Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Green Day Rock Band review

Wii hope you have the time of your life...

For the purposes of this review let's assume that you are indeed a fan of Green Day, because if you cringe every time you hear Boulevard Of Broken Dreams, this clearly isn't the game for you and we're all wasting our time here.

So Green Day fans, does this game pays tribute to the band's history in the same fantastic way The Beatles version did. Yes and no.

Green Day: Rock Band features 47 tracks but whereas the Fab Four's game follows the band's history from its early days right through to their final live performance, there's no real structure this time around. Instead you're simply presented with a list of the game's three venues, you choose one and you then play through a list of songs.

Click to view larger image

I Wanna Play A Minority

Yes there are only three different locations to choose from, and one of them is fictional. 'Warehouse' is the made-up venue intended to resemble the grotty locales that the band used to play in during the early days. You can play songs from Dookie (inarguably their best album) here, eventually unlocking the whole album.

Then there's the 2005 Milton Keynes venue that featured in the Bullet In A Bible DVD. Here you play songs from American Idiot (again, the whole album's eventually unlocked), Insomniac (three tracks), Nimrod (three tracks) and Warning (only two tracks). Finally, there's the Fox Theater in Oakland, where you can play tracks from 21st Century Breakdown (there are 12 tracks to play, with the other six available as DLC).

It's an odd way of structuring the game because there's no real feeling of progression. Yes, you will eventually have to complete every song to unlock the various photographs and 40 minutes of rare video footage on the disc, but it would have been nice to have been guided through the band's history rather than having so much freedom. It's also odd that earlier tracks, such as those from great early albums like Kerplunk, aren't in the game.

Still, die-hard fans of Green Day will be in heaven with this game regardless, even if the rest of us have clearer vision and can see this as a The Beatles: Rock Band clone with much less work put into it.

This is an edited version of a review that appears in the July issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which goes on sale on Wednesday 15 June. For more in-depth analysis and screenshots, buy the magazine.

Comments

30 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. TheConch Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 12:34

    Mother of God, a Green Day game. The apocalypse is nigh.

  2. ShinynewJB Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 12:42

    Nice review.

    It's a shame that combined there are less songs from Insomniac, Nimrod and Warning than there are from 21st Century Breakdown (urrrrrgh) so that's a deal breaker for me really.

    Also, if they were truely PUNX they'd have added a 924 Gilman Street venue where you could play songs from 1039 Smoothed Out Slappy Hours and Kerplunk. I could have understood that if those albums still belonged to Lookout Records, but I'm pretty sure they reclaimed ownership.

    Seriously... Who doesn't want to shread to the epic guitar solo in Dry Ice from 1039?! Even if I can play it on an actual guitar, it would have been fun all the same.

  3. Pokemario Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 12:42

    80% is a respectable score, I might get it. Is it out this Friday?

  4. sask Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 13:04

    no.
    no castaway, no sale.

    go away rock band.

  5. tomonm Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 13:15

    80% is a respectable score, I might get it. Is it out this Friday?

    Yes. Personally I would have liked 2000 Light Years Away to appear in the game.

  6. Nbz Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 13:36

    80% is a respectable score, I might get it. Is it out this Friday?

    Yes. Personally I would have liked 2000 Light Years Away to appear in the game.

    Yeh i would have loved some classic stuff on there too, but hey, its still Green Day and i'm gonna get it regardless of story mode or anything like that. TBH who really cares about story modes in rock band/guitar hero anyway, its really all about the gameplay.

  7. Wrathy Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 13:44

    Good review here. Was gonna get it regardless, though. :P

    If you're wondering about the very early stuff, it's down to the way it was recorded. This is taken from an interview with drummer Tre Cool.

    "We wanted to get stuff from 39/Smooth and Kerplunk! on there, too, but the tapes are really old. I don't know if you know about analog tapes, but to transfer them you need to play them. They are kind of stuck together right now. You have to 'bake'ť them, and then you have one chance to run it over the machine to transfer it to make stems. Once it hits the head, it comes off the other side shredded. We're making sure we have the right dudes to do it. We're actually booking it; there's one place in Burbank that still does it. We're going to bite the bullet and shred our old tapes and put it to digital."

    (Source- Gameinformer)

  8. Hellb3nt12347 Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 13:51

    :9 i wish prosthetic Head was in the game, would make my gaming life complete, still quite awesome though

  9. ShinynewJB Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 14:39

    Yes. Personally I would have liked 2000 Light Years Away to appear in the game.

    That would have been ace. I always liked Anroid and No One Knows (even if the latter is maybe a bit too much of a downer for a party game) off Kerplunk too. It's a really good album in general.

    If you're wondering about the very early stuff, it's down to the way it was recorded. This is taken from an interview with drummer Tre Cool.

    That sounds plausable, but didn't they remaster both records around 2005ish?! Surely they'd have digitised it then?!

    Either way, call me elitist, but I'd rather have stuff off their first two albums than their two most recent. Playing Whatshername will be interesting though, as my band used to cover that song live!

  10. SSBBmegamaster Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 15:45

    It's such a shame that there are only 3 venues. What about fictional areas from the songs, like suburbia or the bouvelard of broken dreams? For the opera pieces like homecoming and jesus of suburbia they should have a video playing in the background basically following the song. And the fact that 6 of their best songs you have to pay for on the top of the 35 pounds I already payed on the preorder, adding up to something like 8 pounds. RIP.

    Still, I can't wait and I have no idea which game i'll play first when it arrives with SMG2 on 11 june! :?

  11. Wrathy Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 15:53

    If you're wondering about the very early stuff, it's down to the way it was recorded. This is taken from an interview with drummer Tre Cool.

    That sounds plausable, but didn't they remaster both records around 2005ish?! Surely they'd have digitised it then?!

    You'd think so, but a remaster in this vein doesn't necessarily mean they converted the sources. They might have just fiddled with the other levels of it to get a new master out... or something along those lines. I'm not too up on the technicality behind it. :lol:

    But anyway, the reason is the tracks are still in analogue. Though as Tre said, they're converting them so they might be included in future games or as DLC or whatever. (:

  12. popcorn man Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 16:32

    Shame about theyre first album not being in it, 1039 Smoothed out slappy hours was an awesome album, they have remastered it in the past few years so thers no excuse.
    I'd love to see Songs from Network and The Foxboro Hottubs as they bassicly are Green day under different names, I prefer their stuff as Network and The FBHT's to Green day normally so I don't think I'll but this game. Also more of Nimrod and Warning please!!!!

  13. NintendoSocial Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 17:59

    Nice review.

    It's good to hear what the games really like, and not what it's hyped up to be by the creators, etc.

    :)

  14. Hellb3nt12347 Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 19:05

    i'm not fussed with this, as an early b-day present ima going to see green day live at wembley!!!! so omg excited, just 11 days to go XD XD XD

  15. Prince_Ashitaka Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 19:28

    Wow, it's Rock Band, but Green Day! Who could've guessed what this game would be like?

  16. superewan Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 19:32

    beatles XD
    brill band :)

    green day?
    meh...

  17. minirocker Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 19:35

    i'm not fussed with this, as an early b-day present ima going to see green day live at wembley!!!! so omg excited, just 11 days to go XD XD XD

    my mates are goin to that show! i saw them last year (in november i think) its an epic show.

    anyway, this looks pretty awesome, i'll get it when the price goes down.

  18. jster99 Tuesday 8th Jun 2010 at 20:51

    i'm not fussed with this, as an early b-day present ima going to see green day live at wembley!!!! so omg excited, just 11 days to go XD XD XD

    u r so lucky

  19. Jophis Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 01:17

    Still, die-hard fans of Green Day...

    *choke*

  20. FliByFow Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 06:11

    beatles XD
    brill band :)

    green day?
    meh...

    its all a matter of opinion, personally i dont like the beatles, totally down for this though.

    some great green day songs in the line-up, most rockband games only have 1 or 2 songs i like in it, been a fan of green day for ages~

  21. PokeOcarina Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 07:28

    The reason for there not being any 1,039 or Kerpunk was explained by the drummer of Green Day, Tre Cool (one of the few people who smoke Lettuce and snort Donut Sprinkles)said the master tapes were too old and would have been a nightmare to sort out. I loved those songs, but it was not to be.

    I'm just happy that they have my favourites like Longview, Welcome to Paradise, Geek Stink Breath, Hitchin' a Ride, Nice Guys Finish Last, Minority, Holiday and 21 Guns.

    They should have also had Waiting in the game. Nimrod and Insomniac were awesome albums and they only had 3 songs for each. More from their other albums, please!!

    Good news is that the songs not on it can be Rock Band DLC.

  22. Axl-Dark Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:52

    Cool, I'm a fan of Green Day so I might get this.

    Also, a little off-topic here, but..

    This is an edited version of a review that appears in the July issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which goes on sale on Wednesday 15 June.

    Don't you mean Wednesday 16 June?

  23. koopa94 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:44

    odd decision by rockband, make a game of the best band in the world, then do a game with the worst, hmm, oh well lets hope for a good one next tim like Queen, Pink Floyd or the who.
    Btw my rockband guitar ran out of music so even if i wanted to play this 'music' game I couldn't anyway

  24. Googoo12444 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:57

    Dilema! I dont know which Music game to get :/. Guitar Hero 3, GH 5, Rockband, Rockband 2 or AC/DC live. Tbh im not that big of a fan of Greenday. AC/DC live, Rockband 2 or GH3... best songs to me really.

  25. pokepal Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 15:26

    im only 10and i loved 21st century breakdown especialy static age and little girlhope my parents allow me 2 get tha game but they probebly wont :x :x :(

  26. frostykins Sunday 13th Jun 2010 at 13:28

    yeah i got this yesterday and ive played all the songs, but theres still all the challenges and unlockables to get. A great game for any green day fan

  27. smitty618 Saturday 19th Jun 2010 at 10:11

    It doesn't have waiting, my favourite green day song and also a song which would be awesome to play, so I'm not interested. New green day is terrible anyway.

  28. TMCOFFEY Thursday 22nd Jul 2010 at 17:05

    odd decision by rockband, make a game of the best band in the world, then do a game with the worst, hmm, oh well lets hope for a good one next tim like Queen, Pink Floyd or the who.
    Btw my rockband guitar ran out of music so even if i wanted to play this 'music' game I couldn't anyway

    The Beatles haven't been the best band in the world for 40 years and queen are over rated

  29. Toastie boy Tuesday 10th Aug 2010 at 11:19

    beatles XD
    brill band :)

    green day?
    meh...

    GREEN ARE WAY BETTER THAN BEATLES :lol:

  30. Toastie boy Tuesday 10th Aug 2010 at 11:21

    yeah i got this yesterday and ive played all the songs, but theres still all the challenges and unlockables to get. A great game for any green day fan

    IM A GREEN DAY FAN SO I MIGHT AS WELL GET IT :wink: :wink:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.