Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Super Mario Galaxy 2 review

Can Nintendo top perfection?

When you release a game that's the best on the Wii, a game that's had countless near-perfect scores from the world's reviewers, how could you improve on that? This was the challenge faced by Shigeru Miyamoto and his team and it's one they've managed to overcome with Super Mario Galaxy 2.

If you were wondering how the game was going to follow on from the original's bizarre ending, the simple answer is that it doesn't. Galaxy 2 takes place in a Star Trek-style alternate universe, one in which Mario and the Lumas have never crossed paths before. The original game's intro was beautifully presented and this one is arguably better, as you play through side-scrolling levels drawn into a storybook. As you progress, the pages turn while the story appears at the bottom of the screen. It's lovely stuff. Naturally, the plot involves Bowser kidnapping Peach.

Click to view larger image

What's All The Hub-ub

Early on you're greeted with Starship Mario, an old planet that has been taken over by an industrious Luma called Lubba and converted into a spaceship. The ship needs Power Stars for fuel but Bowser nicked those along with Peach, so Mario agrees to help Lubba retrieve the Power Stars from the various galaxies in return for the use of his spaceship. Lubba then gives the planet a quick makeover so it looks like Mario (leading to the classic line "nice spaceship, huh? More like a FACEship!").

Starship Mario is not a true hub like Peach's Castle, Delfino Plaza and the Comet Observatory from previous 3D Mario games because you can't directly access levels from it. Instead, you simply use it to wander around, mess about and generally take a break. There's not really much to do except for talk to the various people you've already encountered on your travels. Moving to the ship's wheel calls up a map screen similar to that in New Super Mario Bros, where you choose which level to move to next. It's a much clearer way of showing which galaxies still need to be completed and doesn't get confusing like the Comet Observatory did towards the end of the original.

Galaxy 2 really shines when you leave the Starship. The game feels a lot brighter than the original, since there are far fewer levels with a simple, black, star-filled sky. There are loads more stages that take place in sunny locations, snowy settings, forests and in the sky, and it adds a lot of variety.

Every single one of the game's 40-plus galaxies offer a completely new gameplay mechanic, and most of them offer even more than that as each galaxy's individual star missions are unique levels. Take the brilliant Tall Trunk Galaxy, for example. The first star is a Yoshi level where you use the Bulb Berry to get Mario and his mate to the top of a giant tree. The second, however, is a huge slide down one of the tree's branches, inspired by the Princess' Secret Slide level from Super Mario 64 (complete with the same music). It may fall under one galaxy, but the two levels couldn't be more different.

Click to view larger image
Speaking of the music, some of the better themes from the first Super Mario Galaxy are back (with new arrangements for the most part), alongside a huge collection of brand new music. These include new orchestral versions of old Mario songs and some fantastic all-new themes. The music in the Fluffy Bluff Galaxy in World 1 will work your way into your brain in the same way Gusty Garden Galaxy's music did in the first game.

Mixing It Up

The three big gameplay additions are, of course, Yoshi, Rock Mario and Cloud Mario. Yoshi is once again limited to a certain number of set levels but he appears an awful lot more than he did in the New Super Mario Bros Wii, getting a slice of the action at least a few times in each World. He's armed with his own set of timed power-ups, each of which help to make his levels feel unique. Controlling him is an absolute joy.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

147 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. kirby711 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:22

    There's no doubt that I will buy this game.

  2. wilfer 11 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:24

    lolonm

  3. BigFatTotoro Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:26

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

  4. Aladdin Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:37

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    They always put the review on the website a few days before the game comes out. I mean, what's the point of putting the review up a few days after the game is in the shops?

  5. SilverLightning Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:39

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.

  6. Flame Sky Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:42

    Onm if you dont start putting reviews up when you first review them and i want the full reviews not these cheap edits i will stop buying the magazine

  7. Phoenix Wright Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:45

    Onm if you dont start putting reviews up when you first review them and i want the full reviews not these cheap edits i will stop buying the magazine

    ...Can't you simply stop reading the edits if you don't want to know before reading the magazine?

    Unless you're OCD, you really have no excuse on simply avoiding it when you see it come up, it's not that hard to do.

  8. snes2 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:46

    lolonm

  9. KoreeluStromboli Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:47

    Hopefully I'll get this game tomorrow; I've preodered it from GAME by the way. I'm going to have such a good time with Super Mario Galaxy 2, I just know it. :D

  10. SilverLightning Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:47

    Onm if you dont start putting reviews up when you first review them and i want the full reviews not these cheap edits i will stop buying the magazine

    ...Can't you simply stop reading the edits if you don't want to know before reading the magazine?

    Unless you're OCD, you really have no excuse on simply avoiding it when you see it come up, it's not that hard to do.

    You didn't read. He said he wants the reviews up here (and the full ones at that) when the mag comes out.

  11. Yinga Garten Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 15:59

    Onm if you dont start putting reviews up when you first review them and i want the full reviews not these cheap edits i will stop buying the magazine

    But what's the point of that? Think about it, if ONM posted all of their reviews from the latest issue onto the website then there's no point in buying the magazine for the customer. This then leads to financial problems for Future Publishing if the latest issue of ONM isn't being bought at all due to the latest issue's content being put on the website. But talking about that Future will rely on the dozens of other magazines that they publish to rake in the money anyway.

  12. Adam_Lloyd Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:02

    Buying this on Friday as soon as I can get to the game store :D

    Surprisingly, metacritic thinks you JUST underscored it. Then again, I wouldn't want you to have given it 100 or something (too many angry fanboys. Look at the IGN review comments. Ugh.)

    And I don't get all the ONM magazine hate. It's a fun read, a good buy at £4, and I think they have a right to do whatever the hell they want with their material - if they want to edit it so cheapskates don't get everything, why shouldn't they? This stuff is FREE here, so don't be moaning about it :P

    Also, the idea is the review is put on before the game release so it's actually useful, but after the magazine release so that people who paid for the privilege of reading it don't feel they have been swindled. Surely that's the best way of doing things?

  13. mainreed Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:05

    You lot are very argumentative people, back on topic! Anyways, I knew you'd give it 97%, you don't have the courage to give it a higher or even lower score than Galaxy. You say it's bettre than the first but give it the same score, clearly you need to rethink some things. Overall, a good, fair review though.

  14. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:09

    lolonm


    Thanks for the insightful, constructive feedback. We'll try to take that on board and be sure to incorporate your ideas in future articles.

  15. Ai64 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:18

    I shall buy this game on friday! No excuses! It shall be the best mario game yet and I know I'm going to have a great time with it. I can just feel it!

  16. Adam_Lloyd Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:29

    lolonm


    Thanks for the insightful, constructive feedback. We'll try to take that on board and be sure to incorporate your ideas in future articles.

    I can almost TASTE the sarcasm :D

  17. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:31

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

  18. SilverLightning Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:37

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

    If I'm an arse for expressing my opinion, then I'm an arse :roll:

  19. TechnoWolf Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:40

    Chris is this game at least 3 times harder than the original? I found the first one too easy :(

  20. Colgax Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:41

    lolonm


    Thanks for the insightful, constructive feedback. We'll try to take that on board and be sure to incorporate your ideas in future articles.

    ...

    lolonm

    just kidding ;p

    About the review, I expected for a 98%, since, as you said, its better than the first, so I expected for something higher than 97%. But its very good too!

  21. SilverLightning Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:48

    Chris is this game at least 3 times harder than the original? I found the first one too easy :(

    If it was 3 times as hard as the original it'd be Ikaruga standard difficulty. SMG was easy, but it wasn't that easy. Jeez.

  22. Ahiru77 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 16:58

    What ?!!!!! You gave him a 97?!!!!.....How can ign & gamespot give this a 100 and onm just a freakin 97....you dudes need to be punished.....100 days of solitary confinement with nothin but a telly and an Xbox. That'll learn you guys to underappreciate Mario like that. >D

  23. PixelF Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 17:00

    > Better than Super Mario Galaxy

    > Same Score

    D_D

  24. miike1706 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 17:23

    lolonm


    Thanks for the insightful, constructive feedback. We'll try to take that on board and be sure to incorporate your ideas in future articles.

    I can almost TASTE the sarcasm :D

    I dunno if all comments need to be "insightful". At least they weren't being purposefully derogatory, like other comments.

  25. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 17:23

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

    If I'm an arse for expressing my opinion, then I'm an arse :roll:


    I have no problem with people expressing their opinion.
    However, you're discarding the review totally despite a) not having read the whole thing and b) the fact that it says very similar things to every other review for the game out there.
    I'm sure Chris put a lot of time and effort into the review and you're making out it's irrelevant without giving a single good reason.
    Again, with you're other comment about the mag being not worth buying, you're stamping on their hard work, without any constructive criticism or reasoning. To make it worse, you clearly haven't even read the mag. Therefore you can't have an opinion on it.
    So, yes, when I read you're 'opinion' you came across as an arse.

  26. miike1706 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 17:25

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

    If I'm an arse for expressing my opinion, then I'm an arse :roll:

    Erm, you've confused me; do you like the game or not? It seemed to me that you both were saying that you couldn't wait for the game AND that it wasn;t worth buying. I feel I've missed somehting here :/

  27. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 17:31

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.

  28. mattex66 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 17:52

    Great review. Pre-ordered it, can't wait! You have the only sensible review, I mean, 100%! WTF @IGN, EDGE! It's like OoT, over scored. But you guys sure put it to the right score. But lower then the SMG1 review (98%), hmmm. I have to play to think it through.

  29. dajoca83 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:00

    Got my copy yesterday morning... It. Is. Amazing. Love everything about it! Gonna be taking over my summer I reckon!!

  30. Andy88 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:01

    Donkey Kong Country 3 remains undefeated!! :D

  31. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:02

    Great review. Pre-ordered it, can't wait! You have the only sensible review, I mean, 100%! WTF @IGN, EDGE! It's like OoT, over scored. But you guys sure put it to the right score. But lower then the SMG1 review (98%), hmmm. I have to play to think it through.

    Ign and Edge gave it 10, not 100%. It may not seem like it but there is a difference...just.
    Also, I'm almost certain that the original Galaxy got 97% as well, not 98%.

  32. urmother Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:09

    Woop

  33. Giga Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:14

    Great review. Pre-ordered it, can't wait! You have the only sensible review, I mean, 100%! WTF @IGN, EDGE! It's like OoT, over scored. But you guys sure put it to the right score. But lower then the SMG1 review (98%), hmmm. I have to play to think it through.

    Ign and Edge gave it 10, not 100%. It may not seem like it but there is a difference...just.
    Also, I'm almost certain that the original Galaxy got 97% as well, not 98%.


    IGN did give it a hundered because they score in a 100 point system.
    For example
    5.2 is the same as 52%
    9.7 is the same as 97%
    10 is the same as 100%.

  34. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:17

    Fair enough, but my point still stands with Edge. ;)

  35. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:17

    Without a percentage symbol it isn't 100% you berk.

    100% implies utter perfection, while a 10 implies brilliance.

  36. cpc1 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:19

    Are you lot really saying that a game scored 98% is definitively better than one score 97%?

    Edit: Steve is right in this case, the scoring system matters. Metacritic is misleading in saying that 5/5 = 10/10 = 100%.

  37. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:21

    Steve is right in this case


    What are you implying? :cry:

  38. Hellb3nt12347 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:24

    nicely reviewed, picked out the parts that needed explaining, makes me actually want the game :) nice review guys

  39. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:25

    Oh, it's all too confusing for me. Someone should just make a law that means that every magazine, website etc. has to use a set scoring system. :lol:

  40. cpc1 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:36

    Steve is right in this case


    What are you implying? :cry:


    I'm calling you stupid, stupid.

  41. SilverLightning Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:42

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

    If I'm an arse for expressing my opinion, then I'm an arse :roll:


    I have no problem with people expressing their opinion.
    However, you're discarding the review totally despite a) not having read the whole thing and b) the fact that it says very similar things to every other review for the game out there.
    I'm sure Chris put a lot of time and effort into the review and you're making out it's irrelevant without giving a single good reason.
    Again, with you're other comment about the mag being not worth buying, you're stamping on their hard work, without any constructive criticism or reasoning. To make it worse, you clearly haven't even read the mag. Therefore you can't have an opinion on it.
    So, yes, when I read you're 'opinion' you came across as an arse.

    I am not discarding the review totally, and I've said that I want the game based on other reviews. I'm just saying, that I expected it to get a score at least in the 90s from ONM (regardless of what it got elsewhere) judging by the countless amount of 90+ scores other first party games have received.

    As for the magazine, I didn't give reasons because it was a short reply to a short comment. Here's my reasoning. ONM was alright (still nothing compared to NOM), when Chandra and Lee were in charge. Since then, it's gone downhill. It is poorly written, the reviews are biased, the mag is written (with the exception of Chris) by a bunch of fanboys (and console fanboyism of any kind is something I detest).

  42. TheConch Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:45

    As already pointed out, 10.0 on a scale of 0.0-10.0 in 0.1 increments is clearly exactly equivilant to a 0%-100% scale (looking at you, SteveMega).

    ON TOPIC, 97% for a slightly better game of less impact is definitely fine. Good review. Really really looking forward to this; might try do it old school NES style: in a single sitting o_O.

  43. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:51

    Thank you. As I said before, I've got nothing wrong with you having an opinion - everyone is entitled to one. However, the one thing I don't like is when people criticise without giving a reason. Now that you've given one, I respect (yet partially disagree with) your opinion and apologize for calling you an arse.

  44. Andy88 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 18:56

    Without a percentage symbol it isn't 100% you berk.

    100% implies utter perfection, while a 10 implies brilliance.

    10/10 = 100%

    lrn 2 maths

  45. superwii Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:17

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

    If I'm an arse for expressing my opinion, then I'm an arse :roll:


    I have no problem with people expressing their opinion.
    However, you're discarding the review totally despite a) not having read the whole thing and b) the fact that it says very similar things to every other review for the game out there.
    I'm sure Chris put a lot of time and effort into the review and you're making out it's irrelevant without giving a single good reason.
    Again, with you're other comment about the mag being not worth buying, you're stamping on their hard work, without any constructive criticism or reasoning. To make it worse, you clearly haven't even read the mag. Therefore you can't have an opinion on it.
    So, yes, when I read you're 'opinion' you came across as an arse.

    I am not discarding the review totally, and I've said that I want the game based on other reviews. I'm just saying, that I expected it to get a score at least in the 90s from ONM (regardless of what it got elsewhere) judging by the countless amount of 90+ scores other first party games have received.

    As for the magazine, I didn't give reasons because it was a short reply to a short comment. Here's my reasoning. ONM was alright (still nothing compared to NOM), when Chandra and Lee were in charge. Since then, it's gone downhill. It is poorly written, the reviews are biased, the mag is written (with the exception of Chris) by a bunch of fanboys (and console fanboyism of any kind is something I detest).

    Knowledge speaks. I completely agree.

  46. Yoshie Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:17

    9.5 and anything above can be rounded up to ten.

    lrn2maths.

  47. tomutwit Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:17

    Guys, posting reviews on here b4 the next mag's even out is screaming to me: BUY NGAMER INSTEAD COS U CAN READ ONMs REVIEWS ON THEIR WEBSITE so BE CAREFUL

  48. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:17

    POST DOUBLE!

  49. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:18

    Without a percentage symbol it isn't 100% you berk.

    100% implies utter perfection, while a 10 implies brilliance.

    10/10 = 100%

    lrn 2 maths


    Ohhh you're just the worst kind of person.

    It's nothing to do with maths. It's to do with what the scores represent or imply.

    f**k it, done with this thread/forum until another hilariously bad article goes up to enjoy.

  50. ale96gamer Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:18

    to silverlightning, giving smg2 lower % than everyone else is very biased :roll:
    Personally i prefer onm to nom (only read a couple of noms tho) but i respect your opinion.

    Back to point i thought it was a good review and a fair score, hopefully the game will arrive in the next couple of days as its preordered from game

  51. ale96gamer Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:21

    Guys, posting reviews on here b4 the next mag's even out is screaming to me: BUY NGAMER INSTEAD COS U CAN READ ONMs REVIEWS ON THEIR WEBSITE so BE CAREFUL

    um.... the mag has been out (for subscribers) a month and the next one will arrive in the next couple of days so.......

  52. ale96gamer Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:22

    Guys, posting reviews on here b4 the next mag's even out is screaming to me: BUY NGAMER INSTEAD COS U CAN READ ONMs REVIEWS ON THEIR WEBSITE so BE CAREFUL

    um.... the mag has been out (for subscribers) a month and the next one will arrive in the next couple of days so.......

  53. tomutwit Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:22

    Guys, posting reviews on here b4 the next mag's even out is screaming to me: BUY NGAMER INSTEAD COS U CAN READ ONMs REVIEWS ON THEIR WEBSITE so BE CAREFUL

  54. ale96gamer Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:23

    Guys, posting reviews on here b4 the next mag's even out is screaming to me: BUY NGAMER INSTEAD COS U CAN READ ONMs REVIEWS ON THEIR WEBSITE so BE CAREFUL

    um.... the mag has been out (for subscribers) a month and the next one will arrive in the next couple of days so.......

  55. ale96gamer Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 19:24

    Guys, posting reviews on here b4 the next mag's even out is screaming to me: BUY NGAMER INSTEAD COS U CAN READ ONMs REVIEWS ON THEIR WEBSITE so BE CAREFUL

    um... the mag has been out for a month.....

  56. Mart2006 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 20:38

    Is Super Mario Galaxy 2 even better than its predecessor, though? Technically, yes. The levels have been designed better, the game's structure is more solid and less confusing, and the addition of a few new abilities and loads of new characters means more variety.

    If you're saying this is the new best game on the Wii, and even said that it IS better than it's predecessor, how come it still got the same score?
    It's the same with Zelda: Twilight Princess. Why is it in 6th place in your RatedWii section, behind games like Mario Kart Wii and Super Smash Bros. Brawl when TLoZ:TP got 97% and the others ahead of it got 94% and 95%? Contradiction much?

    Also, in your Mario Kart feature, you were saying that Mario Kart Wii could well be the best Mario Kart in your opinion. Then how come you gave 1% less than Mario Kart DS?

    Rant over :roll:

  57. BLuFAlc0n Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 20:49

    ...97%... you're joking right?????
    It should be more than that, coz it's clearly THE BEST Wii game out! Like IGN and Gamespot gave it a 10/10!!

    It should be 98%, coz it's definitely better than the Original and Twilight Princess!

  58. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 20:53

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

  59. Petesa Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:04

    9.5 and anything above can be rounded up to ten.

    lrn2maths.

    If they (IGN) thought the game was worth 9.5/10 they would have given it 9.5/10 - there's no rounding issues with IGN since they score the same way as ONM, just different :P

  60. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:04

    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.


    Shockingly, I'm ok with that.

  61. Inofa Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:04

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

    Honestly, I doubt he gives two of the aforementioned swear words about that rule.

    Also, you're bad at your job in my aforementioned swear-ing opinion.

  62. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:12

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

    Honestly, I doubt he gives two of the aforementioned swear words about that rule.

    Also, you're bad at your job in my aforementioned swear-ing opinion.


    Was that post neccesary at all? :roll: Oh yeah...you're clearly an attention seeker looking for a reaction.
    Of course he should care. They're the rules.

    And Chris is quite clearly one of the best young games journalists out there.

  63. Andy88 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:12

    Without a percentage symbol it isn't 100% you berk.

    100% implies utter perfection, while a 10 implies brilliance.

    10/10 = 100%

    lrn 2 maths


    Ohhh you're just the worst kind of person.

    It's nothing to do with maths. It's to do with what the scores represent or imply.

    f**k it, done with this thread/forum until another hilariously bad article goes up to enjoy.

    Actually no, you are. Namely; the sort of person that nitpicks over video game review scores for the sake of a few percent here and there. It doesn't matter!
    Mario Galaxy 2 doesn't even need a score - it's blatantly obvious that it's going to be a good game, so who cares exactly what score it gets down to the nearest fraction of a percentage?

    ...97%... you're joking right?????
    It should be more than that, coz it's clearly THE BEST Wii game out! Like IGN and Gamespot gave it a 10/10!!

    It should be 98%, coz it's definitely better than the Original and Twilight Princess!

    If I was ONM I would change to a ratings out of ten system, just to stop people nitpicking like this. I mean really, you're complaining about 1 percent!? Time to re-evaluate where your life is heading I think

  64. Gothicslayer Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:16

    Is Super Mario Galaxy 2 even better than its predecessor, though? Technically, yes. The levels have been designed better, the game's structure is more solid and less confusing, and the addition of a few new abilities and loads of new characters means more variety.

    If you're saying this is the new best game on the Wii, and even said that it IS better than it's predecessor, how come it still got the same score?
    It's the same with Zelda: Twilight Princess. Why is it in 6th place in your RatedWii section, behind games like Mario Kart Wii and Super Smash Bros. Brawl when TLoZ:TP got 97% and the others ahead of it got 94% and 95%? Contradiction much?

    Also, in your Mario Kart feature, you were saying that Mario Kart Wii could well be the best Mario Kart in your opinion. Then how come you gave 1% less than Mario Kart DS?

    Rant over :roll:

    This ^^^^

    That's the problem when scores are given people will natuarally compare and go by the number and not by what has been written. This is why I don't like scores especially percentages because you end up with people debating over what they precentage is worth e.t.c and due to galaxy 1 getting more then 2 by a simple logic it looks at a glance like the magazine is saying 1 is better then 2. But sayin that this thread is getting less and less about one review and becoming more of a disscusion on the magazine which kinda defeats the object of thos thread.

  65. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:17

    Actually no, you are. Namely; the sort of person that nitpicks over video game review scores for the sake of a few percent here and there. It doesn't matter!


    Excuse me?

    I honestly don't care what anyone gives it, I just hate that people consider 10/10 to be the equivalent of a 100% in review terms.

    Honestly review scores should be scrapped altogether, but that's another issue.

  66. Inofa Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:17

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

    Honestly, I doubt he gives two of the aforementioned swear words about that rule.

    Also, you're bad at your job in my aforementioned swear-ing opinion.


    Was that post neccesary at all? :roll: Oh yeah...you're clearly an attention seeker looking for a reaction.

    Oh, okay. Then you're a dick who tries to pretend someone is attention seeking, but ends up getting it completely wrong.

    I'm entitled to my opinion and that opinion happens to be that Chris is s**t at his job.

    Edit:

    And Chris is quite clearly one of the best young games journalists out there.

    LOL, LOL, OH MY GOD, LOL.

    Jesus Christ, that was funny.

  67. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:27

    At the end of the day, I gave the original game 97% two and a half years ago, back in October 2007.

    Yes, Galaxy 2 is a better game. But in many ways it's also less effective. There was slightly more storyline in the first game with all the Rosalina stuff (the story in the library was really touching), and that's all gone this time.

    Similarly, some of the game (maybe around 5 or 10% worth) is recycled content from the original game. Some bosses return, for example, and the methods used to defeat them are similar to before.

    My point is it's still an incredible game, and the best game on the Wii, but its such a similar setting to the original game that it doesn't quite have the same emotional impact. I was left genuinely speechless at times when I was playing through the first Galaxy, and I never felt that this time because it felt more like brand new levels in a familiar setting.

    I hope that clears things up a bit more. Inevitably one of the follow-up replies will be "well why didn't you say that in the review then" and the answer is because we were already getting enough stick for making the review ten pages long, without making it even bigger :D

    Simple conclusion: it doesn't matter if it's 97%, 98% or 105%. You really need to get this game if you have a Wii.

    Oh, and:

    I'm just saying, that I expected it to get a score at least in the 90s from ONM (regardless of what it got elsewhere) judging by the countless amount of 90+ scores other first party games have received.


    I have to object to this. I don't think it's fair to suggest that my opinion is worth slightly less due to the name of the publication I work for. Yes, we've given some first-party Wii games 90%+, but that's because they're good games. Nintendo is at the top for a reason. It's worth noting that we also give plenty of first-party games scores that are lower (sometimes significantly so) than 90%.

  68. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:29

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

    Honestly, I doubt he gives two of the aforementioned swear words about that rule.

    Also, you're bad at your job in my aforementioned swear-ing opinion.


    And you're bad at following forum rules in mine, so let's agree to disagree. :wink:

  69. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:34

    The only problem I have with that is that you're saying that the lack of story is a detriment to the game as a whole, but nearly every other source I've seen says that the game's so much better for it, without an unnecessary plot bogging the game down it feels more focussed.

    Personally I agree based on my experience with the first Galaxy, in which Rosalina's story was just an out of place little distraction that really didn't need to be there at all. The saving grace was that it was optional.

    The only way that I could understand or agree with your point is if you're saying that the setting, and the concept of planetoids or gravity, no longer has the 'wow' factor that the first game had. But even then it seems that those features are far smaller a part of Galaxy 2 than in the previous games. So I don't quite understand what you're getting at. If you're referring completely to the story, then I'd simply have to disagree.

  70. Inofa Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:36

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

    Honestly, I doubt he gives two of the aforementioned swear words about that rule.

    Also, you're bad at your job in my aforementioned swear-ing opinion.


    And you're bad at following forum rules in mine, so let's agree to disagree. :wink:

    Avoiding the truth, EH SCULLION?

  71. SqueakyTheBone Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:37

    Man, whats with all the hate going on in here? Seriously, y'all need some chill pills!

    Anyways, great review Chris. Pretty much told me everything I wanted to know, and was an entertaining read as well. Thanks very much!

  72. Andy88 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:50

    Actually no, you are. Namely; the sort of person that nitpicks over video game review scores for the sake of a few percent here and there. It doesn't matter!


    Excuse me?

    I honestly don't care what anyone gives it, I just hate that people consider 10/10 to be the equivalent of a 100% in review terms.

    Honestly review scores should be scrapped altogether, but that's another issue.

    I wouldn't say altogether since they can be useful when wanting to tell at a glance how good a game is.
    However, I think the ratings in NOM should be simplified to marks out of 10 or even 5 like back in the old days of CVG, since with percentages we get the problem of people getting up in arms over the matter of 1 or 2 percent like has happened here.
    I don't know if it's just me, but I find it really irritating when a game like Galaxy 2 gets a great score only to be met with comments like BUT GALAXY 1 AND TWILIGHT PRINCESS GOT 97% AS WELL DOES THAT MEAN THIS IS NOT BETTER.
    Who cares!?:evil:
    97% means it's a great game. Stop nitpicking and just go and play it!


    Anyway, while I'm on a roll, I might as well turn my attentions to something else. This is going to look like I'm sucking up to ONM but I don't care. I can't believe certain users think it's cool or rebellious or whatever to come on here and make out that Chris is bad at his job.
    We can all clearly see that Chris is passionate about what he does. He owns every Nintendo game under the sun, his desk is covered in figurines, and he comes on these forums out of work hours when he could easily be at home instead not giving a damn.
    The fact that Chris can remain so restrained when people are coming on here and basically trying to get a reaction out of him by saying he's bad it his job is commendable

  73. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:50

    Yeah, I think that some of us (me included) need to calm down, get off people's backs, stop calling names and get back on topic. Namely, the review.
    Personally, I thought the review was great. However, it failed to get me as excited for Galaxy 2 as the review of the first game did. Not quite sure why.

  74. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:52

    Yeah, I think that some of us (me included) need to calm down, get off people's backs, stop calling names and get back on topic. Namely, the review.
    Personally, I thought the review was great. However, it failed to get me as excited for Galaxy 2 as the review of the first game did. Not quite sure why.


    The Edge, GameSpot and IGN reviews are much better and got me hyped ages ago.

  75. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:55

    Though, Chris, I have to say that you take criticism very well. If someone just said tgat I was s**t at my job, with no reasoning or explanation, I think that I'd flip out! (and I'm not usually an angry person) :lol:

  76. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:58

    Though, Chris, I have to say that you take criticism very well. If someone just said tgat I was s**t at my job, with no reasoning or explanation, I think that I'd flip out! (and I'm not usually an angry person) :lol:


    Believe me, I'd love to :D But it's important to stay professional. This is my workplace, after all :wink:

  77. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 21:59

    Yeah, I think that some of us (me included) need to calm down, get off people's backs, stop calling names and get back on topic. Namely, the review.
    Personally, I thought the review was great. However, it failed to get me as excited for Galaxy 2 as the review of the first game did. Not quite sure why.


    The Edge, GameSpot and IGN reviews are much better and got me hyped ages ago.


    Oh, that's not to say I'm not hyped for the game, because I really am. It's just that this review in particular didn't excite me as much as the original did.

  78. clarkie123 Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 22:04

    Though, Chris, I have to say that you take criticism very well. If someone just said tgat I was s**t at my job, with no reasoning or explanation, I think that I'd flip out! (and I'm not usually an angry person) :lol:


    Believe me, I'd love to :D But it's important to stay professional. This is my workplace, after all :wink:


    Yeah, fair play.

  79. Adam_Lloyd Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 22:39

    Yeah, I think that some of us (me included) need to calm down, get off people's backs, stop calling names and get back on topic. Namely, the review.
    Personally, I thought the review was great. However, it failed to get me as excited for Galaxy 2 as the review of the first game did. Not quite sure why.


    The Edge, GameSpot and IGN reviews are much better and got me hyped ages ago.

    Do you have to keep this going? You've quite honestly been a complete arse to Chris for no good reason, and he's offered to drop it. Have a little respect for other people, it gets you places.

  80. Seabean Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 22:41

    Yes, we've given some first-party Wii games 90%+, but that's because they're good games.

    WiiPlay.

  81. ChrisONM Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 22:43

    Yes, we've given some first-party Wii games 90%+, but that's because they're good games.

    WiiPlay.


    Well if the best example is a four-year old game that was reviewed by someone who no longer works for the mag, we must be doing well :D

  82. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 22:55

    Yeah, I think that some of us (me included) need to calm down, get off people's backs, stop calling names and get back on topic. Namely, the review.
    Personally, I thought the review was great. However, it failed to get me as excited for Galaxy 2 as the review of the first game did. Not quite sure why.


    The Edge, GameSpot and IGN reviews are much better and got me hyped ages ago.

    Do you have to keep this going? You've quite honestly been a complete arse to Chris for no good reason, and he's offered to drop it. Have a little respect for other people, it gets you places.


    That honestly wasn't intended as a bash at Chris actually. I just found those reviews in particular to be brilliant in hyping me for it.

  83. SoulSilver IV Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 22:58

    Nice review, I read it when I got the mag a few weeks back, and it made for a good read. I was a little surprised that it didn't get 98%, since everyone was raving about how much better it was compared to the original, but some of the points Chris raises (mainly the lesser impact of this sequel) are certainly valid, and if you take a step back, I'm sure there are many developers out there who would LOVE to develop a 97% game. Think of it this way - if Galaxy 2 sat a 100-mark exam, it would have only gotten 3 questions wrong. That little analogy really puts it into perspective for me.

    I think people just need to chill and cut it out with all the rage. It's really petty, and I'm amazed the people criticising Chris aren't getting warnings or something. Sure, there's nothing wrong with criticism as long as it is polite and constructive, but it's simply not on when someone just comes along and says he's **** without minding their language and backing up their point in some way or another. I'm personally more than happy paying my quarterly subscription fee to Future for ONM. I don't want to sound like I'm sucking up or anything, that's just my honest opinion.

    And Chris, you're still on at almost 11pm? I now expect hourly updates straight into my inbox, along with full reports on Sundays alongside all the weekly content. :wink:

  84. Giga Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 23:02

    Steve I know you have ranted about it but IGN's scores are out of 100 in all fairness so are gamespots.
    Every where else is out of 10, scores that are out of 10 possible outcomes are different yes I agree.

  85. SteveMega Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 23:04

    Still think the percentage sign makes a lot of difference.

  86. SoulSilver IV Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 23:15

    In my mind, when it comes to reviw scores 10/10 does not equal 100% (unless the former also incorporates decimal numbers). Using a percentage is much more precise, and in my opinion harder to reward as a result, that is to say that what makes the difference between a 96% and 97% game? On the other hand, both games could easily obtain the same 10/10 score on another site.

  87. Giga Wednesday 9th Jun 2010 at 23:27

    Still think the percentage sign makes a lot of difference.


    Well it is a mental thing, it is like pricing, the 1p doesn't make a difference when something is priced £1.99 but the idea is that having it like that makes the thing more appealing.

  88. chino40k Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 01:16

    It's late, but for what it's worth, here's my 2 cents worth on the scoring debate.

    Scoring methods across different sources vary in their context and can be slightly skewed as to what they mean. Some sources consider scores at 6/10 to be a decent sort of game, others will consider 7/10 or 5/10 to be the same.

    I don't believe in percentage scores, as how can a game score a percentage of anything? What is 100%? How is a game 90% of something? The difficulty is what the percentage represents and the differentiation between single percentage points, how is 91 different to 92 or 93?

    Scores out of ten are easier to follow and criteria to scoring can be better applied.

    IGN states their scores are marked out of 10 and other reviews out of 10 do not necessarily equate to a mark out of 100. If a publication scored a title 5/5, it does not mean that they would automatically score it 10/10 or 100/100 using different systems.

    Sites marking out of 10, tend to be specific in saying that a top mark ie a 10 does not mean perfect which is the psychological problem with reviews in percentages.

    Some sources, such as IGN break each mark out of 10 down into decimals such as the infamous 7.9 but this again does not necessarily mean that they are scoring out of 100. If something scores an 8.5 for instance, they are saying it's better than an 8, but it's not quite outstanding as to receive a 9 or better. They may or may not, have criteria as to how a game scores a decimal what a .1, .2, .5 etc is at each level.

    Like percentages it does raise questions as to what the difference is between 7.9 or an 8.0 although it can be argued it is easier to qualify as to what it is.

    Websites such as Metacritic muddy the water a little as they normalise review scores across many different scoring systems from several sources to calculate their own metascore. Metascore assumes that numbers in reviews all means the same and goes back to whether 5/5 means 10/10 and 100/100.

    A percentage in ONM is not the same as number scores elsewhere. You need to check the small print at each publication to understand what it is that the scores represent.

  89. codcam2 Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 07:02

    had a operation on my toe on tuesday, and i get to stay off school today, the day that game delivers SUPER MARIO GALAXY 2, because i pre-ordered it :D

  90. Hotblack Desiato Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 11:39

    had a operation on my toe on tuesday, and i get to stay off school today, the day that game delivers SUPER MARIO GALAXY 2, because i pre-ordered it :D

    I got it Tuesday.

  91. AceGamer Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 14:20

    Some sources, such as IGN break each mark out of 10 down into decimals such as the infamous 7.9 but this again does not necessarily mean that they are scoring out of 100. If something scores an 8.5 for instance, they are saying it's better than an 8, but it's not quite outstanding as to receive a 9 or better. They may or may not, have criteria as to how a game scores a decimal what a .1, .2, .5 etc is at each level.

    I don't understand this. If they score with a decimal, then it's virtually out of 100 because there are 100 possible scores. What makes that different to percentage scores?

    People equate a 10 from IGN to that of a 10 from review that scores only out of 10. The thing is when you score only out of 10, giving a game the maximum score is less exact and could mean anything from 95 to 100 if it were scored differently. This is why a 10 from IGN is the same as 100%.

  92. jednewton Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 15:52

    Preordered Mg2 about 70 days ago.
    It has been dispatched.
    If it doesnt arrive tommorrow, I will be frustrated.

  93. Onna76_NL Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 16:10

    Chris is this game at least 3 times harder than the original? I found the first one too easy :(

    If it was 3 times as hard as the original it'd be Ikaruga standard difficulty. SMG was easy, but it wasn't that easy. Jeez.

    Amen, a game should be "fun" not annoy and frustrate the hell out of people. After 60 stars in SMG I didn't find it "that" easy, especially not some purple coin levels which took me ages to complete *grrr*. I've got the game myself since today I only got 6 stars now and its quite easy thusfar, but so was Mario 64 in the beginning.

    And who in earth cares about scores? 97% is nearly perfect, what more can you expect! Its not like it got punished with 10 points and lower. Newsflash, not a single game is perfect, so reviewers giving games 100% really lack in credibility if you ask me.

  94. Onna76_NL Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 16:14

    Though, Chris, I have to say that you take criticism very well. If someone just said tgat I was s**t at my job, with no reasoning or explanation, I think that I'd flip out! (and I'm not usually an angry person) :lol:


    Believe me, I'd love to :D But it's important to stay professional. This is my workplace, after all :wink:

    Then we'll do it for you :D

  95. Onna76_NL Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 16:17

    Some sources, such as IGN break each mark out of 10 down into decimals such as the infamous 7.9 but this again does not necessarily mean that they are scoring out of 100. If something scores an 8.5 for instance, they are saying it's better than an 8, but it's not quite outstanding as to receive a 9 or better. They may or may not, have criteria as to how a game scores a decimal what a .1, .2, .5 etc is at each level.

    I don't understand this. If they score with a decimal, then it's virtually out of 100 because there are 100 possible scores. What makes that different to percentage scores?

    People equate a 10 from IGN to that of a 10 from review that scores only out of 10. The thing is when you score only out of 10, giving a game the maximum score is less exact and could mean anything from 95 to 100 if it were scored differently. This is why a 10 from IGN is the same as 100%.

    Exactly... 8.5 is 85%, 6.1 is 61% and 10 is 100%, its almost as easy as learning 1+1=2.

  96. ShadowofPain Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 16:40

    I bet loads of people just looked at the score and didn't bother even looking at the review. The review itself is fantastic though yes I must admit would it really have been so hard to give it 1%+ (I know it shouldn't really matter but c'mon :( )? So many more people would've been satisfied if that were the case and people woulda thought "Galaxy 2 is clearly better".

    That said though, it is good that ONM did not give it a perfect score. I honestly don't believe there is such thing as a perfect game and I doubt there ever will be. If there was a perfect game it would cater for all audiences (which would be impossible) and never ever get boring even after playing it for years.

  97. Flame Sky Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 17:56

    Onm if you dont start putting reviews up when you first review them and i want the full reviews not these cheap edits i will stop buying the magazine

    But what's the point of that? Think about it, if ONM posted all of their reviews from the latest issue onto the website then there's no point in buying the magazine for the customer. This then leads to financial problems for Future Publishing if the latest issue of ONM isn't being bought at all due to the latest issue's content being put on the website. But talking about that Future will rely on the dozens of other magazines that they publish to rake in the money anyway.

    I got the game today and its good but Edge was the first people to review it and it was on their website

  98. Locarii Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 18:38

    Funny, I was expecting 98%

    Then again, then you'd probably get a ton of complaints about being biased. :roll:

  99. crazyrockboy Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 20:39

    Am I the only one who finds it slightly confusing that people are bashing the magazine on it's own forum. If you don't like the magazine why did you end up on the forum in the first place?

  100. codcam2 Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 21:22

    just got onto world 3... you're to right... prettier than all FF pieces put together

  101. Icarus_Kid Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 21:30

    Yes, we've given some first-party Wii games 90%+, but that's because they're good games.

    WiiPlay.


    Well if the best example is a four-year old game that was reviewed by someone who no longer works for the mag, we must be doing well :D

    Wii Fit.

  102. SoulSilver IV Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 22:48

    I bet loads of people just looked at the score and didn't bother even looking at the review. The review itself is fantastic though yes I must admit would it really have been so hard to give it 1%+ (I know it shouldn't really matter but c'mon :( )? So many more people would've been satisfied if that were the case and people woulda thought "Galaxy 2 is clearly better".

    Nah, I read the full review, although I did check the score first.

    just got onto world 3... you're to right... prettier than all FF pieces put together

    And here I am, waiting for tomorrow to come so I can pick my copy up from GAME. >=[

  103. Yirba Thursday 10th Jun 2010 at 22:55

    Although the review (and the general critical reception) makes this out to be an excellent game, I'm still undecided on whether to get it.

    Although I love playing Mario games, I didn't enjoy Super Mario Galaxy as much as some people (mostly because I'm not into 3D Mario games). If this game is a sequel, I'd expect the experience to be similar, and in that case I'd rather get a different game.

    The game may be really good, but there are probably other games which I'd enjoy even more.

  104. bluelight Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 05:28

    Most posts here are just laughable. I mean, yeah, not everyone must like the mag or its reviews, but to begin to insult their work is just inmature. Also, it seems no one is happy with the reviews of SMG 2. In IGN they complain that Galaxy 2 has a perfect score, and here they complain it has less than 10. Will someone please just realize that the game is just great and a must buy? That should suffice.

    Well, until my financial problems are over I will run and get a copy of the game. I´m just replaying the original one to get prepared for this. I just can´t wait to have it.

  105. Onna76_NL Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 08:18

    Most posts here are just laughable. I mean, yeah, not everyone must like the mag or its reviews, but to begin to insult their work is just inmature. Also, it seems no one is happy with the reviews of SMG 2. In IGN they complain that Galaxy 2 has a perfect score, and here they complain it has less than 10. Will someone please just realize that the game is just great and a must buy? That should suffice.

    Couldn't agree more, well allow me.

    Hey you numskulls!! Stop whining, nagging, complaining whatever its called what you're doing to make this site and most of all the Nintendo community look bad and play some Mario Galaxy 2!

    Super Mario Galaxy 2 is a masterpiece whether it has a 97% or 100% score, and every single Wii owner without this game is an owner with an empty box. Its charm, graphics, gameplay, dozens of galaxies and amazing sound will make the least Mario fans out there say that this game is the best the Wii has to offer next to its little bro SMG1.

    Make yourself a proud Wii owner and get this game!

  106. slangman Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 12:19

    Cool review. Glad to see that they made this a bit harder than the original. The only thing that leaves me concerned now is the impact of this, but then again I like to think of this as more the same.

    This is also the only Wii game in ages to be of actual interest to me since Smash Bros Brawl. Can't wait for this to arrive from Ebay. :D

  107. Onna76_NL Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 16:45

    Does anyone know if Nintendo is planning on releasing a soundtrack of SMG2 for Club Nintendo?

  108. superewan Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 18:50

    all this violent hatred on the forum makes shigeru miyamoto cry.

    wheres the love guys?

  109. Switzerninmaster Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 19:35

    I read all of this forum......
    I lol'd ;)

  110. pearsonnick Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 19:46

    There are a few points I would like to make (some are quite old, but I want to express my opinion)
    1) Chris is good at his job, he has written more decent reviews than most people
    2) 10/10 is different to 100%, 10/10 could be lowest possible 9.5 (I did my maths g.c.s.e today). Also, no game is perfect, so I feel 10/10 is a very old scoring system
    3) I think the mag is worth £4 (although lets face it, sometimes the mag is a bit thin for £4 of my hard earned cash)
    4) I enjoyed the review as it gave me enough information to be excited about the game ad not ruin the great surprises which await in super Mario galaxy

    :D :D :D

  111. SteveMega Friday 11th Jun 2010 at 22:22

    1) Chris is good at his job, he has written more decent reviews than most people


    Well that's sort of a given, since I'm sure that the vast majority of the population has never penned a professional review.

  112. Munchlax OWNS Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 10:18

    97%? So... It's as good as Galaxy 1? ie all those improvements count for nothing? I appreciate it's hard to score these things, but... if i'm to take that literally, I may not even buy the game. If it's only as good as the original, that is.

  113. codcam2 Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 10:48

    just got onto world 3... you're to right... prettier than all FF pieces put together

    And here I am, waiting for tomorrow to come so I can pick my copy up from GAME. >=

    yeah, well, tables have turned, mate. got no batteries left, and i've only got 51 stars :'( on world 4 and not even played a single galaxy, yet

  114. clarkie123 Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 12:11

    97%? So... It's as good as Galaxy 1? ie all those improvements count for nothing? I appreciate it's hard to score these things, but... if i'm to take that literally, I may not even buy the game. If it's only as good as the original, that is.


    Quite clearly you've read the score and not the review. Go and read the review, please.

  115. kirby711 Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 15:06

    Does anyone know if Nintendo is planning on releasing a soundtrack of SMG2 for Club Nintendo?

    Hopefully they will, but I don't know. I got the first one, and I love it.

  116. Onna76_NL Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 16:54

    Does anyone know if Nintendo is planning on releasing a soundtrack of SMG2 for Club Nintendo?

    Hopefully they will, but I don't know. I got the first one, and I love it.

    Me too got the Platinum version, amazing music :)

  117. Heroofhyrule Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 17:59

    lolonm

    This. Galaxy didn't even come close to perfection. Judging by what I've seen and heard about this (excluding your review, which I don't really care about) this will outdo Mario 64, and for that I can't wait.

    You really should'nt put the review online before the games out y' know. People are just gonna wait until stuff comes up on the website, and not bother getting the mag....just sayin

    Good job too, 'cause it ain't worth buying.


    Wow. You're an arse aren't you?

    If I'm an arse for expressing my opinion, then I'm an arse :roll:


    Being your opinion isn't a valid excuse for saying something in-appropriate.

  118. Wii_With_Mii Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 21:30

    I got this game for five pounds. ^_^

  119. Gothicslayer Saturday 12th Jun 2010 at 21:47

    He's saying that the magazine isn't worth buying.

    Because it's s**t.


    You're entitled to your opinion but if you keep breaking our swearing rules you might have to have a wee suspension.

    Honestly, I doubt he gives two of the aforementioned swear words about that rule.

    Also, you're bad at your job in my aforementioned swear-ing opinion.


    And you're bad at following forum rules in mine, so let's agree to disagree. :wink:

    Says the guy who doesn't keep to rules by not double posting. Could of had all the quotes in one post even if you had to edit it. I'm not bashing. I'm just sayin ya kinda back fired onto yourself

  120. potatopac Sunday 13th Jun 2010 at 09:42

    97%? So... It's as good as Galaxy 1? ie all those improvements count for nothing? I appreciate it's hard to score these things, but... if i'm to take that literally, I may not even buy the game. If it's only as good as the original, that is.


    if they gave this game 98% it would be wrong because that means that the next mario 3D game would get 99% and then the next one,100% and NO game is perfect.
    galaxy 2 gets 97% for being a sequel to the best game on wii and manages to be just as good as galaxy 1
    if nintendo made the sequel to mario galaxy just like galaxy 1 but with a few extra worlds do you honestly think it would get 97% More like 47%.

  121. rickyleestaines Sunday 13th Jun 2010 at 13:19

    Great review! I'm loving the game so far -- it's retro, and yet at the same time completely genre-defining! :D

  122. E3rob Sunday 13th Jun 2010 at 17:27

    E3 on Tuesday will determine wheather I get SMG2... possibly on Wednesday...
    I was turned off the first game by people in my class who didn't like Nintendo. And that was way back when I wasn't in the know about video games and Nintendo and stuff. Hopefully now I'll be able to enjoy the game :D

  123. Hammer Bro. Sunday 13th Jun 2010 at 18:46

    E3 on Tuesday will determine wheather I get SMG2... possibly on Wednesday...
    I was turned off the first game by people in my class who didn't like Nintendo. And that was way back when I wasn't in the know about video games and Nintendo and stuff. Hopefully now I'll be able to enjoy the game :D

    You tend to get a lot of them.

    "Wii is crap! It's games are rubbish! I mean, I played Wii Sports for a whole five minutes! I think I know what I'm talking about" :P

  124. bluelight Monday 14th Jun 2010 at 05:42

    E3 on Tuesday will determine wheather I get SMG2... possibly on Wednesday...
    I was turned off the first game by people in my class who didn't like Nintendo. And that was way back when I wasn't in the know about video games and Nintendo and stuff. Hopefully now I'll be able to enjoy the game :D

    You shouldn't wait until E3, Galaxy 2 will not be on the show, and you have so many reviews out there already all agreeing that this is one of the best games ever, so you really should get this now.

  125. bluelight Monday 14th Jun 2010 at 05:45

    You tend to get a lot of them.

    "Wii is crap! It's games are rubbish! I mean, I played Wii Sports for a whole five minutes! I think I know what I'm talking about" :P

    The truth is that these days if there is no blood, HD or a high violent content, games are no longer fun. At least that is what people these days believe. Nintendo is one of the few developers that can create games that are hardcore but family friendly. And to be honest, that is not that easy to achieve.

  126. drakey31 Monday 14th Jun 2010 at 12:01

    Just picked this us from game today. The first Wii game i have bought in over 25 months. So ive had to dig out the wii and clean the dust off it :) I have only got 2 stars as the Holland Denmark game has just kicked off. First impressions are that nothing has really changed from the original Super Mario Galaxy. The exposition of the game is very clever revealing the plot in the form of a playable storybook is very clever. Im impressed so far but will have to reserve my judgement until i have racked up some time on it.

  127. mariosmum Monday 14th Jun 2010 at 16:09

    Man, some of the people on this forum are egotistical arses.

    And if people had any sense, they'd realise that this review is someone's opinion, and that person gave it 97%. You should write your own review and give it 98% or whatever and then you can stop whining. People need to think for themselves and get a life rather than worry about review scores.

    I think it's a well written review, taking into account that it's a game that we played a few years ago with some extra bits.

  128. GamerKid Monday 14th Jun 2010 at 21:26

    I played this game. It sucked.

  129. DavidVM Wednesday 16th Jun 2010 at 03:31

    This game is nothing less than pure, unfettered joy! I've only completed the first world this evening but already I can tell they've improved on everything from the first game and then some.

    The controls are the tightest I've ever experienced. The level designs are exquisite, they're seamless (the transitions between the side scrolling, top down and 3D sections are simply breathtaking), constantly busy and involving. The graphics are as good as anything out there (yes, on any system). The soundtrack is of an unheralded quality for video games. There's a sharper learning curve and an increase in diffculty, even as early in the game as I am. But the aspect it really nails for me is how whenever you make a mistake it always feels like your fault, not the game cheating you (can we have that in the new MarioKart as well please?).

    I understand the slight markdown for over-familiarity but if you've never played the first SMG then you can add 2%, even 3% to this score. This probably is the greatest game ever made so far.

  130. DavidVM Wednesday 16th Jun 2010 at 04:02

    I bet loads of people just looked at the score and didn't bother even looking at the review. The review itself is fantastic though yes I must admit would it really have been so hard to give it 1%+ (I know it shouldn't really matter but c'mon :( )? So many more people would've been satisfied if that were the case and people woulda thought "Galaxy 2 is clearly better".

    That said though, it is good that ONM did not give it a perfect score. I honestly don't believe there is such thing as a perfect game and I doubt there ever will be. If there was a perfect game it would cater for all audiences (which would be impossible) and never ever get boring even after playing it for years.

    A game does not have to appeal to everyone to attain perfection and should be judged on its own (in this case, pretty much perfect) merits. Likewise, why have a scoring system in which it is impossible to attain the highest mark? It must be there for some reason.

  131. denism Saturday 19th Jun 2010 at 20:15

    Super mario galaxy 2 has better graphics,gameplay, power ups and levels then super mario galaxy 1.It also has the introduction of yoshi and luigi as playable characters.It has more bosses like gobbleguts and common enemys like flying goombas.Although its start lacks the impact of super mario galaxy 1 it gets you in the game more quickly. Super mario galaxy is better then super mario galaxy 1 and deserves at least 98%

  132. RealToonLink Sunday 20th Jun 2010 at 19:38

    What I love most about Galaxy 2 is the surprises that await in every level and the polished and perfect platforming as well as bottomless pits (which went on vacation in Galaxy 1). 10/10 from me and the best Wii game released thus far.

  133. Nelsonator15 Sunday 20th Jun 2010 at 21:58

    You lot are very argumentative people, back on topic! Anyways, I knew you'd give it 97%, you don't have the courage to give it a higher or even lower score than Galaxy. You say it's bettre than the first but give it the same score, clearly you need to rethink some things. Overall, a good, fair review though.

    No, if you actually bothered to read the review, they effectively gave it 97% minus the impact of the first game. Had the first Mario Galaxy never existed it would've meant that the music, the graphics and the completely new style of gameplay would've been new as well, which (at least from my standpoint) would've easily pushed the game up to 98%, if not higher.

    At least you acknowledged it was a good review though :wink:

  134. luigibros. Wednesday 23rd Jun 2010 at 14:27

    I'm really postive there is aLOT more stars in the second mario galaxy than the first. Has any found any cosmic jewels yet? :lol:

  135. Heroofhyrule Thursday 24th Jun 2010 at 17:54

    Just picked this us from game today. The first Wii game i have bought in over 25 months.

    That makes you an idiot, because you've missed out on a hell of a LOT.

  136. Heroofhyrule Thursday 24th Jun 2010 at 17:55

    I played this game. It sucked.

    I read your comment... it was full of crap.

  137. Beedy Tuesday 29th Jun 2010 at 12:38

    Without a percentage symbol it isn't 100% you berk.

    100% implies utter perfection, while a 10 implies brilliance.

    10/10 = 100%

    lrn 2 maths


    Ohhh you're just the worst kind of person.

    It's nothing to do with maths. It's to do with what the scores represent or imply.

    f**k it, done with this thread/forum until another hilariously bad article goes up to enjoy.

    Actually no, you are. Namely; the sort of person that nitpicks over video game review scores for the sake of a few percent here and there. It doesn't matter!
    Mario Galaxy 2 doesn't even need a score - it's blatantly obvious that it's going to be a good game, so who cares exactly what score it gets down to the nearest fraction of a percentage?

    ...97%... you're joking right?????
    It should be more than that, coz it's clearly THE BEST Wii game out! Like IGN and Gamespot gave it a 10/10!!

    It should be 98%, coz it's definitely better than the Original and Twilight Princess!

    If I was ONM I would change to a ratings out of ten system, just to stop people nitpicking like this. I mean really, you're complaining about 1 percent!? Time to re-evaluate where your life is heading I think

    This, a thousand times over.

  138. RealToonLink Tuesday 29th Jun 2010 at 16:06

    Agree with the score because while Mario Galaxy 2 has fantastic gameplay, genius level design, perfect controls and beautiful composition,the game suffers from:

    Very weak storyline (I know no one cares about story in a Mario game but they could have tried to do something new, Mario Galaxy 1 felt fresh even though it was just the same thing.)

    And poor Bowser boss battles which felt easier and less epic in comparison to the first game. Overall though, nitpicking aside, I felt it was better then the original and one of the finest 3D Platformers I have played.

  139. TheLegendOfNinte Saturday 24th Jul 2010 at 19:24

    Wait, wait, wait, wait. So this game, has far more innovation, added Yoshi, Luigi playable early on, more power-ups, more galaxies than the last, a whole entirely new set of 242 stars (no playing through all 120 again as Luigi as the first one did) yet this acquires the same score as the first on got?! I'm sure all the things i just mentioned more than make up for the fact the impact isn't as great as the first! 98%-99%. It's not perfect.

  140. TheLegendOfNinte Saturday 24th Jul 2010 at 19:24

    Wait, wait, wait, wait. So this game, has far more innovation, added Yoshi, Luigi playable early on, more power-ups, more galaxies than the last, a whole entirely new set of 242 stars (no playing through all 120 again as Luigi as the first one did) yet this acquires the same score as the first on got?! I'm sure all the things i just mentioned more than make up for the fact the impact isn't as great as the first! 98%-99%. It's not perfect.

  141. hatooboo Thursday 19th Aug 2010 at 18:41

    My review for it is that the game is really great, and I played it in one night, and can't get enough of it, and you get that original feel for the game too.=3

    My score: 97%

  142. thenintendoer Thursday 2nd Sep 2010 at 14:34

    just got 242 stars in this game :D

  143. Oddjob64 Thursday 22nd Dec 2011 at 12:26

    How did the game get 97%? i do like it but theres no way it's geting that high. :shock:

  144. Xenobladeperson Monday 14th May 2012 at 20:06

    Okay, Galaxy 2 got 97%, but Skyward Sword got 98%, yet you insist that Galaxy is better. Also, Galaxy only deserves 83% or so.

  145. Phantom George Saturday 19th May 2012 at 08:45

    I got it march 2011 and beat it in february 2012!!!!!!!It is still the longest game i have ever played,and the best mario game ever!!!!!

  146. SM3DL2 Thursday 8th Nov 2012 at 21:52

    If ONM say Super Mario Galaxy 2 is better than the first, then why are they both 97%? Why not give SMG2 98%? :?

  147. Mario All-Stars Wednesday 17th Jul 2013 at 04:01

    Great game with quirky brilliance, I think if SMG2 came first then it would be a 98% :D

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.