Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Spider-Man Shattered Dimensions Wii review

Spider-man's best Wii game yet

Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions Wii is an enjoyable game for fans of the webslinging wonderlad and with Batman: The Brave And The Bold on the way to Nintendo's console soon, these are good times for fans of comic book heroes.

The story is a bit daft but it does enable you to play as four different versions of Spider-Man. Some dimension-protecting tablet has shattered and its pieces have been scattered across four different realities. It's up to Spider-Man to collect the pieces and put them together again.

Click to view larger image
Or should that be Spider-Men? Amazing Spider-Man wears the classic red and blue suit and has a standard set of combat moves and web abilities. Then there's Ultimate Spiderman in his dodgy black Venom suit. He can use the same abilities as Amazing Spider-Man but can also go into a special rage mode that makes his attacks more powerful.

Future Shock

Spider-Man 2099 lives in the future and has the ability to slow down time, making it easier to dodge bullets while Spider-Man Noir lives in the 1930s and takes a more stealthy approach to taking down enemies.

Some work better than others: the Spider-Man 2099 stages are great for combat and the Amazing Spider-Man ones have the most impressive level design, but the Noir Spider-Man's stages are the weakest. You have to spend time hiding in the shadows but because it's dark, you're often spotted by an enemy when you thought you were hidden.

Noir levels aside, it is a pretty satisfying experience. Combat starts off basic and gets more complicated as you unlock new abilities and moves. B is a normal attack but you can knock enemies into the air by titling the Nunchuk upwards (something that's not explained very well in the tutorial). Completing set challenges (defeat 20 enemies, strike ten enemies with objects) also unlocks bonuses which encourage you to mix up the way you take on your enemies. You can unlock different Spidey suits too.

That Marvel And Web Look

With the different versions of Spider-Man visiting four completely different universes, there is a danger that Shattered Dimensions could become a bit disjointed but a psychic called Madame Web ties it all together. She has the ability to talk to all four versions of Spider-Man, and there are some genuinely funny moments of dialogue with Web's serious tone making her the ideal 'straight woman' to each wisecracking Spider-Man.

Shattered Dimensions is a surprisingly fun game. The Noir stages are definitely the game's weak point, and the camera could have been a bit less temperamental, but these are minor issues when the game as a whole is such a thoroughly entertaining package and one that's certainly better than Spider-Man's other Wii games.

Comments

12 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Yoshifan007 Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 14:49

    That wouldn't be Hard!!

  2. TheAPERSON Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 14:51

    Wow, a good Spiderman Wii game.

    Not sure if it still allows you to swing around the city like in Spider-Man 2. That was fun, even if SP2 was let down by really hard and boring story missions.

  3. MrChewtoy Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 15:21

    I loved Ultimate Spider Man on PS2, so if this is as good as that, I may have to get it. Gonna wait for price drops though, and Other M is still fresh on my mind. Got through the T-shirt and bag from the compo today, thank Gav and everyone else at ONM TV for me!!!

  4. LaytonMario3 Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 16:31

    80%? That's amazing. This is proberly a new turn for Spidey, and yeah he doeserves a second chance.

  5. zapper01 Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 17:25

    I'm disappointed you didn't like the noir levels. I was looking forward to those the most.

  6. Bongo-Bongo Thursday 9th Sep 2010 at 19:49

    I got my pre-order of the PS3 version today and have to agree that it's a good game from what I've played so far.

    I do agree with the weak points in this review. The camera can be a bit dodgy at times and the Noir level I've played so far has been let down by being too dark to know if you are in the shadows or not. They are still decent though. And I'm guessing they are in the Wii version, but the first person sections of the boss fights are pretty pointless.

    Other then that though, it seems a very good game so far and deserves the praise it's been getting.

  7. Daz_Dagon Friday 10th Sep 2010 at 01:11

    Is it as good as spiderman 2? That was proably the only good spiderman movie tie in game.

  8. Shigeru Saturday 11th Sep 2010 at 08:24

    The DS version lacks the Ultimate Spidy sections. I don't know why that is. Maybe the hardware limitations ment the developers couldn't find a way to make them different to the Amazing stff. At any rate this looks pretty good and a big step up from the DS version of Spiderman 2 that came out 6 years ago!

  9. crazyrockboy Saturday 11th Sep 2010 at 22:59

    Got this on PS3 and I'm loving it so far! The best one since ultimate spiderman back on the ps2.

    The camera can be a bit awkward, and there are the pointless first person sections during some boss fights but that's only a minor gripe.

  10. dm_1782 Friday 17th Sep 2010 at 15:29

    Im really happy for this game and all. But Spiderman 2 was the best Spiderman game of all time, of all time.. Period.

  11. RogueZee Monday 20th Sep 2010 at 22:18

    You say that the game's weak point are the Noir levels, yet, Spiderman Noir is Stan Lee's favourite character in this game due to the fact that it's stealth.
    I think that maybe you've gotten more used to the charge-in-and-kill-everybody style, and maybe forgotten about stealth. ... Maybe.

  12. SM3DL2 Thursday 8th Nov 2012 at 21:55

    80%? :shock: I wanted a laugh, so I decided to read this review. (Nothing like a review of a movie tie-in to cheer you up :D ) But 80%? Wow!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.