Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Super Mario Galaxy 2 review in new ONM

Is it better than the original?

There's just over a month to go until Super Mario Galaxy 2 is released in the UK but you can read our review of the plumber's exciting new adventure in the new issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which is on sale now!

Subscribers have been able to read our all-important verdict since Friday as the magazine was delivered to our most loyal readers early. The magazine is now on general sale so everyone else will can read our verdict now. Is it better than Mario Galaxy? You'll have to read the magazine to find out!

Click to view larger image
As well as getting the magazine early, subscribers are also being treated to a special front cover. To celebrate the biggest game of the year, we've created six special covers and subscribers will get their own version which won't be available in the shops. The magazine also comes with a free Heroes Of Nintendo Badge Set. Not a subscriber yet? Sign up here and save a load of cash!

Our giant 10-page Super Mario Galaxy 2 is this month's big event but what else is in the new ONM? In the month that we review Miyamoto's latest creation, we celebrate the life of the Nintendo legend in a special feature.

If our Miyamoto feature has one foot in the past we're also looking ahead to the future as we discuss what Nintendo's new 3DS might have to offer. Our special Mario Kart retrospective also includes our wishlist for the plumber's next racer.

Speaking of the future, you may want to mark Wednesday 16 June in your diary. We'll be revealing world exclusive details on a top secret new game in the next issue of ONM. We had to make sure we cover this new game which is why ONM 56 and 57 are both being released on a Wednesday rather than a Friday as usual.

Want to read the new issue of Official Nintendo Magazine? Buy the June issue here!

Comments

42 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. jaiv Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 12:57

    I WANTED IT ON FRIDAY :(

  2. Hylian_Grouch Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 13:04

    as long as theres a reason for the delay. top secret game eh? will it still be top secret after e3?

  3. HNF1 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 13:34

    Can't wait. :D

  4. GoombaInDisguise Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 14:21

    Z0MG WAN 2 PLAY TEH TAWP SECWET GAME OLOLOLOLOLOZ!

  5. SimplePlan2k8 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 14:38

    as long as theres a reason for the delay. top secret game eh? will it still be top secret after e3?

    Clearly not, look at the date. It's the closest possible release after the Nintendo Conference.

    I'd put money on it being the new Zelda, nothing else would warrant holding back an issue

  6. BlueSoup8 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 14:50

    I wish I was a subscriber :cry:

  7. superewan Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 15:47

    as the saying goes,

    all good things come to those who wait

    but as the other sayin goes,

    all good thing comes to those who wait less an get a subscription.

    study leave on friday will have 2 permantly cancelled due to nintendo overdose me thinks...

  8. Mmmyeah Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:08

    I AM A SUBSCRIBER !

    i really cannot wait for this game. and i am pleased to hear that the magazine is coming next wednesday, i thought my subscription had ended!

    and this new game intrigues me. i am not going to try and guess what it is because it could be anything, though i am hoping for something completely new. issue 57 cant come soon enough!

    oh, and issue 56 with galaxy 2 should be good too.

  9. firemblemftw Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:23

    PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA!!!

  10. kezz182 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:31

    Woooooooooooh CANT WAIT =D

  11. toady Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 17:14

    i think it will be zelda too

    SUBSCRIBERS RULE!!!!

  12. Ai64 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 17:24

    I really can't wait to get mime to my doorstep. More badges? Cool!:D

  13. andmaggie Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 18:25

    WHEN IS IT IN SHOPS?!?!?!?!??!?!!??!?!!?
    Can't wait.

  14. tomutwit Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 18:53

    You gave it away. It's Mariokart 3DS.

  15. Dragon2468 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 19:32

    PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA!!!

    hahaha very well said!

  16. Dragon2468 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 19:35

    PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA PLEASE BE ZELDA!!!

    hahaha very well said!

  17. yoshimad Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 20:13

    Can't wait for super mario galaxy 2 its going to be a defined masterpiece compared to the original masterpiece. Plus playing as yoshi its a pretty good idea.

    Wednesday 16th is in the diary considering its my b-day hahah!!!

  18. Hylian_Grouch Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 21:30

    if they are holding back til after the conference then that means the cant be the first ones to talk about it. but i dont think anyone knows anything about zelda yet so my guess is new starfox or kid icarus or something else new that nintendo have promised to talk about and will reveal at e3

  19. Hylian_Grouch Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 21:32

    also if it is a 3ds game i will wet myself.

    wonder what it will launch with? oooh now im thinking...

    mario kart 3ds = launch title = WIN

  20. Nintenmole56 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 21:56

    Can't wait for super mario galaxy 2 its going to be a defined masterpiece compared to the original masterpiece. Plus playing as yoshi its a pretty good idea.

    Wednesday 16th is in the diary considering its my b-day hahah!!!

    also fred duttons birthday, whos been using their calendar??
    starfox f-zero zelda im excited maybe bowser juniors own game

    or luigis mansion wii/3ds

  21. Colgax Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 22:00

    Only if I could subscribe...

    It's just too expensive in my damn country. Ł55 just on shipping...

    They could sell digital versions...

  22. mariomaster Thursday 6th May 2010 at 13:12

    wish i had a subscription! :cry: i think it's a new mario kart for the 3ds google image: ds 2

  23. acguy95 Thursday 6th May 2010 at 17:19

    Argh! I thought it was coming out this wednesday. :oops:

  24. Callum D Thursday 6th May 2010 at 18:11

    Meh doubt its Zelda, after all this is a top secret game. If it were Zelda, i reckon ONM would have just said that, and whats the point when E3 is revealing Zelda? Anyway, I hope its Pikmin 3, but that might be revealed at E3 as well.

  25. ShadowofPain Thursday 6th May 2010 at 19:46

    Is it just me, or does the sub cover look worse than all the others :?

  26. Cyberguy Thursday 6th May 2010 at 20:18

    Awesome, I've been so excited about the Galaxy 2 review. Tomorrow's the day. :D

  27. Colgax Thursday 6th May 2010 at 22:31

    New Game? Super Mario Galaxy 3!!!!! :P

    But seriously, I'd love to see a new Paper Mario (It's not gonna be...). I've really loved Super Paper Mario (I liked Dimentio soooooo much. I was probably the only person in the world that belived him on chapter 8-3), but I missed the not-so-old game style from 64 and GC, where you can use other characters but the same from always.

  28. Dragon2468 Friday 7th May 2010 at 15:23

    It's friday to day and mine hasn't com :x

  29. killercelibi Friday 7th May 2010 at 18:56

    what did it get?

  30. Chocolate king Saturday 8th May 2010 at 09:08

    Is it just me, or does the sub cover look worse than all the others :?

    Yeah, I agree with you. The subs cover is a pretty boring image, while the others look much cooler.

    My favourite is the one with Mario riding blimp Yoshi.

  31. Chocolate king Saturday 8th May 2010 at 09:09

    what did it get?

    *SPOILERS* 97%

  32. Casplen Wednesday 12th May 2010 at 15:54

    Uhh...i'm really sick of how bias this magazine is towards mario games. Way to be subtle ONM! :wink:

    Its so lucky i like the magazines...

    :D

  33. Luneth22 Thursday 13th May 2010 at 09:46

    What? 97%? Whats keeping such a awesome game from getting 100%?

  34. ChrisONM Thursday 13th May 2010 at 11:54

    Uhh...i'm really sick of how bias this magazine is towards mario games. Way to be subtle ONM! :wink:

    Its so lucky i like the magazines...

    :D


    Would you rather I lied and said the game was rubbish? :wink:

  35. Chocolate king Thursday 13th May 2010 at 17:05

    Uhh...i'm really sick of how bias this magazine is towards mario games. Way to be subtle ONM! :wink:

    Its so lucky i like the magazines...

    :D


    Would you rather I lied and said the game was rubbish? :wink:

    Yeah, ONM is not biased towards Mario games. It's just that Mario games are freaking awesome! :D

  36. OldGregg64 Friday 14th May 2010 at 11:23

    wish i had a subscription! :cry: i think it's a new mario kart for the 3ds google image: ds 2

    That's the arcade Mario Kart, and is clearly a fake 3DS. The public haven't seen it yet.

  37. ShadowofPain Saturday 15th May 2010 at 16:38

    I know what's wrong with the cover. It's that it has no writing on it whatsoever except the name of the mag. The one on this site above the big "CLICK THE COVER" is what it should've been.

  38. Oligi Sunday 16th May 2010 at 09:45

    Is it just me, or does the sub cover look worse than all the others :?

    yh, i know wat u mean, i got the cloud mario cover he looks AAAMMMAAAZZZIIINNNGGG!!! 8)

  39. zoe1poke Friday 21st May 2010 at 16:40

    It probably didn't do quite enough more to get it up to 98% or more. Still a fantastic score

  40. Shigeru Tuesday 25th May 2010 at 08:51

    The game guides are pointless. You can find all the info and then some online.

  41. Robbo-92 Tuesday 25th May 2010 at 18:48

    Hope the 3DS launches with pokemon black and white, as my origional ds is starting to break, i don't want to spend money on getting it repaired or buy a ds lite, so nintendo plz release the 3DS soon!!

  42. Toon_Link Monday 14th Jun 2010 at 16:12

    IT NEED TO BE ZELDA OTHERWISE I WILL KILL MYSELF!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.