Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Super Scribblenauts review

A word in your pregnant, zombified ear, like

Last year's Scribblenauts managed to elate and disappoint at the same time. When we first saw it, we were awestruck by its innovative approach to problem-solving. A few months later, we realised imagination wasn't the only thing standing in our way. It was Maxwell himself, or rather the stylus controlling him.

It could have been so much better, and that's where Super Scribblenauts comes in. The simple decision to split controls over the stylus and D-pad makes a world of difference. Now you can move Maxwell exactly where you want, instead of tapping a destination and hoping he gets there.

Click to view larger image
The big new draw is the addition of adjectives to the game's dictionary, allowing you to modify the objects that you create. One puzzle plonks a mulletted giant to one side and an angry dwarf on the other - the objective is to create a compromise to place between them. You can get away with writing daftisms like 'small giant', or 'huge dwarf', the idea being to let you easily fuse words together to beat the level.

You'll notice that it can be hit and miss as to whether the game will recognise your adjective but a new hints system lets you buy advice using Ollars, allowing you to rocket through the earlier levels.

As 5th Cell has always said, the Scribblenauts games have never actually been word games. When you need to rescue a boy who's caught in a giant block of ice, a simple puddle of hot water will do the trick. A hot chainsaw, however, is loads more fun.

Horse Drawn... Pram?

Complaints? Sometimes the adjectives can feel arbitrary. An 'insulated house' is really just a house, even if it's just what's required in a given situation. You may have to raid a thesaurus to find other versions of a term, or risk not getting what you want. We typed in 'horse drawn carriage' and got a pram instead, for example. But if your idea doesn't work, simply have another crack. Experimentation is key, after all.

Other improvements concern the small details of the game. Maxwell and other characters have now got teeny tiny health bars, whereas in the first game you just had to guess when you thought important characters might be about to croak. Living creations such as dinosaurs and doctors also have a much greater range of emoticons this time around, so you can tell if you're about to be stamped on or mobbed.

What with all the improvements we've talked about and extras including the comprehensive level editor, which you can share with friends via Wi-Fi, this isn't so much a sequel as the game the original Scribblenauts always wanted to be.

Click to view larger image
This is an edited version of a review that appears in the December issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which is on sale now. For more in depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts, buy the magazine here.

Comments

20 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Yoshifan007 Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 13:40

    So... the game is bad?

  2. MarioMagic Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 13:47

    Only, what, 4% better??? :?
    With perfected controles and more than 10,000 words and adjectives, I would have thought it would have easily got a gold award....
    Still, everyone's intitled to thier own opinion.. :)

  3. LaytonMario3 Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 14:34

    This looks a lot better than the original, but 86%. It's good, but 93% would be easier to reccomend.

  4. Ai64 Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 15:09

    Good thing the controls have been fixed and improved. I wish the review score was a little higher.

  5. K2000 Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 18:00

    Good thing the controls have been fixed and improved. I wish the review score was a little higher.


    Same

  6. Turbo Blooper Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 18:05

    S-S-Simon?!

    Can't wait to play it. Too bad it didn't get a higher score.

    I can't wait to run around on a 'Fast Pink Flying Hairy Alpaca'!

  7. tomutwit Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 18:19

    WHY IS MY MAGAZINE NOT HERE???????????

  8. ShadowofPain Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 20:11

    So... the game is bad?

    Only nowadays would a gamer consider 86% to be a bad score for a game...

    Honestly...

  9. bananaoomarang Friday 29th Oct 2010 at 20:21

    This looks a lot better than the original, but 86%. It's good, but 93% would be easier to reccomend.

    86% is an extremely good score...

  10. imbusydoctorwho Saturday 30th Oct 2010 at 08:41

    I'm going to wait for this to go on the cheap .

    I think I'm gonna go for Rock Band 3.

  11. Turbo Blooper Saturday 30th Oct 2010 at 16:46

    S-S-Simon?!

    Can't wait to play it. Too bad it didn't get a higher score.

    I can't wait to run around on a 'Fast Pink Flying Hairy Alpaca'!

  12. Crisps Saturday 30th Oct 2010 at 17:33

    With all the praise you were giving it, surely it deserves a bit more than 86 percent?

  13. Switzerninmaster Saturday 30th Oct 2010 at 17:53

    Me want this badlllyyyy :o

  14. LaytonMario3 Saturday 30th Oct 2010 at 19:59

    With all the praise you were giving it, surely it deserves a bit more than 86 percent?

    Agreed.

  15. Kev_h80 Sunday 31st Oct 2010 at 16:52

    Would you adam and eve it I've still not finished the first one but may do tonight... I will be getting the second one and yeah, it should have got at least 90%! What gives? :)

  16. Joe_Crow Sunday 31st Oct 2010 at 22:17

    90% is near perfection. 86% is still a brilliant score.

  17. Waldy565 Tuesday 2nd Nov 2010 at 22:23

    i was gonna get this, but mario vs donkey kong won it ova, and the review confirmed that. Defo preferred the original, well, that was until the controls let it down...

  18. markdean2012 Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 00:49

    this wins game of this week (last week) from me out fable 3 and SWTFU2, there all rather similar to there previous games, but still at least scribblenauts is longer than the other 2.
    1) Super Scribblenauts 88% (from me)
    2) Fable 3 86%
    3) SWTFU2 74% (again from me, it had some great moments)
    and besides you cant summon an Evil Giant Flying Hungry Fire Breathing Spotted Toilet in Fable or Star wars, which another reason why it wins although i do agree it seems to get some words confused with others or doesn't seem to know some simple words and worst of you cant summon a segway.

  19. neongiratina Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 16:26

    Only 86? Underrated. Here's what it should be.

    +Perfect Controls
    +Bigger than the first game
    +Perfectly refined gameplay
    +Excellent Level Editor
    -Looks to similar to the original

    I assume by wordplay you mean the title screen?

  20. F1NB0 Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 10:36

    86%! People have looking forward to this game for months! It has much better controls, and thanks to the adjectives there is a much more room for imagination. I think that this game deserves at least 90%.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.