charm however and this time developer Yuke's has managed to cram almost everything found on the 360 and PS3 versions of the game into the Wii one, while removing the unnecessary motion controls in the process.

The most enjoyable aspect of SvR 2010 is the sheer amount of customisation available. As ever, you're able to create new superstars entirely from scratch, as well as customising their entrances and their entire moves list. As well as this, for the first time on the Wii you can also create your own finishing move for your wrestler by piecing together different animations, giving a truly unique way of ending each match.

Click to view larger image

A Tale Of Two Suplexes

That's only the beginning though. By far the most impressive new feature in the game is a Create-A-Storyline mode. Here you can make your own WWE plots that take place over a number of weeks, then play through the whole storyline when you're done. This is a surprisingly in-depth editor, allowing you to choose from a huge selection of pre-set animations, choose which characters are involved in each scene, and even type in the text that appears on the screen.

You're not even restricted to the in-game wrestlers either. If you want to create a storyline using characters you've created yourself you can do that too. This literally gives you unlimited storyline possibilities.

The only real downer is that there's no option to send created storylines to friends online or download stories created by others, as that would have given the game unlimited lifespan. As it is, if you want to play anyone else's storyline you'll need to have them create it on your own Wii, which is fine for anyone with a wrestling-mad mate but obviously not ideal.

This is only the new stuff, of course. There's still a whole host of features and gameplay modes returning from last year's game, such as the fantastic Road To Wrestlemania storylines, the lengthy Career mode and a load of different match types. If you're a WWE fan and you've been disappointed at the treatment of wrestling games on the Wii, this is the game you've been waiting for.

Comments

12 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. adam-ell Thursday 22nd Oct 2009 at 19:45

    if this is so impressive why has it scored lower than the winter olympics?
    no mario?

    you critisced for having no online when if i believe correctly winter olympics has no online either

  2. 13th Nightmare Thursday 22nd Oct 2009 at 22:29

    I am a bit of a wrestling fan, and have been waiting for a good wrestling game to grace the Wii. But the fact that this doesn't have online modes is a touch annoying to me. But I might be able to look past it seeing as it got a decent review and gives this game a go

  3. mewthree Friday 23rd Oct 2009 at 00:14

    Considering I never actually used the online in last year's edititon, count me in.

  4. Andy88 Friday 23rd Oct 2009 at 11:13

    if this is so impressive why has it scored lower than the winter olympics?
    no mario?

    you critisced for having no online when if i believe correctly winter olympics has no online either

    You're trying to directly compare a wrestling game with an olympics game? - it can't be done. they're both different kinds of game with their own unique positive and negative aspects

  5. cookey Friday 23rd Oct 2009 at 15:55

    I am a bit of a wrestling fan, and have been waiting for a good wrestling game to grace the Wii. But the fact that this doesn't have online modes is a touch annoying to me. But I might be able to look past it seeing as it got a decent review and gives this game a go

    I've been playing this for a few days now and trust me, even though theres no online its definitely a must buy for wrestling fans! Its so in depth and simply fun to play! IGN have given it a similar review to ONM so that should also clear things up for you.

    The create a storymode is awesome and whilst you may not be able to upload them to a server on the wii version, theres no limit to CAW appearances in the story, whereas there is a limit to 10 appearances in the PS3/XBOX versions!

    I feel that this is the best Ninty wrestling game since the Day of Reckoning series, of which it surpasses!

  6. drakey31 Friday 23rd Oct 2009 at 18:36

    Looks like a good upgrade to the series. With no real contenders to compete with on Wii we will never really know how good wrestling games can get on here. Hope TNA bring out a game on the wii o we can compae how good SvR really is. I still think this deserves higher than what it rrecived

  7. adam-ell Friday 23rd Oct 2009 at 21:24

    if this is so impressive why has it scored lower than the winter olympics?
    no mario?

    you critisced for having no online when if i believe correctly winter olympics has no online either

    You're trying to directly compare a wrestling game with an olympics game? - it can't be done. they're both different kinds of game with their own unique positive and negative aspects

    their both sports games

    dirt 2 n shift are different types of racers but theyre still racing games

  8. Random-Hero Saturday 24th Oct 2009 at 03:37

    if this is so impressive why has it scored lower than the winter olympics?
    no mario?

    you critisced for having no online when if i believe correctly winter olympics has no online either

    You're trying to directly compare a wrestling game with an olympics game? - it can't be done. they're both different kinds of game with their own unique positive and negative aspects

    their both sports games

    dirt 2 n shift are different types of racers but theyre still racing games

    I think the name alone confused your poor brain... No matter how sporty the Mario/Sonic title looks; its a Party game at heart and thats all.

  9. ChrisONM Saturday 24th Oct 2009 at 05:36

    if this is so impressive why has it scored lower than the winter olympics?
    no mario?

    you critisced for having no online when if i believe correctly winter olympics has no online either

    You're trying to directly compare a wrestling game with an olympics game? - it can't be done. they're both different kinds of game with their own unique positive and negative aspects

    their both sports games

    dirt 2 n shift are different types of racers but theyre still racing games


    They're different types of game though mate. Most of the events in Mario and Sonic are over in less than a minute and so it's not really worth the hassle of getting online and connecting to someone in the first place. The Olympics are more about world records, and there's still the ability to upload your times and scores and compare them with the rest of the world that way.

    Smackdown fights can last a while and considering the sport revolves around champions and defending your belt it's perfectly suited for taking on all-comers from around the world. That's why its absence is more sorely missed than it is in Mario & Sonic, not to mention the fact it was in last year's game and isn't now.

  10. GamerKid Saturday 24th Oct 2009 at 14:17

    if this is so impressive why has it scored lower than the winter olympics?
    no mario?

    you critisced for having no online when if i believe correctly winter olympics has no online either

    You're trying to directly compare a wrestling game with an olympics game? - it can't be done. they're both different kinds of game with their own unique positive and negative aspects

    their both sports games

    dirt 2 n shift are different types of racers but theyre still racing games


    They're different types of game though mate. Most of the events in Mario and Sonic are over in less than a minute and so it's not really worth the hassle of getting online and connecting to someone in the first place. The Olympics are more about world records, and there's still the ability to upload your times and scores and compare them with the rest of the world that way.

    Smackdown fights can last a while and considering the sport revolves around champions and defending your belt it's perfectly suited for taking on all-comers from around the world. That's why its absence is more sorely missed than it is in Mario & Sonic, not to mention the fact it was in last year's game and isn't now.

    BIAISED

    you only give masatog higher (the mario sonic game) because it has mario :wink:

  11. xxmatthewxx Sunday 25th Oct 2009 at 10:08

    What were you expecting? It had Mario's face on it so it automatically got 85%+ and don't give that rubbish about Mario Party 8 because that's the only Mario game you've given a fairly average review to in years.

    Back to Smackdown though, you can't beat Smackdown Shut your mouth for PS2. The ability to make up 30 characters with such ridiculous bits of clothing and facial parts is something thats missing these day's. Games take themselves too seriously now.

  12. ChrisONM Sunday 25th Oct 2009 at 10:53

    What were you expecting? It had Mario's face on it so it automatically got 85%+ and don't give that rubbish about Mario Party 8 because that's the only Mario game you've given a fairly average review to in years.


    That's because, in my opinion, it's been the only rubbish Mario game in years.

    If I think a game's fun, I'm not going to give it a low score anyway just to please conspiracy theorists. The fact is that the vast majority of games with Mario in them are actually fun, because Nintendo wants all the games with Mario in them to be of a high quality.

    The ones that aren't so fun are identified as such by us, such as Mario Power Tennis.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.