Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

PokéPark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure review

Pikachu stars in Wii game! It's not very effective...

The beauty of the Pokémon RPGs is that anyone can enjoy them, with older fans getting stuck into strategic online battles while the younger ones coo at Pickachu. PokéPark is clearly aimed at the really young ones who think that Pikachu is the cutest of 'em all.

For them, wandering around the park and bumping into other Pokémon might well prove entertaining enough but hardcore Pokémon fans will find the game's simplicity insulting. It's all a bit Early Learning Centre.

PokéPark is in danger and it's up to Pikachu to save it by collecting the 14 pieces of the shattered Sky Prism and putting it back together. Conveniently, each of these pieces can be earned by completing the fourteen mini-games located around PokéPark. Unfortunately, it's all a bit of a slog...

Click to view larger image
Most of PokéPark Wii involves walking around, talking to Pokémon and playing one of a few 'skill games' they suggest. These usually consist of playing chase (where you're given a minute to run after a Pokémon and bump into it) or having a battle (where you dodge to the side to avoid a Pokémon attack then use Thundershock or, well, bump into it). Occasionally you'll be asked to play Hide and Seek or answer some trivia questions instead, but for the most part you'll be chasing and battling. It gets dull and repetitive extremely quickly, but it's essential to befriend every Pokémon in the park and fill your book of friends.

Park Life

Each zone of the Park has a few problems that need solving. At one point a Bidoof needs help building a house for its family, for example, but this is just a case of carrying wood (at a painfully slow pace) over to it. In fact, most of these missions involve either carrying things over to certain Pokémon or, more annoyingly, being told to find other Pokémon and do the usual "chase or battle" thing with them.

As for the mini-games, Pikachu can take part in most of these but he rarely excels in them, which is where the befriending comes into play. Each Pokémon you befriend can take part in specific games and each has their own strengths and weaknesses. If you befriend a Rapidash, for example, you can finish Bulbasaur's Daring Dash (a 100m sprint mini-game) easily, whereas doing it with a Magikarp is much more difficult.

These 14 mini-games, while fun to a degree, don't do enough to justify the game's price tag. They're too few and far between, and despite their presence you still spend the vast majority of the game doing the old "find Pokémon, chase or fight them, befriend them" routine.

Click to view larger image
If your age is in double digits then you're rarely going to be challenged here, as PokéPark Wii is clearly aimed at very young gamers and you should keep that in mind before deciding to buy this game. Kids under seven will probably find something to enjoy here, so you can't say that PokéPark has completely failed to deliver. That said, more experienced gamers would need to be a complete Pokémon nut to get all the way through this without doing a Snorlax and falling asleep.

Comments

37 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Gavin Rozee Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 11:31

    Yeah. I got it yesterday and played a bit. I knew after a few minutes of play that it was aimed at young kids (I'm 22). There isn't really anything particularly wrong with the game, it just assumes you've never played a game before.

    Oh well, I'll get as much play out of it as I can, then I'll keep it ready for my son who turned 1 earlier this month. I'm sure it will be a good introduction to a 3D game, and videogames in general.

    Not all bad then :)

  2. Wiintendo Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 11:33

    Meh, I wasn't going to buy this game anyway as I'm still addicted to heartGold as we speak.

    I am a Pokenut, but I'm not shellin Ł45 for this, savin that for Other M and it feels like the review was justified enough, buy this for a young child whose into Pokemon.

    Maybe I could consider it when the price lowers or get a used copy at possibly under Ł20 (Hey, I got Madworld new for Ł3 on Amazon :D) , but for now, I'll pass on it :)

    So all in all, this could be considered the Wii equivalent of Yoshi's Story :lol:

  3. IG-42 Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 12:03

    meh everyone knows mudkip is better anyway

  4. emperor ing Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 12:16

    meh everyone knows mudkip is better anyway

    Too right :) Everyone leiks Mudkipz!

    Sort of what I was expecting from this. Aimed at the younger gamers.

  5. scott1and Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 13:21

    If this was harder, let you choose your beastie, had more a Smash Bros feel fighting wise and a look to match then this game would certainly be worth maybe considering if you want to buy it...or not

  6. SoulSilver IV Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 14:53

    meh everyone knows mudkip is better anyway

    Too right :) Everyone leiks Mudkipz!

    But does Mudkip liek you?

  7. KoreeluStromboli Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 15:52

    In the past I saw a trailer for this game on YouTube, and when I saw Pikachu having an apparent boss battle with a Feraligatr; I thought that looked cool. A while after that, I saw actual footage of the Japanese version of the game, involving a battle with Feraligatr; I was dissapointed by how depthless it was, like all the other battles in the game, as I saw in other footage.

    I may be a large Pokemon fan, but I'll give PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure a miss because it looks set to unsufficiently wet my whistle from the footage I've seen on YouTube.

    In the future I want to be a videogames designer and when I become one, I'll hopefully make a Pokemon game that is similar to PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure, but it will be more challenging, have more depth, more playable characters (minigames of PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure aside), more detailed graphics, better gameplay, great boss battles and maybe even a star-studded cast for the talking Pokemon in the game as well as detailed expressions for them. My title for the game would be Pokemon Excitement.

  8. Wiintendo Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 16:10


    In the future I want to be a videogames designer and when I become one, I'll hopefully make a Pokemon game that is similar to PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure, but it will be more challenging, have more depth, more playable characters (minigames of PokePark Wii: Pikachu's Adventure aside), more detailed graphics, better gameplay, great boss battles and maybe even a star-studded cast for the talking Pokemon in the game as well as detailed expressions for them.

    That game would be full of win if it happened :D

  9. WindWaker Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 16:45

    Yeah. I got it yesterday and played a bit. I knew after a few minutes of play that it was aimed at young kids (I'm 22). There isn't really anything particularly wrong with the game, it just assumes you've never played a game before.

    Oh well, I'll get as much play out of it as I can, then I'll keep it ready for my son who turned 1 earlier this month. I'm sure it will be a good introduction to a 3D game, and videogames in general.

    Not all bad then :)

    But will it put him off one of the best gaming series ever? :shock: :shock: :shock: :D

  10. Deku scrub Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 18:42

    I'm busy with SS anyway

    No i do not liek mudkipz, there overrated Treecko FTW :)

    Aww i am dissapoint. I thought this game would be good :/

  11. Adam_Lloyd Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 19:37

    meh everyone knows mudkip is better anyway

    Too right :) Everyone leiks Mudkipz!

    But does Mudkip liek you?

    He does in Soviet Russia.

  12. Locarii Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 20:05

    Good review ONM. Mainly because you didn't do what I'm expecting from most review sites which is just completely have a go at the game because they can't grasp the fact it's aimed at younger people (something I see a lot).

    I'm 14, so I won't be getting this. However, it does look like a lot of fun, and I must say the graphics look quite nice as well.

  13. Cyberguy Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 20:26

    I wasn't expecting it to be that good.

    My brother is getting this in August and he's 7. I might have a go at it and see if it's any good.

    Yep, this is the one for younger gamers.

  14. master dingley Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 21:40

    Im quite disappointed that this game seems to have failed, especially if it will scare off a potential sequel that fixes the controls and adds more of an adventure style thing, something I would absolutely love :P

  15. NovaGrovr Friday 9th Jul 2010 at 22:55

    meh everyone knows mudkip is better anyway

    Too right :) Everyone leiks Mudkipz!

    But does Mudkip liek you?

    He does in Soviet Russia.

    ^ win
    In Soviet Russia Mudkip liek you :D

  16. kraid Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 01:23

    Oh Nintendo, why didn't you just make a new Pokemon Snap? This should have been WiiWare.

  17. ILoveWii Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 09:36

    Meh, I wasn't going to buy this game anyway as I'm still addicted to heartGold as we speak.

    I am a Pokenut, but I'm not shellin Ł45 for this

    Ł45? Where the hell do you buy games?

    It's Ł27 on the net.

  18. Kirby8 Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 10:48

    Meh, I wasn't going to buy this game anyway as I'm still addicted to heartGold as we speak.

    I am a Pokenut, but I'm not shellin Ł45 for this

    Ł45? Where the hell do you buy games?

    It's Ł27 on the net.

    Haha! That's exactly what I was thinking. I've never paid Ł45 for a wii game. They aren't even that much in stores. God knows where this person is being them.

  19. Linkfan42 Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 11:17

    I'm surprised that no one else has said anything about the size of that Psyduck...

    I might get the game when it's cheaper, but it does look a bit fun. I would have been a little more interested if it looked a bit harder though.

  20. Wiintendo Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 13:13

    Meh, I wasn't going to buy this game anyway as I'm still addicted to heartGold as we speak.

    I am a Pokenut, but I'm not shellin Ł45 for this

    Ł45? Where the hell do you buy games?

    It's Ł27 on the net.

    Haha! That's exactly what I was thinking. I've never paid Ł45 for a wii game. They aren't even that much in stores. God knows where this person is being them.

    The price I mentioned was within the adverts aired as its shown as Ł45, so I was referring to the adverts more/less as I didn't check any net sites for its price

    I do realise now its cheaper elswhere like the Ł27 thats been mentioned on the net.

    I buy games sometimes at GAME if its something new and a huge title like SMG 2 or other M, if its something I jus wanna get, I either go to amazon (Jam with the band for Ł 8) or get a used copy from GAME at about less than Ł20-15 with me reward card.

    Also, I havn't been in stores when this game was out yesterday, so I don't know the retail prices

  21. kirby711 Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 13:21

    It's a real shame this wasn't a good game for older players... I was sort of looking forward to it. Oh well. Next time.

  22. Gavin Rozee Saturday 10th Jul 2010 at 18:08

    I've put about 3 - 4 hours into this game now, and despite it being a bit repetitive, I'm having quite a bit of fun with it. It's cool exploring the different areas and meeting new Pokémon. Quite glad I got it now :)

  23. turnpike Sunday 11th Jul 2010 at 07:35

    Sorry, but doesn't this game contradict the idea that Pokemon can't talk?
    (except for a select few - I can imagine Mewtwo looking at Pikachu like it's retarded)

  24. Gavin Rozee Sunday 11th Jul 2010 at 09:17

    Sorry, but doesn't this game contradict the idea that Pokemon can't talk?
    (except for a select few - I can imagine Mewtwo looking at Pikachu like it's retarded)

    Now the ultra realistic world of Pokémon has been tarnished forever!

  25. sapoeysap Sunday 11th Jul 2010 at 14:44

    Me and my boyfriend both played this game together and apart from the couple of problems (taking an hour to walk while holding an item) we both found this game a silly laugh and thought meant for little en's it was enjoyable and as a massive fan of pokemon snap , i loved the throwbacks in some of the zones to it . but it would of been cooler if there was a more photo based thing going on. oh and i got the game the day it came out and completed it a couple hours later ...

  26. Rhenopolos Sunday 11th Jul 2010 at 19:53

    Nova Grova wrote

    ^ win
    In Soviet Russia Mudkip liek you


    Does anyone liek Torchic?

  27. SoulSilver IV Monday 12th Jul 2010 at 11:43

    meh everyone knows mudkip is better anyway

    Too right :) Everyone leiks Mudkipz!

    But does Mudkip liek you?

    He does in Soviet Russia.

    My good sir, that was moderately amusing. I permit you one ride in my roflcopter.

  28. 101pichu101 Monday 12th Jul 2010 at 16:05

    i dis agree i got it yesterday i played on it and im dubble diggits im 10 i it was brillian it was fun im working on it it chalanging when u dont watch trailer on u tube and i play on game all the time and im an expert i find pokepark wii FUN FOR ALL :)

  29. helpme130 Monday 12th Jul 2010 at 17:28

    It looks like a nice game. But i won't buy it unless I see it cheap some were. probably in a couple of months.

  30. C00LI098 Tuesday 13th Jul 2010 at 12:41

    I completely disagree with the score. I just finished filling up my PokéPark Pad this morning and had great fun playing the game.

    I think it deserves 80% at least, the game offers fun game play and there is a nice storyline weaved throughout. I don't think there's anything wrong with the controls, it's a nice change to do without the Nunchuck.

  31. Cyberguy Tuesday 13th Jul 2010 at 19:47

    What is there to do after you beat the game?

  32. Toastie boy Thursday 15th Jul 2010 at 21:49

    Im ashmed this turned out to be an epic fail because i was looking forward to it :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

  33. shadow.x Sunday 18th Jul 2010 at 10:33

    Ł39.99 in asda for this ?? RIP-OFF !! =[

  34. JOEYCSOBONAS Monday 19th Jul 2010 at 14:39

    im a keen pokeomon fan and this 1 looks rubbsih tell me if it iz pleeze

  35. Gaming 98 Friday 23rd Jul 2010 at 17:45

    OK, I admit the game wasn't anything groundbreaking, but I think 64% is a tad low. 70-75% may of been better.

  36. Colgax Tuesday 3rd Aug 2010 at 02:29

    Now I'm officially a Pokenut! XD

  37. DarkStarWolf Saturday 7th Aug 2010 at 11:04

    What is there to do after you beat the game?

    I find that problem in Diamond and Pearl. I know you can still battle and level up and stuff but ones the main story's finished I get a bit bored.....

    Still at least PokePark's trying to be a bit different and it does look pretty cute and the little kids will love it.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.