Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1 Wii review

Can the hog still run rings around the opposition?

Sonic the Hedgehog 4 for WiiWare is a return to two-dimensional form where the hog really belongs - loud and proud on the living room TV screen. Officially seen as the follow-on to 1994's Sonic & Knuckles, the Sonic template has been stripped back down to its roots and the rest of the cast have been confined to their burrows. This is the simple tale of one hedgehog running from left to right very, very quickly indeed.

You can either play for a high score or a low time and, as ever, the challenge throughout is to keep up your momentum and your quota of rings - without which you'll be cruelly exposed to the fatal dangers of the mechanised wildlife that roam through each of the three levels that are attached to all four of the game's zones.

Click to view larger image
The Splash Hill Zone is a loving tribute to the beauty and simplicity of the Green Hill Zone and confrontations with Eggman are reminiscent of former battles yet all have a fresh spin.

The highlight of this episode is the Casino Street Zone - which has the hog journeying through levels made of fruit machines, pinball tables, neon lights, bumpers, flippers and stacks of cards. It's a platforming masterclass.

A-Maze-Ing

Beyond the neon retro pleasantries of Casino Street's spinning racks of dice there are the ancient stone loops of the Lost Labyrinth and the green metal of Mad Gear to contend with, the latter being an insane network of valves, pipes, spinning cogs and hedgehog-threatening machines.

The gameplay is inspired throughout, and for every returning gameplay hero (Sonic leaping for oxygen bubbles in flooded ruins), there's a new and intriguing concept (Sonic running through darkened halls with a flaming torch, lighting dynamite fuses as he passes). The original game's special stages, in which you roll Sonic around floating mazes in the pursuit of Chaos Emeralds, also return here - motion control comes by tilting the Wiimote.

This game could have been an outright classic, but sadly there are a few moments that jar. Generally the difficulty levels are perfect - the early levels are a breeze, while the climactic Robotnik battles and the winding paths through his Mad Gear machines are suitably fiendish, yet satisfying to defeat.

Sad to say, then, that once in a while Sonic 4 conjures up show-stopping puzzles or platform sections that don't quite feel fair - suddenly robbing the game of its momentum and discolouring the sheer brilliance that's otherwise on show. This happens rarely enough to forgive, but too frequently to forget.

Click to view larger image
Despite this, Sonic 4 is a blistering sequel that hammers every nostalgia button going, yet at all times manages to feel like it's an entirely new game, rather than an exploitative rehash.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the December issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which will be on sale on 28 October. For more in depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts get the mag when it goes on sale.

Comments

66 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Cyberguy Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 15:21

    Not a bad score. I'll read it in ONM.

  2. Mart2006 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 15:27

    Will Porter? Come again?

  3. Sabrewulf Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 15:44

    Have to say I didn't expect that high a score, now quite tempted to pick it up. I was a Megadrive boy after all and nothing like a nostalgia trip!

  4. blublur101 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 15:45

    expected the score to be a little higher (about 92%) but it's really good to hear it's gotten a good review. can't wait for friday, i'm gonna get up super early to get to play this for a while before school :D

    EDIT: i actually thought the minus point was gonna be 'costs to much'. weird.

  5. SuperLuigiBros Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 15:46

    Will Porter? Come again?


    They've got loads and loads of new writers in on ONM.

    88% is a grand score! I thought it would be a 90%-er but hey ho! Will probs download this if I can be bothered to upload all my Wii Points

  6. blublur101 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 15:55

    just wonderin- in the 'sonic the hedgehog story' feature, it said the story would be continued when sonic 4 came out. any news on that?

  7. bananaoomarang Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 16:01

    YAY 88%, that's a seriously respectable score.

    SEGA, good job!! Please don't muck up colours though...

  8. sciqueen Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 16:37

    If Sega can do a game that follows on from Sonic&Knuckles maybe they will finish the story of Ecco The Dolphin...!

  9. geengy Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 16:56

    Will this appear in the top 20 wii games chart?

    Awesome review!

  10. SuperLuigiBros Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 17:06

    Will this appear in the top 20 wiiWARE games chart?


    Probs as the bottom game only has about 82%

  11. super yoshifan Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 17:07

    Will this appear in the top 20 wii games chart?

    Awesome review!

    It's WiiWare :/

    Also, good review, just to clarify, is this Episode 1 or all of them?

  12. Wiintendo Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 17:10

    Very good review ONM :)

    I'll be sure to download it ASAP and I'm sure Episode II will hopefully clear out those minor flaws ya mentioned

  13. IG-42 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 17:22

    you marked it down for that? you're not still sore over the barrel thing 16 years later are you?

  14. noodle link Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 17:31

    I haven't played it, so I guess I can't question this. Good review guys.

  15. random_guy_14 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 17:33

    Ha ha, given less than 90% because of difficult sections. That's just petty, like, very petty.

    Next you'll be saying NSMBWii got 96%, despite the fact it deserved a lower score. Oh wait a minute-

    EDIT: Just realised, NSMBWii got 96% because it's easier, has nothing to do with the fact Sonic 4 is the better game, and you're too afraid to admit it.

  16. Deep4t Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 18:35

    I enjoyed every second of sonic 4 apart from the torch puzzle, was just outa place

  17. ploiper Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 18:49

    i hate this game and would give it a much lower score. i dont want to, maby i will start to like it the more playthroughs i have of it, but even as a massive sonic fan, i cant like this game.

  18. BlueLink3411 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 19:39

    Hmm, 88%. Not a bad score. Still don't know if I should should get it from XBox Live Arcade when I get a 360 or not. Price matters in this day and age. :(

  19. Gameking53 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 19:51

    Good review, ONM. Haven't played the game so I won't judge, but 88% is a good score indeed. Good job, Sega!

    I'll be getting this for WiiWare on Friday! :D

  20. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 20:43

    good review showing that ign gave it 8
    might get

  21. blublur101 Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 21:23

    Also, good review, just to clarify, is this Episode 1 or all of them?


    just episode one.

  22. sonicka Wednesday 13th Oct 2010 at 23:48

    Ha ha, given less than 90% because of difficult sections. That's just petty, like, very petty.


    Not really. The few difficult sections that appear in the game are frustrating to complete because they hinder the gameplay rather than make it challenging. When it's not your fault that you die, it's generally because of bad level design.

    The summary is only a summary of 5 points. The one negative doesn't account for the 88% mark alone. Sonic 4 is a great game, and one that perhaps leans a little too heavily on nostalgia. There are plenty of things Sonic Team and Dimps can do to improve the second episode.

  23. wilrc6 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 00:43

    DONT READ THIS POST IF YOU HAVEN'T PLAYED THE GAME AND DON'T WANT IT SPOILED FOR YOU.

    Ive been playing the XBox360 version since Wednesday and all I can say is 'Sonic the Bodgejob'. Four zones which are all basically revamped versions of Sonic 1 & 2 zones. The first zone is exactly like Emerald Hill/Green Hill with Eggman using a swing ball on the boss stage, the second like Casino Night with elements of a pinball table and identical Eggman boss stage, the third is like Aquatic Ruin / Labyrinth with elements like underwater, water slides and the eggman battle. The forth is like Metropolis Zone with the cogs, exploding starfish, warp tubes etc. And the special stage is the same as the one from Sonic 1.

    I think SEGA took it a bit to literally when we said we wanted a sonic game the same as they were in the 2D days.

    All in all I was extremely dissapointed. I would give it 75% at a push.

  24. nintengeek Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 01:33

    I have to admit ONM can be pretty biased. NSMB Wii was a good game but there is no way it should have got 96%

  25. BOWIEtheHERO Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 07:10

    No one taking into account the broken physics?
    Ok then.
    Sonic 4 suffers from broken physics.

    Momentum is one thing about the old games that made them perfect, taking time to speed up and time to slow down, instead of just letting go of the forward button and stopping nigh on instantly. Especially in the air. If you're going fricking fast in the air letting go of forward WON'T make you just drop in the old games, in this game you do...
    His jumps feel airier where usually the gravity in his jumps is what gave the old games that real sense of platforming.

    The forward push thing is cool though, and the homing rush has been nicely implemented into this...
    Just a shame about how it plays as a whole

  26. emperor ing Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 07:18

    Seen this getting quite a few positive reviews which pleases with with my choice of getting the 360 version later on.

  27. Linebeck013 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 07:30

    My friend already has it for xbox 360,there release date was ealier. Its pretty good, hoping the Wii version is just as good. Not sure about the motion controls for the special stages, but we'll see

  28. cconroy1 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 08:12

    Sega you have finally learnt from your mistakes. Useing what make sonic great and inproved it with the graphics.

    Bought damn time. :shock: :shock: :shock:

  29. cconroy1 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 08:12

    Sega you have finally learnt from your mistakes. Useing what make sonic great and inproved it with the graphics.

    Bought damn time. :shock: :shock: :shock:

  30. hardcoregamerrob Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 08:36

    i completed this on my IPhone but still be getting it for my wii :D

    The only problem I had with it was the game seem to take to much from the old games like levels and bosses but that is the story dr.eggman goes back and redesgins his robots and machines but would liked of seen a a completly new level or something. Also there's not many levels, this episode thing is kinda stupid they should of just made the game in one really :?
    But all together its a really good game everyone should get it :D

  31. omegoku Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 09:17

    It is good to see Sonic is getting close to back on form.
    It would be silly to assume Sega could match Sonic 3, but it looks like they did pretty good.
    If it was 33% cheaper than it is currently is I would pick this up.
    It is just too short for the asking price

  32. 4_swords Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 11:28

    I have to say this is a highly entertaining review by Will Porter. He took the game without criticising it too badly and was concerned more on the game play.

    Sadly after reading this review and having my own opinions of the game I don't consider this as part of the original series at all and will not be buying it.

    There is not point if there are going to be areas in stages that hold you back, Sonic was about speed and being very limited, now he is armed with the homing attack from the sonic adventure series and for me that seems like cheating.

    All sonic could do back in the day was run jump and roll and that's all we need really the power ups created the dynamics of change but not to the level shown within this game.

    Furthermore and I know alot of people will be sick of hearing it, but that is not sonic that's the sonic from adventure onwards a lanky waste of space within the gaming world and while original sonic may be a little podgy the fact is at least he could run and didn't have to put his arms behind his back.

    The pre rendered sprite available in this game is disgusting and I will never be able to consider this as the game the actual fans where asking for.

    I also love how Sega is trying to pocket money from the original gamers here and its nonsense that they couldn't use the retro sonic you go into a GAME or gamestation shop and you will see plenty of merchandise ranging from t-shirts to toys.

    A massive shame on the game but I am looking forward to more reviews from Will Porter.

  33. random_guy_14 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 11:30

    Oh lol, letting some ONM reviewer who you've never heard of before make the decision for you. That's like asking Nick Griffin what the main problems are in the UK.

  34. 4_swords Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 11:48

    Do you know how to read?

    I have had my own opinions on this game for ages and the stuff I have wrote is why I don't want this game also in what way is it like asking Nick Griffin what the problems are with the UK he is a racist scum bag.]

    I said that the review was very entertaining and I hoped to see more from this new reviewer I don't know how that bad thing in anyway.

    and from that comment "That's like asking Nick Griffin what the main problems are in the UK." you could say that like going to a Video game shop and buying a game.

    and also it shows you are childish due to the use of lol for no apparent reason and if you are going to make a comparison make it worthy.

    Now I'm not saying that other people shouldn't buy the game if they choose to let them be.

  35. Colgax Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 12:48

    I wasn't expecting for a game that I would manage to finish on a single day...

    The game isn't bad... But it isn't like a New Super Mario Bros Wii

  36. sonicka Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 14:17

    Hilarious. I enjoyed reading your posts 4_swords.

    However it's a shame you won't be picking up and enjoying the same game fans have hammered after for for years simply because of the aesthetics and the additional homing attack move (which, rest assured - actually adds rather than detracts from gameplay.)

    Sonic 4 is a bold move in the right direction for SEGA. Episode 1 is a great homage to the original 3/4 games that takes the original formula into the modern era with great level design and adds a few new twists. The additional episodes/content is a great way for them to set the bar higher in the future and hone in on the first episode's niggles.

    The game is like a tease, but I'm very much looking forward to playing through Sonic 4 once it's become the complete package.

  37. South London Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 15:30

    I have to admit ONM can be pretty biased. NSMB Wii was a good game but there is no way it should have got 96%


    yes it should

  38. South London Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 15:32

    It is good to see Sonic is getting close to back on form.
    It would be silly to assume Sega could match Sonic 3, but it looks like they did pretty good.
    If it was 33% cheaper than it is currently is I would pick this up.
    It is just too short for the asking price


    thats what i was actually hoping to read in the review. is it worth a tenner?

    it should be 1000 points (Ł7)

  39. South London Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 15:34

    Will this appear in the top 20 wii games chart?


    Probs as the bottom game only has about 82%

    its not a wii game so it will be in the wii ware list (if its high enough).

  40. blublur101 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 16:21

    and from that comment "That's like asking Nick Griffin what the main problems are in the UK." you could say that like going to a Video game shop and buying a game.


    ....

    how?

    if you are going to make a comparison make it worthy.

  41. IfritXVII Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 18:54

    I'm surprised by the score. Either the reviewer has completely forgotten how the classics played or has simply chosen to ignore S4's flaws.

    I fully expect Colours to get a higher score.

  42. Rabbid_girl Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 19:05

    This score is about as predictable as 16:00 1 minute after 15:59-aka very

    Nearly all sonic games these days are 70-89%

    Is there ever a sonic game that has got a gold award?

  43. blublur101 Thursday 14th Oct 2010 at 19:13

    This score is about as predictable as 16:00 1 minute after 15:59-aka very

    Nearly all sonic games these days are 70-89%

    Is there ever a sonic game that has got a gold award?


    sonic the hedgehog, sonic the hedgehog 2, sonic 3, sonic advance, sonic rush, sonic rush adventure, sonic chronicles: the dark brotherhood.

  44. gooner77 Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 07:38

    its basically a remake of the original sonic game !

  45. regginator3 Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 12:00

    If somebody rates this lower than NSMBWii they are talking bullcrap unless it's about the length, in which case they fail to realise this is episodic.

  46. Gobster Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 13:08

    Seems alright so far. By no means perfect but it's a damn good effort and a hell of a lot better than Sonic's 3D outings.
    I suppose the reason the levels are so similar to the originals is because Sega probably wanted to play it safe this time. Because this game is episodic, there's plenty of time for them to try some new ideas in future episodes.

  47. hugarh Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 15:54

    If somebody rates this lower than NSMBWii they are talking bullcrap unless it's about the length, in which case they fail to realise this is episodic.


    What about the awful level design (boosters just before downward slopes?) The really bad physics (you can lie down half way through a loop) and the cheap crushing wall section at the end of mad gear 3 (if you managed it first time then clearly you should be working for sega)?

  48. sonicka Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 16:39

    its basically a homage to the original 3 sonic games !


    Fixed.

    What about the awful level design (boosters just before downward slopes?) The really bad physics (you can lie down half way through a loop) and the cheap crushing wall section at the end of mad gear 3 (if you managed it first time then clearly you should be working for sega)?

    Wrong on all three counts. The first point is rather ridiculous, the second is something that almost never happens and is only achievable if you spend a good few minutes trying to glitch Sonic into the loop, and the 3rd is a rather brilliant throwback to a certain section of Sonic 3's Hydrocity Zone. Honestly, it's not that hard really, the panic of the level crusher makes you raise your game.

  49. Smash-bros fan Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 19:10

    I have to admit ONM can be pretty biased. NSMB Wii was a good game but there is no way it should have got 96%


    yeah thats just biased

  50. hugarh Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 20:47

    Wrong on all three counts. The first point is rather ridiculous, the second is something that almost never happens and is only achievable if you spend a good few minutes trying to glitch Sonic into the loop, and the 3rd is a rather brilliant throwback to a certain section of Sonic 3's Hydrocity Zone. Honestly, it's not that hard really, the panic of the level crusher makes you raise your game.


    I wasn't just talking about glitching on loops, which can be done by just crouching. Yes. that takes a lot of effort, I was talking about the general bad physics such as having a limited rolling speed which is barely affected by slopes but having an unlimited running speed which is affected by slopes dramatically, and yes, I know that the wall was a throwback to hydrocity zone, but that doesn't make it any less cheap. The vertical pillars are almost impossible to get through unless you get the entire wall section just right, and even as super sonic you can barely get through them in time

  51. spambot404 Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 21:09

    If somebody rates this lower than NSMBWii they are talking bullcrap unless it's about the length, in which case they fail to realise this is episodic.

    This. Wise man speaks the truth. Also people need to realise this is only episode 1. By the time the final episode comes out you will no doubt be able to "lock on" all the episodes together and play through all of Sonic 4 with perfect physics. And THEN you will have the perfect Sonic game. For now people will have to make do with an 88% game rather than a 95% game.

  52. sonicka Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 22:07

    Wrong on all three counts. The first point is rather ridiculous, the second is something that almost never happens and is only achievable if you spend a good few minutes trying to glitch Sonic into the loop, and the 3rd is a rather brilliant throwback to a certain section of Sonic 3's Hydrocity Zone. Honestly, it's not that hard really, the panic of the level crusher makes you raise your game.


    I wasn't just talking about glitching on loops, which can be done by just crouching. Yes. that takes a lot of effort, I was talking about the general bad physics such as having a limited rolling speed which is barely affected by slopes but having an unlimited running speed which is affected by slopes dramatically, and yes, I know that the wall was a throwback to hydrocity zone, but that doesn't make it any less cheap. The vertical pillars are almost impossible to get through unless you get the entire wall section just right, and even as super sonic you can barely get through them in time


    And yet, I've never died once on Act 3 due to the crushing wall/vertical pillars. I always get the 'you nearly got me but not quite' feeling (which is awesome) which is probably why our opinion differs on that particular level.

    I'll give you the slopes point however, that Sonic runs faster and picks up speed down a hill is great - but the momentum of rolling down a hill is absent from this game (perhaps this is the reason for the boosters? which oddly curl you up automatically). Nonetheless, it is indeed something Dimps have failed to get right since Sonic Rush.

  53. metalgario Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 22:21

    Yep the game does feature broken physics. I played through Splash Hill & Casino Street and had enough of it! There is no speed momentum when up in the air or hitting a surface from a great height. Why didn't they use the engine from Sonic 3 or a Sonic Advance/Rush game?

    Sonic 4? More like Sonic 1.5. I'm really gutted about this Sega :(

    And just a couple of other niggles- why is Sonic a mute all of a sudden? Why does he take up so much of the screen and why is the Boss music the worst in the Sonic series??

    80% at the most, it feels like the game is unfinished

  54. sonicka Friday 15th Oct 2010 at 23:41

    80% at the most, it feels like the game is unfinished


    Probably because it is. Episode 1 is the subtitle for a reason - but i gather what you actually mean. Hopefully they'll be some tidying/patches in the following installments.

    Sonic is also mute because he never speaks. This is a direct follow-up to the classics remember, and not the titles since.

    It's safe to say that minor niggles aside Sonic 4 offers an incredible amount of re-playability. Once you get used to what the game has to offer, going for speed-runs and exploring every nook and cranny of the levels to discover secrets pathways and hidden areas is incredibly satisfying. There's some very good level design/platforming going on here, and it's something that I never realised I missed from recent Sonic titles until now.

    The Advance and Rush series were brilliant in their own right, but lost the density of level exploration in turn of bringing in intense reaction-based speed runs.

  55. hugarh Saturday 16th Oct 2010 at 09:49

    This. Wise man speaks the truth. Also people need to realise this is only episode 1. By the time the final episode comes out you will no doubt be able to "lock on" all the episodes together and play through all of Sonic 4 with perfect physics. And THEN you will have the perfect Sonic game. For now people will have to make do with an 88% game rather than a 95% game.
    This is Wii Ware. There will be no lock on. Episode 1 will always have bad physics untill Sega releases the inevitable disk version after all of the episodes are released, after you've bought all of the parts individually. Episode 2 will be better, and so will episode 3, but episode 1 will always be broken. Also Sega seem to have a similar view of episodic games to Valve, completely missing the point of releasing them more often. It's taken almost a year for this installment because of the leak, and no doubt it will be the same with the next one

  56. ShadowofPain Saturday 16th Oct 2010 at 16:51

    It's strange. This has actually received much better critic reception than fan reception. Critic average is 82 for Wii, 78 for PS3 and 72 for 360 yet the user averages are all around 5 or 6/10 for all the versions.

    I think I'll still pass at the moment. Until they make a full console game that has all the Episodes with tightened physics etc, I probably won't be getting this at all.

    Now excuse me as I hype myself for Sonic Colours :D

  57. spambot404 Saturday 16th Oct 2010 at 22:39

    This. Wise man speaks the truth. Also people need to realise this is only episode 1. By the time the final episode comes out you will no doubt be able to "lock on" all the episodes together and play through all of Sonic 4 with perfect physics. And THEN you will have the perfect Sonic game. For now people will have to make do with an 88% game rather than a 95% game.


    This is Wii Ware. There will be no lock on. Episode 1 will always have bad physics untill Sega releases the inevitable disk version after all of the episodes are released, after you've bought all of the parts individually. Episode 2 will be better, and so will episode 3, but episode 1 will always be broken. Also Sega seem to have a similar view of episodic games to Valve, completely missing the point of releasing them more often. It's taken almost a year for this installment because of the leak, and no doubt it will be the same with the next one


    That'd be great if it was on one disc. Although the "no lock-on" thing is wrong. The virtual console versions of Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles could lock-on to each other.
    And also SEGA has hinted at lock-on features to make a more complete Sonic 4 already.

  58. hugarh Sunday 17th Oct 2010 at 14:57

    Although the "no lock-on" thing is wrong. The virtual console versions of Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles could lock-on to each other.
    And also SEGA has hinted at lock-on features to make a more complete Sonic 4 already.

    That was virtual console, which is an emulated version of Sonic 3, effectively meaning that you are playing on a Genesis. Sonic 4 is using Wii hardware, which means the closest thing they could do is DLC content. I imagine the Lock-on thing Sega mentioned was DLC to fix the physics or a compilation

  59. spambot404 Sunday 17th Oct 2010 at 19:27

    Although the "no lock-on" thing is wrong. The virtual console versions of Sonic 3 and Sonic and Knuckles could lock-on to each other.
    And also SEGA has hinted at lock-on features to make a more complete Sonic 4 already.

    That was virtual console, which is an emulated version of Sonic 3, effectively meaning that you are playing on a Genesis. Sonic 4 is using Wii hardware, which means the closest thing they could do is DLC content. I imagine the Lock-on thing Sega mentioned was DLC to fix the physics or a compilation

    DLC patches to fix the broken physics would be excellent. Hopefully if there is DLC we won`t have to pay for it. We already spent 1500 points on the game itself after all.

  60. ChrisONM Monday 18th Oct 2010 at 15:25

    I fail to see how the physics can be "broken". This is Sonic 4, not a remake of Sonic 1, 2 or 3. It's its own game, and so the physics are the way they are because that's how they were programmed.

    Super Mario Bros 3 has different physics to Super Mario Bros. Does that mean its physics are "broken"?

  61. sonicka Monday 18th Oct 2010 at 17:50

    I fail to see how the physics can be "broken". This is Sonic 4, not a remake of Sonic 1, 2 or 3. It's its own game, and so the physics are the way they are because that's how they were programmed.

    Super Mario Bros 3 has different physics to Super Mario Bros. Does that mean its physics are "broken"?


    This. Even NSMBW plays out with completely differently physics to the original games.

    It's because it's Sonic, and because fans are damn picky when it comes to the '4' in the title - for some reason it has to be exactly on par as the originals, which from the outset is impossible so no-one was ever really gunna be happy.

    I personally don't think the physics are 'broken' as such (heck, I love replaying this game too much to care), but there are a couple of noticeable 'oddities'. The only 2 things I really think are justifiable to groan about are the spin dash/rolling move, which handles just like it did in the 'Rush' games - that it being inferior to simply running. This is fine in 'Rush' as you use the boost move constantly, but it's weird here and you can't gain a lot of momentum from either move which makes running the better option (that you auto curl into a ball when hitting a booster kinda shows it's something they didn't quite nail.) The second thing is Sonic's bizarre ability to just stop dead in midair upon jumping left/right, which has led me to die more times than help me across some platform challenges.

    It's certainly not game breaking - and it's easy to adjust as to enjoy the game at its fullest... or complain about. Most Sonic fans unfortunately will pick the latter.

  62. IfritXVII Monday 18th Oct 2010 at 22:08

    I fail to see how the physics can be "broken". This is Sonic 4, not a remake of Sonic 1, 2 or 3. It's its own game, and so the physics are the way they are because that's how they were programmed.

    Super Mario Bros 3 has different physics to Super Mario Bros. Does that mean its physics are "broken"?

    They're not broken, they're just inferior. Mario 3 simply improved on Mario 1's physics. Sonic 4 completely takes what made Sonic special and turns it into a slow, awkward experience.

    I want Sonic to be able to roll down a hill like a ball without me holding right. In Sonic 4, let go of the d=pad and Sonic comes to a complete halt. His momentum is replaced with boosters.

    I don't see how anyone can say Sonic 4 is better for changing the physics.

  63. Rabbid_girl Wednesday 20th Oct 2010 at 18:51

    This score is about as predictable as 16:00 1 minute after 15:59-aka very

    Nearly all sonic games these days are 70-89%

    Is there ever a sonic game that has got a gold award?


    sonic the hedgehog, sonic the hedgehog 2, sonic 3, sonic advance, sonic rush, sonic rush adventure, sonic chronicles: the dark brotherhood.

    :shock:
    :oops:
    *runs away*
    *pant*


    oops

  64. Mart2006 Tuesday 26th Oct 2010 at 20:54

    I downloaded Sonic 4: Ep. 1 today. Here's how I would have reviewed it:

    70%

    + Fun gameplay, unlike more recent Sonic games.
    + The best Sonic game since Sonic & Knuckles
    + Collecting all chaos emeralds in the special stages offers some longevity, and is rewarding.
    + There are multiple routes through a level
    + The new homing attack is implemented well, and not simply tacked on as many expected.
    - The game is far too short and easy for the price. I got to the final stage in three hours. 1000 points would have been more appropriate.
    - All stages were near-identical to it's predecessor's.
    - Sonic doesn't handle the way he used to - he starts off at a walk rather than a jog, and his top speed is very low considering the time it takes to reach it.
    - No multiplayer as in Sonic 2
    - Only one control scheme - no Classic Controller or Wii Remote & Nunchuk option

  65. DFawkes Monday 28th Feb 2011 at 11:36

    I fail to see how the physics can be "broken". This is Sonic 4, not a remake of Sonic 1, 2 or 3. It's its own game, and so the physics are the way they are because that's how they were programmed.

    Super Mario Bros 3 has different physics to Super Mario Bros. Does that mean its physics are "broken"?

    The vital difference is Mario essentially handles the same in every 2D game he's in. Sure, there are new power-ups that handle differently, but he'll jump roughly the same, land roughly the same, slide roughly the same - the essence of the game and how Mario feels hasn't changed in 25 years!

    When they decided to call this Sonic 4 they made a statement - this was a return to form, and the essence of what Sonic is was going to make a glorious return. But it didn't because they forgot one vital thing - keeping the physics fun.

    Sonic can become a ball when you jump or spin dash. At this point, he acts like a ball should. If he has momentum, it is conserved. If he is going down hill, we will gain speed, even if you put the controller down as balls roll. If he goes up a hill that isn't as high as the one he rolled down, he'll keep going like a rollercoaster. This is all at the core of the game, and what keeps the original Sonic games feeling so special.

    Of course I'm not going to argue that this means the game is "broken", that's the wrong word. But the developers clearly didn't quite understand what made the original Sonic Trilogy so great, so made a good game rather than a good Sonic game. It's a small difference, but one that seems to contradict the efforts of the rest of the game - they stripped it back to just Sonic, they numbered it as a part of the core series, they have level themes like the original games, then make Sonic handle different at a fundamental level.

  66. TheImprobableOne Saturday 30th Apr 2011 at 16:47

    Now that the 3DS has come out with it's Virtual Console, I'd love it if they made this game for both Wii and 3DS. :mrgreen:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.