Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Prince Of Persia: Forgotten Sands Wii Review

Just as good as the GameCube trilogy

The Forgotten Sands seems like a bit of an afterthought now that the franchise has gone all Hollywood on us. But spare a thought for the videogame world's Prince. Oddly, Ubisoft has made minimal fuss about the return of one of its most famous and bankable stars, but more fool them.

Those with fond memories of the Prince in his pomp will be pleased to hear that this new Prince Of Persia game is just as enjoyable as the trilogy of GameCube games before it. Using the full gamut of the Prince's parkour-esque skills, you're invited to run, jump and clamber through perilous platforming sections as well as fight off baddies. Most significantly though, you're also asked to solve a slew of environment-based puzzles, very much in the time-honoured Tomb Raider and Legend of Zelda tradition.

Click to view larger image
You control our Prince on a quest through some mythologicaly-themed ruins, with a Navi-style spirit sidekick as accompaniment. The bulk of your time will be spent getting from A to B by way of leaping over chasms, running up and along the environment's walls and shimmying along ledges.

You also have some Spirit Powers to call upon. Initially this involves using the pointer to 'fire' your powers at certain spots in the environment with the B button. On walls, this produces hooks to hang from; on terra firma a blast of your powers creates electric blue cyclones which boost you up to higher ground.

You can scale huge, crumbling buildings and negotiate some highly elaborate traps. Figuring out how to do that is where all of the enjoyment lies within The Forgotten Sands. You'll need to stop and think through how to use your skills and surroundings to get through each challenge unscathed. The Forgotten Sands replaces intense action with a palpable sense of satisfaction, triggered when you crack one of the game's increasingly intricate spatial conundrums.

Sadly, the combat is largely a frustrating affair, and starts to become a real waggling slog later on in the game. In a bid to land as many hits as possible, fights soon descend into a solid five minutes of furious dodging and controller shaking. The lack of a truly effective lock-on or blocking system is also frustrating.

After a tedious opening section that really tested our patience, we eventually see the true Prince of Persia - a string of well thought-out, genuinely satisfying platform puzzles, marred only by some dodgy combat and annoying boss fights.

This is an edited version of a review that appears in ONM 57 which is on sale on Wednesday 16 June. For the full unedited version with more in-depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts look out for the magazine.

Comments

20 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. ILoveWii Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 14:22

    Tedious combat? For God's Sake, Ubisoft will NEVER be able to nail the combat in this series. All 5 games now have combat problems.

  2. Matchi-chan Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 16:16

    Expected it as much.

    Am I the only who thinks this is a cash-in?

  3. ShadowofPain Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 16:29

    Nice. I was actually expecting 60-75% but I must say this is a pleasant surprise.

  4. Sonic Freak Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 16:48

    Nice. I was actually expecting 60-75% but I must say this is a pleasant surprise.

    I second that.

  5. Broken_Angel Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 16:49

    "polished visuals"? were you guys even looking at the same screens? The Cube versions looked better and they were on what is technically inferior hardware. Given the recent performance of certain developers (including Ubisoft themselves), there is no excuse for pixels you could beat a horse to death with and two-dimensional plants. This is one giant leap backwards in the fight to get the Wii taken seriously

  6. sonicka Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 17:04

    Great review (and score). Having just finished and enjoyed 2008's POP, I'm finally making my way through the original Sands of Time game - so I'm rather happy to hear that this takes place straight after. Go for Continuity!

    Now to decide on which console version... or both...

    "polished visuals"? were you guys even looking at the same screens? The Cube versions looked better and they were on what is technically inferior hardware. Given the recent performance of certain developers (including Ubisoft themselves), there is no excuse for pixels you could beat a horse to death with and two-dimensional plants. This is one giant leap backwards in the fight to get the Wii taken seriously


    Screen Grabs and Video Uploads are never a good representation of what the finished product actually looks like to when it's running on your TV screen at home. I'd wait till you have it inside your Wii before making such comments.

  7. Icarus_Kid Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 17:20

    This is more of a PS360 game then it is a Wii game, though really.

  8. samus_killer Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 17:26

    This is more of a PS360 game then it is a Wii game, though really.

    Actually, this is more of a Gamecube/PS2/XBOX game, then just with HD visuals for the 'PS360' versions. From what I've read on other sites, there's not a lot of difference between this game and the original trilogy. Then again that's what a lot people proberly wanted.

  9. Bellicapelli Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 17:40

    I really enjoyed the Sands/Warrior/Thrones trilogy on the GC. This however strikes me as the type of game I'll wait a few months on until the price drops to next to nothing.

    I simply do not trust Ubisoft enough anymore to have confidence i will get value for my Ł30+ spent on a Wii game.

  10. Giga Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 18:40

    Am I the only who thinks this is a cash-in?


    Yes. Yes you are because this game has nothing to do with the movie.

  11. noodle link Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 18:55

    Nice. I was actually expecting 60-75% but I must say this is a pleasant surprise.

  12. Wiiki Tuesday 18th May 2010 at 23:05

    Am I the only who thinks this is a cash-in?


    Yes. Yes you are because this game has nothing to do with the movie.

    And it was released on the same day as the film with a similar title and a prince bearing more than a slight resemblance to Jake Gylenhal (cant spell his silly name) by coincidence?

  13. ale96gamer Wednesday 19th May 2010 at 06:26

    i might pick this up at some point it looks good

  14. shane12234 Wednesday 19th May 2010 at 13:49

    i might pick this up at some point it looks good

    Dont waste youre money, i just got it and first impressions count.
    first off the graghics are outragiously bad even for wii, and it doesnt feel like a proper pop title.Save your money and get Galaxy 2. :D

  15. ale96gamer Wednesday 19th May 2010 at 16:22

    i might pick this up at some point it looks good

    Dont waste youre money, i just got it and first impressions count.
    first off the graghics are outragiously bad even for wii, and it doesnt feel like a proper pop title.Save your money and get Galaxy 2. :D

    don't worry it's on my list below galaxy 2 and about a milloin others... unless i see it for a tenner

  16. Onna76_NL Wednesday 19th May 2010 at 17:04

    On dvd.co.uk the game is only for 18GBP... that's a price most Dutch people can't resist so I pre ordered it :D

  17. ShadowofPain Wednesday 19th May 2010 at 20:33

    i might pick this up at some point it looks good

    Dont waste youre money, i just got it and first impressions count.
    first off the graghics are outragiously bad even for wii, and it doesnt feel like a proper pop title.Save your money and get Galaxy 2. :D

    Strange, you said the graphics look horrible and yet IGN gave the graphics and presentation 9.0s respectively and they said that it was a great game to play too. Someone's eyes need checking (I'm not implying yours btw :wink: )

  18. Giga Wednesday 19th May 2010 at 21:53

    Am I the only who thinks this is a cash-in?


    Yes. Yes you are because this game has nothing to do with the movie.

    And it was released on the same day as the film with a similar title and a prince bearing more than a slight resemblance to Jake Gylenhal (cant spell his silly name) by coincidence?


    1) The film is called the sands of time, this games is a sequel to the game Prince of persia: the sands of time.
    2) You got it the wrong way around Jake Gylenhal has a resemblance to the prince, the price has looked like that for years now, only this time he has a beard.

  19. NEO.BAHAMUT Thursday 20th May 2010 at 22:12

    I'm guessing no classic control support then? :(

  20. divit Saturday 22nd May 2010 at 21:51

    This is more of a PS360 game then it is a Wii game, though really.

    The PS360 version is a completely different game, although it may focus on the same things. From what I've seen of the reviews the Wii version should actually be better.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.