Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sonic Colours preview

Sonic ditches the gimmicks

For years now, we've been praying for a truly great 3D Sonic game. One that would take us back to the (relative) glory days of Sonic Adventure 2 Battle on the GameCube. Sonic Unleashed came agonisingly close a couple of years ago, only for that ruddy werehog to come and ruin things. From what we've seen so far of Sonic Colours in action, it very much seems to us like the daytime levels of Sonic Unleashed without any of the rubbish werehog levels.

The new twist in Sonic Colours is the Wisps. Dr Eggman has opened up a theme park in space, using the Colour Power of these Wisps to help fuel it. But Eggman is also using the Wisps' power for something more evil than the odd waltzer ride, so Sonic heads into space to investigate. Sonic can collect different coloured wisps and use their powers.

Click to view larger image
The grey Wisps add to Sonic's boost meter. As in Sonic Unleashed, you hold the B button to make Sonic run at stupidly fast speeds. Once you run out of boost you'll need to pick up more grey Wisps. Boosting is just as fun as it was back in Sonic Unleashed, and it gives you a real sense of speed as the sides of the screen blur. It's also obviously helpful for completing the level as quickly as possible and gaining an S-Rank.

Blue Wisps let Sonic charge up an extremely fast laser spin attack and they work in a slightly similar way to the Rock Mario power-up in Super Mario Galaxy 2 - you flick the Remote to start Sonic spinning, aim him with the Nunchuk's Control Stick, then let go and watch as he whizzes forward at a ridiculously fast speed, taking out anything in his way. Unlike Rock Mario, when Sonic uses the blue Wisp it's not possible to control him because he's far too fast. Aiming him is a lot easier because while he's charging up for the attack you get a sort of pointer showing you the direction he'll go in, but when you let go he fires off like a bullet rebounding off walls.

Our favourite so far are the yellow wisps though, which give Sonic the ability to use a drill and plough through the ground. Again, this is similar to the drill in Super Mario Galaxy 2 but this time you have complete control over what direction the drill goes. There are loads of hidden areas, power-ups and secret tunnels underground, which should make for more possible ways to finish a level than ever before.

A different Galaxy

You'll have noticed that Sonic's power-ups are strongly reminiscent of those in Super Mario Galaxy 2 and the game is set in space. Yet Sonic is at his best when he's borrowing from other games. The original Sonic was essentially Sega's answer to Super Mario Bros, and Sonic Adventure was its attempt at a Super Mario 64 for the Dreamcast. If this is Sega's attempt at doing Galaxy, let's just see where it goes.

Click to view larger image
From the two levels we've seen we're very impressed. The Tropical Resort level has loads of colourful, neon backdrops and looks very much like Flamingo Land if it was set on the Moon. The level layout also reminds us a lot of the Spagnolia levels in Sonic Unleashed, which is a very good thing indeed. Even better is the Sweet Mountain stage, which is a level made entirely of cakes and sweets. Loop-the-loops in the shape of donuts are genius, and when you drill through the ground you can see the many fruity layers that make up the cake you're standing on.

As for how the game plays, it's just like Sonic Unleashed's daytime stages. The action is fast, the levels are nice and long, there are loads of different routes through each level. Even the music's the same annoyingly catchy rubbish we're always ashamed to say we quite like. It seems that Sega is finally listening. The people who cried out for a 2D Sonic game are getting Sonic 4, and early signs show that this might well be the "Sonic Unleashed without Werehog bits" the 3D Sonic fans were longing for.

This is an edited version of a preview that appeared in the July issue of Official Nintendo Magazine. If you want more in-depth analysis, screenshots and interviews you can buy the back issue here.

Comments

25 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Deku scrub Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 08:38

    Looks awesome! I remember good times on SA2B and the original Sonic adventure.

    Looks intersting as it's copying some of Galaxy 2's brilliant idea's

  2. wolfy98 Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 09:19

    Looks awesome! I remember good times on SA2B and the original Sonic adventure.

    Looks intersting as it's copying some of Galaxy 2's brilliant idea's


    this should be a winner

  3. marth12 Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 09:37

    This looks like its going to be Sonic Unleashed but no Were-Hog levels just plain old sonic and of course that is good

  4. Zen Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 10:25

    Sonic Color's is shaping up well. I just want to see some more gameplay before I make a decision to buy it or not.

  5. blublur101 Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 15:01

    i'm DEFINITELY getting this, as the stages are like the unleashed day stages.

    plus every sonic game gets an instant buy from me :D

  6. blublur101 Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 15:03

    DEFINITELY getting this, it looks great. sonic unleashed day stages.... :shock:

  7. spambot404 Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 15:34

    Hey ONM, during your preview did you find out anything to do with the story or did ye see any cut-scenes?
    In your review of unleashed the first negative point was that the were-hog was rubbish, while the second what that the voice acting was rubbish. Since the voice actors have been changed do you think that its been fixed? Or is it still cheesy?

  8. Heroofhyrule Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 16:07

    Sonic Colours is is shaping up well. I just want to see some more gameplay before I make a decision to buy it or not.

    Fixed. Sorry, but I really don't like the American spelling of the word "colour," It's just so lazy that they take out the "u". Also, there was no need for the apostrophe.

  9. Tekkonkinkreet Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 17:25

    the game looks great in motion. and indeed, very vibrant and colorful graphics.

  10. ClockMenace Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 19:39

    Even though I should know better, I can't help but to get excited :D The Tropical Resort level!

  11. Bongo-Bongo Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 21:12

    I've learnt not to get even slightly interested in a new Sonic game. That way, if it sucks, I'm not dissapointed. If it's good, then it's a pleasant suprise.

  12. Zen Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 22:53

    Sonic Colours is is shaping up well. I just want to see some more gameplay before I make a decision to buy it or not.

    Fixed. Sorry, but I really don't like the American spelling of the word "colour". It's just so lazy that they take out the "u". Also, there was no need for the apostrophe.

    Fixed. The comma should not be included in the quotation. Also, a full stop is required before the capitalisation.

  13. catscan93 Saturday 17th Jul 2010 at 23:43

    Here we have exhibit A:

    http://xspblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/halolz-dot-com-sonicthehedgehog-thesoniccycle.jpg

    Case = rested.

  14. Adam_Lloyd Sunday 18th Jul 2010 at 02:18

    Here we have exhibit A:

    http://xspblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/halolz-dot-com-sonicthehedgehog-thesoniccycle.jpg

    Case = rested.

    If I see that picture one more time I might have to murder a kitten. It's old, it was funny, it's now not. It looks like we have a decent sonic game. Let the bad joke die, please.

  15. ShadowofPain Sunday 18th Jul 2010 at 10:37

    Here we have exhibit A:

    http://xspblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/05/halolz-dot-com-sonicthehedgehog-thesoniccycle.jpg

    Case = rested.

    Here we have exhibit B:

    http://i43.tinypic.com/14soit.jpg

  16. nintengeek Sunday 18th Jul 2010 at 15:01

    If Sonic has ditched the gimmicks why is he in space with aliens? :roll:

  17. Axl-Dark Sunday 18th Jul 2010 at 17:32

    Hmm, I'm a bit suspicious of this game...If they're going to rip off of Mario Galaxy 2, then I at least hope they do it right.

  18. Dooby Sunday 18th Jul 2010 at 21:39

    Ever since the trailer, I have been unbelievably hyped up for this game. I don't know why but I feel as though this game and its "gimmick" (debatable for some) will work well together. The great thing is that the Wisps don't have to be used anyway so I already see the formulae for the game - Sonic Unleashed saytime gameplay - as pretty much flawless.

    It's gonna be tough which will be better, Sonic 4 or Sonic Colours, but for me, Colours is winning, just!

  19. IfritXVII Monday 19th Jul 2010 at 15:23

    Yeah because this looks EXACTLY like Mario Galaxy. There have been countless games set in space with powerups so i don't see why that automatically makes this case of copying Mario. Sigh, it seems even when Sonic is doing something right, people can't accept it and must look elsewhere to find a reason why.

  20. Colgax Tuesday 20th Jul 2010 at 01:17

    I've been thinking...

    If this game is just like the daytime levels from Sonic Unleashed, then the whole game will be just about running and running. Well, Sonic Adventure 2 definitely isn't just about running (at least not the Dreamcast version, the one I played). Even if we were to take just the Sonic and Shadow stages, there is much more than running.

    Conclusion: I demand a Sonic Adventure 3!!!

  21. Shadowdragonica Tuesday 20th Jul 2010 at 20:07

    the screenshots look very cool...I might get this...but then again...I might not...

  22. Toad Rules Wednesday 21st Jul 2010 at 16:56

    Sounds fairly familiar anyone heard of super mario galaxy and super mario galaxy 2 ? :lol:

  23. peteflea Wednesday 22nd Sep 2010 at 20:25

    I've learnt not to get even slightly interested in a new Sonic game. That way, if it sucks, I'm not dissapointed. If it's good, then it's a pleasant suprise.

    Sadly , this is the way most of us have learnt to live :(

  24. luigibros. Thursday 23rd Sep 2010 at 02:12

    I've been thinking...

    GENIUS (alltho change the name)

    If this game is just like the daytime levels from Sonic Unleashed, then the whole game will be just about running and running. Well, Sonic Adventure 2 definitely isn't just about running (at least not the Dreamcast version, the one I played). Even if we were to take just the Sonic and Shadow stages, there is much more than running.

    Conclusion: I demand a Sonic Adventure 3!!!

  25. megaman16 Tuesday 2nd Nov 2010 at 21:36

    so far so good
    this could be a winner
    i will definately get this

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.