Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Tatsunoko Vs Capcom: Ultimate All-Stars Review

Who needs Street Fighter IV?

Here's something that may surprise you. It would be perfectly possible for Capcom to release Street Fighter IV on the Wii. The game engine was developed in such a way that the graphics could have been scaled down and the game would still play exactly the same. We know this because Tatsunoko Vs Capcom uses the Street Fighter IV engine.

Now here's something else that may surprise you. After spending countless hours on Capcom's Wii-only brawler, we're not that bothered if Street Fighter IV never comes to Nintendo. We're too busy playing this to care.

Tatsunoko Vs Capcom is the latest in Capcom's line of Vs games, which in the past have included the likes of X-Men Vs Street Fighter and Marvel Vs Capcom. The emphasis in these games is less on standard one-on-one combat as in the Street Fighter games and more on tag-team fighting, extremely fast action and ridiculous, screen-filling special moves.

Click to view larger image
It's safe to say this ticks all those boxes and then some, because Tatsunoko Vs Capcom is one of the craziest, most over-the-top fighters we've ever played.

You may not be familiar with Tatsunoko, but in Japan it's effectively the Disney of TV animation. Having been going since the 1970s, Tatsunoko has been responsible for loads of classic Japanese anime series such as Gatchaman (known overseas as Battle Of The Planets), Speed Racer, Karas, Casshern and Samurai Pizza Cats.

Don't let it put you off if you haven't seen any Tatsunoko stuff though. The characters included here are so full of personality that you'll quickly warm to them even without any prior knowledge of their respective backstories. The likes of Doronjo and Casshern are simply masterworks of character design, making it easy to see why Tatsunoko enjoys such revered status in the far east.

Pick Your Fighter

There are 25 different characters to choose from, with 12 appearing from various Tatsunoko anime and 13 from Capcom games. You have to choose a team of two for your fight, which can make for some interesting combinations. A degree of tactical thinking is necessary here. Do you go all Street Fighter and choose Ryu and Chun-Li, or will you combine the might of wrestler Alex with the quirkiness of cute little Roll from Mega Man to keep the opponent guessing?

Incidentally, two of the characters - Tatsunoko's Gold Lightan and PTX-40A from Capcom's Lost Planet - are so huge that they count as two characters and can't be teamed up with anyone. It's understandable though, considering the camera actually has to pan out when they fight so that they can fit in the screen.

Click to view larger image
As is the case in all one-on-one fighters, the gameplay is the most important thing of all and that's where Tatsunoko Vs Capcom really shines. At first glance it will seem fairly basic, especially to hardened Street Fighter players. Instead of having six attack buttons (light, medium and strong punch and light, medium and strong kick) there are only three here, simply offering light, medium and strong attacks of any sorts. This makes things easy for beginners to get to grips with.

The special attacks are also generally simple to pull off, with the vast majority requiring only basic quarter-circles (like the one used to pull of Ryu's fireball in any Street Fighter game) or Dragon Punch motions (towards, down, down-towards, attack). While there are a few other moves with more complex motions required, newcomers who know these basic techniques will be able to pick any character in the game and at least pull off a couple of fancy attacks with a few basic commands.

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

49 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. toffeeman30 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 13:06

    surprised this got a western release. its been a decade since weve had a game like this, plus its a good one. on my list of must haves

  2. ShinynewJB Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 13:15

    Choo choo: All aboard the hype train! http://forums.officialnintendomagazine. ... &start=550

    I like this review. Dunno if I agree because I haven't got my hands on it, but reading this review in the magazine is what made me slap my pre-order on.

    1 day to go!

  3. piccadillio Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 13:47

    If its a game that is good enough to stand up on its own right, why make it about not being Street Fighter IV?

  4. chino40k Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 13:47

    "...Tatsunoko Vs Capcom uses the Street Fighter IV engine."

    That's not true is it? I believe that's a complete fabrication.

    Tatsunoko vs Capcom uses it's own game engine which was built from the ground up.

    The Japanese arcade game is based on Wii hardware, apparently the motherboard even has Nintendo stamped on it.

    Ryota Niitsuma, the producer is quoted as saying: "if we were to port it to PS3 or Xbox 360 we would have to make the game from scratch"

  5. ChrisONM Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 15:36

    "...Tatsunoko Vs Capcom uses the Street Fighter IV engine."

    That's not true is it? I believe that's a complete fabrication.

    Tatsunoko vs Capcom uses it's own game engine which was built from the ground up.

    The Japanese arcade game is based on Wii hardware, apparently the motherboard even has Nintendo stamped on it.

    Ryota Niitsuma, the producer is quoted as saying: "if we were to port it to PS3 or Xbox 360 we would have to make the game from scratch"


    It's not the exact engine, but it's based on it. It's clear when playing it. I should have been more specific.

  6. Erdogan44 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 15:38

    AWESOME review!

    Made my day. Also Amazon has despatched the game =D :wink:

  7. mario555 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 16:22

    I want this.

  8. mirage 5x5 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 16:27

    i think the review is a bit wong they down the score
    because of no v pad or gamecube pad
    well got my copy to day and it has both
    so i think the score should go up ?

  9. chino40k Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 16:39

    "...Tatsunoko Vs Capcom uses the Street Fighter IV engine."

    That's not true is it? I believe that's a complete fabrication.

    Tatsunoko vs Capcom uses it's own game engine which was built from the ground up.

    The Japanese arcade game is based on Wii hardware, apparently the motherboard even has Nintendo stamped on it.

    Ryota Niitsuma, the producer is quoted as saying: "if we were to port it to PS3 or Xbox 360 we would have to make the game from scratch"


    It's not the exact engine, but it's based on it. It's clear when playing it. I should have been more specific.

    If that's the case, then no fear - it was just that the opening paragraph is rather misleading.

    Have you had chance to try the online mode now?

  10. bloodandthunder Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 17:51

    I'm sold now. I enjoy playing Street Fighter IV when I get the chance, and I already have a classic controller and a Gamecube controller, so what have I got to lose?!

  11. mirage 5x5 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 18:11

    i have been just playing this game it is way cool game
    if you are a beat em up fan you will want to give this game a look

  12. ChrisONM Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 18:14

    "...Tatsunoko Vs Capcom uses the Street Fighter IV engine."

    That's not true is it? I believe that's a complete fabrication.

    Tatsunoko vs Capcom uses it's own game engine which was built from the ground up.

    The Japanese arcade game is based on Wii hardware, apparently the motherboard even has Nintendo stamped on it.

    Ryota Niitsuma, the producer is quoted as saying: "if we were to port it to PS3 or Xbox 360 we would have to make the game from scratch"


    It's not the exact engine, but it's based on it. It's clear when playing it. I should have been more specific.

    If that's the case, then no fear - it was just that the opening paragraph is rather misleading.

    Have you had chance to try the online mode now?


    Yup, seems really stable, and that's playing against American opponents. There were a few laggy moments, but only one or two in five hours or so of online play.

  13. Icarus_Kid Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 19:02

    The review fails because you say it uses the SFIV engine when it doesn't (you shouldn't make that kinda mistake) and the fact that it makes you pety when you mention SFIV.

    If its a game that is good enough to stand up on its own right, why make it about not being Street Fighter IV?

    Because the Wii didn't get Street Fighter IV so the reviewer is trying to sell as it as a game great as SFIV.

  14. Timwit94 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 19:46

    Nice review and this game looks really awesome, I've never really got into fighting games like Street Fighter but I'll give this a go and I think I'm going to really enjoy it. I doubt I'll get it when it comes out though, probably in a few weeks along with Endless Ocean 2 and Bioshock 2. (need to save money for NMH2 aswell!).

  15. NEO.BAHAMUT Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 19:49

    Hopefully getting my version tomorrow!... If play.com decide to post it trough my door tomorrow that is...

  16. ChrisONM Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 19:59

    The review fails because you say it uses the SFIV engine when it doesn't (you shouldn't make that kinda mistake) and the fact that it makes you pety when you mention SFIV.

    If its a game that is good enough to stand up on its own right, why make it about not being Street Fighter IV?

    Because the Wii didn't get Street Fighter IV so the reviewer is trying to sell as it as a game great as SFIV.


    First of all, I didn't make a mistake, I just wasn't specific enough.

    The game does use the Street Fighter IV engine, it's just a heavily modified version of the engine designed to handle a different (more manic, two-on-two) type of action and designed to work on Wii hardware. If you play both SFIV and TvC it's clear both have the same basic graphical and gameplay engine running under the hood.

    Secondly, I don't think it's petty to mention Street Fighter IV. It's by far the most popular fighting game at the moment and it's not on the Wii, so many Wii owners will naturally want to know how this compares as an alternative.

  17. darkandy666 Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 20:35

    i don't think you should of said that its bad if you don't have a classic controller im not say u shouldn't use one i think your completely right but most people who will think of buying or buying this game will properly have one im might get it and i have one just saying that if you scored it down because of it ths not fair

  18. ILoveWii Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 20:47

    FFS, it DOES use the Street Fighter IV Engine.

    Some people are so slow. It says it on Wikipedia so...you guys fail.

    Just because it doesn't look similar, doesn't mean it doesn't use the engine.

  19. commanderworf Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 21:04

    The review fails because you say it uses the SFIV engine when it doesn't (you shouldn't make that kinda mistake) and the fact that it makes you pety when you mention SFIV.

    If its a game that is good enough to stand up on its own right, why make it about not being Street Fighter IV?

    Because the Wii didn't get Street Fighter IV so the reviewer is trying to sell as it as a game great as SFIV.

    Hey Icarus Kid, learn to spell before you go and disregard Chris' review.

  20. JimBarrUK Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 21:53

    I got mine on eBay and it came yesterday
    :D 2 days before the release date :D
    very pleased, well worth the wait

  21. Icarus_Kid Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 22:24

    Secondly, I don't think it's petty to mention Street Fighter IV. It's by far the most popular fighting game at the moment and it's not on the Wii, so many Wii owners will naturally want to know how this compares as an alternative.


    I think I was being abit harsh, sorry man.
    But SFIV and TvsC are differnt games, the latter is built for a system that isn't comparable to the 360/PS3 and also uses a 2v2 method of fighting...aw it doesn't matter.

  22. Icarus_Kid Thursday 28th Jan 2010 at 22:25

    The review fails because you say it uses the SFIV engine when it doesn't (you shouldn't make that kinda mistake) and the fact that it makes you pety when you mention SFIV.

    If its a game that is good enough to stand up on its own right, why make it about not being Street Fighter IV?

    Because the Wii didn't get Street Fighter IV so the reviewer is trying to sell as it as a game great as SFIV.

    Hey Icarus Kid, learn to spell before you go and disregard Chris' review.


    Dude, it's an internet forum, it doesn't matter (you don't hear that much on ONM)

  23. Daz_Dagon Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 00:34

    Im not 100% sure to buy this or not... Should I buy it?

  24. Daz_Dagon Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 01:51

    YES! I just heard phoenix wright could still be in with a chance of getting into the game via dlc. Unfortunatley thats up to nintendo... Please make him availble nintendo!

  25. Erdogan44 Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 10:58

    It's true that. Only if Nintendo says yes. :3

    My copy came in today.

  26. gamester Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 11:59

    I have a very bad feeling I won't be able to get this game for a while.

  27. veela_magnet Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 16:28

    I love the hell out of the Street Fighter series, and if this is anything as good as SFIV, I'd love to check it out. It certainly looks the proverbial dog's. I've not played a proper VS game since Marvel vs. Capcom on the PS1 -- I may nab this once it's a little cheaper (and I've got through my backlog of games I've been neglecting!)

  28. bowser boy Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 17:25

    i have brawl should i get this

  29. ShinynewJB Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 18:04

    i have brawl should i get this

    They're really really different. That's like saying "I have Half-Life 2, should I get Metroid?".

    All I can say is that owning both won't be like owning two of the same thing as they're very different beasts. Check out all the reviews of the game on Metacritic and decide for yourself. :)

  30. hulkbuster Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 20:00

    got mine today from blockbuster only £24.99 :D :D joy,joy :!: .

  31. chino40k Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 23:11

    FFS, it DOES use the Street Fighter IV Engine.

    Some people are so slow. It says it on Wikipedia so...you guys fail.

    Just because it doesn't look similar, doesn't mean it doesn't use the engine.

    I can't say I've seen it on Wikipedia. I'm still highly dubious.

    From my reading across numerous sources, this game engine is incompatible with the SFIV engine. Yes it is similar, Capcom's thing at the moment, 2.5D on 3D but that does not indicate it's the same engine. The producer saying TvC on PS360 would need building from scratch would appear to back this line of thinking up.

    Yoshinori Ono, producer on SFIV is quoted as saying: "SFIV development started with the arcade version which was Windows PC based. We developed it on DX9 and designed the development environment such as the game editor and authoring tools to run on dev Windows PC."

    source: http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,6859 ... tail/News/

    On the other hand, Tatsunoko vs Capcom's developement started with the arcade version which is Wii based.

    It appears that development for the two started from different stand points.

    I'm not being pedantic or troublesome for the hell of it, not my intention but it's just odd as this is the only source which makes the statement about the games engine.

    Anyway, I look forward to playing TvC when it turns up in the post.

  32. ChrisONM Friday 29th Jan 2010 at 23:47

    FFS, it DOES use the Street Fighter IV Engine.

    Some people are so slow. It says it on Wikipedia so...you guys fail.

    Just because it doesn't look similar, doesn't mean it doesn't use the engine.

    I can't say I've seen it on Wikipedia. I'm still highly dubious.

    From my reading across numerous sources, this game engine is incompatible with the SFIV engine. Yes it is similar, Capcom's thing at the moment, 2.5D on 3D but that does not indicate it's the same engine. The producer saying TvC on PS360 would need building from scratch would appear to back this line of thinking up.

    Yoshinori Ono, producer on SFIV is quoted as saying: "SFIV development started with the arcade version which was Windows PC based. We developed it on DX9 and designed the development environment such as the game editor and authoring tools to run on dev Windows PC."

    source: http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,6859 ... tail/News/

    On the other hand, Tatsunoko vs Capcom's developement started with the arcade version which is Wii based.

    It appears that development for the two started from different stand points.

    I'm not being pedantic or troublesome for the hell of it, not my intention but it's just odd as this is the only source which makes the statement about the games engine.

    Anyway, I look forward to playing TvC when it turns up in the post.


    But just because the SFIV engine was PC based and the TvC engine was Wii based doesn't mean the TvC engine's initial framework wasn't based on SFIV's. If you play SFIV then play TvC it's absolutely clear that both games are running the same basic engine. You don't need quotes to prove or disprove it, it's completely obvious.

    It doesn't matter what Ono said in the past, it's very clear that, while the engine may have changed a lot during development, the initial gameplay engine for TvC was based on the SFIV one, no matter how loosely that may have been. There's no way they would have wasted the time to create a completely different gameplay engine when they already had a successful 2.5D fighter sitting there.

    Maybe the graphics engine is what would need to be rebuilt for 360 or PS3, but a gameplay engine for a 2D fighting game should never need to be so complex that it can't be simply ported over to another system.

  33. Daz_Dagon Saturday 30th Jan 2010 at 00:44

    ARGH! Everyone I fight online keeps quitting at the end of the match just because im wining. I was one hit away from beating a champ.

  34. rimz790 Saturday 30th Jan 2010 at 10:12

    I find it funny how people ask questions like..."is it any good? should i buy it?" etc.

    From day one of hearing news on Tatsunoko Vs Capcom being released in the UK, i was hoping it will be good and im glad it is. I was following the progress of the game till release and i wasn't let down by the positive news and reviews that its been receiving. Buying games of such genres will bolster the future for the Wii in getting good quality games.

    I tend to read reviews on games from many sources, for eg gamespot, games tm, onm, user reviews etc, before i make my final decision when buying a game.

    People shouldn't start comparing this game to the likes of SF IV. Tatsunoko Vs Capcom was made for the Wii only, you should feel privileged knowing that.

    So Wii folks out there, don't even think about whether to buy this game or not...just buy it...the reviews favor it.

  35. chino40k Saturday 30th Jan 2010 at 13:57

    FFS, it DOES use the Street Fighter IV Engine.

    Some people are so slow. It says it on Wikipedia so...you guys fail.

    Just because it doesn't look similar, doesn't mean it doesn't use the engine.

    I can't say I've seen it on Wikipedia. I'm still highly dubious.

    From my reading across numerous sources, this game engine is incompatible with the SFIV engine. Yes it is similar, Capcom's thing at the moment, 2.5D on 3D but that does not indicate it's the same engine. The producer saying TvC on PS360 would need building from scratch would appear to back this line of thinking up.

    Yoshinori Ono, producer on SFIV is quoted as saying: "SFIV development started with the arcade version which was Windows PC based. We developed it on DX9 and designed the development environment such as the game editor and authoring tools to run on dev Windows PC."

    source: http://www.pcgameshardware.com/aid,6859 ... tail/News/

    On the other hand, Tatsunoko vs Capcom's developement started with the arcade version which is Wii based.

    It appears that development for the two started from different stand points.

    I'm not being pedantic or troublesome for the hell of it, not my intention but it's just odd as this is the only source which makes the statement about the games engine.

    Anyway, I look forward to playing TvC when it turns up in the post.


    But just because the SFIV engine was PC based and the TvC engine was Wii based doesn't mean the TvC engine's initial framework wasn't based on SFIV's. If you play SFIV then play TvC it's absolutely clear that both games are running the same basic engine. You don't need quotes to prove or disprove it, it's completely obvious.

    It doesn't matter what Ono said in the past, it's very clear that, while the engine may have changed a lot during development, the initial gameplay engine for TvC was based on the SFIV one, no matter how loosely that may have been. There's no way they would have wasted the time to create a completely different gameplay engine when they already had a successful 2.5D fighter sitting there.

    Maybe the graphics engine is what would need to be rebuilt for 360 or PS3, but a gameplay engine for a 2D fighting game should never need to be so complex that it can't be simply ported over to another system.

    No that's cool. You didn't need to take time out to write all that but at the same time your expansion on the subject is appreciated.

    I think the key is, when people see 'Street Fighter IV engine' it's the graphics they think it describes which is only natural as it is the front end of the game.

    I included quotes with my posts because I'm of the schooling that if you make a point you should provide supportive evidence. I appreciate that sometimes, like with 'climate change' for instance you could make any point you like for or against and find supportive evidence.

    I'm a science man by nature and as such I have a interest of sorts in how things are built and in this case, I was not trying to attack your work but find clarification.

    Once again, I appreciate you taking the time out to expand on what you did.

    ...And I'm still waiting for TvC to arrive!

  36. rimz790 Saturday 30th Jan 2010 at 14:17

    Received my copy of TvsC from Zavvi today, they are selling it for £17.95 http://www.zavvi.com/games/platforms/ni ... 68002.html

    There's a 3 day dispatch time, but i received my copy a day after release, which was ok because i ordered a Black Classic Pro controller from Amazon which also arrived today.

    Played the game with my brother via online and its a crazy game. Iv played it with the GameCube and Classic controller and the game plays well with both controllers.

  37. ShadowofPain Saturday 30th Jan 2010 at 21:19

    I'm kinda annoyed with some of the other reviews with of this game. So many of the reviews rate this lower simply because of the fact it is "not as good as Street Fighter IV/Marvel vs Capcom 2". Seriously that's just pure bias right there. If a game is gonna be reviewed review it BY ITSELF. Review what's good about the game and its plus points not "how it is inferior to other games in some aspects". They do that with a lot of Wii games =/

  38. nintendo_guy Sunday 31st Jan 2010 at 09:34

    1st gem of the year? Looks like it.

  39. ninmaster07 Sunday 31st Jan 2010 at 15:46

    i got mine yesterday and spent the whole night master every characters combos i still cant do some but its a kick ass game anyway.

    beware button bashers im coming for you!

  40. Colgax Monday 1st Feb 2010 at 04:16

    Nintendo must let Capcom use DLC to put Phoenix on it! I don't really think Nintendo is gonna say no, Capcom and Nintendo have really tight relations.

    Wanna see Rockman.EXE on Super Smash Bros.!

    Wanna see Nintendo Vs Capcom!

  41. thecoop Monday 1st Feb 2010 at 15:14

    ARGH! Everyone I fight online keeps quitting at the end of the match just because im wining. I was one hit away from beating a champ.

    At least you're winning!! I played online the other day and lost every single fight! I've always been pretty good at fighting games, but the online opponents so far have me beat. What's wrong with me?! Having said that, I do usually excel at Virtua Fighter, Fighting Vipers, Soul Calibur etc. so perhaps I just need to re-acquant myself with this style of control system.

  42. mirage 5x5 Monday 1st Feb 2010 at 21:02

    i dont look at the engine it is useing street fighter 4 is good game but so is tvc i look at the game at topic and nothing else.
    one good fing to know is that capcom have made both of these games and thay have made a lote of good
    beat em ups if your thinking of buying tvc then look at capcom and ther games.

  43. dizzy boy Sunday 7th Feb 2010 at 17:22

    i`ve been playing TvC for the past few days, and i`m glad i paid out for it.
    like alot of people here, i`ve had to order my copy online, simply because i can`t find it in the shops.
    Has anybody else noticed that none of the high street shops are stocking TvC?

  44. ShadowofPain Monday 8th Feb 2010 at 20:12

    i`ve been playing TvC for the past few days, and i`m glad i paid out for it.
    like alot of people here, i`ve had to order my copy online, simply because i can`t find it in the shops.
    Has anybody else noticed that none of the high street shops are stocking TvC?

    Yeah. Typical. The good Wii games never get on the shelves yet all the shovelware crap does. I went into a couple of game shops and only saw 1 copy of the game :?

  45. lmorr Sunday 14th Feb 2010 at 17:21

    Got it, it is so good pro the in my city 2 get it only in HMV

  46. yohnazo Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 22:35

    got mine today from blockbuster only £24.99 :D :D joy,joy :!: .


    Thanks for the tip man, I wouldn't think to check there, let's hope it's the same price where I am ^^

  47. shane12234 Sunday 14th Mar 2010 at 14:14

    this game is ace dont get me wrong,but talk about special moves heavy!

  48. Super_Sonic96 Sunday 11th Apr 2010 at 17:29

    Best fighter on wii (I even prefer it to brawl!) My only niggle though is like you stated in issue 55 that when your online there is either no lag or abosolutely game breaking, and when its game breaking it REALLY is game breaking.

  49. juxtapose Wednesday 28th Apr 2010 at 11:48

    cool review, really looking forward to this!, but... using my "mad skillz" ive built myself an arcade stick for my Wii, using an old GC controller, before i buy the game, can anyone tell me what controls are used?, d-pad or analogue stick?, both?, either?, did a quick search and couldn't find anything, dont want to buy the game then find i cant control it!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.