Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Band Hero Review

Get tweenage kicks all through the night

Yes, we know. Another one. Incredibly, after three main games (GHIII, World Tour and 5), two band-specific spin-offs (Aerosmith and Metallica), three DS games (the On Tour trilogy) and a Greatest Hits disc, Band Hero marks the tenth Hero game on a Nintendo system in only two years. The immediate question that springs to mind then, is this: after nine games and a total of 464 tracks, does Band Hero - aimed at younger, pop-loving gamers - offer anything new?

Surprisingly, it actually does, in the shape of the Fan Request feature. It's only a minor addition but it's a fun little way of combining the Wii and DS versions of the game. As you play through the Career mode in the Wii version of the game and complete various songs, you'll unlock Fan Requests. You can then wirelessly connect your Wii to your DS (assuming you have copies of Band Hero in both systems), where you then have to perform a task using the DS version of Band Hero. These range from the straightforward to the ridiculous. One asks you to play a song "in the dark", where the notes are just grey on a black background, for example - and every time you complete one you can connect the DS back to the Wii, at which point you'll unlock a hidden item or character for use in the Wii version. It's an enjoyable extra that makes getting both versions of the game worthwhile. Almost.

Click to view larger image

Battle Of The Bands

If you'd rather not get Band Hero on both the Wii and DS (though the fact the DS version has a completely different list of 30 songs is a nice touch), your handheld wonder can still get in on the action in the Roadie Battle mode, which also carries over from Guitar Hero 5. This is a four-player mode where two players use guitars to play head-to-head on the Wii version, while two others act as roadies and use their DS to try and sabotage each other's musician by cutting strings and messing with the pyrotechnics. It's an addictive multiplayer mode and a great way of using the under-utilised Wii-to-DS connectivity feature. You can also assign the CPU to any of the four players, in case you don't have two guitars and two DSes to hand (and who does?).

The rest of the game is more or less the same idea as Guitar Hero 5, albeit with only 65 songs instead of the 90-odd offered in the more rock-centric game. That said, if ever there was a perfect definition of the phrase 'mixed bag', then Band Hero's setlist would be it. Whether it's songs from Culture Club, Evanescence, Spice Girls, Roy Orbison, N.E.R.D. or Papa Roach, there's quite literally something here for everyone. It does also make us wonder what sort of person will enjoy playing both YMCA by the Village People and Sugar, We're Going Down by Fall Out Boy, but frankly we're just happy to see a fresh tracklist of old and new music that doesn't end with songs that go "GRAAAAW" in the chorus.

Click to view larger image
Band Hero is the game to get if you're not bothered about rock music. If you prefer Duffy to death metal and Counting Crows to KoRn then this should come as a pleasing alternative to Guitar Hero. For everyone else, shrug your shoulders and keep walking.

Comments

21 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Red-Wolf Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 12:51

    Bleh! Get stuffed! I hate pop music with a passion so this really isn't for me. Mind you, Hero really needs to quit now. Rock Band 2 is better than any Hero anyway. EA, hurry up and release Rock Band 3!

    (Whoo! First post! :wink: )

  2. Galactik Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 16:06

    It does also make us wonder what sort of person will enjoy playing both YMCA by the Village People and Sugar, We're Going Down by Fall Out Boy

    Maybe not YMCA but what's wrong with Fall Out Boy? They're immense!


    I just got GH-5 so I won't be getting this, there's only 2 songs from the list on here that are any good anyway, Fall Out Boy and Evanessence. They should stick to rock and wait a while before they bother making anymore. They're just milking the cash cow at the moment.

  3. ChrisONM Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 16:13

    It does also make us wonder what sort of person will enjoy playing both YMCA by the Village People and Sugar, We're Going Down by Fall Out Boy

    Maybe not YMCA but what's wrong with Fall Out Boy? They're immense!


    That's my point mate. I'm not saying Fall Out Boy aren't good, I'm saying it's unlikely someone will like both Fall Out Boy AND YMCA. You've just proved that. :P

  4. Paper Luigi Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 19:02

    It does also make us wonder what sort of person will enjoy playing both YMCA by the Village People and Sugar, We're Going Down by Fall Out Boy

    What's wrong with Fall Out Boy? They're immense!

    No there not.

  5. apollo justice Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 19:10

    I'm buying it just for Hilary <3

    Also, hopefully an @ONM can answer this, Is this game set to have DLC? Or are they just going to use the excuse that you can use the GH5 dlc. Because i'd love a band hero specific trackpack. LIKE a MILEY CYRUS TRACKLIST =D

  6. Galactik Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 21:38

    It does also make us wonder what sort of person will enjoy playing both YMCA by the Village People and Sugar, We're Going Down by Fall Out Boy

    Maybe not YMCA but what's wrong with Fall Out Boy? They're immense!


    That's my point mate. I'm not saying Fall Out Boy aren't good, I'm saying it's unlikely someone will like both Fall Out Boy AND YMCA. You've just proved that. :P

    Ahhhh. I misinterpretted(sp?) you there then. You have a good point there. I agree now I get what you're saying. :P

  7. Random-Hero Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 22:05

    I rather play YMCA to be honest... "Sugar were going down, Swinging!" sounds like the lead singer is requesting we go dogging or something.

  8. yellow fellow993 Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 22:06

    I like both YMCA & S,WGD.

  9. TMCOFFEY Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 22:14

    just looked at the song list
    falloutboy
    all American reject
    rolling stones
    papa roach
    cheap trick
    the kooks
    angels and airwaves
    snow patrol
    i didn't think it would have so many great bands in it

  10. TMCOFFEY Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 22:17

    I rather play YMCA to be honest... "Sugar were going down, Swinging!" sounds like the lead singer is requesting we go dogging or something.

    yet you would sooner play ymca

  11. Random-Hero Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 22:31

    I rather play YMCA to be honest... "Sugar were going down, Swinging!" sounds like the lead singer is requesting we go dogging or something.

    yet you would sooner play ymca

    Hell's ya! You just fail to understand the sheer power YMCA has a wedding!

  12. SonicBoom Thursday 5th Nov 2009 at 23:28

    How much did Activision Pay you then?

    its about time the 'Hero' Franchise Die.

    Rockband is alot better, but atm its seems they are going to milk that aswell...

    I remember a time where the Hero games were actually...well, you know, GOOD.

  13. ChrisONM Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 08:22

    How much did Activision Pay you then?


    Well, I'd give you a cut of my fee for exposing me but I'm not exactly sure how to split zero.

  14. fight.the.purple Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 14:06

    How much did Activision Pay you then?


    Well, I'd give you a cut of my fee for exposing me but I'm not exactly sure how to split zero.

    Do you never get approached to be paid for writing a good review?

    I remember there being a whole thing with arkham asylum of mags being bribed for 90+ % reviews. I wondered what types of things ONM might be getting paid for.

    Can I assume 100% of the money you make as a mag is from the adverts inside?

  15. neongiratina Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 18:19

    When You Review Games, Please ACTUALLY Review the Game
    like with DJ Hero, 88% Because of the Price?
    Come on, don't tell us the Game isn't great JUST because of the Price, but with this Game, again it's daft, there's nothing WRONG with the Game, only put bad points when there are Actually Bad things with the Game itself

  16. Phoenix Wright Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 23:14

    A review is nothing more than a general personal opinion - if the individual writing it GENUINELY felt that the price was literally the only downside, then to THEM it's a legitimate issue and worth informing others on.

    Sounds like, to me, the writer enjoyed the game enough not to have found any real flaws within it. It may not be the same for everyone, but this is probably his genuine feeling...I certainly don't find it ridiculous, since one persons PAID opinion can differ entirely from somebody elses UNPAID one. It's subjective, so you may find flaws in it that he didn't see because of his view of the game...but this doesn't make his opinion or view any less valid.

    Cost is a very serious flaw for some people, and I can't blame him for directing people's attention to it.

  17. ChrisONM Friday 6th Nov 2009 at 23:44

    How much did Activision Pay you then?


    Well, I'd give you a cut of my fee for exposing me but I'm not exactly sure how to split zero.

    Do you never get approached to be paid for writing a good review?

    I remember there being a whole thing with arkham asylum of mags being bribed for 90+ % reviews. I wondered what types of things ONM might be getting paid for.

    Can I assume 100% of the money you make as a mag is from the adverts inside?


    Some of the money is made from ads, other money is obviously made from readers buying the mag, subscribing, taking part in text competitions etc.

    I can't say for sure whether ONM has ever been approached by a publisher and pressured into giving a game a high score, but all I can say is that if that has ever happened, such a suggestion would have been shot down right away at a higher level (Neil etc) and would never have gotten far enough to reach the reviewer. I have never, in the nearly four years I've been at ONM, been "encouraged" to give a game a higher score.

  18. Teeboy Saturday 7th Nov 2009 at 23:26

    Good Man :D

  19. leoj8 Tuesday 10th Nov 2009 at 15:42

    It does also make us wonder what sort of person will enjoy playing both YMCA by the Village People and Sugar, We're Going Down by Fall Out Boy

    Maybe not YMCA but what's wrong with Fall Out Boy? They're immense!


    That's my point mate. I'm not saying Fall Out Boy aren't good, I'm saying it's unlikely someone will like both Fall Out Boy AND YMCA. You've just proved that. :P

    Ahem. I beg to differ. Both are very good songs in their own right, and I love them both in the same way that toast loves butter.

  20. Circus Wednesday 11th Nov 2009 at 15:54


    That's my point mate. I'm not saying Fall Out Boy aren't good, I'm saying it's unlikely someone will like both Fall Out Boy AND YMCA. You've just proved that. :P

    I do. :(

  21. Red-Wolf Monday 30th Nov 2009 at 11:35

    just looked at the song list
    falloutboy
    all American reject
    rolling stones
    papa roach
    cheap trick
    the kooks
    angels and airwaves
    snow patrol
    i didn't think it would have so many great bands in it

    The Kooks? GOOD??!! You're having a laugh right?!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.