Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

GoldenEye Wii review

Can it blast down the N64 original?

It's a very dangerous thing to fiddle around with people's childhood memories, especially if you didn't create them in the first place. This was the dilemma faced by Eurocom when it set to work on a 'modern reimagining' of GoldenEye, a classic Nintendo 64 game developed by Rare (back when it still made must-have games). Impressively, the company has dealt with it with little hassle.

It's very difficult to compare the original GoldenEye to this one. There are similarities now and then, like the camera swoop in the dam level or when you take a guy out in the Facility toilets, but these are more subtle nods to the original than full-scale remasterings. Most of the game doesn't feel like a modern version of the N64 game, it's very much its own beast that happens to have a story and setting similar to the original.

Control-wise, GoldenEye is the most customisable game on the Wii. Whether you're playing with the Remote and Nunchuk, the Classic Controller, the Wii Zapper or a GameCube controller, each setting has a wealth of options to tinker with.

Click to view larger image
The Man With The Golden Fun

It's also a success visually. The seamless switches between controllable action and mid-level cutscenes are slick, character animations and lip-synching are spot-on, and the environments (including the weather effects) are impressive. Shooting enemies is also satisfying, and they react in a realistic manner.

Of course, the single-player storyline only lasts so long, although playing through the hardest difficulty, which removes the auto-healing and brings back the old energy bar of the original, still takes a while.

Multiplayer's always been GoldenEye's main draw and it's no different here. Whether it's the local split-screen multiplayer (which retains an impressive frame rate) or the smooth online multiplayer, there's a huge number of game types and modifiers along with ten sizeable maps.

The online multiplayer also has a huge range of talents, a Call Of Duty-style XP system and unlockables that give you reason to keep playing for hours.

We're trying to think of bad things to say about GoldenEye, but we're struggling. Sometimes the AI is a little quirky and the lack of subtitles can be annoying because it's sometimes hard to make out what characters are saying over gunshots and the epic musical score. Another annoyance is the way the screen blurs every time you reload.

But these are minor niggles and not the sort of thing to scare you off. Whether you want a solid single-player adventure, fun and diverse local multiplayer, or proof that the Wii can actually handle solid, lag-free online multiplayer, this is a great addition to your collection.

Comments

79 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. MrChewtoy Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 00:09

    FIRST COMMENT WOOP! Looks awesome, gonna play it tomoz!!!

  2. Gameking53 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 00:12

    Just awesome. I so want this game now! :D :D

  3. Take Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 00:13

    Better than I thought it would get.

    I thought it would get plagued with an 80% (which is stilla g ood score, just seems alot worse).

  4. wariorulez Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 00:16

    I Can't wait to play this game tommorrow now. I was certainly afraid it would be dissapointment after the initial excitement but the review scores and surprisingly good trailers makes this a day one. I really hope this doesn't flop like Red Steel 2 and the Metroid Prime Trilogy (not a complete flop, but certainly an unimpressive selling set even though it was so awesome!!)

    Epic Mikey, DKC Returns and Mario All-Stars Collection will round out the year nicely for Wii I think :-)

  5. Tachiko Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 00:17

    I got this Thursday morning, only played the first 2 missions but loving it so far, the only problem i can think of is when you ADS sometimes it randomly aims somewhere you don't expect it to be. It doesn't happen enough to ruin the game though. Let's just see what Black Ops has to offer!

  6. deathroom Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 06:52

    First of; How short was that review? You failed to talk about the sounds, the single player (in any great detail), this was more of a multiplayer review and asa full price game the single player game is what you should be reviewing, not everyone plays multiplayer. Second:

    "The online multiplayer also has a huge range of talents, a Call Of Duty-style XP system and unlockables that give you reason to keep playing for hours."

    This is a bad thing, I wanted the pure Goldeneye multiplayer, NOT another bloody CoD. Why is it that everyone thinks the CoD way is best, every played TF2? Much better. Whats wrong with Health Packs, picking up guns and have a even playing fields, not just some "uber" players because they have no life and can spend 100s of hours doing nothing better (and should have a job!).

  7. MarioMagic Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 07:40

    WHAT!!!! :shock:
    'Occasional AI weirdness????'

    That's what made the original so funny!!!

  8. Cribster Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 07:52

    cool.

    Now give Black Ops a good review and we can have done with it.

  9. emperor ing Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 08:03

    How short was that review?.

    You do know they don't post the full reviews online right? If they did what would be the point in buying the mag?

    Anyway, good score, might pick this up later when the price drops a bit.

  10. DJ-Sticky Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 08:04

    First of; How short was that review? You failed to talk about the sounds, the single player (in any great detail), this was more of a multiplayer review and asa full price game the single player game is what you should be reviewing, not everyone plays multiplayer. Second:

    "The online multiplayer also has a huge range of talents, a Call Of Duty-style XP system and unlockables that give you reason to keep playing for hours."

    This is a bad thing, I wanted the pure Goldeneye multiplayer, NOT another bloody CoD. Why is it that everyone thinks the CoD way is best, every played TF2? Much better. Whats wrong with Health Packs, picking up guns and have a even playing fields, not just some "uber" players because they have no life and can spend 100s of hours doing nothing better (and should have a job!).

    It is possible that this is an edited review but they forgot to put it underneath. quite alot of people play multiplayer, online and local. This isn't another CoD game, they simply used the xp and health system that is used in CoD. I'm fairly sure there is a matchmaking system based on xp levels so those "uber" players of yours only go against other "uber" players. Also most people playing this on the online mode will be 12-15 sorta age, meaning they shouldn't have a job.

  11. imbusydoctorwho Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 08:37

    Three cheers for Eurocom.

    Well done gonna get my copy on saturday.

    Is there an option to turn the reload blur off ?

  12. lminett Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 09:34

    Cant wait to get home and play this tonight! Sod uni work that can wait!

  13. reeesy Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 09:44

    Just picked up my copy.. now have to wait all day as im working until i can play it! grrrr! :) see you all online for some muliplayer!

  14. VaatiKaiba Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 09:52

    Wow, I was not expecting that. Fair dues to Eurocom for pulling it out of the bag. However, I'm going to get Pkmn Ranger 3 today, so it might have to wait 'til Christmas - wasn't planning on getting it at all!

  15. dm_1782 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 10:06

    Woo hoo its Friday going to go get Goldeneye now. Playing all day.. :D

  16. LEGEND MARIOID Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 10:31

    Brillaint news. Good review, thanks. Can't wait for next issue.

  17. JSupremoJ Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 11:10

    Great score!

  18. Wiimanclive Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 12:17

    This game is very good, my pre ordered copy turned up yesterday, had today booked off of work to play and loving the single player & online multiplayer (shows me how rubbish I really am). Back to get my butt kicked online again :lol:

  19. capmanchris Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 15:17


    "The online multiplayer also has a huge range of talents, a Call Of Duty-style XP system and unlockables that give you reason to keep playing for hours."

    This is a bad thing, I wanted the pure Goldeneye multiplayer, NOT another bloody CoD. Why is it that everyone thinks the CoD way is best, every played TF2? Much better. Whats wrong with Health Packs, picking up guns and have a even playing fields, not just some "uber" players because they have no life and can spend 100s of hours doing nothing better (and should have a job!).

    What's wrong with that. Just because it has a leveling up system doesn't make it "another bloody CoD". I actually prefer this method because it gives you a reason to carry on playing to unlock all the weapons.

  20. NickB Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:00

    will we have a black ops review on Tuesday or some sort of game play i don't know which to buy :S

  21. Blue Toad Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:00

    Fantastic news and review. High-fives all around.

    I probably won't get this immediately, but I do need a good FPS on the Wii apart from Onslaught and it seems Goldeneye may just be the Timesplitters/Perfect Dark of this gen for me.

  22. LuX Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:02

    Cant wait to get home and play this tonight! Sod uni work that can wait!

    I'm with you on that. lol

  23. Dragongirl Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:04

    HELL YES!!!
    this is what i was hoping for!
    and i'm so happy you can play with gamecube controller, it just seems more natural.
    Epic smiles everywhere!!

    I can't wait to get my hands on this!

  24. DJ-Sticky Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:11

    DAMN YOU AMAZON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Is coming 2morrow! WHYYY!

  25. noodle link Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:12

    It looks great and all, but the game's existence is seriously annoying me XD

    My mate claims it's the best game ever, despite playing only 2 levels. He also says it's got the best graphics on the Wii. I come back with, "well, you've never played a Zelda game or a Smash Bros. game, or any Nintendo-made game that isn't a Mario one for that matter."
    "Why would I want to play Twilight?"

    Worst comeback ever. Conduit 2 looks better, mind.

  26. South London Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:17

    not sure why people are so surprised at the review its been getting around 9/10 on various websites all week.

    been playing it today, highly enjoyable!

    only bad things i can comment on initially are:

    small text - i have a 37inch tv and the text is stupidly small. noticed it the very first minute when the game comes on and you go through the training section.

    no vibration during cut scenes - beyond outrageous. not sure if this is for every cut scene but when you fall out the van during the dam level and all the explosions are going on the wii remote isnt vibrating at all!?

    dark screen - if you go into the options in game and turn the brightness all the way up its still really dark and hard to see in parts of some levels. and no im not going to adjust the brightness on the tv itself as it will mess everything else i use the tv for.

    reload aim - when you empty the clip whilst zooming, after the auto reload, the weapon is aimed completely elsewhere. pretty annoying.

    ive only used the remote and nunchuck so far. ive been playing red steel alot lately so this is going to take some getting used to as the controls are completely different. going to try the classic controller pro next.

    oh and as for the slight blur during the reloads, i think this is pretty cool. its like you focus on the weapon and clip and then adjust your eyes in the distant once its done. real nice

    really enjoying the game so far, the graphics just look the same as red steel to me really apart from character detail. more later

  27. neongiratina Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:17

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.

  28. ChrisONM Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:28

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Are you comparing it to the 360 and PS3, or are you being realistic and comparing it to the standards of other Wii games?

  29. markdean2012 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:37

    will we have a black ops review on Tuesday or some sort of game play i don't know which to buy :S

    hopefully some reviewa will appear on tuesday of BOwii, other reviewers have also been fairly postive about goldeneye wii other than games radar and game informer, also at all reviewers(that includes you ONM) it was weak to critise MWR graphics and not to critise goldeneye graphics it looks only slighty better than MWR (in CO-OP it looks even worse) just pointing this out thats all, i dont care about graphics but reviewers seem to do.

    but buy both if can afford it if not buy black ops wii will own this.
    what black ops wii has: http://www.callofduty.com/intel/410
    5V5
    Zombies
    Online Co-op
    a headset (VOIP)
    no FCS
    supports patches
    what goldeneye has:
    4v4
    no voice chat
    (now if someone knows if goldeneye wii has online co-op and no FCS and also supports patching please insert here as i dont have the game yet, i only know that is has no voice chat because of IGNs strangely high review)
    even if you still thinks its gonna be better than BO, it will never ever be better than the orginal end of.

  30. markdean2012 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:39

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Are you comparing it to the 360 and PS3, or are you being realistic and comparing it to the standards of other Wii games?

    even if he is comparing this to other wii games it still looks below average, the wii can do much better, also how can you attack someone about graphics when you gave MWR 80% because of the graphics? double standards much. seriously you didnt dock goldeneye down for looking rough but you did with MWR, rather unfair just saying.

  31. Switzerninmaster Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:39

    GOT IT ONE DAY EARLY :D :D

  32. Captain Kuchiki Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 16:51

    I want this game so bad, but I also need money...damn you money.

  33. SuperLuigiBros Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 17:16

    I want this game insanely badly but my Mum doesn't want me to buy a 16. Time to head around to a friends house... :D

  34. fisher2007 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 17:23

    Not getting this because i want Call of Duty: Black Ops DS it come's out next week and i might get Goldeneye next month.

  35. Pie supremacy Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 17:38

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Incorrect.
    Yeah so nobody expected 360 graphics, but come on it's still pretty impressive, the trailers look great.

  36. jobo Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 18:10

    Seriously, the game is awesome. Better then CoD i think, great shooting game. Doesn't really feel like every other shooter either.

    Funniest thing ive experienced on the game is watching a random gun shooting in mid air randomly without anyone holding it :D

  37. deathroom Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 18:27

    First Of all, my issue with the "short" review is it DOES NOT (at at time of my post) state that it is a shorter review.

    On the subject of the multiplayer, the XP system is overused, I will be buying both this (infact, it's in my hand) and Black Ops- I don't want to fork out 40 twice for the same multiplayer with a new skin. The "you only face uber players if your uber yourself" line, does my 129 Kills to 1 Death in TF2 make me uber (Sniper, 100 of them being headshots, rest failed spies)? I have been pitched agaist "better" and by better I mean higher level players in CoD games in my first match, not fun when you can't do anything about it.

    Personally, as they advertise it as "Multiplayer is Back!" I take that as the multiplayer will be back, like how the multiplayer was in the real Goldeneye game. Health pick ups, gun on ground, etc etc. I have no problem with XP system games, just how many do I have to put up with?

  38. deathroom Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 19:45

    I would like to state that, altho I'm still not happy with the XP system or that the review was more multiplayer, now I have played the game and as someone who has worked in press as a games reviewer (not for Future); I do agree with the score, but thats after playing an awesome hour or so on the single player (a little multiplayer- no lag when I was on).

    I just hope I still feel the same after I have beat it. Please bare in mind I did buy the N64 on day one because of Goldeneye and the N64 is my first console (outside of handhelds)- I mainy play on PC with everything on Ultra High Settings, so if I don't care about the Wii's graphics, that's saying something to the level of games on the Wii that I do play.

  39. neongiratina Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 20:26

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Are you comparing it to the 360 and PS3, or are you being realistic and comparing it to the standards of other Wii games?


    I'm being realistic lol, I saw the TV Trailer and was appalled by the graphics.

  40. LaytonMario3 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 21:35

    Expected a higher score, but still, fairly decent.

  41. Giga Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 21:43

    Expected a higher score, but still, fairly decent.


    I hate these type of comments.

  42. thekwlman11 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 22:27

    If the ads on TV are anything to go by; the graphics look horrid

  43. ChrisONM Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 23:06

    Personally, as they advertise it as "Multiplayer is Back!" I take that as the multiplayer will be back, like how the multiplayer was in the real Goldeneye game. Health pick ups, gun on ground, etc etc. I have no problem with XP system games, just how many do I have to put up with?


    But the XP is only for online multiplayer. The local multiplayer is very much like the original game. If that's what you're wanting then that's what you get.

  44. markdean2012 Friday 5th Nov 2010 at 23:32

    Personally, as they advertise it as "Multiplayer is Back!" I take that as the multiplayer will be back, like how the multiplayer was in the real Goldeneye game. Health pick ups, gun on ground, etc etc. I have no problem with XP system games, just how many do I have to put up with?


    But the XP is only for online multiplayer. The local multiplayer is very much like the original game. If that's what you're wanting then that's what you get.

    and once again i get ignored by onm fair comment on the multiplayer though, i'm still very annoyed you gave MWR 80%(because of the graphics) if you give BO wii 80% because of the graphics i will be even more mad at you, judge it on the gameplay for god sake, if you have to dock points because of the graphics dont dock so many this time, MWR should of got at least 86%which i give it, because it was 2 years late and can be quite dull at time and most of the default pointer settings are rubbish, better reasons than just bad graphics anyway.

  45. Mr Kirby Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 09:59

    This iss actually outstanding for the wii Ive played ages online, and offline, splitscreen multiplaer is a huge plus, i love it very very much! Brings back old memorys

  46. link982 Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 10:11

    I was expecting Goldeneye to get a solid 90% if I'm honest, haven't read the actual review yet though.

  47. mike69 Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 11:02

    Is there an option to turn the reload blur off ?

    no and its more then a minor annoyance espcialy when playing online

  48. ShadowofPain Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 12:36

    Expected a higher score, but still, fairly decent.

    ...

    http://rob.nu/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/facepalm2.jpg

    Only today's gamers would regard 90% as only being "fairly decent".

  49. Gameking53 Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 13:01

    Expected a higher score, but still, fairly decent.

    Yeah, because 90% (GOLD AWARD) is only fairly decent and nothing to be excited about.

  50. Giga Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 14:15

    Personally, as they advertise it as "Multiplayer is Back!" I take that as the multiplayer will be back, like how the multiplayer was in the real Goldeneye game. Health pick ups, gun on ground, etc etc. I have no problem with XP system games, just how many do I have to put up with?


    But the XP is only for online multiplayer. The local multiplayer is very much like the original game. If that's what you're wanting then that's what you get.

    and once again i get ignored by onm fair comment on the multiplayer though, i'm still very annoyed you gave MWR 80%(because of the graphics) if you give BO wii 80% because of the graphics i will be even more mad at you, judge it on the gameplay for god sake, if you have to dock points because of the graphics dont dock so many this time, MWR should of got at least 86%which i give it, because it was 2 years late and can be quite dull at time and most of the default pointer settings are rubbish, better reasons than just bad graphics anyway.


    You don realise that you are saying that MWR should have been 0.6/10 better than ONM made it out to be.
    You do realise how petty that it.
    I still find it laughable that people think that a single digit number can create the difference between a good game and a bad one.

  51. noodle link Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 14:38

    I was gonna get it today but would've been forced to trade-in Galaxy. You know what? Screw that. I'm just gonna hold on to my games and get GoldenEye when it's cheap. Anyway, I've got a blood red 3DS to save up for, and Skyward Sword. And several 3DS games. And, uh... that's about it.

  52. superdudemiles Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 14:49

    It looks great and all, but the game's existence is seriously annoying me XD

    My mate claims it's the best game ever, despite playing only 2 levels. He also says it's got the best graphics on the Wii. I come back with, "well, you've never played a Zelda game or a Smash Bros. game, or any Nintendo-made game that isn't a Mario one for that matter."
    "Why would I want to play Twilight?"


    Yeh i know what you mean, its like
    "im selling my wii"
    "why?"
    "Cause its rubbish"
    "What Games do you have?"
    "Carnival games ect."
    "Erm... You have heard of Mario Galaxy, Twilight Princess, Metroid Prime have you?"
    "Yeh but cant be asked"
    "WTF!!!??? How can you expect a games console to good if you only buy rubbish games for it???" idiots.

    I have to wait till Wednesday to Play goldeneye, ordered of Amazon, although at least i will get the invisibility and golden classic controller! Also glad to hear its quite good aswell, was worried about it for a while.

  53. jaiv Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 17:01

    just completed it. in my opinion, it is pobably even better then Galaxy 2. it is extreamaly hard in the later levls even on the easiest diffuculty.

  54. MrChewtoy Saturday 6th Nov 2010 at 17:02

    I just spent the last couple of hours with my bro and his mate, and seriously, WOW! I love it!!!

    Was sniping their behinds off in Outpost, good ol' Dr No! ;D

  55. bazmeistergen Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 00:58

    Local multiplayer is superb. Just have a few guys over.

    Smooth as you like :)

  56. Scowley Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 01:46

    First Of all, my issue with the "short" review is it DOES NOT (at at time of my post) state that it is a shorter review.

    Re-read this sentence a couple of times mate. Follwing this I'd recommend a strong dosage of chill pills and a knickers-untwisting session!

  57. neongiratina Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 09:43

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Are you comparing it to the 360 and PS3, or are you being realistic and comparing it to the standards of other Wii games?


    I'm being realistic lol, I saw the TV Trailer and was appalled by the graphics.


    I juat stumped Chris.

  58. dm_1782 Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 12:30

    This is without doubt one of the best James Bond games to be made in a while. It doesnt even feel like a remake more like a brand new game, but when you find a scene from the classic Goldeneye it does make you smile to see how they put it in flawlessly. It would have been nice if the buttons could be completely customizable like in The Conduit and Modern Warfare. After playing online I think I will also say that in my opinion Modern Warfare is still the best FPS online on the Wii as it runs alot smoother and allows for a couple more players and also seems more faster.
    Goldeneye is a great game though and is much recommended.

  59. Moo-dyman Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 13:04

    WOW :shock:
    Just went online its awesome.I love story mode to,(slow-mo bit lol)lucky it was my b-day the day after it came out.

  60. andymck07 Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 16:48

    Local multiplayer would be more fun if it had bots; ,e and my friend were playing it yesterday, and, while fun, would have been moreso if it had bots and more modes like in good ol' Nightfire. It's probably good fun with 4 people though.

    Also, is anyone having to do a lot of waiting to get a game online? Because I sure was. It was fun though.

  61. dm_1782 Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 17:09

    Local multiplayer would be more fun if it had bots; ,e and my friend were playing it yesterday, and, while fun, would have been moreso if it had bots and more modes like in good ol' Nightfire. It's probably good fun with 4 people though.

    Also, is anyone having to do a lot of waiting to get a game online? Because I sure was. It was fun though.

    I agree I loved FPS with bots those were great games. As for online I do sometimes so I just turn off region settings and it works better.

  62. ChrisONM Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 17:16

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Are you comparing it to the 360 and PS3, or are you being realistic and comparing it to the standards of other Wii games?


    I'm being realistic lol, I saw the TV Trailer and was appalled by the graphics.


    I juat stumped Chris.


    Either that or it's the weekend and I actually have a life to live :roll:

    If you're seriously saying you're "appalled" by the graphics of this game then your standards are ridiculously high. Either way, you can't base how an entire game looks by a 15-second TV advert.

  63. bazmeistergen Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 18:48

    Looks great? You guys know the graphics are crap.


    Are you comparing it to the 360 and PS3, or are you being realistic and comparing it to the standards of other Wii games?


    I'm being realistic lol, I saw the TV Trailer and was appalled by the graphics.


    I juat stumped Chris.


    Either that or it's the weekend and I actually have a life to live :roll:

    If you're seriously saying you're "appalled" by the graphics of this game then your standards are ridiculously high. Either way, you can't base how an entire game looks by a 15-second TV advert.

    No Chris, that isn't good enough. You should be online all the time, responding to your readers' every need.

    Get real!

    Love Baron (aged 36 and a half)

  64. Goldeneye124 Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 19:02

    I didn't think I was going to buy Goldeneye, but I'm glad I did. I've finished the first 2 missions and I've gone on multiplayer, and I have to say the game is great. The only downsides are the aiming using the Wii Remote can be quite dodgy and the blurring when reloading. While the enemies reactions to being shot are realistic, it isn't realistic if you shoot them in the leg, they clutch it for a second and then resume shooting at you as if they haven't been injured. It's probably just me being a little too picky. I do think Goldeneye does deserve an extra 3 or 4%, seeing as the multiplayer is extremely fun :D

  65. bazmeistergen Sunday 7th Nov 2010 at 21:46

    I didn't think I was going to buy Goldeneye, but I'm glad I did. I've finished the first 2 missions and I've gone on multiplayer, and I have to say the game is great. The only downsides are the aiming using the Wii Remote can be quite dodgy and the blurring when reloading. While the enemies reactions to being shot are realistic, it isn't realistic if you shoot them in the leg, they clutch it for a second and then resume shooting at you as if they haven't been injured. It's probably just me being a little too picky. I do think Goldeneye does deserve an extra 3 or 4%, seeing as the multiplayer is extremely fun :D

    Agreed.

    Apart from the aiming. I fine that lovely.

  66. Grimpy Monday 8th Nov 2010 at 13:05

    Played a couple of levels and a bit of multiplayer.
    They should rename it 'CoD: Goldeneye', it just feels like a CoD game with James Bond skins whacked on. NOT saying that's a bad thing as I did still enjoy what I played.

    Classic Controller Pro > Wii Remote, btw.

  67. MARION64WII Monday 8th Nov 2010 at 13:51

    Nice game, nice multiplayer, nice campaigen. Not to sure about the blurriness of the screen when you reload or add a silencer. It's a nice effect but 1 you dont need...

  68. Giga Monday 8th Nov 2010 at 17:33

    I know people like to moan that the online reviews are too short but 440 words is a decent review length. If you try and go 1000 everytime you end up rambling about stuff that isn't important.
    Also take into account that even in the magazine the review will never be as long as the original piece because the editor would have made it shorter(because that is part of their job).
    Just saying.

  69. Yirba Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 23:53

    Well, after seeing trailers and having got my hands on the game, the graphics aren't exactly wow-ing me.

    To be fair, I got a pre-release version of the game, but unless the graphics magically improved drastically right before it was released, I doubt it would make much difference.

    The framerate can be pretty nasty, and the characters look weird and unhuman-like.

    Now, I know the capabilities of the system have to be considered, but from a developer's perspective, there's a lot that could have been done to improve the experience from a graphical point of view.

    Let's just say that there are loads of Wii games which have much better graphics than this. I will, however, say that the graphics are above-average (but still not good enough!).

  70. ivorfran Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 15:42

    I was really disappointed when I first put it on. Then I stopped being silly, trying to play with the zapper, put the classic controller on, and its fantastic !Am I the only one finding the zapper control a pain in the do da ?

  71. Cruelcumber Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 17:34

    this is finally what ive been waiting for, it's a must get for me. I'm a classy person with classy style and that golden thingy mbob looks just right for me!

  72. Ranedogg Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 21:41

    I got this Thursday morning, only played the first 2 missions but loving it so far, the only problem i can think of is when you ADS sometimes it randomly aims somewhere you don't expect it to be. It doesn't happen enough to ruin the game though. Let's just see what Black Ops has to offer!

    You have the ADS assist aim turned on, turn it off and you'll see that you will no longer be following random targets when your trying to pick off one guy which of course equals PERFEKT! controls! =)

  73. Ranedogg Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 21:47

    Played a couple of levels and a bit of multiplayer.
    They should rename it 'CoD: Goldeneye', it just feels like a CoD game with James Bond skins whacked on. NOT saying that's a bad thing as I did still enjoy what I played.

    Classic Controller Pro > Wii Remote, btw.

    Hey, Different Strokes for well, You know.. at least it gives you the option to jerk and shift a thumb stick in place, me? i like it simple, what you see is what you get, there is nothing simpler or easier than aim and shoot Mouse Keyboard < Wii Remote!

  74. luke layton Saturday 13th Nov 2010 at 20:52

    what 90%!! 96% tops :mrgreen:

  75. nquinn007 Sunday 14th Nov 2010 at 21:00

    Looks amazing. by far the best looking game in wii. first time goldeneye gamer and i dont now if if it does the first one justice but i think even if it doesnt it is still a great game. the only problem i found was in the radar level when you have to investigate the bunker and it is too dark to see where you are going. i couldnt find where i had to go and blew myself up about 20 times and have idea how. still great game i think it deserves at least 94%.

  76. ThePokekid78 Thursday 16th Dec 2010 at 15:50

    Getting this for Cristmas! Looks great. And BTW, this is the full review (I've got the magazine, trust me)

  77. KKNinty347 Tuesday 25th Jan 2011 at 18:28

    Goldeneye? 90%? Waaaaaaa?! It is the best multiplayer game on Wii (yes, better than Mario Kart) and the best online game on Wii (yes, even better than Monster Hunter Tri.) The missions are exciting, there is a huge amount of gameplay styles and deserves 95%.

  78. ARWING64 Friday 28th Jan 2011 at 22:12

    Finally got mine after 3 weeks since i ordered! The gold classic controller is AWESOME! and the game is the most realistic looking game ever! It puts other shooters to shame in terms of gameplay (halo and cod, i `m looking at you ashamed. I love GoldenEye!

  79. hugolay Monday 30th Jan 2012 at 19:24

    Can you play the multiplayer games against the computer? That will be another great reason to get this game!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.