Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Wii Party review

The big Christmas game of 2010? We reckon so

Wii Party is exactly what a party game should be. It almost feels as though Nintendo has decided to step forward after four years of rubbish mini-game compilations and say "look everyone, this is how you're meant to do it".

The numerous game modes are split into three categories: Group Play, Pair Play and House Party. The Group Play modes are designed for up to four players and the first mode featured in Group Play is Board Game Island which is like an enhanced version of Snakes And Ladders with mini-games thrown into the mix. Before each turn, all four players compete in a mini-game to determine the order in which they'll roll. On top of this, you'll also get a second die depending on your ranking in the mini-game. These dice let you move extra spaces, with the gold and silver ones more likely to roll higher numbers.

Click to view larger image
The aim is to get to the top of the island before anyone else does. It's simple stuff and with four players it can get really competitive. The various special tiles also keep things interesting: one sends you to a volcano if you land on it, meaning that you have to clear another ten spaces before you get out, whereas another lets you summon a tornado to pick up one of your opponents and send them back a number of spaces. It's the best mode ion the game and truly feels like the modern equivalent of what a board game should be.

All Around The World

Globe Trot plays like Mario Party. The aim is to travel round a large map of the world by rolling the dice and landing on spaces but whereas Mario Party had you using coins to buy stars, this time you're tasked with visiting certain locations in the world and paying ten coins for a souvenir photo to prove you were there. There's a little more tactical freedom here than there was in Mario Party however, because instead of chasing down one star at a time, here you're given a list of three landmarks to visit. You also have to get the exact number of moves to land on the space and buy the souvenir, so it's not necessarily a race to get there first this time, which keeps things fun. Mini-games are thrown in after each turn, which helps you win more coins.

Pair Play consists of three modes - Friend Connection, Match-Up and Balance Boat - and it's the latter that's easily the best of the bunch. This involves both players balancing Miis on a boat to make sure it doesn't tip over. After each round a co-op mini-game is played. Fail that and the Miis being placed will be completely different sizes, making it much harder to keep things balanced. We adore this mode and it makes for one of the best two-player co-op experiences you'll find on the Wii.

Click to view larger image
There's also Friend Connection, where two people play mini-games together to see how well they connect, and Match-up which is a fancy version of the classic 'match two' card game you've seen time and time again, although it's been presented in a rather charming way with loads of Miis wandering around in a park.

Finally, there's House Party mode, which is more focused on real life interactions. These range from daft mini-games like Hide And Seek, where you hide the Remote (which beeps occasionally) and the other players have to find it, and a cheeky quiz game where you have to answer questions about the other players to see how well you all know each other. Though these ones are aimed at slightly younger players they're still fun, especially the one where you have to slowly pass the Remote around as if it were a bomb.

Don't Go Solo

The game comes with a free Wii Remote which is a bonus for anyone wanting to play a multiplayer game because, let's face it, there's little to see here for the solo player. With two or ideally more players, Wii Party comes alive. The charming, high quality presentation will bring a smile to anyone's face, and the wide variety of mini games on offer here make Wii Party a quality multiplayer game. It's pleasing to see that where so many other games companies have tried to make a quick buck out of the party game genre, Wii Party proves that this kind of title can be well made, good fun and bursting with fresh ideas. Add in that extra Wii Remote and you've a great package - and one that we're confident will become one of the biggest games of the year on any format.

This is an edited version of a review that appears in issue 61 of Official Nintendo Magazine. For more in-depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts, buy the magazine here.

Comments

31 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 13:38

    first post :D
    should i get this
    also how much is this

  2. bluelight Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 15:06

    Very good review, I'm glad ONM actually cares to review games like this properly. Wii Party looks great and a solid party game from Nintendo and I think it will be a nice purchase. I've seen other reviews of this game, but wow, none of them even tell you why they dislike it so much. Thanks ONM to give Nintendo game sthe respect they deserve. :)

  3. SuperMarioFan886 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 15:47

    Well, obviously this would get a good review. It's ONM reviewing a NIntendo game. A sad, casual game. I miss the good old days.

  4. random_guy_14 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 16:36

    ONM are fools. The big Christmas games of 2010 are clearly Super Mario All-Stars and DKC Returns.

  5. SuperMarioFan886 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 16:38

    ONM are fools. The big Christmas games of 2010 are clearly Super Mario All-Stars and DKC Returns.

  6. tomonm Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 16:56

    ONM are fools. The big Christmas games of 2010 are clearly Super Mario All-Stars and DKC Returns.

    Well we didn't know that Super Mario All-Stars was coming to the UK until this morning, before this review was written. Besides, I think Chris means biggest as in best selling. As excited as we all are about Donkey Kong Country Returns and Super Mario All Stars, this could be the best selling Wii game this Christmas as all the families who own a Wii will be playing it.

  7. capmanchris Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 17:11

    Well clearly some effort has went into making this. But my big game for christmas is goldeneye wii without a doubt.

  8. random_guy_14 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 17:21

    ONM are fools. The big Christmas games of 2010 are clearly Super Mario All-Stars and DKC Returns.

    Well we didn't know that Super Mario All-Stars was coming to the UK until this morning, before this review was written. Besides, I think Chris means biggest as in best selling. As excited as we all are about Donkey Kong Country Returns and Super Mario All Stars, this could be the best selling Wii game this Christmas as all the families who own a Wii will be playing it.

    I know that, I'm just joking.

  9. kirby711 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 17:43

    Not to mention that Golden Sun Dark Dawn is coming out 10 December...

    I will be getting Wii party and I will enjoy it. I won't moan about how casual it is, I'll play it as it is.

  10. LaytonMario3 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 17:44

    ONM are fools. The big Christmas games of 2010 are clearly Super Mario All-Stars and DKC Returns.

    Well we didn't know that Super Mario All-Stars was coming to the UK until this morning, before this review was written. Besides, I think Chris means biggest as in best selling. As excited as we all are about Donkey Kong Country Returns and Super Mario All Stars, this could be the best selling Wii game this Christmas as all the families who own a Wii will be playing it.

    I know that, I'm just joking.

    What games are in mario all stars?

  11. Mous3y Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 18:12

    Well, obviously this would get a good review. It's ONM reviewing a NIntendo game. A sad, casual game. I miss the good old days.


    This! I've nothing against casual games really but when that's most of what is on the game shelves!! Generic rubbish with generic people advertising it. (The miis don't look that good either) Also according to this review 'Wii Party is exactly what a party game should be. It almost feels as though Nintendo has decided to step forward after four years of rubbish mini-game compilations and say "look everyone, this is how you're meant to do it."'

    Then if it's so great, how come it only got 82%?

  12. sciqueen Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 18:52

    The Metro newspaper suggests to stick with Mario Party...

    It was a good review by the way: they took the time to play the game and noted all the good and bad points.

  13. LaytonMario3 Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 19:09

    The Metro newspaper suggests to stick with Mario Party...

    It was a good review by the way: they took the time to play the game and noted all the good and bad points.

    You read the Metro? That's like only on trains and buses. Plus its a newspaper...but its free!!!

  14. ChrisONM Thursday 7th Oct 2010 at 20:39

    Well, obviously this would get a good review. It's ONM reviewing a NIntendo game. A sad, casual game. I miss the good old days.


    You've played it then?

  15. sciqueen Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 08:56

    The Metro newspaper suggests to stick with Mario Party...

    It was a good review by the way: they took the time to play the game and noted all the good and bad points.

    You read the Metro? That's like only on trains and buses. Plus its a newspaper...but its free!!!


    LOL My old DS Phat doesn't have a great battery life so what else am I supposed to do on long train journeys?!

  16. Mous3y Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 10:04

    The Metro newspaper suggests to stick with Mario Party...

    It was a good review by the way: they took the time to play the game and noted all the good and bad points.

    Mario party is great and so is Wario ware!

  17. shane12234 Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 12:13

    I cant belive ive just got this!!!!
    if it wasnt for the wiimote that came with it i would have bin very dissapointed.
    The games are so short and pretty poor with the odd exeption, im not happy , i just dont think its that much fun. :(

  18. ledreppe Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 14:27

    My copy came this morning, and my Mum has already beaten me at 'match pairs', and she has avoided even lifting a Wiimote until now! :lol: It just goes to show that you don't have to be a hardcore gamer with years of experience to be good at a game like Wii Party.

    My Mum seemed very happy that she was matching pairs of different coloured Mii's together. The included remote really makes this game worth the Ł28.85 I paid for it, it even comes with a rubber jacket and 2 batteries, wasn't expecting that! :o There is a huge 'operations guide', as Nintendo call it, which has every language under the sun in it except English (very odd) :? , but there is another manual inside the disc case too.

    If you like your party games, then Wii Party is definitely for you, as it is the most polished Wii party game there is. Otherwise your going to hate this game, but you already know that.

    Oh.. and my Dad got a 'perfect game' of 10 pin bowls last night on Wii Sports! :) I've never done that before, my best is a 7-pack. More proof that Wii has expanded its audience.

  19. Gavin Rozee Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 14:29

    Fun little game. Wish my two sisters were around so we could play four player, but two player with the girlfriend isn't too shabby either.

    I'm having trouble finding that little single player game where your Mii's water plants or something though, lol.

  20. SuperLuigiBros Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 16:38

    I cant belive ive just got this!!!!
    if it wasnt for the wiimote that came with it i would have bin very dissapointed.
    The games are so short and pretty poor with the odd exeption, im not happy , i just dont think its that much fun. :(


    I'm guessing you haven't played the multilayer then? The reason it got 82% is because the single player isn't fun. See the posts after yours and you might get it.

    I see nothing wrong with casual games and though I'd rather play Ocarina of Time or Mario Bros this sounds really good fun and I'll be getting it for Christmas

  21. OrangeRakoon Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 18:01

    Which would work out cheaper - getting a wii mote or getting this, taking the wii mote and then trading it in?

  22. luigidolphin Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 20:34

    What if you already have four remotes? Will a version without come out?

    I can't think of any games that use more than four.

  23. FriarLawrenceIII Friday 8th Oct 2010 at 20:47

    What if you already have four remotes? Will a version without come out?

    I can't think of any games that use more than four.


    http://fashionlawyerblog.com/wp-content/uploads/2008/07/ebay_logo_office_sign.jpg

  24. chaz 1805 Saturday 9th Oct 2010 at 11:59


    I'm having trouble finding that little single player game where your Mii's water plants or something though, lol.

    Go onto minigames on the main menu, then go on challenges and it's there. :)

    So far I'm really enjoying this game, I haven't played it in multiplayer yet, but my friends are coming round tomorrow so looking forward to playing it then!

  25. Moo-dyman Saturday 9th Oct 2010 at 13:10

    Cant wait to get this.

  26. darthmario Sunday 10th Oct 2010 at 17:12

    Won't be getting this. Sick to death of party games on Wii. Got bored of Wii Sports Resort within days. Only one decent Wii game has come out this year (Galaxy 2) and maybe DKC if that's any good.

  27. SuperMarioFan886 Monday 11th Oct 2010 at 14:59

    i hate nintendo now, effing casuals.

  28. ChrisONM Monday 11th Oct 2010 at 15:03

    Won't be getting this. Sick to death of party games on Wii. Got bored of Wii Sports Resort within days. Only one decent Wii game has come out this year (Galaxy 2) and maybe DKC if that's any good.


    Monster Hunter Tri, Metroid: Other M, No More Heroes 2, Sin & Punishment 2, Red Steel 2, Silent Hill: Shattered Memories, Tiger Woods, Guitar Hero: Warriors Of Rock, NBA Jam, LEGO Harry Potter, Batman: The Brave & Bold, Spider-Man: Shattered Dimensions, Fragile Dreams, Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing, Endless Ocean 2 and Sonic Colours would like to have a word with you. :wink:

  29. kirby711 Monday 11th Oct 2010 at 15:15

    This game is great, but it isn't up there with Mario and all.

    The main downside is the solo player, but otherwise it's great.

  30. Switzerninmaster Saturday 16th Oct 2010 at 11:03

    Is there a shop where you can buy this without a remote?

  31. RTY1998 Thursday 25th Aug 2011 at 11:04

    I believe this game is the converter. I had two Xbox loving, Wii hating friends that one time came over to play Wii Party an they instantly fell in love with the Wii and this proves Nintendo has done it's job.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.