Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Red Steel 2 review

The best reason to own MotionPlus?

Dust off your MotionPlus units, people: Red Steel 2 is here and it's nearly everything we wanted it to be. You see, this is an excellent swordfighting game but it is slightly held back by some odd design decisions that take the shine off what is overall a very accomplished title.

You're a swordfighting gunslinger out to avenge the death of your clan at the hands of the Jackals with the help of MotionPlus, a gun and a very sharp piece of metal. Thankfully the combat is executed very well. While the opening hour of Red Steel 2 is a bit of a drag, once you're into the meat of the game it's very enjoyable stuff with the MotionPlus unit translating your arm movements beautifully.

Click to view larger image
What's most impressive about the combat is how physical it is. Many of the Jackals you encounter have armour that's only penetrable by hard slashes or special techniques so you have to swing the Remote pretty hard to break through their resistance.

A Cut Above

Where the enemies you face aren't particularly varied, the range of attacks you have at your disposal certainly is. By the end of the game (we clocked the end credits at about 10 or 11 hours), you are the master of an impressive range of moves. And though the tutorials are a little jarring, you are still learning new attacks even eight or nine hours into the game.

As well as the MotionPlus swinging, there's also a rush attack which allows you to quickly dodge attacks to either side. Special Kusaragi Powers and Hidden Strikes pile up on top of these as you buy them from the hub areas. And don't forget finishers too - when a Jackal is on his last legs, you can either move in with a stabbing motion or use one of your special techniques. The game rewards you with cash for both flashy combos and for grabbing the collectibles in the world.

Barring the occasional lock-on problem, Ubisoft has pulled off the swordfighting in real style so it's a shame that the rest of the game isn't quite up to these extremely high standards.

While Red Steel 2 is a fine looking game, there's some pretty average levels and mission design at play here. You spend a huge chunk of the game picking up new missions and heading out to do battle from a central hub. You spend almost as much time getting from A to B as you do taking part in the fun stuff.

They missions also rarely get more interesting than 'find and defeat gang' or 'find this object'. Side missions usually consist of collecting hidden loot. Pretty uninspiring stuff. We also would have liked to have seen some more traditional shooter-style sections thrown in as the gunplay is very tactile but tragically under-used.

Click to view larger image
Still, these grumbles don't detract from the overall experience too badly. Red Steel 2 looks superb and after a wobbly first section settles into a very enjoyable first person action romp. It's a gameplay experience unlike any other, and that needs to be applauded.

This is an edited version of a review that appears in issue 55 of Official Nintendo Magazine. To read the full 1000-word version with more in-depth analysis, extra boxouts and screenshots, pick up issue 55 of Official Nintendo Magazine which goes on sale on Friday 9 April.

Do you like the sound of Red Steel 2. You can attempt to win a copy of the game by entering our Red Steel 2 competition

Comments

69 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. ILoveWii Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 17:11

    Great, I think I'll be renting this.

  2. Splinter435 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 17:14

    Got about what I expected. I'll probably buy this when the price (slightly) somes down.

  3. Sonic Freak Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 17:14

    I think that is a prety decent score. Obviouslt this was never going to be the revolution of 1st person; but it nails combat like it was supposed to. So i still think this is still a worthy purchase because of motion plus alone.
    WEll done ubisoft, you delievered a beautiful game for hardcore nintendo fans :D

  4. clarkie123 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 17:25

    Really happy with that score. To be honest, the closer RS2 got to release date, the more and more I was think it was going to be a huuuuge let-down.

    I also like the fact that you haven't put the whole review in there. I'll probably pick up issue 55 anyway, so I it'll be nice to read some more in-depth analysis.

  5. Mr Hat Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 17:38

    For some reason, I was sure this would be a let down. :)
    Hopefully this review will be more reliable than the one for the first red steel :wink:

  6. Kolo67 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 17:58

    What your saying with this score is that it is worse than the original. I highly doubt that it is. But it's still a good score.

  7. Ai64 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:03

    The controls are better, the combat is cool and the visuals are fantatsic too. Good job Ubisoft.

  8. Cheesio Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:04

    Glad I pre-ordered this now. :3

  9. superwii Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:15

    I will not be buying this game any time soon, it seems like a lite version of better FPS released on more powerful consoles. It seems to be relying on gimmicks that detract away from the core experience that sound quite mediocre. Maybe if the price of it with the motionplus unit I will consider it, until then it's a definite no.

  10. lminett Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:17

    Looks and sounds better than the orginal, hope it smashes all sales!

  11. PsychoPikmin Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:40

    I was expecting a 90% at leaset...but hey, that's still pretty good. :D

  12. PsychoPikmin Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:41

    I was expecting a 90% at leaset...but hey, that's still pretty good. :D

  13. Andy88 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:48

    When I saw that Ubisoft hadn't sent the magazine a copy to review I began to fear that the game might be a disappointment and that they had something to hide. Sometimes it's nice to be proved wrong however!

  14. hooeylewissukz Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:51

    This is a good ppint for me to estimate GT's score, while their video is loading in the next tab. 86% here, taking into account that it's a nintendo console on a multi-platform site, I'd say about 7.0
    They are ridiculously biased.

  15. jonnyvincent Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:57

    pleased with that score. didn't think it was going to get anything above 90%. gonna get it saturday :D

    What your saying with this score is that it is worse than the original. I highly doubt that it is. But it's still a good score.

    In one of the responses to a letter complaining about the new rated system, ONM said that some games ,like red steel, had scores which weren't worthy so had to change the rated page. Anyway, this means RS2 probably is better, like you said.

  16. BlueSoup8 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 18:59

    ZOMG... It is worse than the first one?!

  17. clarkie123 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 19:06

    ZOMG... It is worse than the first one?!


    ZOMG...Read the post above yours?!
    :wink:

  18. User49 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 19:16

    what a letdown...

  19. User49 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 19:17

    what a letdown...

  20. MARION64WII Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 20:54

    Booyah! called it! See. I said I was going to say it. But seriously. I wont be bothered about the missions, I just want to cut things up. That is why i'm getting it.

  21. Dragonfree97 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:19

    I wasn't going to get it anyway, but I also thought it would have been a letdown.

  22. ShadowofPain Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:20

    Great review ONM. Though I must say I was expecting this to get a gold award mainly for two reasons.

    Firstly, in my opinion, if a game is very polished (which this is), has great visuals and soundtrack (which this does) and has innovative and very enjoyable gameplay (which this does) then it deserves top marks for me. Sure the missions lack variety at times (a large majority of them simply consist of progressing though areas, killing foes and solving simple puzzles) but the amount of new moves that can be learnt keep the gameplay varied which for me is enough (though I respect that you at ONM may feel differently).

    Secondly, I don't really understand how the first Red Steel got a higher rating than this game. 9/10 people would probably agree that that game was mediocre and that this is far better. I think this game deserves more credit simply for the fact that the control scheme is a large achievement (though it may not be perfect it is still fantastic and remember that this is the first "hardcore" game to truely use a precision Wii Motion Plus control scheme to a great effect.

    On a side note: Darn those people at 1UP that gave this game a C+ (I read the review too and it wasn't too good comparing it to the other reviews so far) :evil:
    Though I guess their fantastic No More Heroes 2 review makes up for it somewhat ;)

  23. dm_1782 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:26

    This is a good ppint for me to estimate GT's score, while their video is loading in the next tab. 86% here, taking into account that it's a nintendo console on a multi-platform site, I'd say about 7.0
    They are ridiculously biased.

    IGN rated this an 8.5 so the scores seem to be pretty equally matched also Kotaku mentioned similar points from both and scored the same so in terms of your 7.0 thats pretty much undervaluing the game because its obviously much better than you are giving it credit for.

  24. dm_1782 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:28

    This is a good ppint for me to estimate GT's score, while their video is loading in the next tab. 86% here, taking into account that it's a nintendo console on a multi-platform site, I'd say about 7.0
    They are ridiculously biased.

    IGN rated this an 8.5 so the scores seem to be pretty equally matched also Kotaku mentioned similar points from both and scored the same so in terms of your 7.0 thats pretty much undervaluing the game because its obviously much better than you are giving it credit for.

  25. HNF1 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:32

    Awesome! Glad to see the controls are so excellent and 86% is a great score. Shame about the missions/levels but hey, hopefully this'll influence similar-gameplay games with perhaps better ideas or sommet, though I'm sure RS2 is still really good on that front overall, too. I'm highly likely to purchase this and hope it sells well.

    Pleased indeed it's a real good game.

  26. bazmeistergen Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:38

    So far I've seen 86% 85% 85% 9/10 93% and 7/10.

    This is clearly going to be worth getting. Shame there's no multiplayer that would have made it truly great.

  27. bazmeistergen Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:40

    So far I've seen 86% 85% 85% 9/10 93% and 7/10.

    This is clearly going to be worth getting. Shame there's no multiplayer that would have made it truly great.

  28. bazmeistergen Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:42

    So far I've seen 86% 85% 85% 9/10 93% and 7/10.

    This is clearly going to be worth getting. Shame there's no multiplayer that would have made it truly great.

  29. dm_1782 Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 21:44

    This is a good ppint for me to estimate GT's score, while their video is loading in the next tab. 86% here, taking into account that it's a nintendo console on a multi-platform site, I'd say about 7.0
    They are ridiculously biased.

    IGN rated this an 8.5 so the scores seem to be pretty equally matched also Kotaku mentioned similar points from both and scored the same so in terms of your 7.0 thats pretty much undervaluing the game because its obviously much better than you are giving it credit for.

  30. bluelight Tuesday 23rd Mar 2010 at 23:57

    I yet have to understand how Red Steel has a 91 in its score and the better sequel - by far- has an 86? Am I missing something here?!

  31. Kypy Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 04:59

    ONM Australia rated it 93 and said it has some very minor control issues! i dont know which score to go by!

  32. chocfang Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 07:34

    I know I'm not in the position to complain as I haven't played it but from the trailers I've seen it deserves a 90+ surely! Red steel 1 got 91% so *cough*!

  33. ChrisONM Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 12:34

    I yet have to understand how Red Steel has a 91 in its score and the better sequel - by far- has an 86? Am I missing something here?!


    The Red Steel review was written four years ago, when the Wii was still brand new and the experience of using a Wii Remote and Nunchuk was still a fresh one. Things change over the years and were Red Steel to have been released nowadays instead of at launch the score wouldn't be so high.

  34. clarkie123 Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 16:27

    This is a good ppint for me to estimate GT's score, while their video is loading in the next tab. 86% here, taking into account that it's a nintendo console on a multi-platform site, I'd say about 7.0
    They are ridiculously biased.

    IGN rated this an 8.5 so the scores seem to be pretty equally matched also Kotaku mentioned similar points from both and scored the same so in terms of your 7.0 thats pretty much undervaluing the game because its obviously much better than you are giving it credit for.


    I think he meant that he thought that that was the score GameTrailers would give the game (which turned out to be 8.6 I believe), not his personal score.

  35. samus_killer Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 17:49

    I pre-ordered the special edition of red steel 2 about a month ago and I'm glad I did. I can't wait until Friday, what with this and pokemon

  36. daniel barber Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 19:24

    i am getting this on friday.

    86 isnt a bad score but i was really expecting 95!

    i look forward to the full 1000 word review when my subscription copy comes.

  37. Numpty Wednesday 24th Mar 2010 at 20:46

    To be honest, I was expecting something in the 90s. But oh well, 86 is a good score. Will be picking this up on Friday

  38. Swixer-Swaxer Thursday 25th Mar 2010 at 08:54

    what a letdown...

    ELL OHHH ELL! IF SOMETHING DOESN'T SCORE AT LEAST A 90% IT'S AUTOMATICALLY A MIND-NUMBINGLY TERRIBLE GAME NOT WORTH YOUR PRECIOUS TIME! ELL OHHH ELL!

    Pre-ordered my LE from Play. No idea when it'll get here.

  39. shuggybarr Thursday 25th Mar 2010 at 19:47

    I got it yesterday for a bargain £35 (without MotionPlus - already got one) - HMV will be selling it for £40.

    Only played the first few training missions but like what I've seen so far.

    Transition between swordplay & gunplay and back seems pretty smooth

    You will definitely work up a sweat once the tougher levels kick in.

    Namby-pamby wrist flicks won't cut it in this game!!!! :)

  40. Broken_Angel Thursday 25th Mar 2010 at 20:35

    Got it this morning. I think ONM have judged this one rather harshly. The combat is spot on and the balance between sword and gun play is far better than the first game. My only real niggle is the visuals. The cel-shaded look works well, but its not consistent. Some sections are amazing visually, especially in the heat of battle against a group of enemies, but then the doors (which have a habit of jamming, a La Metroid Prime) look crap. I think this should have been shifted to a summer release just to iron out the little kinks.
    Also, what's this "pre-order bonus code"? I pre-ordered and didn't get any kind of bonus code

  41. nukuleardawg Thursday 25th Mar 2010 at 22:40

    i got this today (orderd online got it early :D) the mission design is great its constant action throughout the game it awesome. this game deserved 90% its absoloutly amazing! the controls are spot on it doesnt get dull and gets more and more challenging as you go through the game. get it its brilliant

  42. divit Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 15:33

    This is a good ppint for me to estimate GT's score...I'd say about 7.0
    They are ridiculously biased.

    IGN rated this an 8.5 so the scores seem to be pretty equally matched also Kotaku mentioned similar points from both and scored the same...

    I've noticed that on Metacritic ONM have a habit of getting hitting the average score exactly. They aren't biased ;)

  43. dm_1782 Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 15:47

    Just bought it today and I'm leaving work early to go and play it. :D

  44. shane12234 Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 17:55

    Just got it,gonna keep it.
    Awsome game it is.

  45. bluelight Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 18:19

    bluelight wrote:
    I yet have to understand how Red Steel has a 91 in its score and the better sequel - by far- has an 86? Am I missing something here?!

    The Red Steel review was written four years ago, when the Wii was still brand new and the experience of using a Wii Remote and Nunchuk was still a fresh one. Things change over the years and were Red Steel to have been released nowadays instead of at launch the score wouldn't be so high.

    Ok Chris, I was just curious why the score was lower. Still, it´s glad to see this kind of thrid party support on the wii, finally some motion plus magic on the system :D

  46. ShadowofPain Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 21:43

    I yet have to understand how Red Steel has a 91 in its score and the better sequel - by far- has an 86? Am I missing something here?!


    The Red Steel review was written four years ago, when the Wii was still brand new and the experience of using a Wii Remote and Nunchuk was still a fresh one. Things change over the years and were Red Steel to have been released nowadays instead of at launch the score wouldn't be so high.

    That may be, but personally I don't think that changes the fact that the controls didn't work well and the game was a bit of a mess. The average for the game is 68% or 69% I believe which is MILES off your score of 91% (NGamer also gave it a high score of 90%). Though it is true that since Red Steel 1 was a launch title they had very little time to work the controls well, that doesn't change the fact that the game wasn't all that good.

    One could essentially say here that the experience of using a Wii Motion Plus is still a fresh one since (apart from Wii Sports Resort and Avatar) no game use it. And this time the controls actually work very well. Just saying I think this game deserves 92% imo.

  47. shane12234 Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 22:25

    I yet have to understand how Red Steel has a 91 in its score and the better sequel - by far- has an 86? Am I missing something here?!


    The Red Steel review was written four years ago, when the Wii was still brand new and the experience of using a Wii Remote and Nunchuk was still a fresh one. Things change over the years and were Red Steel to have been released nowadays instead of at launch the score wouldn't be so high.

    That may be, but personally I don't think that changes the fact that the controls didn't work well and the game was a bit of a mess. The average for the game is 68% or 69% I believe which is MILES off your score of 91% (NGamer also gave it a high score of 90%). Though it is true that since Red Steel 1 was a launch title they had very little time to work the controls well, that doesn't change the fact that the game wasn't all that good.

    One could essentially say here that the experience of using a Wii Motion Plus is still a fresh one since (apart from Wii Sports Resort and Avatar) no game use it. And this time the controls actually work very well. Just saying I think this game deserves 92% imo.

    Is it that u cant do the controls or r u just dead set against the game beining so cool and a bit of good fun,which its ment to be.And for the record the controls r ace.

  48. shane12234 Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 22:25

    I yet have to understand how Red Steel has a 91 in its score and the better sequel - by far- has an 86? Am I missing something here?!


    The Red Steel review was written four years ago, when the Wii was still brand new and the experience of using a Wii Remote and Nunchuk was still a fresh one. Things change over the years and were Red Steel to have been released nowadays instead of at launch the score wouldn't be so high.

    That may be, but personally I don't think that changes the fact that the controls didn't work well and the game was a bit of a mess. The average for the game is 68% or 69% I believe which is MILES off your score of 91% (NGamer also gave it a high score of 90%). Though it is true that since Red Steel 1 was a launch title they had very little time to work the controls well, that doesn't change the fact that the game wasn't all that good.

    One could essentially say here that the experience of using a Wii Motion Plus is still a fresh one since (apart from Wii Sports Resort and Avatar) no game use it. And this time the controls actually work very well. Just saying I think this game deserves 92% imo.

    Is it that u cant do the controls or r u just dead set against the game beining so cool and a bit of good fun,which its ment to be.And for the record the controls r ace.

  49. Gordon Ramsey Friday 26th Mar 2010 at 23:46

    I'm finding the Nunchuck wire to be really annoying, and I'm glad I only rented it because of this.

  50. ShadowofPain Saturday 27th Mar 2010 at 09:21


    Is it that u cant do the controls or r u just dead set against the game beining so cool and a bit of good fun,which its ment to be.And for the record the controls r ace.

    I'm not against either Red Steel 1 or 2. The first Red Steel gave bold claims that it didn't quite live up to. For a game so focused on the control scheme being good Red Steel 1 didn't quite deliver. A game doesn't deserve 91% for just "being a bit of good fun". 75% sure, but not 91%.

    Red Steel 2 on the other hand is a fantastic game. Unlike the first it gave bold claims and lived up to them.

  51. bazmeistergen Saturday 27th Mar 2010 at 14:38

    Excellent game, great fun.

  52. redball2 Sunday 28th Mar 2010 at 07:28

    I got it yesterday it is wicked :lol:

  53. NintendoWiiNath Sunday 28th Mar 2010 at 11:51

    Awesome game, love it!
    tis way better than the first, to be honest they are two different games in my opinion.
    i got this thursday (the special pre order one) i played it solidly and finished it friday morning.
    i did miss a few missions but hey ill do it again and again.
    I recently got Borderlands for my 360 which i thought was great fun and the missions are near enough the same, get a mission go do it come back get paid sorta thing, love it.
    nice array of weapons, controls work great, great visuals, good sound and loving the fact of the shops! upgrading weapons and armour n all that tis brill!

    id give it 90% the original Redsteel should have gotabout 60% lol

  54. crazyturtle1234 Monday 29th Mar 2010 at 00:14

    despite the fact that I'm the site troll, I have to say this game looks AMAZING, and soo much better than the last game. Will get as soon as I can.

  55. Bruiser Monday 29th Mar 2010 at 18:29

    hopefully i can pick this up at some point, it's a shame motion plus isn't get much attention though? what is it, about 4 games that use it properly?

    which i have none of ;[

  56. SSBBmegamaster Tuesday 30th Mar 2010 at 10:01

    Already ordered, can't wait. These sort of games are right up my street, and I love the art style. IGN also commented that the music was excellent. :)

  57. Teamoverdrive Wednesday 31st Mar 2010 at 13:14

    think ill wait till it goes down... A LOT. i LOVE fighting games there so awsome!

  58. ShadowofPain Saturday 3rd Apr 2010 at 11:27

    think ill wait till it goes down... A LOT. i LOVE fighting games there so awsome!

    It's £20 at Asda. Buy it before you miss out!

  59. Mart2006 Sunday 4th Apr 2010 at 15:21

    I never got round to Red Steel 1, so I thought about getting Red Steel 2 to see what I was missing out on, but when I saw you only gave it an 86% compared to the original's 91%, I thought other wise... Until I saw your latest tweet: Red Steel 2 for £20 this Easter, I'm considering buying it again.

    I'm also anticipating Monster Hunter Tri (as seen in the sig) so I'm not sure which to get. "/

  60. mikey12 Sunday 4th Apr 2010 at 16:13

    ordered it from game.co.uk . shame they were'nt selling it at retail with wii motion plus unless i get it with a wiimote :? . getting it on friday and ill tell you guys how awsome it is :)

  61. ale96gamer Sunday 4th Apr 2010 at 20:02

    After getting this i relised that the review is well basically perfect :) couldn't agree more

  62. Dragonfree97 Monday 5th Apr 2010 at 12:38

    The beat reason to own MotionPlus?

    No, there's Wii Sports Resort.

  63. Mcpilch Tuesday 6th Apr 2010 at 10:58

    got it for my birthday, and its really good. love the art style- very like Borderlands. but the last i heard it had online multiplayer. when did this change?

  64. mikey12 Wednesday 7th Apr 2010 at 20:25

    finally got it today after fixing my wii. great game and awsome atmosphere. Realy good and worth a purchase

  65. Onna76_NL Monday 12th Apr 2010 at 09:14

    First of all since when is 86% a let down :-? I wish I had many of those scores during high school :D

    Second of all, when are people stop judging a game by scores and read reviews instead. Scores are nothing to me, especially since they're not always right. Take Another Code R for example, lot of reviewers gave this game a bad score, but for what good reason? :roll:

    And there's Grand Slam Tennis and Tigerwoods PGA Tour 2010 for example if you'd like more M+ goodness.

    @Mart2006, read other comments first before commenting, its explained "why" the scores differ from each other.

  66. Brawlftw Monday 12th Apr 2010 at 16:41

    The beat reason to own MotionPlus?

    No, there's Wii Sports Resort.

    LOL no, Red Steel 2 is much better. Wii Sports Resort, whilst fun, was simply a showcase for Motionplus.

    Red Steel 2 is the best reason to own motionplus thus far, and certainly, I feel, achieves what it set out to do: to provide a polished, action-packed swordfighting experience for the Wii. The graphics are excellent, with the best cel-shading on the console (yes, even over No More Heroes), and the controls are brilliant. It's far from perfect, but it is a very good game and certainly worth it if you can find it for £30 or less.

  67. DavidVM Friday 16th Apr 2010 at 14:51

    Great controls and graphics but they hide an astoundingly average game. If this didn't have the excellent sword controls, no one would give a damn about this game since the mission design and characters are so uninvolving.
    This is the kind of game that makes you think the 360/PS3 fanboys have a point since the game design for this is dreadfully under-developed compared to the FPS's on the other consoles.
    A wasted opportunity here, but I think I might write to LucasArts and ask them for a new Jedi Knight using this control mechanic. Now that would be worth a Gold Award.

  68. Chr1s-cross Friday 23rd Apr 2010 at 16:21

    I think I might write to LucasArts and ask them for a new Jedi Knight using this control mechanic. Now that would be worth a Gold Award.

    I agree! Replace gunplay with force powers, and I reckon you could make a great Star Wars game with this control scheme. Here's hoping that the next force unleashed game uses this control scheme and the wiimotionplus for the wii!

    I actually totally agree with the review, and score that ONM gave red steel 2 - wicked, and brilliant fun, but with some pretty boring mission designs. However, I'd also say that the best thing to do in the game is to not get too many health or weapon upgrades, and just buy the guns, and the hidden moves, because if you purchase all the damage and health upgrades, I find that the game becomes boringly easy near the end, and I think that by only buying the guns and hidden moves, the game becomes more about skill near the end. Aside from these reasons though, I think this is a brilliant game!

  69. Gameking53 Sunday 5th Sep 2010 at 19:22

    Just got this game recently. It's excellent. I thought the first had poor controls, but this easily has some of the best FPS controls on the Wii, and MotionPlus makes it even better!

    Shame there's no multiplayer, online would've been great fun.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.