Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing Wii review

If imitation is the sincerest form of flattery...

It's very rare that a game so blatantly based on another turns out to be better than its inspiration. Especially when its inspiration is something as polished and classy as Mario Kart Wii. Unafraid, Sumo Digital have stepped up to the plate with this Sega-ified (is that a word? It is now) spin on Mario Kart, and have done very well to replicate the controls, visuals and feature set of Nintendo's chaotic kart racer.

The basic gameplay is near-identical, and as a result, it's good solid fun. A lot of the weapons are straight lifts from Mario Kart, sometimes brazenly so (even the colour-coding is the same - Green Shells are now Green Boxing Gloves, Red Shells are Red Rockets). The drifting mechanic is identical, rewarding you with a larger boost the longer you drift. There's a cast of characters and tracks all based on different themes, cups to be won and more tracks to be unlocked. There's online and local multiplayer, and you even get a plastic steering wheel to slot your Remote into (and just like Mario Kart, it'll be discarded pretty much immediately in favour of the Nunchuk and Remote or Classic Controller).

Click to view larger image
Let's be clear, though - we're not complaining about any of this. Mario Kart Wii is one of the all-time greats when it comes to multiplayer, so any excuse to revisit the formula with a fresh set of tracks and characters is a welcome one. The problem for Sega and Sumo is that everything it is trying to do has (very nearly) been perfected already. Where Sonic & Sega All Stars Racing's controls are very good, Mario Kart Wii's are great. Where the sense of speed and visual fidelity in All-Stars Racing is great, Nintendo has already done it so much better.

The difference is most apparent in the track design and how each race unfolds. It's more than a little strange that with so many playable characters (20 in all, based on 14 different game series, plus your Mii), we only see tracks based on six Sega franchises: Sonic, Super Monkey Ball, Samba De Amigo, House Of The Dead, Jet Set Radio and Billy Hatcher. Even with plenty of tracks to play through, they quickly feel samey and you start to wonder how great a Space Channel 5 or Fantasy Zone stage would have been.

Lagging Behind

The races themselves also struggle when compared to the sense of controlled chaos in Mario Kart Wii. Weapon use in All-Stars Racing feels less important and has a smaller influence on the eventual outcome, making each contest feel more like a straight race than a breathless battle to the front of the pack. As a result, races often feel a little empty and lacking in action, even with 12 racers on the track.

Click to view larger image
In games like these, multiplayer is really where it's at, but again All-Stars Racing falls a little short. Impressive solo visuals start to suffer and frame rates drop with more than two people playing. With a lack of on-track action, multiplayer doesn't quite capture the imagination as it should. It all feels a little empty. The bewildering choice not to support GameCube pads also grates, especially if you're getting people over for a four-player game and are struggling for Remotes.

On the up side, Sega and Sumo have put a little extra effort into offering a greater number of gameplay modes and a more substantial solo challenge. The Expert cups are genuinely tricky and will take a while to finish, and with 64 Missions to get through, there is plenty to keep you occupied.

There are a lot of multiplayer modes to try out over and above the usual races, too. The straight battle mode doesn't exactly set the world on fire, but there are some fun twists on the usual formula which include capturing emeralds and defending a certain area of the map. This game will never step out of the giant shadow cast by Mario Kart Wii but if you've somehow managed to get bored of the definitive article and want something new, there's some fun to be had here.

Comments

69 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. mirage 5x5 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 11:09

    WHAT 75% i have played this game and its way better and mario kart why is onm so one sided :evil:
    if its got mario in it or the nintendo name in it then it will get 91% or more dont lisen to this review thay are talking through there ass

  2. ChrisONM Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 11:32

    WHAT 75% i have played this game and its way better and mario kart why is onm so one sided :evil:
    if its got mario in it or the nintendo name in it then it will get 91% or more dont lisen to this review thay are talking through there ass


    Let me just get this out the way quickly.

    We are not biased, many of ONM (myself included) are huge fans of Sega (listen to the podcasts for proof), and we've given Nintendo and Mario games scores of 60-70% in the past (check previous magazine scores for proof).

    Just thought I'd clear that up before the usual stuff starts.

  3. DragonOnSteroids Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 11:38

    Everyone is entitled to opinions. So what if ONM think Mario Kart is better.

    The thing I want to know is when did "forgettable tracks" become a plus point?

    Is that a typo? I'm not exactly sure...

    Yay for typos!

  4. ale96gamer Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 11:40

    is it worth getting as well as mario kart?? and which is harder??

  5. ChrisONM Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 11:42

    is it worth getting as well as mario kart?? and which is harder??


    Yes, if you enjoy Mario Kart and are looking for a change then it's still worth getting. 70%+ isn't a bad score, it's a very good one.

  6. Wiiki Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 13:46

    I played the demo and ONM's score seems pretty generous to me.
    However, I wouldn't have got it anyway as I'd rather wait for Modnation Racers which looks to be easily the best kart game this gen.

  7. ale96gamer Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 13:52

    is it worth getting as well as mario kart?? and which is harder??


    Yes, if you enjoy Mario Kart and are looking for a change then it's still worth getting. 70%+ isn't a bad score, it's a very good one.

    Thanks :)

  8. Benim Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 15:57

    I'll be honest, I'll say I saw this coming. Although I've not really looked at it and such, going by every other racer trying to compete with Mario Kart, it'll try to compete but fail to replicate the same effect. Hell, if the Mario Kart team can't it that right recently, then what chance does everyone else stand?

    This game was hyped way too much for what it is, and as I assumed, the score is not unexpected.

  9. shadowbowser28 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 16:42

    I don't think onm is biased but the way they based the whole review on a comparison with mario cart was unfair

  10. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 16:43

    ok i just have a couple of things to say.............

    WTF!!!! how can it be in the 70%, i swear you just take sega games and point out the problems and hardly focus on the fun of it, this is way more fun then mario kart, on mario kart all you do is drift, thats mainly all you do, on this it focuses on more driving, and plus so what if it is similer to mario kart, it is more than mario kart, the boxing gloves are faster, whats wrong with it being green? just because its similer doesent mean its exactly the same, it goes much much more faster, and plus it is more hyped up than mario kart, mario kart is all slow and that and you need to drift just to go faster without power ups, and in there, you go at a decent speed for cars unlike mario it seems like your going at 20mph, and on mario can you get a superstar move? and it has way different wepons than mario kart.

    and it seems you judge sega to to hard, and you give nintendo like 80-90% if its rubbish and yet you give it a higher score, and i know you have gave some nintendo games low score but there are only like 3 games that have probaly got a 70 or lower from nintendo, and yet all the sega games you have reviewed normaly get 70-79% example sonic unleashed,sambe de amigo, nights,sonic zero gracity, sonic and the black knight, and there are probaly more.

    i know your thinking that i am a die hard sega fan, but i do like other games, especialy nintendo, but there games arnt perfect, and yet you see them getting reviews like 90-97%

  11. happyguy151 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 16:55

    IGN 8/10
    1UP B
    Gamespot 8/10
    Nintendo Power 8/10

    All very good scores so far compared to your score of 75%, so at the moment you guys are in the minority.

    Although this is not the first time this as happened, I remember you gave Sonic Chronicles a 93% I think, while most mags only gave it average/ok scores. Personally I thought it was a great game.

    I have played the SASASR demo quite a lot and I am really enjoying it, and I have a feeling it will be a definite 80%+ game. First day purchase for me on friday, along with Heavy Rain.

  12. ShadowofPain Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 17:26

    Forgettable tracks? Oh and Mario Kart has really memorable tracks does it? For the exception of maybe one or two tracks most of the tracks in MK Wii were rather uninteresting (the ones from the previous games were FAR better). And you guys were saying they were forgettable just because they didn't have as many SEGA based franchise tracks as you would've hoped. IGN said that the track design was excellent and varied. As far as I know there aren't any tracks in MK Wii where you go upside down and in a corkscrew

    Apart from that I still felt the review was biased. You spent literally the whole review comparing it to MK Wii and saying how "MK Wii does this/that better" rather than properly discussing the pros and cons of this game. The only real flaws that I see with this game are:
    1. Framerate issues/arguable "lack of polish".
    2. It's lack of major innovation.

    And even those are fairly minor points in the long term. I feel this game deserved more around 80-85%.

  13. blublur101 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 18:07

    i played the demo, and to tell the truth it was WAY BETTER THAN MARIOKART. everyone's entitled to their own opinion though, and obviously onm's is that mariokart is better. i have to say though, it's not a copy, it's different. so stop saying it's the same as mariokart only worse, its more about racing and not a frantic struggle to get the best items.

    ps. also you didn't really write much about what you can actually DO, you just wrote 'all-stars racing has this bit good but mariokart has it better', etc.

  14. MrGooseyMoose Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 18:07

    Sigh...why is it everytime a sega game comes out, and it scores less than a nintendo game it's copied, do people have to say ONM are one sided? Let's face the facts, sega arn't what they used to be. They're not gonna have so many high scoring games like the sonic days of old until they sort themselves out. Sad, but true.

    Its like comparing any old rpg to the final fantasy franchise. Theyre gonna score lower, unless they do something we've not seen before/better than everything we've already seen.

    Now don't get me wrong here, i didnt like mario kart wii much. It was only good for the old tracks...and even then it ruined DKs jungle parkway IMO.

    I say we all should cool it down a bit, and return to some good old mario kart 64. :P

  15. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 18:34

    Sigh...why is it everytime a sega game comes out, and it scores less than a nintendo game it's copied, do people have to say ONM are one sided? Let's face the facts, sega arn't what they used to be. They're not gonna have so many high scoring games like the sonic days of old until they sort themselves out. Sad, but true.

    Its like comparing any old rpg to the final fantasy franchise. Theyre gonna score lower, unless they do something we've not seen before/better than everything we've already seen.

    Now don't get me wrong here, i didnt like mario kart wii much. It was only good for the old tracks...and even then it ruined DKs jungle parkway IMO.

    I say we all should cool it down a bit, and return to some good old mario kart 64. :P

    have you even played all star racing? its wayyyy better than mario kart, just play the demo and you will see, and as i said its just another racing game, so what if it copys a BIT, its still a different game, and plus in mario kart you just drift, in here you actually drive more, and it is more hyped up, so no need to bring mario kart 64 in.

  16. ShadowofPain Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 18:35

    WHAT 75% i have played this game and its way better and mario kart why is onm so one sided :evil:
    if its got mario in it or the nintendo name in it then it will get 91% or more dont lisen to this review thay are talking through there ass


    Let me just get this out the way quickly.

    We are not biased, many of ONM (myself included) are huge fans of Sega (listen to the podcasts for proof), and we've given Nintendo and Mario games scores of 60-70% in the past (check previous magazine scores for proof).

    Just thought I'd clear that up before the usual stuff starts.

    Let's be honest here though, although you may be fans of SEGA, none of you (except maybe you Chris) like Sonic all that much and a lot of this game is Sonic. Neil wrote this review but I be if you wrote it the score would probably be higher. Also you say that 75% is a great score but to be honest when paying for something that is Ł30-Ł40 it should be worth at least 80%+ (75% is a great score for a movie though).

    Finally the only "high end" (shall we say) Mario game you ahve rated between 60-70% is Mario Party 8 (although please correct me if I'm wrong).

  17. ChrisONM Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 18:48

    Sigh...why is it everytime a sega game comes out, and it scores less than a nintendo game it's copied, do people have to say ONM are one sided? Let's face the facts, sega arn't what they used to be. They're not gonna have so many high scoring games like the sonic days of old until they sort themselves out. Sad, but true.

    Its like comparing any old rpg to the final fantasy franchise. Theyre gonna score lower, unless they do something we've not seen before/better than everything we've already seen.

    Now don't get me wrong here, i didnt like mario kart wii much. It was only good for the old tracks...and even then it ruined DKs jungle parkway IMO.

    I say we all should cool it down a bit, and return to some good old mario kart 64. :P

    have you even played all star racing? its wayyyy better than mario kart, just play the demo and you will see, and as i said its just another racing game, so what if it copys a BIT, its still a different game, and plus in mario kart you just drift, in here you actually drive more, and it is more hyped up, so no need to bring mario kart 64 in.


    To be fair though, you can't judge a game on a demo either.

  18. Benim Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 19:12

    And by the way, the people who've grown up by this point understand that ONM write reviews based on 'opinion', not 'bias'. Claiming otherwise just looks pathetic to be honest.

  19. ProMac Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 19:59

    I agree with everyone who's against ONM on this review.

    ONM, you wasteman.

  20. Giga Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:07

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

  21. ProMac Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:08

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

    And you are a t**t. I know the PS3/360 Demo sucks.

  22. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:10

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

    i have played both, the ps3 and wii, i love them both

  23. Giga Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:19

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

    And you are a t**t. I know the PS3/360 Demo sucks.


    *woosh!*

  24. ShadowofPain Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:20

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

    i have played both, the ps3 and wii, i love them both

    Urr, there is no demo of the Wii version? Unless of course you've already played the US version of the game?

  25. ShadowofPain Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:25

    Ignore this :D

  26. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:27

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

    i have played both, the ps3 and wii, i love them both

    Urr, there is no demo of the Wii version? Unless of course you've already played the US version of the game?

    no i meant i played the wii game of the game lol not the demo, i still love it

  27. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:28

    Just a question who played the demo on what console?
    If you say 360 or PS3 you are an idiot.

    i have played both, the ps3 and wii, i love them both

    Urr, there is no demo of the Wii version? Unless of course you've already played the US version of the game?

    no i meant i played the wii game of the game lol not the demo, i still love it

  28. Random-Hero Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:33

    Wii Play... Enough said. Don't listen to reviews, play demos and even rent the title before hand, if you must. Personally the game looks bland and well... Mario Kart Wii is god awful when compared to the DS game. Heck, Mario Kart Double Dash is about Mario kart Wii!

    Other words, if its compared to Mario Kart Wii and fails to top that, its bound to be bad.

  29. spambot404 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:39

    hey Chris how much would you give the game yourself?
    you gave Sega superstars tennis 89% so I think your opinion might be a bit fairer.

  30. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:44

    he will probaly go with the same score

  31. spambot404 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 20:45

    hey Chris how much would you give the game yourself?
    you gave Sega superstars tennis 89% so I think your opinion might be a bit fairer.

  32. NeilONM Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 21:44

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

  33. sega Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 21:51

    because neil, we think you have gave an unfiare score, every1 agrees (wal most of them agree) that it deserves more than what you gave it.

  34. Giga Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 22:11

    because neil, we think you have gave an unfiare score, every1 agrees (wal most of them agree) that it deserves more than what you gave it.

    You're bias.

  35. Zarnak Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 22:14

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

    'Booboo whaa whaa!' comes into mind about them. The answer is, apparently, that people are blind to scores below 90%. I personally appreciate that reviews are based on both facts and opinion; and obviously everyone's opinions are different. But some people complain too much, especially fans.

  36. Violet Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 22:32

    If Sega didn't want the game compared to Mario Kart they should have done more to make it less like Mario Kart, like unique weapons, original gameplay mechanics and so forth. As it is, it seems largely identical in design to Mario Kart, just not as good. Doesn't mean it's a bad game, per se, because Mario Kart games are great in the first place.

    I don't think Sega cares about it being compared to Mario Kart, although the fans don't seem to like that.

  37. MARION64WII Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 22:36

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

    I think you gave a fair review, it's kind of a little substitute rather than a full on game. Even the developers admitted that, people have there own opinions of games. I hate modern warfare 2 but i scored it %30 which is rather high for an Xbox game and otheres rate it ridiculasly high because there on drugs. It is kinda the other way around here

  38. yohnazo Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 22:36

    I'm a big SEGA fan but the problem for me right now is all the games that have been released lately and are coming out soon have kinda over shadowed this one for me, with Sonic Classic Collection, No More Heroes 2, Sin & Punishment 2 and Tatsunoko vs Capcom I just can't see myself getting this one any time soon :S

  39. mirage 5x5 Wednesday 24th Feb 2010 at 23:17

    ok i started this i am going to say one more thing
    the review is not right at all i dont believe you put this on your web page its not mario kart so stop talking about it and give it a proper review
    when i said you are one sided you have proved that by what you have said in your reply to every one on this site

  40. NintendoALLSTAR Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 05:32

    I did enjoy the demo more than I did MKWii, tbh. I think MKDD was a lot better than the Wii installment and I feel ALLSTAR racing has more of the sense of speed of DD. The items aren't ridiculous like in MK, which is a good thing. There's just enough chaos without it being a case of skill doesn't matter because you're going to get bombarded by 10 items in a row, which hinder you greatly. You recover swiftly from a fall and items in ALLSTAR. Commentator is great, it looks great, sounds great and the tracks look pretty sweet. I, personally, have only experienced very minimal framerate issues; but it is just the demo. I can't judge the whole game but I got a far better feeling than I did with MK. I never actually bought MKWii because I just didn't take to it, but with this I've been so addicted and am looking forward to the final game.

  41. ShadowofPain Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 08:25

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

    The reason why is because (like I, and a lot of people have saying) you spent the whole review comparing the game to MK Wii. Now don't get me wrong I like you Neil. You're a great editor and I usually like your reviews but I felt that this one was off.

    I've said what I need to in previous comments so I won't repeat myself :wink:

  42. YoshiLimbo Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 09:19

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

    First off in the review you say the game has flat multiplayer ? But its exactley the same as Mario Kart Wii execpt the battle mode is better as some of the best modes in Mario Kart Wii were ruined. And after playing the game exstensevley myself id say the track were brilliant and very nostgeltic and colourfull for Sega fans. As NintendoALLSTAR said, I just didnt get Mario Kart Wii, I'd played and been addicted to it on the DS the Gamecube and the Gameboy MK wii just wore thin. This game gave me a reel sense of achievemnt and thrill when I played it. Mario Kart Wii felt very unorignal (I preffered DD myself that brought a new twist to the franchise) were this just "does"

  43. hardcoregamerrob Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 11:49

    Neil people only think your bias because you talk about the mario kart alot in the review. if you didn't say anything about mario kart and talk about the game by itself than that would be better. It may be a coping of mario kart but you should of just talked about it as its own game than comparing it with another.
    I can't moan about the score I havn't played it yet :)

  44. ploiper Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 12:08

    having got the game today (hurrah for online pre orders) and having played it for the past couple hours, i defintly dont agree with the score. the joys of different opinions, i realy like it, the tracks have a lot more character to them than the mario kart tracks do, hell i would even say some of the mario kart tracks look dull compared to segas tracks. ive always though mario kart tracks looked dull anyway but meh. but im realy loving it, drifting is easy, handels well, plays well, items are fun, good challange, love it.

  45. The Smithster Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 18:58

    I knew this game would get an average rating.

    I'm not going to listen to this, because you gave one of the worst Nintendo games on the Wii (IMO) 91%(Wii Play). Although the only bad things you've mentioned are multiplayer (which isn't much of a factor for me) and 'forgettable' tracks, which I personally disagree with. Have fun shooting ballons and posing Miis while I play as Big the Cat zooming past monkeys.

    P.S. I couldn't help the typos; that thing happened where you can't delete one letter and replace it.

  46. sciqueen Thursday 25th Feb 2010 at 22:04

    I knew this game would get an average rating.

    I'm not going to listen to this, because you gave one of the worst Nintendo games on the Wii (IMO) 91%(Wii Play). Although the only bad things you've mentioned are multiplayer (which isn't much of a factor for me) and 'forgettable' tracks, which I personally disagree with. Have fun shooting ballons and posing Miis while I play as Big the Cat zooming past monkeys.

    P.S. I couldn't help the typos; that thing happened where you can't delete one letter and replace it.

    Press "Insert" on your keyboard to stop that! ;)

  47. xevilpunkx Friday 26th Feb 2010 at 13:20

    I saw it coming. From the very beginning this game was announced it just screamed Mario Kart. It is clearly based on Mario Kart, and that's no problem for me. I like both Mario and Sonic, so I have really been looking forward to this game. It is very risky to make a game that is so similar to a top game, and you cannot deny that it's got a lot of Mariokart influences. But from the review I think Sumo did very well, don't forget who the competition was!!!

    The first thing I said when playing the (ps3) demo, without having read this review was: "oh, green shell!" when seeing the green glove and every other power-up is based on an existing Mario Kart power up.
    It is really no surpise that ONM compared it to Mario Kart, it IS a Mario Kart clone. The review nor the score is bad IMO. Based on that review I'm sure I will buy the game!! I hoped for the best, but I was expecting a lot worse.

  48. Nintendo Boy Saturday 27th Feb 2010 at 12:37

    I'll stick with Mario Kart Wii...

  49. alessandro Saturday 27th Feb 2010 at 14:03

    I have to say I did think it was extremely unfair to keep comparing it to Mario Kart with EVERYTHING.Granted it borrows a lot from Mario Kart but you still have to judge it as well on it's own merits. I personally have played it a fair bit over the last couple of days and I have found it so much fun(this is the full version).The tracks are fantastic,the characters(at least imv) are better and I like the weapons and just the feel of it.MK Wii imv can't compete where it's important either-fun.

  50. TwitchyKong Saturday 27th Feb 2010 at 16:04

    Well, I just bought the game, and I can say that it's around the score that ONM gave.

    I love it, but the main reason for that is because of the character roster, and the fact they have Sonic Rush music there. Other than that, it's just a above average racer.

    I have found myself blazing through some of the more complex stages first time, without trouble, because a lot of them are easy. (All the Super Monkey Ball stages are pretty difficult).

    I'd say about 75%-83% is around the score.

  51. Blue Toad Sunday 28th Feb 2010 at 02:05

    I've spent Friday and Saturday playing this and I'd give this 85, maybe 90 percent. Personally, I find the track design to be amazing, and even if they're based on the same areas, the themes are different enough that I don't get bored or see anything really familar. The items are a tad generic, but the All Star Moves help mix things up a bit...yet you declare them all like "A Bullet Bill". Some like Sonic's and the ChuChus are, yes, but others like Ulala's and Beat's focus less on speed and more on messing up other players. I think you should have focused on that a little more.

    I also find this game to be way more competive then Mario Kart; whereas in that you're relying on weapons to win, they'll only get you so far here because it's so balanced. Drifting is so essential and the trick system in the air, while very similar to MK, has also been given a bit more depth. The more tricks you do for instance, the bigger the boost you get. They're also harder to pull off; you can't just get constant speed boosts like in Mario Kart, and thus have to focus on the distance a lot more.

    I think you guys should have looked at it as a more skill-based kart racer then comparing it to a more casual one like Mario Kart, because if you look at it in terms of skill/casual, then it's a very different game. A lot more depth to it. I also like that it has more character in MK...and I'm not just saying that because SEGA is more varied then the whole of Mario, but also in little things like the random gestures racers make. It gives them a bit of personality; unlike Mario Kart where the racers are pretty much mobile save for hitting someone with a weapon, they're more lively here, and it adds to the charm of the game. Now, that might be an odd point to make about a racing game, but I find it a good one. It's the sort of thing I haven't seen done since Snowboard Kids on N64.

    I do agree that some IPs should have got track representations (Space Channel 5 T_T) and I also think a few fan favourites are missing, such as NiGHTs, Ristar, Vectorman, Amitie and Vyse to name a few. But other then...I'm baffled as to how this game got 75 percent! It deserves So Much More! *shot*

  52. MetalMario23 Sunday 28th Feb 2010 at 11:06

    I have played both Mario Kart Wii an Sonic and Sega All-Stars, and personally I feel that the score was fair enough. I would only rate it 79% maximum. I don't have a problem with how the races don't require items as much, as this allows players to focus on actual skill rather than just lingering at the back and waiting for a good item. This reduces frustration of being in first place, only to be bombarded by bucketloads of items, which, in my opinion, was MK Wii's only flaw. I feel much more pleased coming in first place in Sonic an Sega All-Stars, as I know I've mostly used raw driving skill rather than just mindlessly blasting enemies off the track. Also, in the review of Mario Kart Wii, in one of the captions ONM said that the frame rate dropped when four players were in screen at the same time, yet they didin't drop the score because of that, unlike the review of Sonic and Sega All Stars.

    However, the tracks are very samey, which made me feel that SEGA couldn't be bothered to make a wider variety of tracks. The Pirate and Circus levels from Billy Hatcher would be a nice addition. Plus an Alex Kidd track would have been great. Also, only one vehicle per character? Not very good. I was hoping for at least two other vehicles for each character waiting for me to spend my Sega Miles on. But not one extra vehicle is available.

    Because of the fact that both Sonic and Sega All-Stars and MK Wii have their flaws, I feel that a slightly higher score of 79% would be much more reasonable.

  53. supersonic196 Sunday 28th Feb 2010 at 19:05

    ok, have they even tried this game?! it's at least 5 times better than mario kart, it has better graphics, faster speed, better track design, cooler vehicles, and all star moves! whoever wrote this article are so bent on mario's "superiority" that they didn't even notice how much better this game is. No memorable courses... the only course i can remember from MK wii is coconut mall, and it didn't have any corkscrews, giant bingo spinners, pinball chutes, sewers, breakable glass, warp tunnels, or any section of the course suspended in midair! mario kart sucks! i didnt even bother returning it, i just tossed it in the trash after cutting it in half with scissors! :evil: i think this game is at least worth an 80-85

  54. supersonic196 Sunday 28th Feb 2010 at 19:27

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

    stupid nintendo fanboy... i like nintendo, i'm a big mario fan (except mario kart, that game SUCKS) but you gave this game a very unfair review, all you did was compare this to mario kart, you are forgetting that nintendo doesn't own the kart racing franchise, and they're not the only ones that can do it right. at least the characters here are more original, and there seems to be a lack of recolors and babies, added simply to increase the playable roster.

  55. MARION64WII Sunday 28th Feb 2010 at 22:40

    Wahey! It's all kicking off here. Again.

    How come everyone criticising what I feel is a very fair and balanced review of perfectly good game has an animated gif of Sonic or something sega-related as their avatar?

    Could the very same people accusing me of being anti-Sega be - wait for it - bias themselves?

    /hides

    stupid nintendo fanboy... i like nintendo, i'm a big mario fan (except mario kart, that game SUCKS) but you gave this game a very unfair review, all you did was compare this to mario kart, you are forgetting that nintendo doesn't own the kart racing franchise, and they're not the only ones that can do it right. at least the characters here are more original, and there seems to be a lack of recolors and babies, added simply to increase the playable roster.

    That fanboy is one of the editors of the magaziene, and your not a very good mario fan if you dont like mario kart :wink:. A fan would admire all the games like me :D. You have a long way to go until you understand well made creations by nintendo.

  56. wilrc6 Monday 1st Mar 2010 at 01:39

    I've got this game on the XBox 360, mainly for better graphics and inclusion of Banjo Kazooie.

    I absolutely love this game, there is so much to do and the races are a delight to play through. Controls are perfect and the items don't take over the race as they do in Mario Kart.

    Plenty of different characters but as ONM has said the tracks are a bit limited. Also where is NiGHTS? Holding the flag at the start of each race! Has SEGA gone off her?

    I would rate this game higher at about 85 to 90%, more towards the 90% mark for the XBox360 version. Don't know ans don't care about the PS3.

    Played the DS demo from the Nintendo Channel and isn't as much fun as the console versions for some reason, although I will still probably buy the full game.

    Its an absolute must-have game for all game libraries.

    Come on Sonic & SEGA Allstars Smash Bros.

  57. The Smithster Monday 1st Mar 2010 at 17:48

    I knew this game would get an average rating.

    I'm not going to listen to this, because you gave one of the worst Nintendo games on the Wii (IMO) 91%(Wii Play). Although the only bad things you've mentioned are multiplayer (which isn't much of a factor for me) and 'forgettable' tracks, which I personally disagree with. Have fun shooting ballons and posing Miis while I play as Big the Cat zooming past monkeys.

    P.S. I couldn't help the typos; that thing happened where you can't delete one letter and replace it.

    Press "Insert" on your keyboard to stop that! ;)

    Oh, thanks! :D

  58. blublur101 Monday 1st Mar 2010 at 19:42

    its heaps better than mariokart, it focuses more on skill than items. i dont need to say any more because it's already been said for me.


    96% is more accurate.

  59. supersonic196 Tuesday 2nd Mar 2010 at 00:22

    I've got this game on the XBox 360, mainly for better graphics and inclusion of Banjo Kazooie.

    I absolutely love this game, there is so much to do and the races are a delight to play through. Controls are perfect and the items don't take over the race as they do in Mario Kart.

    Plenty of different characters but as ONM has said the tracks are a bit limited. Also where is NiGHTS? Holding the flag at the start of each race! Has SEGA gone off her?

    I would rate this game higher at about 85 to 90%, more towards the 90% mark for the XBox360 version. Don't know ans don't care about the PS3.

    Played the DS demo from the Nintendo Channel and isn't as much fun as the console versions for some reason, although I will still probably buy the full game.

    Its an absolute must-have game for all game libraries.

    Come on Sonic & SEGA Allstars Smash Bros.

    i don't think that sega allstars smash bros is a very good name, how bout ALLSTARS RUMBLE, anyways, i don't think that would be a very good move by sega to so blatantly rip off of a nintendo game, SHUT UP BEFORE U SAY ANYTHING! sonic and sega all stars racing is not a rip off of mario kart, this game has a large number of differences, two of them including fun gameplay and good level design. if sega were to make allstars rumble, they would have to do something new and different, almost impossible considering smash bros is the perfect fighting game. anyways, using my own rating scale, i've rated this game an 87% BUY IT NOW! just think, if a lot of people buy it we might get a sequel.

  60. osugo Saturday 13th Mar 2010 at 15:48

    Yes!! Sega Once again thwarted by nintendo. MARIO CART FOREVER

  61. supersonic196 Saturday 13th Mar 2010 at 23:54

    Yes!! Sega Once again thwarted by nintendo. MARIO CART FOREVER

    u spelled kart wrong, and ur in denial.... :P

  62. shane12234 Sunday 14th Mar 2010 at 14:20

    :wink:

    is it worth getting as well as mario kart?? and which is harder??


    Yes, if you enjoy Mario Kart and are looking for a change then it's still worth getting. 70%+ isn't a bad score, it's a very good one.

    no its not.
    The tracks are to long and get boring very quickly and the wepons are parp!
    you will be switching back to mario kart very quickly.

  63. Wiintendo Sunday 14th Mar 2010 at 17:02

    Just bought the game and it is fair to say it does deserve the 75%.
    Don't get me wrong, its a fun game with alot of enjoyment and feels like an enjoyable racer thats a nice change to MK Wii.
    Searching for racers online was quite hard the first time (Havn't played the online too much I suppose) & some of tracks are actually quite exciting which is a step up, whilst some tracks do tend to act just a tad hard at times (Sometimes, drifting with Big on a tight turn is challenging)

    All in all, I'd say its worth a plunge if ya gettin bored of Mario Kart Wii or if people are great fans of sega as its a fun kart racer in its own right.
    About 75%-80% maximum

    96% is more accurate.


    Hang on a min, Is this review Resident Evil 4 Wii or Sonic & Sega all-stars Racing?

    Anyways, for a game to get that good of a score, it would need to be some of the best of this current gaming industry & push the boundarys of gaming, Sonic & Sega doesn't seem to raise the boundaries of the Racing Genre, just an enjoyable racer & Not many games get that score, possibly a few every year

  64. thenintendoer Sunday 21st Mar 2010 at 19:43

    mario kart wii sux

  65. blublur101 Sunday 28th Mar 2010 at 12:19

    Just bought the game and it is fair to say it does deserve the 75%.
    Don't get me wrong, its a fun game with alot of enjoyment and feels like an enjoyable racer thats a nice change to MK Wii.
    Searching for racers online was quite hard the first time (Havn't played the online too much I suppose) & some of tracks are actually quite exciting which is a step up, whilst some tracks do tend to act just a tad hard at times (Sometimes, drifting with Big on a tight turn is challenging)

    All in all, I'd say its worth a plunge if ya gettin bored of Mario Kart Wii or if people are great fans of sega as its a fun kart racer in its own right.
    About 75%-80% maximum

    96% is more accurate.


    Hang on a min, Is this review Resident Evil 4 Wii or Sonic & Sega all-stars Racing?

    Anyways, for a game to get that good of a score, it would need to be some of the best of this current gaming industry & push the boundarys of gaming, Sonic & Sega doesn't seem to raise the boundaries of the Racing Genre, just an enjoyable racer & Not many games get that score, possibly a few every year


    sorry, i suppose 96% is too high. 87% probably :D

  66. Gameking53 Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 17:34

    Just got this game I have to say it's good fun. The controls are a bit fiddly at times and the items are a bit unoriginal, but all in all it's fun. The tracks are really nicely made but I feel they didn't put enough retro stuff in there.

    The online for the Wii is poor so far for me. I have tried 5 times to find racers and have had no luck.

  67. Emperor Evil Sunday 12th Dec 2010 at 15:21

    75%!? Really!
    I have to say it is far better than MKWii, it's faster, has better tracks and way better graphics!

    The only thing I think could be polished up, is the online play because I can rarely find anyone, and when I do there's like 3 people :(

  68. boofan25 Friday 15th Apr 2011 at 18:45

    I haven't got this game yet but it looks like its just a copy of Mario kart are there any differences :|

  69. PhineasFerbStyx Monday 2nd Jan 2012 at 11:01

    WHAT 75% i have played this game and its way better and mario kart why is onm so one sided :evil:
    if its got mario in it or the nintendo name in it then it will get 91% or more dont lisen to this review thay are talking through there ass


    Let me just get this out the way quickly.

    We are not biased, many of ONM (myself included) are huge fans of Sega (listen to the podcasts for proof), and we've given Nintendo and Mario games scores of 60-70% in the past (check previous magazine scores for proof).

    Just thought I'd clear that up before the usual stuff starts.


    Oh Please forgive oh great and mighty-ful master Scullion but I do ask you to name 5.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.