Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney Review

How does it compare to the DS original?

We enjoy the Ace Attorney games on DS but until now Wii owners have been missing out on all the fun. That's now changed as the first of these games, Phoenix Wright: Ace Attorney, is now available on WiiWare.

This is a straight port of the DS game which introduces Phoenix Wright, a young and inexperienced attorney who's still learning the ropes in the courtroom.

It is more or less exactly the same as the DS game. Yes, you can point the Remote to shout Objection but you have to do it forcefully and it doesn't really improve the gameplay.

As with the DS game, there are many hours of entertaining legal drama to be enjoyed here, with plenty of investigative work to be carried out and the script that's packed with jokes. So if you've never played the DS game, you're in for a treat.

Click to view larger image
However, the graphics haven't been upgraded here so you're essentially playing a DS game on your telly. What's more, the final case - Rise From The Ashes - isn't even included in the game and is only available as a downloadable extra for another 100 Points. That's just a bit tight because a fifth of the DS original is being kept from gamers until they pay up.

Phoenix Wright is an enjoyable adventure, albeit a very linear one. It's a bit galling that Capcom hasn't really enhanced this Wii version at all but for only 1100 Points (with the extra downloadable episode), it's a good introduction to the series for Wii owners.

Comments

21 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. connoransell Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 18:47

    i'm gonna buy this :D

  2. NEO.BAHAMUT Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 19:20

    I may have to buy this, it's looking good.

  3. Kd King Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 19:27

    Why didn't they just make a new Ace Attorney game again? Everyone and their Gran has a DS, not really necessary.

  4. Bellicapelli Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 19:37

    I think you've let them off the hook a little too easy here. This is not just a lazy port of a DS title - it's a striped down port, closer to the original GBA title. The wiimote actions are an exhibit A "tack-on" and without the touch screen and all it's features available to the DS version, this game is closer to a generic story book than an interactive video game.

    The stretched graphics are ugly and the price tag once all the extras are included is frankly completely OOT.

    Capcom should not have allowed this game to be released in this state. 80% is generous for a game that never got a Gold Award in the first place!

    There is nothing new here from a game that has now appeared on three different Nintendo systems over the last two generations - I thought your score would reflect such as is normally the case when you review rereleases of old titles?

  5. Phillips Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 19:41

    Very fair review. Happy to read a review that hasn't put the boot in and drastically reduced the score because it doesn't add anything new or look aesthetically-pleasing.

    A good game is a good game, after all.

  6. Mr Hat Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 20:11

    Wii exclusive case Capcom?

  7. Grifter Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 20:25

    I've always been afraid of dipping my toe into the world of Phoenix Wright. I just wasn't sure if it represented good value for money, what with depreciation.

    Now may be just the time to invest.

  8. mariofanatic128 Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 21:02

    I agree with Bellicapelli, this is just a bad port of a good game.

  9. lrwr14 Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 21:07

    I will buy the 3rd one and the apollo justice games if the release them, since I haven't played them.

  10. Athrun888 Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 21:53

    So it's finally happened, a company has deliberately chopped of the end of a game to charge extra for it, dlc is a con and this just proves my point and is the very reason why I hate dlc, because of this I will not be buying this game.

  11. Phoenix Wright Monday 25th Jan 2010 at 23:39

    Case 5 was never the original ending - for the original game in japan, the cases 1-4 represent the whole game. Case 5 was made LATER for the DS exclusively, so it's not chopped off an ending, it's just chopping off an optional case for the game...totally different from what you're saying.

  12. Bellicapelli Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 00:36

    So it's finally happened, a company has deliberately chopped of the end of a game to charge extra for it, dlc is a con and this just proves my point and is the very reason why I hate dlc, because of this I will not be buying this game.

    That's just it. They HAVEN'T chopped off the end of the game - the missing final chapter was only ever exclusive bonus content for the DS version of Ace Attourney - to show off the potential of the newly developed DS touch screen feature.

    What we have here is a port of the complete GBA version of Ace Attourney - no touch screen menus, no extra chapter; just some dodgy token motion controls and a whopping 1000 point pricetag.

    I notice that Ace Attourney on the DS has a modest score of only 81% in the ONM archives. Are all these flaws worthy of just a single percent reduction? Surely any score over 70% is pushing it?

  13. maxmatt Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 08:13

    I never played it first time around so I might give this a go

  14. 13th Nightmare Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 09:51

    I downloaded this on Saturday and I am enjoying it quite a bit. All right, it is a port of a DS game, which was the port of a GBA game, but it is still quite good fun. I'm loving swinging the Wii remote whenever I get to present evidence. I dont think it will get boring for me.

  15. Mahzes Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 10:36

    Downloaded this last Monday. I'm currently playing Justice For All after finishing Apollo Justice on Sunday night. Bought the rest of the series immediately after playing the first and now slogging through them.

    Hell, I might even rebuy the first game on DS for the sake of completion and so I don't have to wait until May for the fifth case. Depends how cheaply I can find it these days.

    But yeah- consider me addicted to the series, just in time for Ace Attorney Investigations next month.

    I don't see why people are complaining about the extra chapter being a 100-point DLC- even with that, it's still much cheaper than it would have been to buy the game full-price (not that you can get new copies anymore), and even used copies on eBay usually go for around 15, so you're still getting it cheap.

    The only factor about the DLC that bugs me is that it's being held back until May.

    Also, people saying it was 'pointless' to release the first one on WiiWare- have you tried hunting down a copy of the DS original? They don't sell it in stores and you can't buy it new anymore, really. It's not exactly that easy to get hold of.

  16. ChrisONM Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 11:47

    What we have here is a port of the complete GBA version of Ace Attourney - no touch screen menus, no extra chapter; just some dodgy token motion controls and a whopping 1000 point pricetag.


    There is an extra chapter though, it just costs another 100 Points. It's there, and it's part of the actual game when you download it. All you download when you spend the extra 100 Points is a one-block file that 'unlocks' it.

  17. DarkAce Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 14:53

    What we have here is a port of the complete GBA version of Ace Attourney - no touch screen menus, no extra chapter; just some dodgy token motion controls and a whopping 1000 point pricetag.


    There is an extra chapter though, it just costs another 100 Points. It's there, and it's part of the actual game when you download it. All you download when you spend the extra 100 Points is a one-block file that 'unlocks' it.

    Well, you've got to expect them to milk money from it. I'd expect that lots of Japanese gamers will have played the game on the GBA, and not experienced the fifth case. For them, this may be entirely new content.

    Anyway, isn't there a new game in the main series, and the Miles Edgeworth investigations game in development?

  18. RubbishGamer Tuesday 26th Jan 2010 at 17:12

    new sprites would take longer to make, but it would be something really enjoyable to look forward to.
    Pah...

  19. veela_magnet Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 16:03

    I'm a massive fan of the series (I've just completed the second game, and I can't wait to get started on the third), but I really can't see why you'd want to play it on the Wii, as it's very much like playing an interactive manga, so it's nice to be able to carry it around with you on journeys and whatnot.

    When I heard it was coming out I did get a little excited, as I was convinced that they would have gone down the Street Fighter HD Remix route and completely redrawn the sprites in lovely hi-def. The animation for the characters is pretty limited, so it's not like there are that many frames to reproduce, and considering the sterling work that UdonCrew did, you'd think that Capcom could have roped them back in to do the same here.

  20. Grifter Tuesday 13th Apr 2010 at 22:04

    I went through with this purchase and can honestly say that I do not regret doing so. However I have completed the first four cases and am now unable to purchase the 5th 'DS exclusive' case. Is there anything which can be done?

  21. Xenobladeperson Wednesday 23rd May 2012 at 18:18

    I'm sure the DS version is better, but objecting with the Wii remote sounds like fun. (Can you shout objection and smash your Wii remote off a table for a desk slam too?) Even if it's not the best version, this is one of the best games ever and anyone who hasn't played the DS version should buy this.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.