Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Wii Fit Plus Review

Because you're not thin enough yet...

Wii Fit doesn't get a great deal of love from the Nintendo faithful, nor hardcore gamers in general for that matter. It's not exactly hard to see why either. If you were unfortunate enough to catch the gag-vacuum Funny People at the movies last month you may well have let out a knowing snort when Seth Rogen remarks to Adam Sandler how he sees Wii Fit as a "betrayal".

Whereas once videogames encouraged us to put off that jog around the park in favour of picking up a control pad and working on that bum-shaped groove in the sofa, they're now calling us out for being too doughy and ordering us to get up and shed some pounds. The cheek of it!

Click to view larger image
Well, we went against the grain and actually rather enjoyed it. Sure, it didn't exactly offer much in the way of traditional gaming thrills and spills but it was innovative, fun and, crucially, succeeded in its stated aim of helping us shed a few excess pounds. Clearly a great number of you agreed because since its release back in 2008 it has gone on to sell a staggering 22 million copies, making it the third biggest selling game of all time.

However, a quick glance in the window of your local branch of KFC at the fleshy wildebeest within troughing into their mid-morning bucket o' grease will show that it hasn't been entirely successful at transforming us into a nation of Gok Wans. Never ones to give up, Nintendo are a having a second go at getting us all to slim down with Wii Fit Plus.

Taking It Up A Notch

First things first, this is not a sequel in the traditional sense. It's more of an expansion pack. All of the content from the original game is included, but with a host of new features and exercises added as well, which, for the most part, all help to greatly enhance the Wii Fit experience. Indeed, we'd go as far as to say that they make the original version seem really rather threadbare in comparison.

While we gave Wii Fit a very positive review back in ONM 29, we did have a few problems with it. Our biggest issue was that you couldn't string together a lengthy, customised routine. Instead, you picked an exercise, did it, and then had to cycle through menus again, lowering your heart rate and essentially wrecking your workout.

One of the few things that competitor EA Sports Active did well was remedy that, allowing you to build your own exercise program. Happily, Wii Fit Plus follows suit. You can either create your own routine or follow one of a number of preset workouts that target certain areas of your body. You can perform exercises designed to work on your shoulders and back, your tummy or your hips, for example. There are also routines designed to help you relax, warm up, improve your posture or remedy any recent over-indulgence. All in all, it's a pretty comprehensive system.

Click to view larger image
As you work out, it'll also tell you roughly how many calories you're burning, in the same way as EA Sports Active did. If you're trying to lose weight you'll know just how useful this can be. This calorie counter also proved EA Sports Active's downfall as it highlighted how relatively ineffective the game was at shedding pounds. In our review a while back we explained how that would be easier to forget if the mini-games were entertaining which, frankly, they weren't. Thankfully, this criticism can't be levelled at Wii Fit Plus.

There are 12 brand new mini-games on top of the 18 from the original. Some are better than others of course, but none of them are outright failures and most of them are great fun. Have a look at the panel on the opposite page for a more in-depth run down of how they all stack up, but our favourites were the bonkers Bird's-Eye Bull's-Eye, the Mario-esque Obstacle Course and the infuriatingly addictive Tilt City. On top of that, there are enhanced, hard-as-nails versions of the Table Tilt and Balance Bubble games from the original included too, both of which provide some genius post-pub entertainment, even if they don't really get you working up a sweat.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

39 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. JohnWilliam Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 16:38

    It's out tomorrow!?

  2. nintendo_guy Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 16:45

    Fight that fat!

  3. Icarus_Kid Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 16:48

    gameplay is rubbish but you still gave it a gold award?

  4. Yinga Garten Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:06

    This is proof of a biased magazine and a biased reviewer. I know it's the Official Nintendo Magazine but still, be honest to the public here.

  5. Hotblack Desiato Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:07

    Funny People was a fantastic film, if you acknowledged that it wasn't designed as a comedy.

  6. mint45 Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:08

    It's preety pointless if you already got the first one.

  7. Locarii Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:14

    It's a first party game. Of course it gets a Gold Award =)

  8. snes2 Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:23

    if it was not made by nintendo it would get around 75%

  9. Prince_Ashitaka Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:26

    So all a sequel needs to do to get 90% is tack on a few extra bits and do nothing particularly original?

  10. 91nintendo Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:27

    Oh dear. Can we ever escape this crap?

  11. tgrech Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:35

    I already read this in the magazine, it makes me think twice about buying it when i can get most of it a few days later here.

  12. Pieisgreat Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:54

    Wow.

    That score is an absolute disgrace.

    lrn2notbiased

  13. Comic-Geek-Tom Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 18:00

    I loved Wii Fit, what it aimed to do which was exercise in a fun way it acheived better than i'd hoped. its not necessarily aiming to be an awesome game...its more exercise-y gaming which it does really well.

    if this makes some improvements then i don't see whats wrong with a gold award.

  14. Locarii Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 19:35

    Hrrm, I loved the fact they feature the only comment that has nothing wrong with the score =/ Most first party nintendo games get a gold award. This is stupid because its basically the same game with a few extras. Nothing dynamically new.

  15. Dragonfree97 Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 20:01

    Personally, I don't think ONM are biased at all. I think everybody else is biased because they dislike the Wii and DS because the games are not what you find on other consoles. However, the games are still FUN, and that's what matters, isn't it? You play video games for fun. So you up there ^ can shut up.

    Back on topic, I am going to get Wii Fit Plus. It has all the games from last Wii Fit, and new ones too. Do I have to sell my old Wii Fit and the Wii Balance Board or can I just sell Wii Fit? It seems rather pointless to have both.

  16. Gavin Rozee Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 20:14

    I've had it since Friday. My girlfriend likes the "My Wii Fit Plus" stuff, and I dig the new fun little balance games. Spose I'd agree with the score.

  17. Pieisgreat Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 20:52

    Hrrm, I loved the fact they feature the only comment that has nothing wrong with the score =/ Most first party nintendo games get a gold award. This is stupid because its basically the same game with a few extras. Nothing dynamically new.

    This.

  18. Comic-Geek-Tom Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 21:34

    Hrrm, I loved the fact they feature the only comment that has nothing wrong with the score =/ Most first party nintendo games get a gold award. This is stupid because its basically the same game with a few extras. Nothing dynamically new.


    i think because maybe some don't understand that its only Ł20 & it is called "wii fit plus" which shows its just wii fit with extras - its doing what it says on the tin.

    wii fit had already made great use of the balance board so its going to be hard to suddenly find new things to do with it.

    its also hard to drasticly change elements in the game, you can't exactly reinvent yoga...

    for me it may not be that new creatively but with improvements being made & a lower price than most new games it evens it out so it can still get a good score.

  19. YoshiLimbo Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 21:40

    I loved the orginal Wii Fit, i'd go to the gym and come back to see how much I had lost. I have now lost 4 stone with the aid of Wii Fit and I love it! Wii Fit Plus looks awesome. and people saying ONM are biased are wrong. Any game that wants to help people lose weight in this obese world deserves 100% easy.

  20. crazyturtle1234 Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 23:27

    this was... expected. :roll:

  21. Browny-Lad Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 23:33

    What's the point in buying the mag?

    Is that Mr. Bean???

  22. drakey31 Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 07:39

    What's the point in buying the mag?

    Is that Mr. Bean???

    From Left to right:
    Dunno, THE Chris Scullion, Iron Man, Rowan Atkinson, Charlie Brown

  23. Paper Luigi Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 08:21

    Of course it would get a gold award. >_>

  24. niggo Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 08:33

    OH NINTENDO YOUR CASUAL REHASH GAME TASTES SO GOOD

    Any game that wants to help people lose weight in this obese world deserves 100% easy.

    Haha. No.

    Hrrm, I loved the fact they feature the only comment that has nothing wrong with the score

    I know, right? It's like I'm really living in Nazi Germany!

  25. fight.the.purple Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 09:06

    Given that ONM has slated many games before for being samey samey and nothing changing, I really cannot see how this game deserved this score.
    like

    The realization that ONM is so biased is somewhat a slow creeping realization for me.

    I think yathzee made the best point: Sure wii fit plus is 90% for a wii game not for anyother game. Its the Obama - Bush case, it could punch kiddies in the face and we would love it for not being just as bad as its predecessors

  26. Tommson Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 11:54

    It's Wii Fit Plus, it's aimed at Casual gamers who have played the first one and want an update or haven't got round to buying it yet. It isn't meant to be completely new or original is it.

    Stop moaning and move on, if it's not your type of game. Don't buy it.

  27. DiddyKong_Jr Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 13:40


    From Left to right:
    Dunno, THE Chris Scullion, Iron Man, Rowan Atkinson, Charlie Brown

    It's Albert Einstein, and personally I though second from the left was John Lennon.

  28. swift Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 21:49

    The fact that ONM hype it up and scrape the barrel dry until they end up saying the same thing over and over irritates me. But at least the game got a gold award, which in a way makes up for it a little.

    When games like Samba Di Amigo and The Conduit get hyped like mad and end up being 70-80%. It's that kind of situation that p**ses me off, but this time I don't really mind. Don't think I'll buy Wii Fit Plus though, not my type of game.

    EDIT: That is definately Lennon

  29. funmaker11 Friday 30th Oct 2009 at 23:58

    It's Wii Fit Plus, it's aimed at Casual gamers who have played the first one and want an update or haven't got round to buying it yet. It isn't meant to be completely new or original is it.

    Stop moaning and move on, if it's not your type of game. Don't buy it.


    This.

  30. ChrisONM Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 00:39

    I've had it since Friday. My girlfriend likes the "My Wii Fit Plus" stuff, and I dig the new fun little balance games. Spose I'd agree with the score.


    And, tellingly, you seem to be one of the only ones here who's actually played the game.

  31. fight.the.purple Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 05:48

    I've had it since Friday. My girlfriend likes the "My Wii Fit Plus" stuff, and I dig the new fun little balance games. Spose I'd agree with the score.


    And, tellingly, you seem to be one of the only ones here who's actually played the game.

    I've played it and totally disagree with the score. Not as much as the fact that you didn't mark it down for being wii fit again.

    DLC could have added more content easily.

    You've marked games down before for not being dynamically different, yet this game doesn't have that.

    However, rather than just accuse you bias, I invite you to explain this.

  32. ChrisONM Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 10:05

    I've had it since Friday. My girlfriend likes the "My Wii Fit Plus" stuff, and I dig the new fun little balance games. Spose I'd agree with the score.


    And, tellingly, you seem to be one of the only ones here who's actually played the game.

    I've played it and totally disagree with the score. Not as much as the fact that you didn't mark it down for being wii fit again.

    DLC could have added more content easily.

    You've marked games down before for not being dynamically different, yet this game doesn't have that.

    However, rather than just accuse you bias, I invite you to explain this.


    Firstly, I shouldn't even be explaining this because I didn't write the review. However, I'll happily give my take on why I'd have given the game a similar score.

    Whenever I mark a game down for not being different enough, it's usually when the game's essentially a carbon copy of the previous year's game with a slight change (it might be updated rosters, for example). However, this has rarely happened. Most examples I can think of games that have hardly changed for their sequels have been given similar scores to their predecessors. Guitar Hero 5, Pro Evo 2009, Smackdown Vs Raw 2010 all immediately spring to mind. Most of the time we'll still mark a game as it stands on its own, but make a point of mentioning how similar it is in the main text.

    The other thing it's worth bearing in mind is that while these other games are generally full price titles that pretend to offer a new experience, Nintendo makes it fully clear that this is not a true sequel but rather an upgraded version of the original game (hence Wii Fit Plus and not Wii Fit 2) and as a result are only charging Ł20 for it. Simply put, you know what you're getting with this.

    I'd personally say the ten new games in Wii Fit Plus are generally of a much higer quality than those in Wii Fit, and any fans of the original would not feel cheated if they paid Ł20 for these extra games.

    DLC isn't a valid argument in my opinion because the Wii structure is such that saving this many new mini-games on the Wii would be impractical, if not impossible. On top of this, a large percentage of Wii Fit's target audience won't bother tyring to get their Wii online in the first place, let around mess around with Wii Points and DLC.

    It seems to me that had this been a third-party game (Guitar Hero, Smackdown, Pro Evo etc) getting a similarly high score to its predecessor nobody would be batting an eyelid, but because it's a first party game (and one that's not popular among the "hardcore", whatever that's meant to mean), the old "ONM = biased" garbage is getting trotted out again.

  33. niggo Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 14:42

    I've had it since Friday. My girlfriend likes the "My Wii Fit Plus" stuff, and I dig the new fun little balance games. Spose I'd agree with the score.


    And, tellingly, you seem to be one of the only ones here who's actually played the game.

    I've played it and totally disagree with the score. Not as much as the fact that you didn't mark it down for being wii fit again.

    DLC could have added more content easily.

    You've marked games down before for not being dynamically different, yet this game doesn't have that.

    However, rather than just accuse you bias, I invite you to explain this.


    Firstly, I shouldn't even be explaining this because I didn't write the review. However, I'll happily give my take on why I'd have given the game a similar score.

    Whenever I mark a game down for not being different enough, it's usually when the game's essentially a carbon copy of the previous year's game with a slight change (it might be updated rosters, for example). However, this has rarely happened. Most examples I can think of games that have hardly changed for their sequels have been given similar scores to their predecessors. Guitar Hero 5, Pro Evo 2009, Smackdown Vs Raw 2010 all immediately spring to mind. Most of the time we'll still mark a game as it stands on its own, but make a point of mentioning how similar it is in the main text.

    The other thing it's worth bearing in mind is that while these other games are generally full price titles that pretend to offer a new experience, Nintendo makes it fully clear that this is not a true sequel but rather an upgraded version of the original game (hence Wii Fit Plus and not Wii Fit 2) and as a result are only charging Ł20 for it. Simply put, you know what you're getting with this.

    I'd personally say the ten new games in Wii Fit Plus are generally of a much higer quality than those in Wii Fit, and any fans of the original would not feel cheated if they paid Ł20 for these extra games.

    DLC isn't a valid argument in my opinion because the Wii structure is such that saving this many new mini-games on the Wii would be impractical, if not impossible. On top of this, a large percentage of Wii Fit's target audience won't bother tyring to get their Wii online in the first place, let around mess around with Wii Points and DLC.

    It seems to me that had this been a third-party game (Guitar Hero, Smackdown, Pro Evo etc) getting a similarly high score to its predecessor nobody would be batting an eyelid, but because it's a first party game (and one that's not popular among the "hardcore", whatever that's meant to mean), the old "ONM = biased" garbage is getting trotted out again.

    http://i38.tinypic.com/fye23n.jpg

  34. ShadowofPain Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 15:06

    I for one still think the review is good. I mean the press average is 83 and it scored 91 (which for ONM is usual). And besides, who wouldn't want to play a game where you can fly around in a chicken suit?

  35. fight.the.purple Saturday 31st Oct 2009 at 21:31

    Firstly, I shouldn't even be explaining this because I didn't write the review. However, I'll happily give my take on why I'd have given the game a similar score.

    *snip*

    You know what? Im going to break the internet now probably, so brace yourselves - this will be a first.

    Your right. I apologise.

    I poured over your answer and after thinking about it, it makes sense.

    First and most clear cut is the DLC point, I'm not sure of the archetype of the wii's storage (other than flashing my own) but I'll assume it would be impossible - by virtue of the poor memory.

    I can see why you scored it based on its own merit and I agree with that - it just irked me that (a long time ago) I remember a few games being slated for being carbon copies - if the reviews you mentioned are on the website please put a linkey in for me - would be interesting to read.

    EDIT: The thing that really assuaged my irked-ness was that fact that Wii fit plus was clearly not meant to be "Wii Fit 2" - something the packaging shows fairly well. If it was marketed as "Wii Fit 2" would the review have been much different?

    I think the best thing you could have done for the score is something I think I've seen ONM do a few times before: offer different advice depending on if you've played the original ( RE4 Wii - I think it was)

    Finally, a footnote about supposed bias in ONM. I wouldn't go as far as to say you lot have an agenda - I would say that you rate games as wii games as opposed to general video games. For example, what may be a good wii game may be a mediocre game compared to other consoles (again subjectivity and the "casual / hardcore" argument rears it head at this point.) The best -and most objective- way to see this is the gap between the scores you gave a game and the press averages.

    I hope thats soliloquized by thoughts on the subject.


    P.S. Can someone please tell me what the deal is with this Niggo guy?!

  36. pikachu13 Sunday 1st Nov 2009 at 03:28

    I'm sorry but this magazine is biased, if it were a non first party game you would have given it 70% period.

  37. niggo Sunday 1st Nov 2009 at 15:03

    Hey Chrissy babes, while on the subject of scores, why did Castlevania: Portrait of Ruin get a higher score than Dawn of Sorrow?

  38. dm_1782 Monday 2nd Nov 2009 at 14:15

    I loved Wii Fit, what it aimed to do which was exercise in a fun way it acheived better than i'd hoped. its not necessarily aiming to be an awesome game...its more exercise-y gaming which it does really well.

    if this makes some improvements then i don't see whats wrong with a gold award.

    Agreed 100%

  39. Rabbid_girl Monday 31st May 2010 at 14:28

    I loved Wii Fit, what it aimed to do which was exercise in a fun way it acheived better than i'd hoped. its not necessarily aiming to be an awesome game...its more exercise-y gaming which it does really well.

    if this makes some improvements then i don't see whats wrong with a gold award.

    Agreed 100%

    me too. I have the game and try to play it atleast once a week. The games are fun and you feel so much pride when it tells you all the calories you've burnt plus it tells you what food you have burnt off. (I usually get up to boiled crab by 11.30am). Its great, so don't critisize it unless you actually own the game and have a good point for hating it so. Plus people say that it only gets a gold award because it was made by nintendo, but only because nintendo is possibly the best videogame developer.Eva.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.