Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

New Super Mario Bros. Wii Review

He's back and he's better than ever

Eighteen years. You might not believe it, but that's how long it's been since the last 'proper' side-scrolling Mario game (Super Mario World) was released on a home console. Once Super Mario 64 arrived (we're not counting Yoshi's Island because it was essentially a Yoshi game, not a Mario one), everything went 3D and any 2D adventures Mario was to have were reserved solely for handhelds. We were sure we would never see the portly plumber legging it from left to right on our telly in a new game again. Until now.

There seems to be an unwritten rule that if enough people say something on the internet, no matter how wrong it is, most people end up believing it. Because of this, we'd forgive you for being led to believe that New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a 'straight port' of the similarly-named DS game. After all, the first trailer and screens didn't show enough to prove it was a different game except for the addition of a four-player multiplayer mode.

Click to view larger image
Let us clear this up right away then. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is a completely new game, and not an enhanced version of the DS title at all. You have never played a single one of the 76 stages in this game before. It might as well have been called New Super Mario Bros. 2 (and we actually wish that it had been, to avoid the confusion).

There are no prizes for correctly guessing the game's plot. It's Peach's birthday and Mario, Luigi and a couple of Toads are at the castle celebrating. A mysteriously large cake is wheeled into the room (you can probably tell where this is going) and everyone is pleasantly surprised. Suddenly, Bowser Jr and the seven Koopa Kids burst out of the cake, grab Peachy and leg it to their airship, flying away with her. Naturally Mario gives chase.

At its core, New Super Mario Bros. Wii plays like the DS game in so much as it has a similar appearance (though greatly enhanced, of course), similar music, a similar feel and a similar general structure. However, there have been many new additions, tweaks and improvements that make this a much more enjoyable game in many ways.

A Peach Of A Story

Some of these changes are large. The map screens are now much more like those in Super Mario Bros. 3, with mushroom houses giving you the classic 'pick two matching cards' mini-game and Toads giving you items in treasure chests. In fact, there are SMB3 vibes throughout the whole game, from the way each world is inhabited by a certain Koopa Kid, to the ever-present airship, to the way you battle enemies who bump into you on the map, right down to the numerous familiar enemies who return for the first time since that game. There are also various nods to Super Mario World too, such as the obvious inclusion of Yoshi (more on that in a bit) and the addition of a spin-jump move.

Click to view larger image
Then there are the more subtle additions. The flowers spinning as Mario walks past them, the way you hear power-up and 1-Up noises in the Remote as you play, the way the penguin suit acts just like the Super Mario Bros. 3 frog suit when you use it underwater, the way Mario's feet change position depending on how steep the slope he's standing on is... the level of attention given to the tiniest little details in this game is very impressive.

There are some small annoyances. It's great that Yoshi's been added to the game, which is why we're disappointed that when you finish a level with him Mario jumps off and leaves while Yoshi waves goodbye. You can't take him with you to any of the game's levels, meaning he's only available in a handful of stages. It would also have been nice to have had a different character as a fourth player instead of just another Toad, or even a selection of characters (Toadette, Wario, Daisy) to choose from. And online multiplayer with WiiSpeak could have been fun too. These are minor quibbles though, and the good so greatly outweighs the bad that it seems churlish complaining about such trivial issues.

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

68 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. pigfish2 Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 12:52

    Just got my copy through the post a day early from GAME,I'm really excited about playing it now

  2. funmaker11 Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 14:09

    I'll get this if I have the ŁŁŁ. 8) :P

  3. sayguayo Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 15:27

    I already have the game and it's
    really really good, this is definitely a MUST-HAVE!

    ••This and Smash Brawl make the best party games evaah!••

  4. sivlock Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 15:32

    Gettin it tomorrow in a limited tin from GAME :)
    I get excited every time the advert comes on and the same for the Zelda Spirit Tracks one too lol! :lol:

  5. mickey_a_s Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 15:36

    Will be playing my copy when I get home from work as it arrived today as well. Looking forward to it very much!!!

  6. nintendo_guy Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 16:04

    Looks awesome! ^__^

  7. Nintendo Boy Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 16:10

    Looks really good from the screen shots, and the videos.

    Getting this tomorrow. :D

  8. Comic-Geek-Tom Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 16:14

    Just got my copy through the post a day early from GAME,I'm really excited about playing it now


    me too but sadly it has been put away for christmas

  9. Paperwaluigi Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 17:12

    Whenever I see a toad other than Toadbert (by boogity) or Toadsworth, I HAVE FURY. Wario and Waluigi were just made for this role... It's ridiculous. WALUIGI GAME PLEASE!

  10. Callum D Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 17:21

    Yay getting this for xmas. I can't wait! I'm recently going thru a Mario phase. I also cant wait to play Zelda too :|

  11. Ai64 Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 17:47

    He's back and better :D . Absoulely recommended for my wii.

  12. MARION64WII Thursday 19th Nov 2009 at 20:21

    This is out tomorrow! can't wait :D :D :D

  13. Mario20 Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 17:57

    just played it!!! It a blast from the past! Its just as good as the great Mario games from my childhood and it full of mario charm which i love

  14. LuX Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 18:26

    Unfortunatly, I got rid of my Wii early this year. Now before you tut and say what an idiot allow me to explain. I had my Wii Christmas 06, 17 days after its release, I had Zelda and Red steel. I loved TP but expected more from it (maybe I expected too much) Red Steel didn't deliver for me, so I quickly got rid of it. And sat playing TP to death, then I found myself with nothing to play, So i snapped Resi 4 up as quickly as possible and loved it all over again then there was Galaxy and Mario kart and Brawl, and....well thats about it. I then hadn't switched my Wii on for months, and I had a new 360 sat next to it with not much money to buy the abundance of games on it that i wanted. SO i part exchanged my Wii.

    And after Wii music E3 (E3 08) I decided E3 09 would be not much better...how wrong I was...

    I will be buying another Wii, and will be buying Mario bros Wii as this game seems to signify a turning point in the Wii's life, up until now we've had the Mini games and the stupid stuff, but never from Nintendo, but now I think from this game on and through 2010, Nintendo is going to show third-party developers how its done, that the Wii isn't a second rate console, and then maybe we'll stop seeing the likes of those mini-game compilations, and start seeing the type of games we want and when i say WE i dont just mean "hardcore" gamers, I mean any gamer.

  15. chazrinelli Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 18:52

    I just don't see the point in this if your the only person in your family/friends that play Wii. I'm one of those and probably wont get it when I can do like the same thing on the DS version. Online would've been a lot better for this and Wii speak too...

  16. Paper Luigi Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 18:56

    Looks great and getting it, extremly over rated score though, they praised it so much without critising it.

  17. Huang Lee Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 19:39

    hey everyone :) just got it 2day when I had the day of college. It's brilliant, recommend to anyone! It's a bit funny too! I decided to get it since my lecturer(woman) was getting it on day of release(today) and I asked is it for xmas? and she says no its for herself...that got me a bit jealous! haha so I got it 2day on release day :) buy it! :D

  18. Mysteron Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 21:02

    I got this game today in the post and this might be going too far, but I think it is almost or even as good as Super Mario Galaxy! Yeah, I just wanted to know a few things becausse there's some things I don't get:
    1.How often can you save as in when you start from that point after you lose all your lives?
    2.How can you get 1ups because there doesn't seem to many?
    Can't wait until Mario Galaxy 2 now, even though it is a different format.

  19. Mysteron Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 21:07

    I also disagree with Paper Luigi, the game isn't extremely over-rated, there is just a few very small flaws.Like Yoshi doesn't appear that much, as ONM has pointed out and I'm not sure if anyone else has had this problem, but on World 1 on the level where you have to swim underwater, I found it difficult to swim without going dangerously close the parts where you can die. The masses of fish in that level also annoy me...

  20. FierceDietyLink Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 21:10

    I got this bad boy in a tin Today,very cool and I love the retro parts in it.

  21. hardcoregamerrob Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 21:54

    got this 2day and it took me 9.30 hours to complete me and my friend was on it all day but got loads of stuff to do to get 100%
    I was really shocked how hard it was really and it seems harder with more people because you seem to always hit each other in mid air when tring to get pass lava etc. i was happy it was hard i was expecting it to be easy. i had to go back to world 1 to get more lifes cause i lost like everyone.
    The thing i love the most about the game it has so much stuff from the old 3d mario games it was like they stuck all the old mario games in one :).

  22. Paper Luigi Friday 20th Nov 2009 at 22:30

    I also disagree with Paper Luigi, the game isn't extremely over-rated, there is just a few very small flaws.Like Yoshi doesn't appear that much, as ONM has pointed out and I'm not sure if anyone else has had this problem, but on World 1 on the level where you have to swim underwater, I found it difficult to swim without going dangerously close the parts where you can die. The masses of fish in that level also annoy me...

    Well, they could of put more effort into:

    Online play, so you can play with your friends over the world in multiplayer.

    Vs Mode, The Vs mode on the DS version was brilliant, this mode has gone though.

    Toads?, Why have two generic unamed toads when you could have someone more interesting like Wario and Waluigi?

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.

  23. Lukeo10 Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 07:45

    Dont have it yet but will get this/Pokemon Mystery Dungeon and Lego Rock Band 4 Christmas

  24. ChrisONM Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 09:02

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.


    I was waiting for a comment like this. :D

    I notice you say it "looks" really easy. Complete the game collecting every Star Coin, including all the ones in World 9, then tell me it was easy. I've been playing side-scrolling Mario games constantly for 23 years and I struggled at times.

  25. Mcpilch Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 09:53

    my mate got this, but he is going away this weekend and has leant this to me. I'm probably not going to get much work done.... =D

  26. Casplen Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 10:15

    I dont really trust reviews from OMN now, as the reviews are all to bias, so i'll be the judge of new super mario bros wii now...lol...

    I think i'm definately going to buy this though, even if OMN's review is bias or not.

  27. SurroundedGhyp Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 11:36

    I dont really trust reviews from OMN now, as the reviews are all to bias, so i'll be the judge of new super mario bros wii now...lol...

    I think i'm definately going to buy this though, even if OMN's review is bias or not.

    Harsh much? Considering ONMs' review isnt even the biggest out there...

  28. master dingley Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 11:54

    Actually, whilst I'm usually there to criticise ONMs reviews I felt this wasn't that bad.

    It pointed out the flaws, from what I've heard there are very few flaws other than the lack of yoshi, the lack of online and the lack of choosable characters.
    And also notice the important phrase there, the "lack" of. This means what the game delivers is amazing, we just have overly high expectations :P

    I just got a job yesterday, and I know exactly where my first pay slip is going :D

  29. crazyturtle1234 Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 13:15

    Actually, whilst I'm usually there to criticise ONMs reviews I felt this wasn't that bad.

    It pointed out the flaws, from what I've heard there are very few flaws other than the lack of yoshi, the lack of online and the lack of choosable characters.
    And also notice the important phrase there, the "lack" of. This means what the game delivers is amazing, we just have overly high expectations :P

    I just got a job yesterday, and I know exactly where my first pay slip is going :D

    very much so. A lack of origininality is also in order, but everything this game did do, it did right. Also, step down from your throne, the crazy turtle is here, with his onm criticizing powers set to maximum charge. No review is safe when the turtles about, with a spiteful word here, a tut tut why is onm so bias comment there, it is only a matter of days before the onm we know now has been completely obliterated and replaced by members of Destructoid.

    Juuuuuuust kidding ONM, I do still hate most of what you do, but you know I still love you guys. Group hug.

  30. joseph96 Saturday 21st Nov 2009 at 17:57

    just got it today in 1 word: AMAZING!

  31. Paper Luigi Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 09:08

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.


    I was waiting for a comment like this. :D

    I notice you say it "looks" really easy. Complete the game collecting every Star Coin, including all the ones in World 9, then tell me it was easy. I've been playing side-scrolling Mario games constantly for 23 years and I struggled at times.

    Okay it might of been a tad difficult?

    But sitll you didnt critisize it for the generic toad characters (Why not have Wario and Waluigi instead, or someone more interesting), and what about an online mode, a vs battle? although it will be a great game on its own, they could of added more effort into it.

  32. Stulaw Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 17:01

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.


    I was waiting for a comment like this. :D

    I notice you say it "looks" really easy. Complete the game collecting every Star Coin, including all the ones in World 9, then tell me it was easy. I've been playing side-scrolling Mario games constantly for 23 years and I struggled at times.

    Okay it might of been a tad difficult?

    But sitll you didnt critisize it for the generic toad characters (Why not have Wario and Waluigi instead, or someone more interesting), and what about an online mode, a vs battle? although it will be a great game on its own, they could of added more effort into it.

    I don't see why it needs an online mode, it would ruin the flow of a very good game, and who'd wanna play with people you can't talk to? The only online I could say would work are leaderboards for speed runs and coin collecting etc.

    Anyway, that was a very well written review and I look forward to getting the game for christmas.

  33. jamesNUFC Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 17:30

    I dont really trust reviews from OMN now, as the reviews are all to bias, so i'll be the judge of new super mario bros wii now...lol...


    I agree with not trusting their reviews as Mario kart wii was given 94% however after about a month after buying mario kart i stopped playing it completly as it got so BORING.
    Will still get this for Christmas but it batter be as good as ONM say it is.

  34. jamesNUFC Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 17:31

    I dont really trust reviews from OMN now, as the reviews are all to bias, so i'll be the judge of new super mario bros wii now...lol...


    I agree with not trusting their reviews as Mario kart wii was given 94% however after about a month after buying mario kart i stopped playing it completly as it got so BORING.
    Will still get this for Christmas but it batter be as good as ONM say it is.

  35. jamesNUFC Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 17:32

    I dont really trust reviews from OMN now, as the reviews are all to bias, so i'll be the judge of new super mario bros wii now...lol...


    I agree with not trusting their reviews as Mario kart wii was given 94% however after about a month after buying mario kart i stopped playing it completly as it got so BORING.
    Will still get this for Christmas but it batter be as good as ONM say it is.

  36. LiamGodOfFood Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 17:47

    JamesNUFC:
    Why 3 posts?

    Probably will be good, and if you were bored after a month, you probably weren't playing multiplayer.

  37. Jweather Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 17:55


    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.

    I bet even mega man looked easy but trust me NSMBW is hard

  38. Erdogan44 Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 18:33

    I got this today, I will be on tonight..

    Can't wait. :wink:

  39. Erdogan44 Sunday 22nd Nov 2009 at 18:35

    I got this today, I will be on tonight..

    Can't wait. :wink:

  40. deathroom Monday 23rd Nov 2009 at 16:01

    My wife is buying this for me for X-Mas, along with CoD4 MWR. I'm happy to hear that it is harder than New Super Mario Bros, because that only took 3 hours to beat. I was a sad Deathroom :(

  41. Paper Luigi Monday 23rd Nov 2009 at 16:20

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.


    I was waiting for a comment like this. :D

    I notice you say it "looks" really easy. Complete the game collecting every Star Coin, including all the ones in World 9, then tell me it was easy. I've been playing side-scrolling Mario games constantly for 23 years and I struggled at times.

    Okay it might of been a tad difficult?

    But sitll you didnt critisize it for the generic toad characters (Why not have Wario and Waluigi instead, or someone more interesting), and what about an online mode, a vs battle? although it will be a great game on its own, they could of added more effort into it.

    I don't see why it needs an online mode, it would ruin the flow of a very good game, and who'd wanna play with people you can't talk to? The only online I could say would work are leaderboards for speed runs and coin collecting etc.

    Anyway, that was a very well written review and I look forward to getting the game for christmas.

    No I mean, playing with people you know or from the internet together online would be good, or a vs mode like in the ds mode, It was a well written review, they never critisized it, but praised it all the time, Im really lossing faith in ONM.


    I bet even mega man looked easy but trust me NSMBW is hard

    Megaman 9 - Level 1

    New Super Mario Bros Wii - Level 1

  42. Locarii Monday 23rd Nov 2009 at 20:27

    I also disagree with Paper Luigi, the game isn't extremely over-rated, there is just a few very small flaws.Like Yoshi doesn't appear that much, as ONM has pointed out and I'm not sure if anyone else has had this problem, but on World 1 on the level where you have to swim underwater, I found it difficult to swim without going dangerously close the parts where you can die. The masses of fish in that level also annoy me...

    Well, they could of put more effort into:

    Online play, so you can play with your friends over the world in multiplayer.

    Vs Mode, The Vs mode on the DS version was brilliant, this mode has gone though.

    Toads?, Why have two generic unamed toads when you could have someone more interesting like Wario and Waluigi?

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.

    Well said. But the 2 main points have to be the online and characters. If having 2 generic characters wasnt bad enough, why cant we choose which we want to be? Why is player 1 ALWAYS mario? And online lack is just ridiculous. We are in a generation where long distance communication is second nature, and a vs, or coop online would have been great. Mainly vs, because coop, people you dont know would just mess everything up. And people saying online would lag? Go play MK Wii. Does it lag? No. And think, 12 players, 3d scenery, huge detail. Then play nsmb 4 player. Much less effort put into making THAT run fast. I hope nintendo use this, and build on it to create an almost lbp style community of gameplay. Custom levels would be insanely cool. NSMBW is a good game, no doubt, and deserving of a gold award, but NOT 96% 93 or 92% is much more realistic. Put it this way, N-Gamer gave it 85%, and I agree. No innovation, they said, and they are right. Very little times I played it did i think, wow, thats new.

    If an ONM staff reads this, I'd like to see a reply in answer to this, because I was wondering what you ahve to say.

  43. TheLegendOfNinte Saturday 28th Nov 2009 at 22:29

    Well, they could of put more effort into:

    Online play, so you can play with your friends over the world in multiplayer.

    Vs Mode, The Vs mode on the DS version was brilliant, this mode has gone though.

    Toads?, Why have two generic unamed toads when you could have someone more interesting like Wario and Waluigi?

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.

    Right so firstly why would you want WARIO as a playable character?! Come on! He's huge, fat and incredibly slow, waluigi maybe but he's overly tall and it could ruin some of the games sections whereas Luigi, Mario, BToad and YToad are near enough the same height, though i do agree they should have had someone else as the fourth character.

    Secondly WHAT?! This game LOOKS really easy. How about criticising a game you've actually played yeah? This game is insanely difficult at parts!!

    lastly why get rid of the help box idea?! Is there anything in the game that DEMANDS you to hit that help box? No, its a choice thing for newbies if they are having trouble they can get some help yet you wouldn't have to. People like you make me laugh.
    " Hmmm, a game that has basically zero flaws?! Well let's point out some flaws that don't exist to annoy people". Yeah. Nice.

  44. Splinter435 Sunday 29th Nov 2009 at 09:51

    This=Super Mario Galaxy. :D

  45. Mr.Justice Sunday 29th Nov 2009 at 16:53

    okay, I have only just purchased the game and will comment again with my views once I have completed it, but I already know some things...
    For one thing, the people who critisise the lack of characters in the game, why would you even include two mario 'baddies' as the games heroes? so you're saying you'd like to play as a zombie on house of the dead, even though you'd be ridiculously slow and couldn't think never mind aim! Exactly, a 'baddie' can only be one of the heroes in their own game or minigames. Online? don't make me laugh, online on the wii isn't great at its best with the stupid friend code system and anyway without communication it would be rubbish. Sorry, had to get that off my chest.

  46. harrywhu Sunday 29th Nov 2009 at 18:59

    I will be gettin this for x-mas. It WILL be really good. And i will be playin this everyday 8) .

  47. harrywhu Sunday 29th Nov 2009 at 19:01

    This=Super Mario Galaxy. :D

    To be honest i dont think galaxy is that good. It is alright... but not good. :x

  48. Splinter435 Tuesday 1st Dec 2009 at 16:35

    This=Super Mario Galaxy. :D

    To be honest i dont think galaxy is that good. It is alright... but not good. :x

    Eh...each to their own. I like platformers in general, so the two games deserve 1st and 2nd in my opinion.

  49. ONMFREAK Friday 4th Dec 2009 at 15:52

    It all takes skills. I blitzed through NSMB Wii, and when I went on it again, I died on World 1-5. Just shows that practice doesn't always make perfect. :P

  50. lilbutter13 Wednesday 9th Dec 2009 at 17:42

    It seems as if nintendo took the easy root out. Sure, it's fun with freinds but your freinds won't be at your house all the time! Online is essential in this day and age, and when I played this with 3 of my freinds, nobody wanted to be a toad. More playable characters and being able to choose who you want to play as makes a game much more fun. It's still a blast, but more like 85%.

  51. Rabbid_girl Saturday 19th Dec 2009 at 17:38

    You know what would be good? Yoshi's own wii game. Yep. Now thats a game to buy.

  52. gilly006 Saturday 26th Dec 2009 at 22:14

    got this game for christmas and have been enjoying it so far. this is a great mmario game, not as good as galaxy but still a great game and is the better of the two modern 2d marios due to it's increased difficulty, better accessibility, and improvements in certain areas such as the introduction of Yoshi and the boss battles, especially the return of the koopa kids. i'm looking forward to playing more of this over the rest of the christmas period.

  53. Mart2006 Friday 8th Jan 2010 at 16:29

    Don't get me wrong. New Super Mario Bros. Wii is an awesome game. It recreates the retro 2D gaming genre in a superb way, which in my opinion, no other company could do as well at as Nintendo. But 96%? Don't you think that it's a little high?

    The reason Super Mario 64 got 96% and Super Mario Galaxy 97% is that they are both revolutionary, bringing the player new ways to play (the 3D environment SM64, and the planet style levels SMG) and New Super Mario Bros. Wii doesn't have the revolution, except the Multiplayer modes, which I, personally, don't think this buys the game such a high score of 96%.

    I think more along the lines of 92% to 95%; You can't give a glorified retro game the same score as the revolutionary SM64...

    Or maybe you can? It's your opinion!

  54. josephpalmer Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 16:10

    this mario game is really good. but its hard to save things because it has quick save and sometime it does not save at all. but i'll give it 5 out of 5 :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

  55. ONMaximum Thursday 4th Feb 2010 at 18:50

    I spent my Christmas money on this game, and it was SOO worth it! I completed World 1 no problem, but after that it started to get hard. As I progressed, I found myself getting frustrated because the levels were too hard. The last boss was extremely hard, and it took me ages to complete! But don't think I am saying this game is bad because it's too hard. NO WAY. It's absolutely fantastic how Nintendo come up with so many great ideas for levels, and how responsive the controls are. Absolutely love this game, I think it's as good as Galaxy. :D

  56. Gavin Rozee Monday 15th Feb 2010 at 20:17

    Difficulty, Although they say its hard, it looks really easy honestly, they could of increased teh difficulty, and got rid of the help box idea.


    I was waiting for a comment like this. :D

    I notice you say it "looks" really easy. Complete the game collecting every Star Coin, including all the ones in World 9, then tell me it was easy. I've been playing side-scrolling Mario games constantly for 23 years and I struggled at times.

    I completed every level, including all of world 9, with all Star Coins, with five sparkling stars on my save file. Twice.

    It's easy.

    Still love it though.

  57. AdamBsouthpark Sunday 21st Feb 2010 at 13:34

    Ha Ha the person who did this review is wrong "Super Mario bros. 1985 "on the NES was the first MARIO title to be a side scroller where as "Donkey Kong 1981" was the first side scrolling game to feature mario but wasn't a mario title

  58. Nelsonator15 Sunday 21st Feb 2010 at 22:45

    You see, this is what happens when you make a near-perfect game: people start complaining about REALLY trivial things. There's nothing wrong at all with being a toad (everyone controls the same anyway) and I wouldn't care much about online either.

    That's not to say I think it's perfect, actually I got too frustrated near the end of the second world and stopped playing (not a longtime Mario fan obviously :D) but this usually just means one thing: I'll be having another go soon enough.

    But bottom line, there's no point in complaining about trivial things. This game could've been SO much worse, trust me.

  59. lamblamb7 Monday 22nd Feb 2010 at 12:14

    This game is so epic! Even though I have completed it and got 5 stars by my name its still epic going on coin battles with my friends! What I dont like is that people complain about small things about this game like a different character selection instead of toads. Its still good with toads because they dont have any specil abilities. I like blue toad. Just dont complain about this game!

  60. Hawksparrow Sunday 14th Mar 2010 at 21:56

    My mate's got this game (sadly i haven't yet :() and he brought it round the other day. SOOOOO much fun. We literally just sat there playing it for about three hours straight. Killing each other is awesome, even if he was better at it than I was. -_-

    Peace out.

  61. BlueSoup8 Thursday 18th Mar 2010 at 18:57

    I've seen someone hack on YouTube so they can get Yoshi on every level! I wonder if all the music was Yoshi-ified or would it just freeze as it ahsn't been designed???

  62. ShadowofPain Friday 19th Mar 2010 at 22:24

    I don't know why ONM said it was difficult. I'm not the best Mario player in the world but I'm up to World 6 (been on and off playing, haven't really gotten too into it tbh) and I haven't ever got a Game Over or even a Super Guide. Granted it is a lot harder than the DS game but still on a grand scale of things it isn't too difficult.

    Also, I think that they decided to play it really safe as far as the decisions for this game go. Nintendo took almost no risks with this one. I felt they could've taken it a step further (ie: online co-op, more abilities such as the Mega Mushroom, etc).

    Still that doesn't stop the game from being a top quality, very polished game. I think it deserves 90% but certainly not 96%. I personally enjoyed SSBB far more than this.

  63. georgesell123 Thursday 25th Mar 2010 at 07:43

    Unfortunatly, I got rid of my Wii early this year. Now before you tut and say what an idiot allow me to explain. I had my Wii Christmas 06, 17 days after its release, I had Zelda and Red steel. I loved TP but expected more from it (maybe I expected too much) Red Steel didn't deliver for me, so I quickly got rid of it. And sat playing TP to death, then I found myself with nothing to play, So i snapped Resi 4 up as quickly as possible and loved it all over again then there was Galaxy and Mario kart and Brawl, and....well thats about it. I then hadn't switched my Wii on for months, and I had a new 360 sat next to it with not much money to buy the abundance of games on it that i wanted. SO i part exchanged my Wii.

    And after Wii music E3 (E3 08) I decided E3 09 would be not much better...how wrong I was...

    I will be buying another Wii, and will be buying Mario bros Wii as this game seems to signify a turning point in the Wii's life, up until now we've had the Mini games and the stupid stuff, but never from Nintendo, but now I think from this game on and through 2010, Nintendo is going to show third-party developers how its done, that the Wii isn't a second rate console, and then maybe we'll stop seeing the likes of those mini-game compilations, and start seeing the type of games we want and when i say WE i dont just mean "hardcore" gamers, I mean any gamer.

    Thanks for explaining that to us.

  64. Brawlftw Friday 16th Apr 2010 at 12:04

    This=Super Mario Galaxy. :D

    LOL not it doesn't.

    ONM, I don't know what you were thinking after reviewing this game. Maybe you'd had a few beers, maybe you were in a really good mood due to a lottery win or something. I say this because New Super Mario Bros Wii does not deserve 96%, not by a long shot.

    Here are a few good things about the game:
    1. The multiplayer is fun
    2. The new levels are well-designed
    3. The difficulty has been upped a bit, which is a nice improvement on the DS version (which could have been completed in about 5 hours).
    4. The koopa kids are back, making for better bosses than the DS version's.
    5. Some of the new items are awesome.

    Now here's a few bad points:
    1. Sorry, where's the online mode we were looking forward to?
    2. The game offers a feature that allows you to view a recording of the game being played, to help you if you're stuck. But this really should have been expanded; why not give players the option of recording their own playthroughs? Pretty lazy on Nintendo's part.
    3. My biggest gripe with the game is that you can play as Mario and Luigi, but the only other chaarcters are two toads. That is just sheer lazyness on Nintendo's part; why not include Wario and Waluigi? Or even to ahve Peach as an unlockable character? Nobody wants to play as Toad.
    4. They really should have kept the items from the DS version. The Blue shell was great.

    I'm aware I sound overly critical, but I was astonished at your 96% score; this is in no way a Brawl beater. Whilst fun, it simply isn't the sort of game that is enjoyable enough to warrant 4 or 5 hours of constant play (yes, even in the 4 player mode), which is the sort of standard set by Brawl.

    This game is great, and I would certainly recommend it, but it simply isn't as good as ONM says it is. 90 or 91% yes, 96% no.

  65. Brawlftw Friday 16th Apr 2010 at 12:09

    You see, this is what happens when you make a near-perfect game: people start complaining about REALLY trivial things. There's nothing wrong at all with being a toad (everyone controls the same anyway) and I wouldn't care much about online either.

    That's not to say I think it's perfect, actually I got too frustrated near the end of the second world and stopped playing (not a longtime Mario fan obviously :D) but this usually just means one thing: I'll be having another go soon enough.

    But bottom line, there's no point in complaining about trivial things. This game could've been SO much worse, trust me.

    Yes, it could have, but that's the point of giving it a gold award. A game that is great but still has several notable flaws does not deserve 96%. Yes, it could have been so much worse, but then so could every other game. If it had been so much worse, it would be getting a much lower score.

  66. Rabbid_girl Sunday 10th Oct 2010 at 15:20

    I hav only played this single player, but i have t say i enjoy it much more than galaxy!!! It is just classic mario, really good graffics, amazing sound and good old enemies-not to mention all the added features, like the goombas on the map, the hidden toads.ect. am going to play it soon with cousin and i am sure it will be even better then. Gosh, im sorry for ever doubting you, mario!

  67. thundercat96 Wednesday 26th Jan 2011 at 20:32

    More Yoshi?! Your having a laugh! Yoshi's done his bit in the game and the graphics and music is timeless! The storyline is planned out perfectly and the boss fights are intense.

    A definite recommendation for anyone! If you haven't go this game, sort it out! It's been more than a year since it's come out, so get it while you can enjoy it!

    Never before have I given a game 100%... before this! 100% definitely! :D :D :D

  68. Version10.151 Tuesday 26th Feb 2013 at 21:24

    I played through this game in single player and I was so bored by world 8 that I couldn't be bothered to finish it. :x

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.