Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Rabbids Go Home Review

And the award for the funniest game on the Wii goes to...

Since the release of Rayman Raving Rabbids at the Wii's launch, the Rabbids have gone from being funny enemies in a Rayman mini-game collection to gaming superstars in their own right.

They're now considered the unofficial Ubisoft mascots, making cameos in other Ubi games like Academy Of Champions and TMNT: Smash-Up. It was only a matter of time before they got their own proper adventure game; one that wasn't just a bunch of mini-games slapped together. Rabbids Go Home is that game and it's without a doubt the funniest game we've played in a long time.

The plot is simple. The Rabbids are bored on Earth and want to go to the moon but, without a rocket, it seems impossible. That's until one Rabbid comes up with the bright idea of stacking loads of objects in a big pile until it reaches the moon, allowing them to climb up to their new home. Two Rabbids then take it upon themselves to travel to the city with a shopping trolley and gather as many random objects as they can to add to the pile.

Click to view larger image

Fool Moon

Although it's set in a 3D world, Rabbids Go Home isn't really a proper platform game as such because there isn't a lot of jumping in it. After all, it's hard to jump while you're pushing a shopping trolley. Instead, the majority of the game consists of running your Rabbids around and collecting as many objects as you can find. Many of these objects will be conveniently lying around and easy to snap up by simply running over them, but others need more thought and usually require the use of one of the Rabbids' special attacks.

The most commonly-used of these is the yell attack, where flicking the Remote makes your Rabbids scream and send out a shockwave that blasts open lockers, breaks drinks machines and stuns dangerous Earthlings like dogs and scientists. It also - in an odd French touch - lets you blast the clothes off any humans walking around, leaving them running around in their skimpy underwear as they run and hide for safety.

Sounds Good To Us

Graphically, the game's a mixed bag. The Rabbids themselves are superbly animated, especially during the customisation screen where one of them gets trapped inside your Wii Remote and you get to mess around with it. The environments are adequate, doing the job without either dazzling or depressing. Our main gripe is with the game's non-Rabbid characters. There are only a handful of dog designs (and you fight a lot of dogs in this game) and ten or 15 human designs, which get a bit repetitive. Far more consistent is the sound, which is a fun mixture of cheesy old music from the likes of Boney M, genuinely funny dialogue from the human characters and, of course, the Rabbids themselves whose daft noises had us buckled over at times.

Click to view larger image
It doesn't take long for the game's main bugbear to become clear. It's easy. Not just a bit easy, but stupidly easy. This is understandable since it's clearly designed for younger gamers, but older ones will still find the Rabbids funny (we know we do) and they'll be rather disappointed that there's no real challenge here for their £40. The difficulty does pick up a little around halfway through the game but it's too little too late. For anyone who desperately wants a real challenge, you can replay levels and try to collect every single object but that's not quite enough.

But a lack of challenge doesn't ruin the game completely. Rabbids Go Home is absolutely crammed with belly laughs and we couldn't recommend it highly enough for younger gamers. After New Super Mario Bros Wii, this is the game pre-teens (and young-at-heart older gamers) should get in their Chrimbo stockings this year.

Want to see the game in action? Watch our exclusive Rabbids Go Home videos here.

Comments

30 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. seancuk23 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 13:44

    I think I will wait until this game becomes bargin bin material, much like Sonic Unleashed!

  2. HNF1 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 13:57

    Well, at least it's turned out pretty great and stuff. Shame about the difficulty level, and, for that reason, i won't be getting it but never mind. I still say they would be wise bringing back Rayman with his OWN games. The Great Escape was absolutely awesome! But yeah, nice one Rabbids you little psychos.

  3. chino40k Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 14:07

    When was the last time anyone bought a new Wii game at the RRP of £40? (Any console game at RRP infact).

    I've bought one new Wii game over £30 and that HotD: Overkill Collectors edition which was only a couple £ over.

  4. Tekkonkinkreet Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 14:37

    I agree with HNF1, rayman needs his own proper(wii) adventure. as for the rabbids go home -it looks ok, but not as appealing as rayman's solo games. I might get it later when the price drops 8)

  5. nintendo_guy Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 16:08

    I was expecting 90%, but it's probably a good game anyway.

  6. mariofanatic128 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 16:38

    For those of you wanting a new rayman game nintendolife recently revealed a new rayman game coming for dsiware

  7. Ai64 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 17:03

    Funnier than warioware smooth moves? It got to be.

  8. adam2611 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 17:10

    u put a bad point as easy at first yet for nsmb wii you put a good point that its easy at first
    im confused

  9. SoulSilver IV Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 17:23

    u put a bad point as easy at first yet for nsmb wii you put a good point that its easy at first
    im confused

    I guess what they mean is that, in this case, the game stays too easy for too long, whereas in NSMB Wii, you should make the most of the easy levels before they get infuriatingly difficult and have you ripping your hair out. ;)

    I think I'll get this, regardless of the difficulty issue. It looks mental!

  10. starfox1994 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 18:48

    You know what else is easy? Mario Galaxy. Yep.

  11. darkman2300 Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 18:51

    Funniest game on wii eh?
    I'll probably get this around Christmas time.

  12. Cyberguy Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 19:50

    I don't mind the difficulty. After all, I'll be playing with my brother in co-op and he's only 7 so good choice.

    I will be getting it. Glad to know it's the funniest game on Wii.

  13. noodle link Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 20:11

    I still think NMH is the funniest game on wii.
    Joshy made a homer simpson rabbid.

  14. ChrisONM Wednesday 4th Nov 2009 at 21:16

    You know what else is easy? Mario Galaxy. Yep.


    Maybe getting 60 stars, yes, but it gets hard eventually. There's nothing in Rabbids Go Home that comes anywhere near close to the bit in Galaxy where you have to beat Bouldergeist with one health segment.

    Galaxy's fairly easy for the most part but this is something else entirely.

  15. zapper01 Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 07:38

    does anyone know what thye second player does in co-op mode?

  16. Ubahquiet Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 08:17

    I'd argue that No More Heroes is funnier, but meh.

    I don't really care for Rabbids Go Home, quite frankly I've only wanted it to be released because Ubisoft said they'd go back to making proper Rayman games after it. Judging by the rumours of a DSiWare Rayman, I'm guessing they're getting on it.

  17. metroid fan Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 15:31

    I would have thought this one would get a higher score but still looks like a quality game. :)

    I never really got the big appeal of the previous rabbid mini game compilations but this looks a hell of a lot more interesting, deffinetly a game I'm going to get.

    and I also hope that ubisoft have a new rayman game in the works as I think that he deserves a new adventure without the rabbids steeling the show.

  18. littleluma5 Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 16:49

    Yeah the rabbids in a proper adventure game? dunno :?

  19. Wii_With_Mii Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 18:46

    WHAT??? YOU GIVE THIS THE SAME SCORE AS BAND HERO?!?!?!

  20. starfox1994 Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 22:03

    Btw, i like seancuk 23's picture if you're reading this. My cat looks like that.

  21. shadowbowser28 Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 15:22

    blaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah

    I love the rabids theyre the best

    not sure about them in a proper adventure game though

    ill still get it anyway

  22. Rabbid_girl Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 17:51

    Ohhh this looks goood....something to spend my b-day money on. sweet! :mrgreen:

  23. BlueKirby Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 17:52

    have got
    have to wait til xmas tho
    and i found galaxy quite hard... :p
    still, looks fun and we got it for 30 quid

  24. tomutwit Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 19:34

    You know what else is easy? Mario Galaxy. Yep.


    Five minutes later an ood was found around the back of a bar beaten to death.

  25. ShadowofPain Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 13:17

    You know what else is easy? Mario Galaxy. Yep.


    Maybe getting 60 stars, yes, but it gets hard eventually. There's nothing in Rabbids Go Home that comes anywhere near close to the bit in Galaxy where you have to beat Bouldergeist with one health segment.

    Galaxy's fairly easy for the most part but this is something else entirely.

    Don't forget about the dreaded Luigi's Purple coins. :shock: That mission was evil.....

  26. hulkbuster Monday 9th Nov 2009 at 20:28

    :D :( :) :o :shock: RABIDS ROCK :? 8) :lol: :x :P :oops: :cry: :evil: :twisted: :roll: :wink:

  27. TheLegendOfNinte Monday 9th Nov 2009 at 22:32

    You know what else is easy? Mario Galaxy. Yep.


    Maybe getting 60 stars, yes, but it gets hard eventually. There's nothing in Rabbids Go Home that comes anywhere near close to the bit in Galaxy where you have to beat Bouldergeist with one health segment.

    Galaxy's fairly easy for the most part but this is something else entirely.


    I'm 13 and yet i completed Mario Galaxy with all 242 stars with ease! Now i'm stuck on Metroid Prime 2 Echoes on the Trilogy disc. I wanted to complete them in order so i finished one (the final boss was disappointingly easy!) and now im stuck finding the 9 keys to the sky temple in Prime 2 ):

  28. chaz 1805 Friday 13th Nov 2009 at 17:19

    Just got the special edition kangaroo rabbid version with my Bday money. I'm going to play it now!

  29. Rabbid_girl Saturday 19th Dec 2009 at 17:35

    This game-I just love it! Its by far the best rabbids yet.It isn't that easy-I mean I get stuck loads of time.....those damn lightbulbs keep running out....need more Ideas! I'd give it 90%

  30. Dugz Saturday 19th Dec 2009 at 18:35

    £17.50 at GameStation... A good buy I'd say. :wink:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.