Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

LostWinds: Winter Of Melodias Review

Ah Toku, it's ice to have you back!

Lovely. Absolutely bloomin' lovely. That's our quick four word review of Winter Of The Melodias. It's all you need to know, but even so doesn't come close to describing what a sumptuous experience this is. Indeed, we could easily wax lyrical about how gorgeous, how clever, how economical and how utterly charming this game is for the next 20 pages. That would be an indulgence though, so we'll see what we can achieve over the next 400 words or so.

The plot picks up fairly soon after the original with Toku learning that his mother has come into strife high in the mountains surrounding his village. He sets off to investigate with the help of the now-friendly Magmok - the giant stone monster who he defeated at the conclusion of the first game. It's a breathtaking opening five minutes, with the Magmok clambering around in the background, occasionally moving into the foreground to offer Toku a lift, present his hand as a platform or pick the wee lad up and lob him up the mountainside.

Click to view larger image
Once you've finished your ascent the main plot kicks in and the sequel's embellishments, twists and extra bells and whistles slowly start to reveal themselves. The first game was a cracker of course, but Winter Of The Melodias improves on it in every department. Crucially, it's considerably longer than it's frustratingly brief predecessor, but as well as that it's deeper, more imaginative, more varied and more intelligently designed too.

The most significant development is the new season-changing mechanic. Not far into the game, Toku picks up the ability to switch between winter and summer, offering a really imaginative set-up for some brain-bending puzzles. He's got a host of new abilities too - he can summon whirlwinds to move water about, he can create snowballs in mid air and he can swim too.

The introduction of a map is also a welcome addition. It's essentially a fairly traditional 'Metroidvania'-style platformer at heart and as such a map is essential. The lack of one in the original led to a great deal of aimless wandering and discouraged exploration. That's remedied here and the game is all the more engaging for it.

There is more imagination, gameplay, finesse and straightforward fun here than in the vast majority of full price retail games. It surely deserves to be rewarded with your Wii Points.

Comments

14 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Ai64 Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 09:39

    Absolutely better than it's Predecessor. Better, brighter and longer than before. Lostwinds is right up there with the best of platform/Adventure.

  2. Tommson Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 10:12

    Great download, some of the puzzles were ingenious, the story was good and so was everything else.

    The review pretty much hits the nail on the head.

    NyxQuest might be better though, it's close.

  3. nintendo_guy Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 10:22

    Looks good! ^__^

  4. hiper link 98 Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 11:26

    got it lunch day......100% better than it's Predecessor. :D

  5. noodle link Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 13:16

    got it lunch day......100% better than it's Predecessor. :D


    Lunch day?

  6. Andew Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 13:47

    it's alright unless you played the first one,

    is my 8 word review,
    there were like 2 new features/puzzles, and neither of them were exploited throughout,

    lit has a few features to it, yet it so far has exploited them in a number of creative ways,

    lost winds here borrowed so much off of the first game and failed to advance the concept, and borrowed the winter/summer theme, and even the "death in ice" concept,
    let alone expand those ideas beyond what others have done before ¬¬

  7. Gerry-rich Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 16:54

    got it lunch day......100% better than it's Predecessor. :D


    Lunch day?

    He was eating his lunch while playing it.

  8. chamberlaintea Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 19:42

    I got it on launch day, loved it, but the review said it was longer When I finished it, it was longer than how long I spend on the previous one but by 10-20 minutes...

    I don't know why but it left me really wanting a full length disc release. I just want more!

  9. sean1997 Sunday 8th Nov 2009 at 23:53

    Beautiful game. Who cares if its a bit too easy, the people who buy this game know not to excpect much of a challenge, and thats part of its charm. The best game on the whole wii shop channel buy far in my opinion, and I think you can guess what I think the second best game is.

  10. elizabeth Monday 9th Nov 2009 at 15:59

    Looking forward to playing this over Christmas break. At least I'll get snow that way :)

  11. PsychoPikmin Monday 9th Nov 2009 at 19:46

    Okay, I really need to download both of these games. :D

  12. Super_Sonic96 Wednesday 11th Nov 2009 at 19:07

    was gonna get this on launch but forgot i had no ninty points :roll: But when i do get some this is the one i'm gonna get!

  13. DragonOnSteroids Friday 13th Nov 2009 at 12:53

    I hate to admit it, but I've never played the first one...

    Embarrasing... :(

    But I'll fix it, soon, I hope...

  14. Pochama014 Sunday 15th Nov 2009 at 19:41

    I think this game is absolutely amazing!
    I haven't finished it yet but I love the new abilities Toku has! :lol:

    I hope there's another sequel!!!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.