Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

The X Factor Wii review

X-cruitiating...

The X Factor (Deep Silver, 33%) has all the appeal of being stuck in a lift with a tightly-trousered Simon Cowell for an eternity.

Click to view larger image
The shonky note registration in a number of songs left us feeling utterly frustrated for reasons even besides the fact we were having to play an X Factor game in the first place.

ONM's collective vocal attempts may sound nothing like Lady GaGa, but we definitely nailed some notes that just didn't show up.

The four-stage game structure, which consists of Auditions, Boot Camp, Judges' Homes and Live Shows, may be authentic (breaking into a pathetic sob in the middle of your song is optional) but hardly adds to the atmosphere.

Ditto the inclusion of yawn-inducing tracks by the likes of Pixie Lott and U2.

X Factor? X-cruciating more like.

Comments

26 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:26

    Another rubbish party game.

  2. EdDeRs1 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:36

    good to see it got slated :D :D :D
    now its going to go on and become the Uk no.1 wii games this cristmas (at least) :( :( :( :(

  3. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:44

    good to see it got slated :D :D :D
    now its going to go on and become the Uk no.1 wii games this cristmas (at least) :( :( :( :(

    ONM have already said that the X Factor game has failed at the charts... what happened?

    Ae casual gamers getting wise?

  4. MarioMagic Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 15:45

    Am I sick of crappy games that are more popular than morden classics. :evil:

  5. Toastie Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 16:03

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

  6. jimbob555 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 16:12

    Not really a review. :/

  7. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 16:13

    Not really a review. :/

    it was in round-up in the mag, what do you expect?

  8. tomonm Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 16:18

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

    Sorry, I've got a broken finger. No, really I have.

  9. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 16:20

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

    Sorry, I've got a broken finger. No, really I have.

    How did it happen?

  10. ChrisONM Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 17:01

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

    Sorry, I've got a broken finger. No, really I have.

    How did it happen?


    He was punching someone who pointed out a spelling mistake. Either that or he got it playing football. I forget. :D

  11. Empress Bulblax Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 17:02

    Sorry but who thought this would be a good idea for a game?

    They should extend it really. The judges should totally slag you off and try to attempt to tell you that you can't sing, but you can select a "Don't listen" option where instead you're character either starts assaulting the judges, or breaks down into a weeping fit.

    There should also be a media mode, where you attempt to make your article about the latest X Factor scandal push all others off the front page, including ones that carefully explain the problems of modern politics, the latest natural disaster and how many people it's killed, and great breakthroughs in science, such as a cure for cancer.

    Meh, it still would've been crud.

  12. tomster690 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 17:36

    in one word......lol

  13. EdDeRs1 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 17:51

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

    Sorry, I've got a broken finger. No, really I have.

    How did it happen?


    He was punching someone who pointed out a spelling mistake. Either that or he got it playing football. I forget. :D


    playing football? PLAYING FOOTBALL! if it was rugby i may have belived it so im going for punching someone in the face

  14. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 18:16

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

    Sorry, I've got a broken finger. No, really I have.

    How did it happen?


    He was punching someone who pointed out a spelling mistake. Either that or he got it playing football. I forget. :D


    playing football? PLAYING FOOTBALL! if it was rugby i may have belived it so im going for punching someone in the face

    Ho-ho.

  15. KokiriThreepwood Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 18:17

    One word "Why?"

  16. LaytonMario3 Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 18:24

    One word "Why?"

    Why they made this? For a quick buck, for some fans. The actual TV show is half decent and has some fans, so this was a nio-brainer. Probaby made in a lunch time though.

  17. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 20:54

    i wish the judges were there then i can tell then what i think of them

  18. Squares-Squares Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 21:03

    I see a Clear Game of the year there! Not.

  19. Turbo Blooper Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 22:36

    It certainly is "X-cruitiationg".

    Sorry, I've got a broken finger. No, really I have.

    How did it happen?


    He was punching someone who pointed out a spelling mistake. Either that or he got it playing football. I forget. :D


    playing football? PLAYING FOOTBALL! if it was rugby i may have belived it so im going for punching someone in the face


    Rugby fan? :P lol

    I hope they only make around 100 copies of this. Unless it's 'Syco' making it, in which case, MAKE A BILLION AND LOOSE ALL YOUR MONEY, COWELL, MWUHAHAHHAHAHAHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!

    Poor Simon, having to review this before he leaves, awww

    I'll buy it for everyone I hate. XD

  20. allanironmaiden Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 22:45

    cant say im surprised, itll no doubt still sell well though

  21. Brawlftw Wednesday 3rd Nov 2010 at 23:07

    Not really a review. :/

    You say that as though it deserved one. Respect to ONM for slating it.

  22. dizzy boy Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 05:47

    i haven`t seen any mention of this game once on the show.
    you`d have thought that simon and his little crew of media loving ho*** to be milking this for every penny.
    just goes to prove how little they beleive in their own product.
    this is like it could be the child of michelle mcmamouth and rick waller. just wrong in every way.

  23. hooeylewissukz Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 19:49

    Finally, a game that reflects the quality of the TV show it was based on accurately!

  24. koopa-guy64 Thursday 4th Nov 2010 at 19:56

    Did you guys really compare Pixie Lott to U2 in this review? Like, seriously? I mean, I'm glad you slated the game and stuff, because X-Factor sucks, but U2? U2 have had some really good albums (Joshua Tree to name but one) and are also extremely successful, both commercially, and, more importantly, critically... Pixie Lott is a generic female pop singer who probably doesn't write her own songs and probably won't be remembered in a couple of years... I mean, I'm all for personal opinions, but you should at least be respectful to a band with such a long, lucrative and influential career...

  25. potatopac Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 11:49

    Those xbox bastards copied wiisports with 'kinect sports' If you don't believe me google it, it looks EXACTLY like wii sports

  26. Emperor Evil Tuesday 14th Dec 2010 at 16:03

    A rubbish game to match it's rubbish show
    But if Wagner is in it, then i'll get it!(joke)
    Wagner FTW!!(serious)

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.