Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Maestro! Jump In Music Review

A platformer that marches to its own beat

We hate to sound all doom and gloom but Maestro is one of those games that you can't help feeling isn't going to sell as well as it could. If that's the case, it'll be a huge shame because it's a truly unique little game.

Maestro stars a young bird by the name of Presto, who has to free the world's notes from the evil Staccato, a spider with a rather fetching array of outfits. To do this Presto has to run through each of the game's 18 songs while the player strums, taps and rubs various objects to the beat of the music.

These objects range from the basic wires Presto runs along that must be strummed as he passes over them for the perfect sound, to enemies that have to be tapped as a circle closes over it (Elite Beat Agents style). On top of all this Presto has to collect items which sound out the main notes to the music as he does.

Click to view larger image

Wired For Sound

If this all seems a bit daunting, that's because it is. Thankfully the game is paced well, starting you off with just the basic notes and gradually chucking in new objects and gameplay devices as you progress through the levels. Naturally, by the time you get to the end of the game you'll be prepared for anything.

Frustratingly, by the time you do get to the end of the game you may also feel a little short-changed at first since the songs aren't too long. You only get segments of the classical music tracks and the contemporary ones - which range from the Jackson 5's ABC to our personal highlight, the theme from Fame - are only usually a verse and chorus. You'll probably finish your first run-through of the game in about 30 minutes.

Fortunately, you quickly realise that this was just the Easy mode, and that the game's provided clever replay value by not only letting you play through the game again in Normal and Hard modes (the latter of which is mind-bendingly difficult), but letting you play through the whole song as opposed to just a snippet.

Maestro is a game that should appeal to gamers new and old. It's easy enough for newcomers to get to grips with without feeling overwhelmed, while the harder settings (though occasionally annoying when your strum isn't registered) provide a real challenge for experts. Original, heartwarming games like this are music to our ears.

Comments

17 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. SoulSilver IV Tuesday 15th Dec 2009 at 16:22

    I bet half the reason this game isn't going to sell very well is because no-where is stocking it. I checked in 3 Game stores, Gamestation, Currys Digital, HMV, basically anywhere I could locally think of that would sell DS games. None of them had any idea what it was, and were pretty sure they wouldn't be getting any stock. Where am I supposed to buy this game?! :cry:

    EDIT - After checking their website, it seems they haven't even managed to find a distributor in the UK yet...

  2. The Spirit Ghost Tuesday 15th Dec 2009 at 18:19

    I bet half the reason this game isn't going to sell very well is because no-where is stocking it. I checked in 3 Game stores, Gamestation, Currys Digital, HMV, basically anywhere I could locally think of that would sell DS games. None of them had any idea what it was, and were pretty sure they wouldn't be getting any stock. Where am I supposed to buy this game?! :cry:

    EDIT - After checking their website, it seems they haven't even managed to find a distributor in the UK yet...

    A pity :(

  3. ShadowofPain Tuesday 15th Dec 2009 at 21:31

    Like the very first person said this game probably won't sell well. It's such a shame really and it's one of the reasons that the Wii and DS look bad to people. Instead of putting quality little gems on the shelf that are actually fun to play like Spyborgs, A Boy and his Blob, Muramasa, Klonoa, The World Ends with You and this; the shelves are full of crap like "Toy Story Mania", "EA Sports Active" (although I heard that is actually meant to be decent) and the "Imagine" games. :(

  4. nookAC Tuesday 15th Dec 2009 at 22:39

    I bet half the reason this game isn't going to sell very well is because no-where is stocking it. I checked in 3 Game stores, Gamestation, Currys Digital, HMV, basically anywhere I could locally think of that would sell DS games. None of them had any idea what it was, and were pretty sure they wouldn't be getting any stock. Where am I supposed to buy this game?! :cry:

    EDIT - After checking their website, it seems they haven't even managed to find a distributor in the UK yet...

    We’re trying to find distribution solutions for England and maybe Germany. We’ll keep you posted about that. And as soon as the game will be buyable online, we’ll give you a direct link on the Maestro online page.


    this might be why hope they get it sorted out soon looks like a great game.

  5. jamboodle Tuesday 15th Dec 2009 at 22:44

    I can't help but feel that this is a kind of game that I'd enjoy. I'll be giving thihs gamea go when I can get my hands on it :?

  6. wariorulez Wednesday 16th Dec 2009 at 17:03

    When is this released in the UK? It looks like fun, yet I'm not sure about the music choice. Demo please Nintendo Channel!!

  7. SoulSilver IV Wednesday 16th Dec 2009 at 23:05

    There's a thought - how did ONM come to obtain their copy?

  8. ChrisONM Thursday 17th Dec 2009 at 10:00

    There's a thought - how did ONM come to obtain their copy?


    It depends on the game, sometimes we get special debug cartridges with review code on them, that don't play on normal DSes. In this case though, we did actually get a final, boxed retail copy:

    http://img192.imageshack.us/img192/933/dsc0617v.jpg

  9. Super_Sonic96 Thursday 17th Dec 2009 at 12:08

    It's too bad about the distributer thing, It looks like a really good game. I think the person who does actually publish it will get a nice surprise with the sales.

  10. JSupremoJ Thursday 17th Dec 2009 at 18:06

    Sounds really good. :D

  11. Evosnake Friday 18th Dec 2009 at 11:52

    This looks ace, It's just a shame nobody can find it! :lol:

    I had a look on Game and Play.com and couldnt see it. :(


    How about a competition ONM? :P

  12. hulkbuster Friday 18th Dec 2009 at 20:04

    I bet half the reason this game isn't going to sell very well is because no-where is stocking it. I checked in 3 Game stores, Gamestation, Currys Digital, HMV, basically anywhere I could locally think of that would sell DS games. None of them had any idea what it was, and were pretty sure they wouldn't be getting any stock. Where am I supposed to buy this game?! :cry:

    EDIT - After checking their website, it seems they haven't even managed to find a distributor in the UK yet...

    This is so true as i'v tryed all the same stores on and off line and still no luck so ONM do any of you know were we can get this game :?: But one game shop assistant i asked did seem to have seen this ds game in stock or was he just dreaming :?: then again if theres no distributor then we are all out of luck for now anyway but heres hoping :!: .

  13. FreddieC Saturday 19th Dec 2009 at 00:07

    Looking at the box art I can't think why people wouldn't want to stock it; it looks awesome. I really want this game.

  14. leomckitten Sunday 20th Dec 2009 at 11:34

    Found this:http://www.gamesbasement.co.uk/games-rhythm-music/nintendo-ds/maestro-jump-in-music-ds-PD-3768.html?utm_source=Froogle&utm_medium=marketing_medium&utm_campaign=froogle_feed

    Never tried GamesBasement, so I haven't ordered it, but it seems to be the only place that you can buy it...

    There's also a demo coming to DSiWare apparently...

  15. ShinynewJB Monday 21st Dec 2009 at 08:49

    Here's a thought: By the looks of the boxart Chris posted, they have actually manufactued UK versions of the game. If this is true, ONM could offer it as a subsription gift perhaps? A game like this would surely make me get my ass into gear and subscribe.

  16. mrhoix Monday 21st Dec 2009 at 10:35

    I have this game!! I bought from ebay from America and I cant stop playing it! I have got past easy mode and I am now on normal. I'm on the third last boss on normal. Also that twist at the end was funny when it says this is the final boss then when u complete it, it comes up with anouther boss, the real final boss. I love this game. Too bad it won't sell that much, go down with imagine games and come up more decent games!

  17. bouncer0304 Wednesday 7th Apr 2010 at 19:08

    Just to let you all know this game is IMPOSSIBLE to get as asda, zavvi and gamebasement haven't had this game in stock for months. I would love to play this game, but unless you're prepared to pay Ł55 on ebay or get an illegal ROM, then there's no way to get it. ONM, for the love of god, please, please, PLEASE make a deal with pastagames and let this become a subscribers gift. I for one would make a subscription before Mario could say "mama mia!"

    EDIT: I've just bought a copy for Ł35 including p+p (must be mental!)from a link on http://www.gonintendo.com/viewstory.php?id=109475. Although that auction has ended, the company who sells them had a few copies left and i just bought one (which i can't believe i did!)

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.