Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Star Wars: The Force Unleashed 2 Wii review

Can it fix the faults of the original?

The Force Unleashed II takes place six or seven months after the original game. You play as a clone of the original's hero, Starkiller. Realising he's a clone being held captive by Darth Vader, this new Starkiller escapes Kamino and sets out to find his love from the first game, Juno.

Click to view larger image
Starkiller encounters classic Star Wars characters such as Boba Fett and Yoda, but these meetings aren't as epic as you'd expect. In fact, the story as a whole is less gripping and engaging than the original.

Force Feedback

The controls feel as tight as they did in the first game. All your lightsaber commands are on the Remote, while your Force powers are mostly on the Nunchuk. Attacking enemies with the lightsaber is a simple case of pressing A. The force controls can be a little iffy as they require you to both point the pointer on the screen and, while holding a button, flick either the Nunchuk or, annoyingly, the Remote. It's hard to aim at something then flick the Remote and expect the aim to remain dead on, and while it's accurate for the most part, there are times when it messes up.

The camera is also a bit of a nightmare at times and, though you can rotate it using the + and - buttons, it's far too sluggish. It's a shame because when everything's working perfectly like it does 90% of the time, it's all very satisfying.

The main issue however isn't the controls, but the game length. If you're a decent player, you can get through it in five or so hours, and that's just not acceptable for a £40 game. There's also a multiplayer mode for up to four players, but though we appreciate the effort, it's just an average attempt at a Smash Bros. clone that doesn't really have much meat on its bones.

The Force Unleashed II is the ideal rental game. It's fun enough, but once the solo adventure's complete and you're bored of multiplayer, there's no reason to go back.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the Christmas issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which goes on sale on 25 November. For more screenshots and analysis, buy the magazine.

Comments

29 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. LuX Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 12:19

    It's ok I'm getting the 360 version anyway.

  2. Broken_Angel Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 12:46

    and this is why the wii is never taken seriously: half finished games, using barely any of the console's potential, with some half-arsed attempt at waggle controls tacked on at the last minute. lucas arts, hang your head in shame and bring back factor 5! at least they knew how to make a decent star wars game...or two

  3. lminett Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 13:20

    goldeneye anyone?

  4. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 13:37

    Good luck i got rock band 3 for crimbo than this

  5. ChrisONM Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 14:34

    and this is why the wii is never taken seriously: half finished games, using barely any of the console's potential, with some half-arsed attempt at waggle controls tacked on at the last minute. lucas arts, hang your head in shame and bring back factor 5! at least they knew how to make a decent star wars game...or two


    You seen the 360/PS3 one? Seems it's not much better.

  6. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:27

    A bit like the origional as it has short and botched multiplayer? And it got 82%?

  7. MrChewtoy Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:30

    Thought the original was fun enough on Wii, borrowed it from a mate. Much more fun on PS3 though. And unfortunately I guess this may end up just being a rental game, or maybe not even that.

    Bring on Battlefront!!!

  8. Brimstone Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:44

    I bought it on friday and played it to its end (on Normal mode) by Sunday afternoon... and i wasn't even playing it that long.

    I miss the waggle lightsaber controls as it felt more like a lightsaber ! Now it's a button basher.

    I was hoping for more of the original game and got an over tweaked redo... that seemed shorter.
    A shame really. A wasted oppertunity.

  9. YoshiFan15 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:56

    and this is why the wii is never taken seriously: half finished games, using barely any of the console's potential, with some half-arsed attempt at waggle controls tacked on at the last minute. lucas arts, hang your head in shame and bring back factor 5! at least they knew how to make a decent star wars game...or two


    You seen the 360/PS3 one? Seems it's not much better.


    I've completed the PS3 version, and yes Chris is right, it isn't much better.

    In it's defence though, completing it on Easy or normal doesn't really jutify you an opinion with this hame, if you play it on the hardest difficulty, you really have to do a lot of tactical thinking.

    I have read the novel as well, it includes more classic characters and develops on the storyline more.

  10. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 16:26

    and this is why the wii is never taken seriously: half finished games, using barely any of the console's potential, with some half-arsed attempt at waggle controls tacked on at the last minute. lucas arts, hang your head in shame and bring back factor 5! at least they knew how to make a decent star wars game...or two


    You seen the 360/PS3 one? Seems it's not much better.


    I've completed the PS3 version, and yes Chris is right, it isn't much better.

    In it's defence though, completing it on Easy or normal doesn't really jutify you an opinion with this hame, if you play it on the hardest difficulty, you really have to do a lot of tactical thinking.

    I have read the novel as well, it includes more classic characters and develops on the storyline more.

    I think the Wii one is much better. The duel mode mode in multiplayer (which is exclusive) and the controls make a real difference.

  11. geengy Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 17:35

    OCH!

  12. kiba-fang-over Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 18:32

    and this is why the wii is never taken seriously: half finished games, using barely any of the console's potential, with some half-arsed attempt at waggle controls tacked on at the last minute. lucas arts, hang your head in shame and bring back factor 5! at least they knew how to make a decent star wars game...or two


    You seen the 360/PS3 one? Seems it's not much better.

    Actually it is better, in fact i don;t know why this game is getting a lot of slag, sure the story is short but i just keep playing through it as the gameplay is so addictive, the length of a story is no way to knock down a game to 67% it is about the journey and this game does it, a review is only one opinion. Buy it if you love star wars then this game is great, reviews are just a tiny little guidline it's what you think in the end, and i love this game and i cant stop playing it, it is even difficult to keep on Fable 3 while FU2 is right next to my xbox.

  13. allanironmaiden Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 19:10

    sounds like a big disappointment tbh. the main problem with the first was tyhe length and it seems those concerns have been simply ignored. people will buy it because its star wars and yes itll be a good game for the 5 hours it takes to beat it.....which by far lacks any value for money

    ill be saving my money for others

  14. Cyberguy Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 19:55

    I'm getting it on 360. The demo was damn epic.

    BUT HOW THE HELL DID THEY MAKE IT SHORT AGAIN?

    I'll still be getting it.

  15. zapper01 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 21:00

    I would just like to point out that I have the ps3 version, and it is far too short. I'm guessing it's the same length as the wii version. And there's no multiplayer on the ps3 (although there are some extra challenges). The gameplay is better than the original, but other parts of the game aren't as good.

  16. Squares-Squares Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 21:05

    Well that was a Disapointment.

  17. Grovyle Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 21:10

    This is the first time i have to speak up against ONM. This is a disgrace. You are like a bunch of 80 yearolds who only talk about 'back in the the day'. Apriciate this game for what it is. A fun, imaginative and compelling game that, for me, provides an escape from the more 'hardcore' games. which other game can you pick up a storm trooper, electricute it and then throw it through a large window. STOP BEING OVERLY CRITICAL!!. It deserved at least 80% or higher.

  18. bananaoomarang Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 21:21

    You see, they REALLY missed out on an opportunity here. WII MOTION PLUS LIGHTSABER CONTROLS WITH AUTHENTIC SWOOSHING AND CHHHHHHHH NOISES.

    Just think about the possibility of a game such as:

    light saber dueling: motion plus unleashed

    never mind though...

  19. Prince_Ashitaka Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 21:29

    Let's face it, this is still going to sell by the truckload no matter what it gets.

    Whatever, there's not going to be a 3rd one, let's bring on Battlefront III and resume where we left off shall we?

  20. Brawlftw Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 23:05

    and this is why the wii is never taken seriously: half finished games, using barely any of the console's potential, with some half-arsed attempt at waggle controls tacked on at the last minute. lucas arts, hang your head in shame and bring back factor 5! at least they knew how to make a decent star wars game...or two


    You seen the 360/PS3 one? Seems it's not much better.

    Actually it is better, in fact i don;t know why this game is getting a lot of slag, sure the story is short but i just keep playing through it as the gameplay is so addictive, the length of a story is no way to knock down a game to 67% it is about the journey and this game does it, a review is only one opinion. Buy it if you love star wars then this game is great, reviews are just a tiny little guidline it's what you think in the end, and i love this game and i cant stop playing it, it is even difficult to keep on Fable 3 while FU2 is right next to my xbox.

    I respect that there is nothing wrong with buying a game if you're a big fan of the franchise, and yes it is ultimately up to the player if the game is worth getting or not, but the fact is a 5-hour story mode is pretty damn poor. Lifespan (i.e. the amount put into the game) is one of the most important factors. I have nothing against anyone buying it, I am not trying to persuade you not to buy it, but the fact is with such a short campaign mode and an allegedly lacklustre story, this probably shouldn't deserve anything above 75%.

  21. True Jack Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 04:49

    This review doesn't share much information that is useful to me when buying a game of this genre.

    How are the encounters? How are the boss fights? Do the different enemies require different tactics to beat? Are they challenging? Do harder difficulty levels make the game more rewarding?

    How about puzzles? Are there any? Do they take advantage of the player's different force powers? Are they easy? Intuitive?

    How about navigation (jumping puzzles, getting around the level)? Is the level well paced? Do environments play a role in encounters? How are collectibles? Are they well hidden?

    Why is multiplayer not a worthy addition?

    Does the player get rewards for beating the game?

    How do these compare with the original Force Unleashed on the Wii? How does it compare with other games of the genre?

    I don't know if "official" publications hire poor writers, or this is just a bad day for the reviewer; but Nintendo Power's review, while a positive one, was almost as empty of useful knowledge as this one. I could care less if the game gets an 80 or a 67 if the reviewer can't clearly address the most important elements of a game.

    All I got from this review was the following:
    - Controls have changed (for the better, it sounds like. I hate the waggling of the first one).
    - The story in the first game is better.
    - The single-player game is short. (As if that's a measure of a game's quality. I'm assuming you didn't grow up playing arcade games).

  22. ChrisONM Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 15:10

    This review doesn't share much information that is useful to me when buying a game of this genre.

    How are the encounters? How are the boss fights? Do the different enemies require different tactics to beat? Are they challenging? Do harder difficulty levels make the game more rewarding?

    How about puzzles? Are there any? Do they take advantage of the player's different force powers? Are they easy? Intuitive?

    How about navigation (jumping puzzles, getting around the level)? Is the level well paced? Do environments play a role in encounters? How are collectibles? Are they well hidden?

    Why is multiplayer not a worthy addition?

    Does the player get rewards for beating the game?

    How do these compare with the original Force Unleashed on the Wii? How does it compare with other games of the genre?

    I don't know if "official" publications hire poor writers, or this is just a bad day for the reviewer; but Nintendo Power's review, while a positive one, was almost as empty of useful knowledge as this one. I could care less if the game gets an 80 or a 67 if the reviewer can't clearly address the most important elements of a game.

    All I got from this review was the following:
    - Controls have changed (for the better, it sounds like. I hate the waggling of the first one).
    - The story in the first game is better.
    - The single-player game is short. (As if that's a measure of a game's quality. I'm assuming you didn't grow up playing arcade games).


    As it says at the bottom of the page, this is an edited version of the full review. The full review goes into more detail and can be read in our magazine.

    And I did grow up playing arcade games, but I didn't spend £40 to play through Cadillacs & Dinosaurs or The Simpsons arcade game. If I'm paying £40 for a game I don't expect to be spending about £5 for each hour I'll get out of it.

  23. Cormsie Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 17:17

    Well that was a Disapointment.

  24. Paper Luigi Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 19:28

    Let's face it, this is still going to sell by the truckload no matter what it gets.

    Whatever, there's not going to be a 3rd one, let's bring on Battlefront III and resume where we left off shall we?

    I doubt there will be one, FF is no more and is renamed Crytek UK, and most of the members left anyway.

  25. LEGEND MARIOID Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 10:27

    Good revw, but inconsistently harsh when you take into account the first games' score for similar niggles. (ie. length and no AI opponent in the multiplayer in FU 1).

    Also, other reliable reviewers are going for the mid seven out of ten region/75% which seem more fair when you read the reviews' contents (including yours). "A BIT meh" shouldn't push a game out of your 70-84% band imho - but I respect your view.

    To be fair, I need to actually PLAY the second game myself and I can see having to point and SHAKE the remote to inact force moves being very annoying.

    Also, its amazing how we always have to read comments about the blessed xbox and ps3 even on non-multi-platform game threads. Many of the reliable reviewers are saying that the wii version in the definative version. Isn't the xbox version getting mid-6s as well?

  26. kiba-fang-over Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 21:52

    Let's face it, this is still going to sell by the truckload no matter what it gets.

    Whatever, there's not going to be a 3rd one, let's bring on Battlefront III and resume where we left off shall we?

    No they are still going ahead with the 3rd one, that rumour was just a mislead on what they were actually saying.

  27. Harry Blue5 Thursday 18th Nov 2010 at 21:31

    A bit like the origional as it has short and botched multiplayer? And it got 82%?


    Okay, so anyway, the original game was a good game, albeit one that was a bit short. While it for the most part lacked replay value, every now and then it would be worth picking up and playing again, solely for the experience of brutally murdering and electrocuting Stormtroopers. What it lacked in length and replay value, it mostly made up in a nice and mostly compelling plot that filled in some gaps.

    Now, imagine that original game... imagine it cut in half. Imagine it lacking that urge to occasionally revisit and murder Stormtroopers. Imagine that the plot was also cut in half when the game was, and that it filled in no gaps and wasn't compelling.

    The image your imagining is roughly what Star Wars: The Force Unleashed II, except maybe a bit more flattering on the length.

  28. Mewtwo465 Monday 13th Dec 2010 at 18:01

    I'm sorry guys but this is the best Star Wars game on the Wii yet. It fixes the faults of the original and is the best version. The Battle/Multiplayer Mode is epic and the best yet again. It's controls are unique. The story is still kinda sorry though. Well it's better than the original by 100 miles. The original really disappointed me :( This was brilliant game but sadly not a very brilliant one. It's just brilliant :? Controls DID improve though. :D Well that's all I really have to say now. This game deserved a whooping 86%. I can't see how ONM disliked this compared to the original :( But I think it's brilliant. That's what matters :D

  29. Emperor Evil Tuesday 14th Dec 2010 at 15:59

    Oh dear...
    So it's worst than the first one then :(

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.