Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4 Wii review

Haven't we been here before?

LEGO Harry Potter then, is the sixth stud collectathon in the series. It may be based on the Harry Potter films this time instead of Star Wars, Batman or Indiana Jones, but despite the magical makeover, the gameplay is very much the same as it has been for the past six years. Of course, this isn't a bad thing. The LEGO games are often praised for their ease of use, great drop-in and drop-out co-op and sense of humour and this latest edition in no different.

Take Harry, for example. One of his spells is the ability to use Wingardium Leviosa, which lets him levitate nearby objects. This works in almost exactly the same way as the Force in LEGO Star Wars.

<b>LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4</b>
LEGO Harry Potter: Years 1-4
These are mechanics that have already been proven to work. When you fire magic to blow up objects and levitate others it's as satisfying as it ever has been. New abilities that have been added to the game are more hit-and-miss. For example, Wingardium Leviosa also allows you at times to actually control the object you're levitating, rather than just holding a button and making it follow a set route. These usually take the form of building puzzles where you have to connect LEGO blocks Tetris-style to form a staircase or what have you. Great idea in theory, but one that's let down by fiddly controls.

Pottering About

Hogwarts is also an intimidating place at first - the level is so vast and the levels so randomly scattered that you'll be spending a lot of your first few hours with the game wandering through numerous corridors, following the ghostly LEGO studs left behind by Nearly Headless Nick as you plod on to the next stage.

LEGO Harry Potter does get a lot more enjoyable as the game progresses. Thankfully, after the first awkward chapter, things eventually get less overwhelming and you start to feel more in control over where you're going.

Graphically the game's also superb and the animations are crammed with character. Once you get your head around the sheer number of things to do, you also get more out of the game. There are a staggering 170 characters and a couple of odd-looking LEGO bonus stages to play, though these were a bit buggy when we played them.

If you or your young sprog are Harry Potter fans and this is your first LEGO game, it's an essential purchase. The LEGO gameplay is still great fun for those experiencing it for the first time and the familiarity of the Potter characters and environments will make this one of the best family-friendly Wii games you'll play.

If, however, you've already fought your way through Dagobah, Tattooine, Gotham City and the Temple Of Doom, heading to Hogwarts won't feel too different.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the August issue of Official Nintendo Magazine. For more screenshots, in-depth analysis and boxouts buy the mag when it's in the shops.

Comments

17 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. shane12234 Sunday 27th Jun 2010 at 13:13

    good game but theres no online like other versions :(

  2. shane12234 Sunday 27th Jun 2010 at 13:14

    good game but no online like other versions :(

  3. Slayso Sunday 27th Jun 2010 at 13:21

    A fair review.

    I'm really enjoying it though. I think you can easily add a few more % on that 80 depending on how much of a Potter geek you are.

    I mean, I got excited when it told me I'd unlocked Vernon Dursley.

  4. Bruiser Sunday 27th Jun 2010 at 16:41

    Dunno whether or not to get this, looks liek great fun, but should I jsut wait for them to release the other films or the whole collection game?
    Hmm I suppose buying half and then half wouldn't be too bad, I did it with LEGO Star Wars all those years ago :L

  5. Rabbid_girl Sunday 27th Jun 2010 at 16:51

    Should I get this or the DS version? They're equally scored, which dosent help my desision!

  6. shy guy 64 Sunday 27th Jun 2010 at 20:08

    sounds fun enough

    i'll get for my birthday in a months time

  7. Gorsewaygirl Monday 28th Jun 2010 at 14:52

    Posted: 27 Jun 10 4:51 pm Post subject:
    Should I get this or the DS version? They're equally scored, which dosent help my desision!


    You should get both - if you can afford it! As the DS version is top down it's not a direct copy of the Wii version, they are both well worth it, if you're a Potter fan!

  8. Dragongirl Monday 28th Jun 2010 at 17:12

    OMG!!!!! 170 CHARTACTERS!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I luv Harry Potter! + the fact that its got all those charcters, awesome lego gameplay + harry potter make this one of my essentials.

    I want 2 play as Norbert...

  9. JohnWilliam Monday 28th Jun 2010 at 17:27

    I want 2 play as Norbert...

    Scabbers FTW! Also, I'll enjoy killing Cedric over and over again for starring in the bloody God-awful Twilight 'movies'.

    Anyway, I'm a huge Potter nerd, I love the LEGO formula, this was a no brainer for me. Picked up the collector's edition for PS3 today, looking foward to playing it tomorrow!

  10. Deku scrub Monday 28th Jun 2010 at 19:00

    Lego games never really appealed to me. It's just a series thats there to complete when your board. I'm not a huge potter fan anyway

  11. stiliom Wednesday 30th Jun 2010 at 14:54

    I found another good review is worth reading.
    Check out:
    http://www.gladriel.com/reviewFull/cont ... s-1-4-PS3/
    And it can be taken here, this is some kind of auction site.

  12. wilrc6 Wednesday 30th Jun 2010 at 15:23

    This game is worth so much more than 80%

    Ive got the XBox360 and DS versions and is the best LEGO film game so far.

    Absolutely hilarious cut-scenes too.

  13. Gamejunkie99 Thursday 1st Jul 2010 at 15:34

    Star wars was good and I think if they have pulled off the magic and huge environment, then I think they are onto a winner!

  14. wolfy98 Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 13:25

    This game is worth so much more than 80%

    Ive got the XBox360 and DS versions and is the best LEGO film game so far.

    Absolutely hilarious cut-scenes too.


    i agree the xbox 360 version is amazing i thought there were only 166 characters

  15. king_boo632 Sunday 11th Jul 2010 at 16:19

    Is it just me or is this game really glitchy?

    First playthrough I had to restart because of a glitch in hagrids garden, I loved the game so much that I started all again.

    Now I all but completed it even doing the last hidden level, but is it true that you can't go back to hogwarts once you have done that level?!

    Now every time I go to continue story, it just puts me in knockturn alley! I had just one more character to unlock and had to end the game on 99.9%!! :(

    Please let me know if this is a glitch or it really stops you exploring? :?

  16. shamjam Friday 13th Aug 2010 at 10:58

    Is it just me or is this game really glitchy?

    First playthrough I had to restart because of a glitch in hagrids garden, I loved the game so much that I started all again.

    Now I all but completed it even doing the last hidden level, but is it true that you can't go back to hogwarts once you have done that level?!

    Now every time I go to continue story, it just puts me in knockturn alley! I had just one more character to unlock and had to end the game on 99.9%!! :(

    Please let me know if this is a glitch or it really stops you exploring? :?

    This game is extremely glitchy.You know the level tom riddles diary.If you pause during that level and select return to hogwarts .The game skips the level and you can never get 100%.

    Also if you complete the last bonus level in bogin and burkes you can NOT go back to hogwarts.Make sure to gete evrything in hogwarts before you do the last bonus level.

  17. KKNinty347 Saturday 5th Feb 2011 at 09:02

    Is it just me or is this game really glitchy?

    First playthrough I had to restart because of a glitch in hagrids garden, I loved the game so much that I started all again.

    Now I all but completed it even doing the last hidden level, but is it true that you can't go back to hogwarts once you have done that level?!

    Now every time I go to continue story, it just puts me in knockturn alley! I had just one more character to unlock and had to end the game on 99.9%!! :(

    Please let me know if this is a glitch or it really stops you exploring? :?

    The latter glitch happened to me i only needed two more characters (99.7%) and they were both in hogwarts, so i replayed the game (I have 100% now) it is annoying at first but i suppose you get more for your money if you play through it twice. Just make sure you have all characters in hogwarts before playing last bonus level!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.