Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

FIFA 11 Wii Review

EA takes it to the streets for a spot of five-a-side

FIFA 11 is the closest EA has come yet to finally delivering the best football game on the Wii, and it's all thanks to its new five-a-side game mode.

FIFA hasn't had a good five-a-side mode since the tremendous FIFA 98: Road To The World Cup, so its return in FIFA 11 is very welcome. Our favourite pitches are outdoors and, as in the old FIFA Street series, you're able to rebound passes off the wall and even wall-run to get past opponents.

The key to what makes this five-a-side mode so entertaining is the fact that, unlike FIFA Street, this mode is still mainly grounded in realism. The controls and skills are exactly the same as those in a full 11-on-11 match so there are no ridiculous cartwheel shots and no physics-defying flicks. In short, it feels like a real five-a-side game.

Click to view larger image

Having A Ball

FIFA 11 also has a new Streets To Stadiums mode. It's similar to the Be A Pro mode that's long been a part of the Xbox 360, PS3 and even DS versions of the game, and the fact that it's finally here is great news. You create a player and have to take them from complete anonymity to superstardom over the course of five seasons. It's slightly different to Be A Pro mode because rather than starting in the reserves with a club team, your first season takes place on the street football circuit instead.

This gives you a chance to get involved in some five-a-side footy before going pro the following season, and it's an addictive mode, mainly due to the challenges that are set before each match. You can choose which of these to accept, and each one you successfully complete will earn you fame points which let you unlock new skills and accessories. It's just a shame that this mode has only five seasons.

Ironically, if all you're looking for is standard eleven-a-side football, that's where FIFA 11 becomes less of an essential purchase. The normal friendly, tournament and Battle For Glory modes are more or less unchanged this year other than the obvious kit and squad updates, with the only real difference being the (much appreciated) removal of that slow motion effect every time you take a shot.

It's a shame, as Battle For Glory could have done with some more menu options to bring it more in line with the Manager mode in the other versions of FIFA 11. As it is, it's playable but you do little more than play games and sort transfers. This year, though, it's clear that the focus is on five-a-side multiplayer and the Streets To Stadiums mode, and we can happily report that both are superb additions.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in issue 61 of Official Nintendo Magazine. For more in-depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts, buy the magazine when it goes on sale on 30 September.

Comments

28 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Zasten Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 09:54

    Glad to see us wii owners have finally got a great mode in our footy game that no other console has =) normally we get a lazy port of any game thats on other consoles, with lesser graphics (more due to wiis hardware) lesser modes and lesser online options. i will definately be getting this, although i like pes i cant stand playing as north london any more. its arsenal dammit!!!!

  2. shane12234 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 10:08

    It just looks so horrible :? :shock: :shock: :shock:

  3. olrodlegacy Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 10:09

    First the positives: Nice to see the five a side is up to FIFA 98 (which i really enjoyed) and the slow motion is gone from FIFA 10 (which i didn't). Now the negatives: Why no manager mode???? Even the Gamecube FIFAs have manager mode. Its the part which sells the game, and the most immersive and enjoyable mode. Was there no Be A Pro either? The other consoles have had that for three years now, and not including it is just weak.

  4. andrea987 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 10:16

    First the positives: Nice to see the five a side is up to FIFA 98 (which i really enjoyed) and the slow motion is gone from FIFA 10 (which i didn't). Now the negatives: Why no manager mode???? Even the Gamecube FIFAs have manager mode. Its the part which sells the game, and the most immersive and enjoyable mode. Was there no Be A Pro either? The other consoles have had that for three years now, and not including it is just weak.

    As I thought, they haven't changed and made better what we (Wii owners and football lovers) wanted, the 'traditional' 11vs11. If I want Fifa Street I'll buy Fifa Street, not Fifa 11! Again a watered down version for us... Pes this year again then. Shame. :x

  5. Zasten Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 10:22

    First the positives: Nice to see the five a side is up to FIFA 98 (which i really enjoyed) and the slow motion is gone from FIFA 10 (which i didn't). Now the negatives: Why no manager mode???? Even the Gamecube FIFAs have manager mode. Its the part which sells the game, and the most immersive and enjoyable mode. >WAS THERE NO BE A PRO EITHER<? The other consoles have had that for three years now, and not including it is just weak.

    yes there is, it is a new wii exclusive mode, read the article properly mate =)

  6. dm_1782 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 10:48

    Im really sorry ONM this looks and sounds unsurprisingly crap. I think I'll stick to Pro.

  7. andrea987 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 11:02

    Just a question: no mention of the online options? It's one of the best parts of footy games, so has improved from last year skimpy version or not? I suspect not, but it will be nice to know...

  8. dm_1782 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 11:13

    Just a question: no mention of the online options? It's one of the best parts of footy games, so has improved from last year skimpy version or not? I suspect not, but it will be nice to know...

    My advice would be to stick with the new Pes thats coming out. Its looks to be the best yet, especially with the option to use the classic controller and the Wii controls at the same time, something which for some reason was missing from last years edition.

  9. andrea987 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 11:43

    Just a question: no mention of the online options? It's one of the best parts of footy games, so has improved from last year skimpy version or not? I suspect not, but it will be nice to know...

    My advice would be to stick with the new Pes thats coming out. Its looks to be the best yet, especially with the option to use the classic controller and the Wii controls at the same time, something which for some reason was missing from last years edition.


    I agree, though I was waiting for the acclaimed 'Master League Online' and it looks as we're not gonna get it. Even Konami treat Wii as a second-class console. :cry:

  10. Andy88 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 15:18

    Am I the only one that genuinely liked FIFA Street?:D
    Fun gameplay, great soundtrack and the commentator was hilarious (even if it was unintentional)
    Cut it some slack Chris!

    As for FIFA 11 on Wii - I think I'll just play it on my brother's 360. The Wii doesn't seem to be the greatest system for sports games.

  11. Mr Kirby Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 15:22

    Why on earth are the creaters of this game so thick...

    Most if not all of the football fans who will look at the wii version and think of getting it will just be disgusted at the graphics, the wii is capable of sooo mcuh more than this, i just wonder why they can't see that. Other than that, the game has some neat things in it, but for me, with Goldeneye comming out and with Zelda and Kirby out a few months later i will have to give this one a miss. Because i just don't have enough money...

  12. wolvesfan64 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 15:47

    seriously? still no manager mode? I was really looking forward to this only after hearing that this one would have a full, detailed manager mode. I'll buy this but I won't be surprised if I trade it in before Christmas and make do with FIFA 09 for a third year

  13. NintendoFan14 Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 17:33

    It doesn't sound good enough a game to justify the purchase...

  14. South London Thursday 30th Sep 2010 at 17:44

    if this game is anything like last years its going back to the shop the very next day. last years was the worst football game i have ever played and after reading this review im seriously doubting that 88%. christ, is it really that close to a gold award? it must be good..? im actually regretting pre-ordering it now.

    i cant believe how late this review is (and its not anywhere else either) and its out tonight, yet the review doesnt actually tell me anything. can you use a classic controller?? is their online play?? don't like the sound of this 5 a side mode i bought it for a normal 11 on 11 game.

  15. wolfy98 Friday 1st Oct 2010 at 11:21

    i hated fifa 10 on wii

  16. olrodlegacy Friday 1st Oct 2010 at 15:10

    First the positives: Nice to see the five a side is up to FIFA 98 (which i really enjoyed) and the slow motion is gone from FIFA 10 (which i didn't). Now the negatives: Why no manager mode???? Even the Gamecube FIFAs have manager mode. Its the part which sells the game, and the most immersive and enjoyable mode. >WAS THERE NO BE A PRO EITHER<? The other consoles have had that for three years now, and not including it is just weak.

    yes there is, it is a new wii exclusive mode, read the article properly mate =)

    Aha yes... but once again it isnt the same as the other consoles are getting. I'm rarely jealous of the other consoles, but fifa is the exception because it could really be so much better...

    Edit: Just played the game for the first time and i must say the five-a-side is the highlight of the game... because battle for glory mode really is poor, it hasnt been changed since last year so once again lacks depth

  17. andrea987 Friday 1st Oct 2010 at 19:52

    I've read the article in the mag and online options are not mentioned in there too. Actually, there's hardly anything more than in the online review. But there's a detailed box about all the different goals available in the street mode! Yippiee! :roll:

  18. ShadowofPain Saturday 2nd Oct 2010 at 08:37

    Am I the only one that genuinely liked FIFA Street?:D
    Fun gameplay, great soundtrack and the commentator was hilarious (even if it was unintentional)
    Cut it some slack Chris!

    As for FIFA 11 on Wii - I think I'll just play it on my brother's 360. The Wii doesn't seem to be the greatest system for sports games.

    I liked the first Fifa Street. Heck it's the only Fifa game I really actually got into. I've never really been a fan of footy games in general.

    However I thought the 2nd and 3rd Fifa Street games were trash though...

  19. mike69 Saturday 2nd Oct 2010 at 17:10

    seriously? still no manager mode? i'll make do with FIFA 09 for a third year

    same here to buddy what a let down again

  20. andrea987 Saturday 2nd Oct 2010 at 22:46

    Please ONM, have Nintendo make a football game for Wii (a serious one, with some dept, not another mario strikers of course), at least it will have decent graphics and more lasting appeal. And it will have a guaranteed gold award in onm!...Only joking.:wink: Not joking about the football game though.

  21. LaytonMario3 Monday 4th Oct 2010 at 16:59

    I hate football games...

  22. metaknight2 Monday 4th Oct 2010 at 21:25

    FIFA 11 is terrible! Absolute waste of money. The graphics are horrible, unrealistic to say the least. 88% is too much. More like 70%. PES will surely out do it once again. And why is FIFA so good on other consoles, but not on the Wii?

    And also, when is PES going to be released on the Wii?

  23. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 6th Oct 2010 at 10:58

    not that keen nba better

  24. South London Wednesday 6th Oct 2010 at 22:18

    FIFA 11 is terrible! Absolute waste of money. The graphics are horrible, unrealistic to say the least. 88% is too much. More like 70%. PES will surely out do it once again. And why is FIFA so good on other consoles, but not on the Wii?

    And also, when is PES going to be released on the Wii?

    i think pes is out on friday. if you think this fifa is bad then you should of seen it last year. trust me, fifa 11 is ten times better than last year!

    after playing it all week now, the more ive played the more i like it but i still think pes will be better.

    they could both be hugely improved though...

  25. CelticFC98 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 22:05

    I want to know what the shooting is like. They said the slow-motion has been taken away but are the shots still always very accurate and very powerful or is it like the xbox and ps3 ones

  26. andrea987 Saturday 16th Oct 2010 at 00:47

    I want to know what the shooting is like. They said the slow-motion has been taken away but are the shots still always very accurate and very powerful or is it like the xbox and ps3 ones


    No, they're not always on target, most of the time they go either side of the goal and goalkeepers are much better. PES will be A LOT better, though, I'm sure.

  27. xs3mx Sunday 14th Nov 2010 at 21:41

    Honestly Better Than Fifa 08 & 10 But Not As Good As Fifa 09 Its Good But This Is What Fifa 10 Should Have Been. I Miss The Menus From 10 Though.

    As For The Graphics There Not That Bad I Have This Hooked To A Full HD TV With Component Cables & Seeing This On Display Next To It On The Ps3 It Would Look Good & Stand Its Ground Due To How Great & Cartooninsh It Looks Is Propberly The Best They Are Going To Get As If They Had It Realistic It Would Look Like A Ps2 Games But The Gaphics Are Nice & COlourful Most Chartacters Look Like There Real Life Counterparts Such As Fabregas ^ Arshavin & There Is Hardly Any Blur Or Jaggys Here On The Pitch Or The Characters Which IUs A First On Th Wii Just The Outline Of Stadiums Look Jaggy As Hell.


    But Overall Not Bas

  28. Mighty Shouter Tuesday 7th Dec 2010 at 19:34

    This game is absolutely shocking! I first had my doubts when I saw the graphics but thought the gameplay would make up for it. Turns out I was wrong. Very wrong. I had bought the game on release day and returned it exactly 2 weeks later. Why not keep FIFA 09's Manager Mode and improve on it instead of including this Battle for Glory piece of s***? Even the FIFA 09 graphics are better! Why should us Wii owners have to suffer just because it's not PS3 or Xbox 360? Are EA always gonna keep shoving shoddy pieces of crap like this onto the Wii?

    I've started a thread about this issue. Check it out if you want. -> viewtopic.php?t=81995

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.