Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Tournament Of Legends review

Terrible, in a brilliant way

Tournament Of Legends is so bad that it's actually pretty entertaining. As a videogame, it is poorly thought-out, badly executed and so dated it's laughable. And yet you'll get quite a few more laughs out of this than a lot of other games. In a sense, it's the pinnacle of what every bad game should aspire to be.

It's a one-on-one fighter which stars a load of mythological creatures and no shortage of ridiculous voice acting and taunting. Alot of the time, it is, completely unintentionally, utterly hilarious.

With default controls, it's a mess. Waving the Remote up or down triggers one sort of attack, and waving side to side activates another. You control your character with the stick, and a wave of the Nunchuk gives you access to another type of attack.

Click to view larger image
Inevitably, in battle this means you end up waving your arms around wildly in order to try and string a few strikes together. What you discover when you switch to using the Classic Controller (because you have to if you want to attempt to actually play the game) is that trying to string moves together results in a maximum three hit combo, if you're lucky.

There are a couple of interesting ideas in here - you can unlock and equip different weapons for your character, as well as different special powers, but it's hard to tell whether they make any real difference. There are also occasional quick time events based on legendary creatures interfering in the battle which spice things up a little.

But on the whole, playing Tournament Of Legends feels a little like playing a tech demo from 1992. There's no way this should have ever been turned into an actual videogame that you have to pay real money for. If you want a fighting game, look up those comedy taunts on YouTube, extract all the laughs you can from that and buy Tatsunoko Vs Capcom instead.

This is an edited version of the review which will appear in the next issue of ONM.

Comments

16 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Cormsie Monday 5th Jul 2010 at 16:54

    Gonna look this up on YouTube, see what it looks like xD

    I wonder if the producers will be happy with 'So bad it's almost good':lol:

  2. Wrayman Monday 5th Jul 2010 at 17:05

    I Was excited about this game.... Not anymore

  3. thenintendoer Monday 5th Jul 2010 at 17:51

    i was considering getting this until they completely changed it

  4. ShadowofPain Monday 5th Jul 2010 at 17:55

    To be entirely honest I had little hopes for this game anyways. Apart from the visuals it all looked painfully generic.

  5. TheLupineOne Monday 5th Jul 2010 at 21:04

    So bad it's good... Mamma Mia!, anyone?

    Also, WAGGLEFEST.

  6. lminett Tuesday 6th Jul 2010 at 09:08

    Come on High voltage, dont put out these half hearted games.

  7. dave666 Tuesday 6th Jul 2010 at 10:21

    I have never disagreed with a review more in my life.I thought this was a top noch fighter,the graphics are great and the gameplay is fun.Ok it's not perfect but still a good game.

  8. dm_1782 Tuesday 6th Jul 2010 at 11:55

    i was considering getting this until they completely changed it

    Same :?
    Dunno why they did, cuz this sucks.

  9. Bongo-Bongo Tuesday 6th Jul 2010 at 17:47

    I'm hardly suprised by this, and I'm really not sure why HVS get as much attention as they do. They've yet to release a product that could be deemed satisfactory, yet with the attention they get, you'd think they were producing titles that showed a team with great potential for the future.

  10. bluelight Wednesday 7th Jul 2010 at 06:13

    Was anybody really expecting this to be good? It is pretty obvious by now that High Voltage is putting all their efforts on the Conduit 2 and the Grinder... So this was not given the attention it required. Either way at leats its very cheap and is the kind of game that is so bad you rent it, play it and enjoy it because of how bad it is! The irony :D

  11. Andy88 Wednesday 7th Jul 2010 at 15:29

    {Darth Vader voice} Only now do you realise the truth: High Voltage games are a s**tty company that make the most generic games in the world and the only reason that The Conduit seemed decent was because the Wii had no other good FPSs at the time of it's release.

  12. MrChewtoy Thursday 8th Jul 2010 at 14:02

    {Darth Vader voice} Only now do you realise the truth: High Voltage games are a s**tty company that make the most generic games in the world and the only reason that The Conduit seemed decent was because the Wii had no other good FPSs at the time of it's release.


    Shut.Up.

  13. Andew Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 15:38

    might i re-establish my sincere distain for high voltage?
    :twisted: i hope you people buy the grinder and conduflop 2

  14. Eu-boat Tuesday 13th Jul 2010 at 17:13

    {Darth Vader voice} Only now do you realise the truth: High Voltage games are a s**tty company that make the most generic games in the world and the only reason that The Conduit seemed decent was because the Wii had no other good FPSs at the time of it's release.


    so true, You sir win a medal......since i don't own a medal you can have a cookie

  15. Toastie boy Wednesday 21st Jul 2010 at 10:50

    I looked this up on youtube......the graphics are pretty good and it doesnt look half bad but the i dont get is theres an old man in a wheelchair circling around the place :roll: :roll: :roll:

  16. Stulaw Sunday 25th Jul 2010 at 15:03

    The game's not that bad, and you can land a 4 hit combo (the game calls it an epic combo lol)

    But honestly, it hasn't got enough modes for a modern day fighting game, and the voice acting is incredibly bad.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.