Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sin & Punishment 2: Successor Of The Skies review

Welcome to bullet hell. Enjoy your stay...

If you've been a gamer for a long time then the name Treasure should mean something to you. One of the most highly respected development studios in Japan, Treasure is the daddy of extremely difficult shoot 'em ups. Whether it's GameCube and Dreamcast classic Ikaruga, the Mega Drive run-and-gun gem Gunstar Heroes or the recently remade for DS Bangai-O, a Treasure-developed title will test your control pad dexterity like no other developer's game can.

A great example of this was the original Sin & Punishment, a Nintendo 64 on-rails shooter that, while a fantastic game and one of the best examples of the shoot 'em up genre on the N64, was unfortunately never released outside of Japan.

Click to view larger image
Nintendo gamers in the West were cruelly denied the right to play this fantastic game until it was finally released on the Wii's Virtual Console a couple of years ago. Now its long awaited sequel is here and, in true Treasure fashion, it's more difficult than a culinary conversation between a vegetarian and a butcher.

Isa and Kachi, the young male and female characters you get to choose from, have crash-landed in a secret government building and are trying to leg it out of there before they're killed.

Both characters have their own strengths and weaknesses, though the difference isn't quite as stark as you might expect. The pair have a similar feel when you're controlling them since they each have the ability to both run along the ground and fly around at will (Isa has a jetpack while Kachi has a hoverboard), so it all really comes down to their alternative fire methods. Isa's charged shot is a single huge explosion which does great damage to anything in its vicinity, while Kachi fires a series of homing missiles at multiple enemies, allowing for a less powerful but more accurate and widespread assault.

Control Yourself

Although you can use the Classic and GameCube controllers, using the Remote and Nunchuk control method is by far the best way to play this game as you use the control stick to move your character and point at the screen to shoot.

You can also use the A button to lock on to enemies or bosses' weak spots, but your shots are less powerful. If you quickly tap the B button instead of holding it, your character will quickly swipe their cleverly-concealed sword, which is handy for deflecting bullets and taking out nearby enemies.

Pointing the Remote is infinitely easier to do than using the analogue stick to move your crosshair, as was the case in the N64 original.

Click to view larger image
A decent player will finish Sin & Punishment 2 on its Normal difficulty setting in around seven hours but getting through the story is only the beginning - it's the high score system that separates the men from the boys.

Getting a high score in Sin & Punishment 2 is all about building a combo. Each time you kill an enemy your combo number will rise slightly. This combo number acts as a score multiplier so as it continues to grow you'll start to get more and more points for each enemy you defeat. Every time you take a hit, however, you lose a hefty chunk of your combo.

This makes for an intriguing risk/reward system. If you play it safe and avoid getting mixed up with too many enemies, you'll miss out on a lot of kills but get stuck in and try to kill as many enemies as possible and you're more likely to take damage. Once you've finished a level, you'll be given the option to submit your score to the game's online leaderboards.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

34 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. DavidVM Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 15:45

    So has this earnt a Gold Award?

  2. Erdogan44 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 15:55

    Buying Day 1.
    :wink:

  3. jimbob555 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:11

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.

  4. 142520452213 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:13

    Already pre-ordered from GAME :D

    Bought the Wii Zapper at the same time to make the game experience even better!

    I have a feeling this game will be seriously fantastic - it may not be the best game in terms of appealing to everyone and having pick-up-and-play appeal, but I like the games with longetivity that keep me addicted with varied level designs!

  5. ChrisONM Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:27

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.


    Tell me about it mate. It's ironic that something like Mario Party on the N64 wasn't considered casual back in the day.

  6. KoreeluStromboli Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:35

    I've played the original Sin and Punishment on the Virtual Console and the highest difficulty level I've beaten it on is Normal. I've enjoyed it and on Hard I'm currently stuck on the Ruffian Seemer boss in stage 2-1. I'm not 100% sure whether to get this sequel or not :( . Can someone please tell me whether to go for it or not.

  7. bloodandthunder Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 16:40

    I think the review answers your questions, Koreelu!

    Wow, first Monster Hunter Tri and now this! My bank account is taking a bit of a pounding lately and this isn't going to help! I think its safe to say though that this is an essential purchase.

  8. microhenry Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 18:09

    Will pick this up *eventually* along with all those other Wii games I've missed...

    It's going to be a good summer :D

  9. manic221 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 19:15

    So has this earnt a Gold Award?

    I't got 90% therefore it got a gold award... Gold award is just something ONM plaster on any game they review that receives 90% or higher.

  10. Hylian_Grouch Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 19:18

    im afraid i cannot afford this at the moment. gotta keep my pockets lined for galaxy and other m

  11. microhenry Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 19:48

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.


    Tell me about it mate. It's ironic that something like Mario Party on the N64 wasn't considered casual back in the day.

    That, my good man, is because the N64 is the best console of all time.

  12. Ai64 Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 19:50

    Good thing this game has online leaderboards. I think this is one of the best looking games on wii.

  13. Teeboy Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 20:14

    I was expecting a really tough game that I'd be quite annoyed with but I don't think it's as hard as you make it out to be. But that's just my opinion.

  14. JRush Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 20:35

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.


    Tell me about it mate. It's ironic that something like Mario Party on the N64 wasn't considered casual back in the day.

    That, my good man, is because the N64 is the best console of all time.


    You are right about that. My older brother is an old school gamer he is 23 now and I am only 13 and all his friends had playstations even though they wanted n64 :-D pity it didn't sell very well :P

  15. JRush Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 20:36

    The game sounds good. It will have to go on my "games to buy list"

  16. piccadillio Wednesday 5th May 2010 at 20:50

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.


    Tell me about it mate. It's ironic that something like Mario Party on the N64 wasn't considered casual back in the day.

    Then why use the word hardcore in the sub-heading? You need to get your messages straight. Half the time you guys use 'hardcore' as an insult, the other half it's used as a positive description. You're complicit in the persistence of the hardcore/casual divide whilst claiming you're against it.

    Anyway... If I do buy a Wii game in the near future, Sin and Punishment 2 is a contender. Red Steel 2 is still beckoning, though. 20 in Asda!

  17. Oxo64 Thursday 6th May 2010 at 07:04

    Can't wait to get stuck into this.

    Can you explain why you gave it a - for "not being for everyone" when this game clearly isn't meant to be? Just because its on the Wii, it doesn't mean it has to playable by you granny...

  18. rimz790 Thursday 6th May 2010 at 09:12

    I think the review answers your questions, Koreelu!

    Wow, first Monster Hunter Tri and now this! My bank account is taking a bit of a pounding lately and this isn't going to help! I think its safe to say though that this is an essential purchase.

    You got this game also, which should hopefully see a western release http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NtTlUcjt ... r_embedded

  19. gamester Thursday 6th May 2010 at 10:55

    I really need this game. For I could do for one hell of a challenge right now.

  20. DavidVM Thursday 6th May 2010 at 11:38

    I associate the term "hardcore" with games that are playable but not easy to play and complete (Monster Hunter Tri is a great example of this type of game). therefore I believe it to be a useful and valid term for describing certain games, such as this one.

    It is however quite a misused term and is often met with derision on this forum because it has been used by PS3/360 fansboys to taunt Wii owners who try to claim that the Wii has no hardcore games. It is misused because actually the PS3 & 360 don't have many hardcore games either, they just have games with more mature (or at least what a 15 year old considers more mature) content with shinier graphics, but that doesn't make a game hardcore.

    I can't honestly think of any of my PS3/360 owning friends who have ever complained about not being able to complete a game or are hopelessly stuck at a certain point. But I guarantee that in a month's time I will be consoling myself in the pub with them after that monster gave me a total ass-whupping for the twenty sixth time in Tri.

  21. Shadow Samus Thursday 6th May 2010 at 14:20

    I associate the term "hardcore" with games that are playable but not easy to play and complete (Monster Hunter Tri is a great example of this type of game). therefore I believe it to be a useful and valid term for describing certain games, such as this one.

    It is however quite a misused term and is often met with derision on this forum because it has been used by PS3/360 fansboys to taunt Wii owners who try to claim that the Wii has no hardcore games. It is misused because actually the PS3 & 360 don't have many hardcore games either, they just have games with more mature (or at least what a 15 year old considers more mature) content with shinier graphics, but that doesn't make a game hardcore.

    I can't honestly think of any of my PS3/360 owning friends who have ever complained about not being able to complete a game or are hopelessly stuck at a certain point. But I guarantee that in a month's time I will be consoling myself in the pub with them after that monster gave me a total ass-whupping for the twenty sixth time in Tri.

    Couldnt have put it better myself :wink:

  22. samus_killer Thursday 6th May 2010 at 20:47

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.


    Tell me about it mate. It's ironic that something like Mario Party on the N64 wasn't considered casual back in the day.

    Then why use the word hardcore in the sub-heading? You need to get your messages straight. Half the time you guys use 'hardcore' as an insult, the other half it's used as a positive description. You're complicit in the persistence of the hardcore/casual divide whilst claiming you're against it.

    Anyway... If I do buy a Wii game in the near future, Sin and Punishment 2 is a contender. Red Steel 2 is still beckoning, though. 20 in Asda!


    First of all, chill out. Does it really matter? Secondly, get Red Steel 2, it's such a fun game. 20 is a bargin in my books, just let your hair down and have fun, isn't that what playing video games is all about? I enjoyed it soooo much!

  23. FriarLawrenceIII Thursday 6th May 2010 at 22:29

    In my days we didn't have hardcore and casual.

    They were just games.


    Tell me about it mate. It's ironic that something like Mario Party on the N64 wasn't considered casual back in the day.

    I would put that partly down to the fact that some mini-games gave you blisters. The tru sign of a gamer!

    But, i kind of considered it a game for anyone, but it certainly wasn't as levelled out for everyone as MKwii is now for example.

  24. ShinynewJB Friday 7th May 2010 at 12:26

    So my copy of this turned up yesterday (which was a lovely suprise seeing as I usually have bad luck when it comes to getting pre-orders early!). Here's a few of my first impressions I've formed based on a couple of hours gameplay.

    Controls were a little weird to get used to to start with, I kept flicking to do melee for some reason. It's kind of weird that they used the B button for both melee and shooting (hold to shoot, tap for melee) when they could have used down on the d-pad for melee. Admittedly, I've not looked at the customisable settings yet so maybe it can be done. That said, after a while I got used to the controls and they didn't bother me.

    I wish I had a bigger TV! I'm playing on a standard ratio 20-odd inch CRT and I can just tell this game would look awesome even on a big screen. Maybe I'd be able to see all the bullets then!

    Gameplay wise, the game is very intuitive and excellently easy to get into but difficult to master. For anyone writing this off as an "on-rails" game: This is really more than an on-rails game. Sure you're moving down a set path, but just that added experience of being able to move your character makes it so much more difficult and challenging! I can tell this is going to be a tough game, and one I'm going to enjoy mastering.

    They weren't messing around with the story! It plunges right into it and I didn't have a clue what was going on to start with. Maybe it gets explained more as the game goes on.

    Overall, quite impressed and looking forward to getting stuck in!

    It is misused because actually the PS3 & 360 don't have many hardcore games either, they just have games with more mature (or at least what a 15 year old considers more mature) content with shinier graphics, but that doesn't make a game hardcore.

    This is very true. "Hardcore" = depth. Swearing, blood, space marines with no necks etc. do not make a game any deeper. For example: Pikmin is easily a hardcore gamers' game - even if you are a rolly polly spaceman throwing flower men at cuddly enemies.

  25. bowser boy Friday 7th May 2010 at 18:50

    this game is nails i'm gonna need my dad to help me with the snapper keeper

  26. shadow.x Saturday 8th May 2010 at 11:50

    Looks ok actually, might get this.

  27. 142520452213 Tuesday 11th May 2010 at 18:56

    Had some problems ordering the Wii Zapper mentioned earlier, and in order to possibly save some money, does the game work as well without it? Or is it so much better with the Zapper? I really wanted to play it as the developers intended, but things haven't really worked out. Can someone advise me please?

  28. Gavin Rozee Tuesday 11th May 2010 at 20:28

    Had some problems ordering the Wii Zapper mentioned earlier, and in order to possibly save some money, does the game work as well without it? Or is it so much better with the Zapper? I really wanted to play it as the developers intended, but things haven't really worked out. Can someone advise me please?

    I find that the game flows better with just the 'mote & chuk. When I played with the Zapper I was doing awful.

    Having your left hand dedicated to moving and dodging, with your right hand dedicated to aiming and shooting is just so much smoother.

  29. bowser boy Tuesday 11th May 2010 at 20:31

    Had some problems ordering the Wii Zapper mentioned earlier, and in order to possibly save some money, does the game work as well without it? Or is it so much better with the Zapper? I really wanted to play it as the developers intended, but things haven't really worked out. Can someone advise me please?

    I find that the game flows better with just the 'mote & chuk. When I played with the Zapper I was doing awful.

    Having your left hand dedicated to moving and dodging, with your right hand dedicated to aiming and shooting is just so much smoother.


    this is true and you really need all the help you can get in hard mode i prefer the mote and chuck as it's a bit like prime trilogy axcept fot the targeting

  30. MARION64WII Tuesday 11th May 2010 at 21:55

    Good thing this game has online leaderboards. I think this is one of the best looking games on wii.

    Monster hunter tri looks better. The Jhen Moran's intro cutscene is stunning, as well as the intro. Well, the whole game is just fantastic. BTW if anyone has it and want to hunt with me, the name is NiteFire. PM me if you want me online or something and I am HR 13. I am not bad at the game either, but the reason why my rank isn't as high as it should is because my partners keep dying on quests.

    ...Took myself off the point there...

  31. Gavin Rozee Wednesday 12th May 2010 at 13:30

    Good thing this game has online leaderboards. I think this is one of the best looking games on wii.

    Monster hunter tri looks better. The Jhen Moran's intro cutscene is stunning, as well as the intro. Well, the whole game is just fantastic. BTW if anyone has it and want to hunt with me, the name is NiteFire. PM me if you want me online or something and I am HR 13. I am not bad at the game either, but the reason why my rank isn't as high as it should is because my partners keep dying on quests.

    ...Took myself off the point there...

    LOL. Why do so many think that MH is a good looking game? It's a blurry mess. S&P isn't the best looking game ever, but its certainly cleaner and smoother than MH.

    Oh, and those MH cutscenes you mentioned? That's just FMV, so it doesn't count as "graphics".

  32. MARION64WII Wednesday 12th May 2010 at 18:02

    Good thing this game has online leaderboards. I think this is one of the best looking games on wii.

    Monster hunter tri looks better. The Jhen Moran's intro cutscene is stunning, as well as the intro. Well, the whole game is just fantastic. BTW if anyone has it and want to hunt with me, the name is NiteFire. PM me if you want me online or something and I am HR 13. I am not bad at the game either, but the reason why my rank isn't as high as it should is because my partners keep dying on quests.

    ...Took myself off the point there...

    LOL. Why do so many think that MH is a good looking game? It's a blurry mess. S&P isn't the best looking game ever, but its certainly cleaner and smoother than MH.

    Oh, and those MH cutscenes you mentioned? That's just FMV, so it doesn't count as "graphics".

    Get your eyes checked, or at least play the game first.

  33. Gavin Rozee Wednesday 12th May 2010 at 22:46

    Good thing this game has online leaderboards. I think this is one of the best looking games on wii.

    Monster hunter tri looks better. The Jhen Moran's intro cutscene is stunning, as well as the intro. Well, the whole game is just fantastic. BTW if anyone has it and want to hunt with me, the name is NiteFire. PM me if you want me online or something and I am HR 13. I am not bad at the game either, but the reason why my rank isn't as high as it should is because my partners keep dying on quests.

    ...Took myself off the point there...

    LOL. Why do so many think that MH is a good looking game? It's a blurry mess. S&P isn't the best looking game ever, but its certainly cleaner and smoother than MH.

    Oh, and those MH cutscenes you mentioned? That's just FMV, so it doesn't count as "graphics".

    Get your eyes checked, or at least play the game first.

    I bought MH Tri at release. I played it in 480p and it still looked blurry and choppy.

    The game wasn't all that fun either so I sold it.

  34. MARION64WII Thursday 13th May 2010 at 19:41

    Good thing this game has online leaderboards. I think this is one of the best looking games on wii.

    Monster hunter tri looks better. The Jhen Moran's intro cutscene is stunning, as well as the intro. Well, the whole game is just fantastic. BTW if anyone has it and want to hunt with me, the name is NiteFire. PM me if you want me online or something and I am HR 13. I am not bad at the game either, but the reason why my rank isn't as high as it should is because my partners keep dying on quests.

    ...Took myself off the point there...

    LOL. Why do so many think that MH is a good looking game? It's a blurry mess. S&P isn't the best looking game ever, but its certainly cleaner and smoother than MH.

    Oh, and those MH cutscenes you mentioned? That's just FMV, so it doesn't count as "graphics".

    Get your eyes checked, or at least play the game first.

    I bought MH Tri at release. I played it in 480p and it still looked blurry and choppy.

    The game wasn't all that fun either so I sold it.

    It's not a game for everyone. I find it fun and play with all my mates all the time. That's one reason why I got it.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.