Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Call Of Duty Black Ops Wii review

Is it as good as GoldenEye?

Anyone concerned that the Wii version of Black Ops would be a shonky port shouldn't worry. Black Ops on the Wii is more or less identical to its HD brothers in terms of game modes, even if it can't compare when it comes to graphical oomph.

Black Ops is set during the Cold War (mainly the 1960s era) so you'll be fighting through communist countries such as Cuba, Russia, Vietnam as you get caught up in situations involving Fidel Castro and President Kennedy. It's an interesting setting and the globetrotting keeps things fresh.

Click to view larger image
War D'ya Think Of That

Visually, the game's a huge improvement over last year's Modern Warfare. There aren't too many ropey textures, the frame rate is smooth for the most part (though it does fall apart a bit when things get frantic) and the explosion and smoke effects are decent enough.

Unfortunately, the enemy AI is a bit rubbish with many any of your enemies refusing to take cover, leaving themselves fully exposed. However, poor enemy AI isn't unique to the Wii version of the game.

So the single-player campaign is enjoyable, but Call Of Duty was always about the multiplayer and the Wii version of Black Ops is no different. Like GoldenEye, this can handle loads of players at once with no noticeable lag.

The standard Call Of Duty online multiplayer is present, and earning XP and getting new perks and weapons is still as addictive and rewarding as ever. Possibly more interesting though is the new Wager Match option, which features four multiplayer modes that have players betting 'CoD Points' on the outcome.

These new modes offer great takes on the standard deathmatch theme. One In The Chamber gives you only one bullet. If you hit someone when you shoot, you get another bullet. If you miss, you lose the bullet and are stuck with your knife until you die, so accuracy is vital.

Click to view larger image
Duty And The Beast

Finally, the famous Zombies mode makes its Nintendo debut. This puts you (either on your own or with a bunch of mates) in a big sealed area as Nazi zombies are trying to get in from the outside. Playing Zombies mode with a few other friends is a great laugh.

The main grievance we have with online multiplayer is the complete lack of support for WiiSpeak. You can use a special 'Headbanger Headset' for voice chat, but this is a slap in the face for gamers who bought WiiSpeak for voice chat in games like The Conduit and now have to spend another £25 so they can do exactly the same thing.

This aside, it's easily one of the best online multiplayer games on the Wii. If you're trying to decide whether you should get this or GoldenEye, it really comes down to whether you want both local and online multiplayer, since Black Ops doesn't have local split-screen multiplayer. Both games, however, are superb Wii shooters that we strongly recommend.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the Christmas issue of Official Nintendo Magazine. For more in-depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts, buy the magazine

Comments

79 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Gameking53 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:11

    This looks pretty cool, I may get it.

    But what's with the Conduit 2 screenshot?

  2. LuigiFoofighter Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:15

    Second
    Post! :D

    Struggling over this and goldeneye...

    but it's a good kind of struggle...

  3. Mart2006 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:16

    This is #4 on my Christmas list (behind DKCR, GoldenEye, and Metroid: Other M), and I'm looking forward to it more than ever!

    I was surprise by the 90% to say the least, as I didn't expect it to be that different (other than Zombies) to Modern Warfare Reflex.

  4. Lovelyjim Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:20

    Nice headshot Chris.

  5. tomonm Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:21

    This looks pretty cool, I may get it.

    But what's with the Conduit 2 screenshot?

    Whoops. Wrong screenshot number id. Fixed...

  6. IPecksU Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:23

    I need my local multiplayer! I choose you! Goldeneye!

  7. Argetlam Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:26

    No offence, but it seems like a bit of a cop-out by giving it the same score as Goldeneye. I want to know which is better....and you seem to have said they're the exact same.

  8. lminett Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:28

    Fair to say that goldeneye just wings it cos it has the local muiltplayer, that means i can wait for this.

  9. MarioMagic Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:31

    Wow............ I was quite surprised about that... :shock:

    P.S I need help. My stupid avatar is too darn big. If anyone could help a stupid old n00b like me delete it, I would be very gratefull. :) I know ther's a thing called 'Ad block plus' on Firefox to delete it, but I really can't use up my memory just to do that....

  10. ChrisONM Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:46

    No offence, but it seems like a bit of a cop-out by giving it the same score as Goldeneye. I want to know which is better....and you seem to have said they're the exact same.


    That's because they more or less feel the exact same to play. Which is better depends on your own personal tastes. If you prefer going it alone as a spy then it's GoldenEye, but if you like the idea of being part of a squad then it's Call Of Duty. The only huge difference is the lack of local multiplayer in COD, but the lack of a Wager Match option in GoldenEye evens it up.

  11. dm_1782 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:48

    No offence, but it seems like a bit of a cop-out by giving it the same score as Goldeneye. I want to know which is better....and you seem to have said they're the exact same.


    Black Ops is better, it's just that Goldeneye has local multiplayer that probably gives it an even score.

  12. Argetlam Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 16:52

    No offence, but it seems like a bit of a cop-out by giving it the same score as Goldeneye. I want to know which is better....and you seem to have said they're the exact same.


    That's because they more or less feel the exact same to play. Which is better depends on your own personal tastes. If you prefer going it alone as a spy then it's GoldenEye, but if you like the idea of being part of a squad then it's Call Of Duty. The only huge difference is the lack of local multiplayer in COD, but the lack of a Wager Match option in GoldenEye evens it up.

    Zombies is actually what's persuading me to get Black Ops...and the story. Fair enough if they are the same game more or less...

  13. CrimsonViper Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:02

    Step 1: Buy Black Ops.
    Step 2: Buy Nintendo 64 (optional if you already own one).
    Step 3: Buy Goldeneye 64.

  14. Ben707 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:09

    Seems like a fair score but personally I'd give it more than Goldeneye, the fruits of the online play aswell as the Downloadable Content make the game worthy of well above 90%.

  15. NickB Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:10

    I'm really aggravated at the moment. I went to game today only to find they hadn't had there delivery of black ops on the wii, once i am home I do a quick search on you tube to find rumors of the European version of black ops wii to be delayed. put me out of my misery please guys. :(

  16. Robbo-92 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:11

    Step 1: Buy Black Ops.
    Step 2: Buy Nintendo 64 (optional if you already own one).
    Step 3: Buy Goldeneye 64.

    Great i only have to buy black ops, as i have completed steps 2 and 3, and they have been so for years!

  17. ILoveWii Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:16

    Stop giving games 90%.

  18. markdean2012 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:18

    unlike you MWR score i fully agree with this score (well 92% from me i mean come on online CO-OP zombies) but still good score, you forgot mention and take into account that this will have DLC(read the instructions it says store) and supports patching, and you forget to make jokes about how Dimitri looks like Mario, other than that great review, this game is everything WAW(half the stuff) and MWR(2 years late) should have been, shame there is no theatre mode...yet.

    also your supposed to unlock an extra zombie map(the pentagon) when you complete the campagin but i completed it and no map, have you guys unlocked it? do you need to collect the intel or complete it on veteran or what?

  19. Robbo-92 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:18

    Stop giving games 90%.

    If they deserve 90% then they should get 90%

  20. Lovelyjim Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:22

    Does it support classic controller?

  21. NickB Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:23

    Does it support classic controller?

    yes

  22. Robbo-92 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:24

    Does it support classic controller?

    as far as i have heard yes it does

  23. Tachiko Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:25

    Can Chris or someone tell me what the hit detection is like in online play, is it better then MWR and on par with goldeneye (which is more or less perfect)??

  24. bazmeistergen Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:25

    Goldeneye on Wii is a billion times better than the N64 so ignore the advice to buy an N64 as that is pretty daft. Nostalgia is well and good, but its a lie.

    Excited to add this to my purchase of Goldeneye the other day - offline is good, but don't need both games to do it.

  25. ChrisONM Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:26

    I'm really aggravated at the moment. I went to game today only to find they hadn't had there delivery of black ops on the wii, once i am home I do a quick search on you tube to find rumors of the European version of black ops wii to be delayed. put me out of my misery please guys. :(


    Sounds like rubbish to me mate, the Wii version was in HMV this morning and Activision sent us one too today, which they wouldn't have done if it had been delayed.

  26. NickB Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:26

    has it been delayed in europe and if you got it where from?

  27. Dan-the-Wii-man Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:29

    Is it just the local death match it doesnt have or is it all modes? is the zombies local mutiplayer? oh and does it have the same "player 2 just pointing and shooting" thing that WAW had? thanks :)

  28. NickB Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:29

    I'm really aggravated at the moment. I went to game today only to find they hadn't had there delivery of black ops on the wii, once i am home I do a quick search on you tube to find rumors of the European version of black ops wii to be delayed. put me out of my misery please guys. :(


    Sounds like rubbish to me mate, the Wii version was in HMV this morning and Activision sent us one too today, which they wouldn't have done if it had been delayed.


    ok thanks I'll just go again tomorrow

  29. Giga Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:33

    Stop giving games 90%.


    Better than 89% IMO because there isn't a difference. Idealy scores out of 10 are the way to go but that is just my opinion.

  30. Drig786 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:40

    Ok now im definetly buying this :3

  31. bazmeistergen Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 17:50

    Can Chris or someone tell me what the hit detection is like in online play, is it better then MWR and on par with goldeneye (which is more or less perfect)??

    Goldeneye is really smooth online. Hope this is similar.

  32. fallen22 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 18:03

    Good review Chris, the game sounds really promising, glad they released it at the same time as the HD platform versions.

    One question; you mention that it has no local multiplayer, which is a shame. But does the wii version have the online two-player co-op modes that the other versions have? As in two players on one Wii, playing online deathmatches, split-screen but against other players?

    Thanks

  33. Erdogan44 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 18:53

    Goldeneye for me, please.

    SPLIT SCREEN IS BETTER THAN WAGER-MATCH.

  34. Monkey Balls Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 19:21

    Yay, finally a Black Ops Wii review! Good job, guys. :D

    Decent score too - I was expecting low eighties. Good review, but when mentioning the visuals, must you have used the typical, almost mocking "Looks great for the Wii." line? It nearly turns a positive comment into a complaint ("Oh well, they'll have to do." etc).

    You could have just said that the graphics were great and left it at that without highlighting the console's graphical disadvantages. After all, it is a Wii review.

    Minor grumbling aside, it's a top review and one that has persuaded me to purchase the game. :D

  35. Al3x Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 19:25

    Goldeneye has better single player. WAY better. In fact, the single player is reason enough to own it, which hasn't been the case for COD since, well, 2 at best. The balance of stealth vs action and all the difficulty options will have you playing it and experimenting and trying to beat the hardest stuff for many hours.

    Multiplayer wise however Black Ops is way more robust in amount of content and features, as well as future possibilities with DLC support (a first for non music games on Wii?) with the exception of the lack of local multiplayer. The Wiimote controls are also a bit smoother and better in Black Ops, though it's miles beyond dual analog in both games anyway.

    Hence why they received the same score, I guess. Both games are worth owning for very different reasons. Personally I don't think I'll even finish the SP campaign for Black Ops (playing this on PC by the way, so it has nothing to do with the Wii version), even though I liked MW and MW2's, because I just don't get any fun out of it after finishing GoldenEye with its superior level design, AI, and the gameplay these foster.

    If you can only buy one game for now, I would recommend GoldenEye. The single player is one of the best FPS in recent times (regardless of platform) and the multiplayer is good enough and very COD-like also (not to mention having 4 player local) so it will tide you over just fine until you can buy another game which can be Black Ops, and may even be cheaper by then.

    Oh, and no, Black Ops Wii doesn't look good "for the Wii", there are many way better looking games on it. It's decent considering it's a port with an engine never meant to be put on Wii originally, but all things considered it just looks bad, which doesn't have to be the case with Wii games. Even GoldenEye, which isn't close to the best looking Wii game, has way better characters, textures, effects, and lighting, while also maintaining a mostly smooth frame rate (although certain sections do slow down and it's annoying, it doesn't occur often enough to sour the experience, you'll just hate that one level/section and happily proceed to better times).

  36. Eclipse Dj Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 19:30

    GoldenEye is great very much enjoying the single player campaign (though AI is a bit ropey here too) Online is great and plays very much like a CoD game with ranking etc. Local multiplayer is OK but a little disappointing, maps aren't brilliant in design, some are too big, if there's just two of you wandering round you might not see each other for a few minutes.

    There are things I could do in the original 13 years ago that I can't here; shoot-out lights, open and close doors and the graphics take a huge knock in splitscreen.

    Black Ops may not offer local splitscreen multiplayer but it does offer voice chat and DLC. May pick it up at Christmas.

  37. Al3x Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 19:52

    I wouldn't call the AI in GoldenEye ropey, unless we apply this characterisation to AI in pretty much every game ever made.

    Sure, it can occasionally glitch, you might find a spot the AI can't shoot you in here or there, or manage to lure a squad to come running for you to happily shoot them as they come unscathed, like you constantly did in the original game actually, and other minor issues, but in the middle of the action things like that are rarely noticable in a way that makes the game seem cheap and easy and they're not more prominent than even in games hyped for their AI like Crysis.

    Their use of cover is more effective than most games and they move dynamically according to your actions (there's the occasional non dynamic AI taking the role of snipers or RPG wielders, but they're blended in with normal enemies) making firefights as fun as they're in games like the original F.E.A.R., not the same shooting gallery every time.


    The addition of stealth possibilities is simplistic like in Batman AA (with silenced weapons in place of grappling hooks, I guess) but very, very fun. It's certainly nothing like the dumb crowds that stand still and aimbot or grenade spam, and occasionally run forward and to imply such by saying it's "a bit ropey too" is just insane. And if you find annoying that you can't close the doors in GE, as they close automatically after you step away, or remain open for good (it varies), then I dunno how you can go through Black Ops at all since all doors are opened by the AI in a scripted manner, or not at all... There's really no comparison with the single player of these games. One is an actual FPS with decent variety and diversity and the other is nearly on rails.

    As for the graphics, even with the "huge knock" in split screen they're still more robust than Black Ops (which doesn't even have split screen) which has nearly non existent lighting and PSP-like textures and in many cases models. Although they do show normal shadows and not blob, they don't add to the atmosphere when the rest of the level is so flatly lit.

  38. geengy Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 20:19

    OMG! I never thought Black Ops would get a Gold Award! If ONM had saved the DJ Hero 2 review till next month the entire mag might only have gold awards for full games unless the round-up comes in action.

  39. ale96gamer Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 20:24

    I've got MWR and really enjoyed it and im hoping for Goldeneye next tuesday for my birthday. I think Goldeneye edges it for me because of the better campaign mode...... my brother will probably ask for black ops for xmas anyway (so then i can get DKCR :D )

  40. CrimsonViper Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 20:42

    Goldeneye on Wii is a billion times worse than the N64 so ignore the advice to buy an N64 as that is pretty daft. Nostalgia is well and good, but its a lie.

    Excited to add this to my purchase of Goldeneye the other day - offline is good, but don't need both games to do it.


    Goldeneye 007 may well be a good shooting game but it isn't a good version of what was the best shooting game of all time. Goldeneye 64 was never about stealth nor was it ever about regeneration health systems. The fact of the matter is, they tried to modernise Goldeneye by making it too similar to CoD. CoD is a better CoD than Goldeneye is.

  41. ale96gamer Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 21:08

    Goldeneye on Wii is a billion times worse than the N64 so ignore the advice to buy an N64 as that is pretty daft. Nostalgia is well and good, but its a lie.

    Excited to add this to my purchase of Goldeneye the other day - offline is good, but don't need both games to do it.


    Goldeneye 007 may well be a good shooting game but it isn't a good version of what was the best shooting game of all time. Goldeneye 64 was never about stealth nor was it ever about regeneration health systems. The fact of the matter is, they tried to modernise Goldeneye by making it too similar to CoD. CoD is a worse CoD than Goldeneye is.

    It may not be as good as the original but Goldeneye offers a much better campain AND has offline split screen. Black ops may be good but i doubt it offers as much as Goldeneye

  42. Ben707 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 21:18

    Oh one point I'd like explained.

    Chris Scullion reviewed Black Ops, a man that said he doesn't like First Person Shooters.

    Explain.

  43. shane12234 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 21:26

    I was shocked when i saw the graphics on the single player, they are rubbish and not as good as reflex. when you go online they do get a bit better.
    And reflex is better to control in my opinion.But the multiplayer has so much, and zombies!!! i like this game a little bit better.
    Can someone plz tell me if theres more than 1 map for zombies? Thanx

  44. Gameking53 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 21:32

    I saw an online gameplay video for the Wii version and the graphics look pretty amazing. Obviously not as good as the HD games but still very good.

  45. Al3x Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 21:57

    Lol @ saying Goldeneye wasn't about stealth and regenerating health in attempt to imply that's all it is about on Wii and it's what makes it bad, lol. The former was very much existent on N64, and just as optional as on Wii (the shooting is fun enough, stealth adds variety to it, if you don't like stealth, don't use it, duh), and the latter is optional on Wii, so, the joke's on you I guess for judging a game you obviously haven't played (enough?) as inferior to a game you obviously don't remember well enough (if you played it even)...

  46. mr FBE Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 23:32

    Just like to call out 'call of duty was always about the multiplayer' in the review itself
    erm, no it wasnt. multiplayer has only made it onto nintendo COD games since the MW port. The 'cube COD games were bought for the campaign mode.

    its fairly simple- if you want online play and zombies buy black ops- if you want local play and bond- buy goldeneye. niether is really superior

  47. markdean2012 Tuesday 9th Nov 2010 at 23:47

    I was shocked when i saw the graphics on the single player, they are rubbish and not as good as reflex. when you go online they do get a bit better.
    And reflex is better to control in my opinion.But the multiplayer has so much, and zombies!!! i like this game a little bit better.
    Can someone plz tell me if theres more than 1 map for zombies? Thanx

    HAHAHA no...
    reflex had sub sub par graphics and the default pointer settings were crap, the graphics in MWR looks like rouge squadron 3 on the Cube (seriously it does) and it just repeats the same textures over again light brown and blue with green and black sometimes appearing, anyway BO looks better than goldeneye particularly in zombie mode, BO is almost as good looking as WAW which is an outstanding achievement.

    BO has more stuff than GE007, better graphics and better framerate, people on GE007 just abuse hero mode, its gotten to the point where hardly anyone spawns as a hero, and also Online Zombie CO-OP>Combat Training>Offline Splitscreen.

    to answer your question dunno
    because no one answered mine about if you complete the story you unlock another map, but i did complete the story so WTF? also apparently if you prestige and then complete the story on veteran you unlock another zombie map.

    also GE64>COD>GEWii, you cant beat a classic no matter how hard you try.

    also GEWii online is just COD with the killstreaks removed, less people, a worse framerate,no way of talking to people at all,no dlc, no patches, a worse friend system and no zombies, so yeah obvious which is better. BO!

  48. dave666 Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 00:13

    are we talking about the same game here.90% you gotta be kidding me,all treyarch have done is made an fps with loads of big guns,loads of swearing,loads of blood,and a lot of explosions.

    what about good AI and good level design.

    73% I say,and thats being generous.

    never in a million years could this game touch the pure class of goldeneye wii

  49. Jdink Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 00:32

    TREYARCH absolutely needs to send out an update that enables wiispeak functionality...soon. I'm glad the game turned out great and I can't wait to get it but c'mon guys! I agree with the writer when he said "It's a slap in the face.".

  50. lminett Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 00:54

    I think its fair to say that both these games are fun, and thats all that really matters.

  51. dm_1782 Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 07:11

    I was shocked when i saw the graphics on the single player, they are rubbish and not as good as reflex. when you go online they do get a bit better.
    And reflex is better to control in my opinion.But the multiplayer has so much, and zombies!!! i like this game a little bit better.
    Can someone plz tell me if theres more than 1 map for zombies? Thanx


    Trust me by the second level, the prison the game really starts to shine and look better. This game is without. Doubt better than Goldeneye, which I love don't get me wrong but this is better. I spent all of last night alone shooting zombies with people which is just too fun but really hard and yes there is more than one map.

  52. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 08:55

    Look's good might get :D
    IGN gave the Xbox and PS3 version 8.5

  53. ChrisONM Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 11:33

    Oh one point I'd like explained.

    Chris Scullion reviewed Black Ops, a man that said he doesn't like First Person Shooters.

    Explain.


    I don't recall the exact words I used, but what I meant was that when I go home and want to play something I'm not the sort of person who'll play Call Of Duty or the like online because it doesn't really appeal to me. I'm surprised I've apparently said "I don't like FPS games" because my stance when asked what sort of games I like is always that the only games I really don't get along with are RTS games and MMOs. Anything else I can have fun with.

    That said, I do like first-person shooters. I was addicted to Doom back in the day, GoldenEye was probably my second-most played game on the N64, I used to love Turok 2 and TimeSplitters and I enjoyed The Conduit. And let's not forget the high score I gave Red Steel, a decision people still like to argue about with me four years later.

    Plus I've just given two FPS games (this and GoldenEye) a score of 90%, showing that I clearly like them, so I'm not really sure what the point is :D

    Yay, finally a Black Ops Wii review! Good job, guys. :D

    Decent score too - I was expecting low eighties. Good review, but when mentioning the visuals, must you have used the typical, almost mocking "Looks great for the Wii." line? It nearly turns a positive comment into a complaint ("Oh well, they'll have to do." etc).

    You could have just said that the graphics were great and left it at that without highlighting the console's graphical disadvantages. After all, it is a Wii review.

    Minor grumbling aside, it's a top review and one that has persuaded me to purchase the game. :D


    I know what you're saying mate, but if I'd simply said it "looks great" you'd get all the idiots coming on saying "lol no it doesn't, the 360 version is well betta", so I thought I'd try to diffuse it before it got to that point.

    I do agree though, when a developer tells us their upcoming game "looks great for a Wii game" I do die a little inside, so I take your point. :D

  54. Eclipse Dj Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 12:59

    I wouldn't call the AI in GoldenEye ropey, unless we apply this characterisation to AI in pretty much every game ever made.

    Sure, it can occasionally glitch, you might find a spot the AI can't shoot you in here or there, or manage to lure a squad to come running for you to happily shoot them as they come unscathed, like you constantly did in the original game actually, and other minor issues, but in the middle of the action things like that are rarely noticable in a way that makes the game seem cheap and easy and they're not more prominent than even in games hyped for their AI like Crysis.

    Their use of cover is more effective than most games and they move dynamically according to your actions (there's the occasional non dynamic AI taking the role of snipers or RPG wielders, but they're blended in with normal enemies) making firefights as fun as they're in games like the original F.E.A.R., not the same shooting gallery every time.


    The addition of stealth possibilities is simplistic like in Batman AA (with silenced weapons in place of grappling hooks, I guess) but very, very fun. It's certainly nothing like the dumb crowds that stand still and aimbot or grenade spam, and occasionally run forward and to imply such by saying it's "a bit ropey too" is just insane. And if you find annoying that you can't close the doors in GE, as they close automatically after you step away, or remain open for good (it varies), then I dunno how you can go through Black Ops at all since all doors are opened by the AI in a scripted manner, or not at all... There's really no comparison with the single player of these games. One is an actual FPS with decent variety and diversity and the other is nearly on rails.

    As for the graphics, even with the "huge knock" in split screen they're still more robust than Black Ops (which doesn't even have split screen) which has nearly non existent lighting and PSP-like textures and in many cases models. Although they do show normal shadows and not blob, they don't add to the atmosphere when the rest of the level is so flatly lit.

    Don’t get me wrong I’m still REALLY enjoying the single player campaign very much and it was seeing the videos of it on IGN that sealed the deal for my pre-order of the game, much more so than the multiplayer on offer.

    My ‘ropey AI’ quote was really only a minor niggle I have. For instance in the first level within the Dam there are three guards standing in fairly close proximity to each other. I snuck up on one and took him down using a stealth/melee attack, fully expecting to have to react quickly as the other two guards opened fire on me. But they just stood there, completely oblivious to my actions - this is the only disappointment I have experienced with the AI so far and to be fair in other places the AI is pretty impressive and challenging. Another slight disappointment is the disappearing bodies.

    The opening and closing of doors is purely aimed at the multiplayer experience, I have no issues with it in the single player. I just remember the original games sessions and the laughs we had in levels like the Archives and Bunker opening and closing doors behind you as you legged it away or tried to cover your tracks. Also shooting out the lights in the bunker level darkened the corridors so you could hide proximities easier. Again these are minor things but they were available to me 13 years ago and they do add to the overall experience.

    Eurocom have done excellent with the main story and I commend them for their efforts but in trying to recapture the essence and fun of the original multiplayer I feel they have fallen short. It’s brilliant that they put in Oddjob, Jaws etc.. offered a ‘Classic Health’ mode in SP. I just feel they could have included some of the other things without infringing on copyright. I’d love to have been offered a ‘Classic Gun Set-up’ instead of picking a class, i.e. Sniper, Assault etc. I could select what weapons sets will be in the level and collect the guns from the floor along with ammo.

  55. Gordon Ramsey Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 14:46

    Glad to hear Zombies has made it over. I've bought the 360 version of the game, but if I only had a Wii I'd definetely have bought it for Wii.

  56. Al3x Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 16:16

    Okay then, that's true, I didn't realise you meant in multiplayer. The multiplayer in GoldenEye is just COD-lite with a few neat ideas and a few of its own issues on top. It's not very worthwhile outside the ability to play locally so for multiplayer Black Ops is much, much better. But the single player in GoldenEye alone is a worthwhile game of its own and one of the best regardless of platform in recent times as all high profile FPS take after COD while GoldenEye does its own thing for the most part (outside the COD controls), and does it good, which is why I recommend GoldenEye as a first purchase for people who can just buy one game right now. It has excellent single player and its multiplayer is enough to tide you over until you can afford the real COD. COD will sell great anyway while GoldenEye isn't as popular as COD has become these days so a sequel for COD is guaranteed while for GoldenEye it remains to be seen, and I think it's everyone's loss if we don't get one due to sales. Whether it's an actual sequel, a different Bond movie game, or just a new FPS from Eurocom with the same stealth and action mechanics.

  57. Bing Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 18:35

    are we talking about the same game here.90% you gotta be kidding me,all treyarch have done is made an fps with loads of big guns,loads of swearing,loads of blood,and a lot of explosions.

    what about good AI and good level design.

    73% I say,and thats being generous.

    never in a million years could this game touch the pure class of goldeneye wii

    How can you judge a game and give it a score when you haven't even played it? I REALLY don't get that.

  58. Ieuan999 Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 19:24

    Cod black ops is a great game but why hasnt it got valkarye rockets or face and gun customisation on multiplayer?

  59. dave666 Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 21:11

    are we talking about the same game here.90% you gotta be kidding me,all treyarch have done is made an fps with loads of big guns,loads of swearing,loads of blood,and a lot of explosions.

    what about good AI and good level design.

    73% I say,and thats being generous.

    never in a million years could this game touch the pure class of goldeneye wii

    How can you judge a game and give it a score when you haven't even played it? I REALLY don't get that.


    and what makes you think i havn't played it I OWN BOTH and have almost completed black ops.
    trust me goldeneye woops it by miles

  60. dm_1782 Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 22:01

    are we talking about the same game here.90% you gotta be kidding me,all treyarch have done is made an fps with loads of big guns,loads of swearing,loads of blood,and a lot of explosions.

    what about good AI and good level design.

    73% I say,and thats being generous.

    never in a million years could this game touch the pure class of goldeneye wii

    How can you judge a game and give it a score when you haven't even played it? I REALLY don't get that.


    and what makes you think i havn't played it I OWN BOTH and have almost completed black ops.
    trust me goldeneye woops it by miles

    No it really doesnt. I love playing Goldeneye but Black Ops is just more exciting to play.

  61. Capt. Rosco Wednesday 10th Nov 2010 at 23:32

    unlike you MWR score i fully agree with this score (well 92% from me i mean come on online CO-OP zombies) but still good score, you forgot mention and take into account that this will have DLC(read the instructions it says store) and supports patching, and you forget to make jokes about how Dimitri looks like Mario, other than that great review, this game is everything WAW(half the stuff) and MWR(2 years late) should have been, shame there is no theatre mode...yet.

    also your supposed to unlock an extra zombie map(the pentagon) when you complete the campagin but i completed it and no map, have you guys unlocked it? do you need to collect the intel or complete it on veteran or what?

    i did this on 360 but im not sure if it will work on wii
    at the main menu look downand break out of the torture chair walk to the computer and type
    "3arc unlock" then it unlocked the pentagon map "five" and Dead Ops Arcade

  62. Soberfoe Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 02:32

    Not a good review. This review is to sell more copies. I bought the game yesterday. Have played every mode available and have to admit that this is a real step up from Modern Warefare because of all the new options. I'm also glad to see a flak jacket again because some babies NEED to use a grenade launcher all the time. The Multiplayer on this game lags pretty bad so far. I have a good wireless connection for Modern Warefare, but Black Ops lags, so far. It's also really hard just to get into a game because players get disconnected from the server at least half the time. This causes a search for a new host. If none is found, it kicks you out of the room and you start looking for a new game. It's well known there is a server problem from what I've researched online. This review says there is little to no lag. I've yet to experience a lag-free game in 30+ attempts.

  63. ChrisONM Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 10:25

    Not a good review. This review is to sell more copies. I bought the game yesterday. Have played every mode available and have to admit that this is a real step up from Modern Warefare because of all the new options. I'm also glad to see a flak jacket again because some babies NEED to use a grenade launcher all the time. The Multiplayer on this game lags pretty bad so far. I have a good wireless connection for Modern Warefare, but Black Ops lags, so far. It's also really hard just to get into a game because players get disconnected from the server at least half the time. This causes a search for a new host. If none is found, it kicks you out of the room and you start looking for a new game. It's well known there is a server problem from what I've researched online. This review says there is little to no lag. I've yet to experience a lag-free game in 30+ attempts.


    Well I don't know what to tell you mate, but we recorded and uploaded a video showing lag-free gameplay on the day of the game's release. Here's the link:

    http://www.officialnintendomagazine.co. ... p?id=21285

    I'm sorry if you're having problems with it but we haven't been, as the video shows. I don't think it'd be fair to drop a game's score on the chance someone may have connection problems because, as the video shows, the game does actually work. It's not its fault if people have internet issues.

    As for the review being written "to sell more copies", well, that's just not true. We have no vested interest in helping Activision sell copies of its games, the review is simply an honest opinion.

  64. dave666 Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 14:53

    Not a good review. This review is to sell more copies. I bought the game yesterday. Have played every mode available and have to admit that this is a real step up from Modern Warefare because of all the new options. I'm also glad to see a flak jacket again because some babies NEED to use a grenade launcher all the time. The Multiplayer on this game lags pretty bad so far. I have a good wireless connection for Modern Warefare, but Black Ops lags, so far. It's also really hard just to get into a game because players get disconnected from the server at least half the time. This causes a search for a new host. If none is found, it kicks you out of the room and you start looking for a new game. It's well known there is a server problem from what I've researched online. This review says there is little to no lag. I've yet to experience a lag-free game in 30+ attempts.

    I agree with you about the lag and I know 100% it's not my connection coz i've never had this problem with MWR or WAW or goldeneye or conduit.but for me it's been 50/50 sometimes it runs smooth and completly lag free other times it's almost unplayable

  65. PunkRock Thursday 11th Nov 2010 at 22:11

    It totally deserved it, keep getting more good games wii. Particular for teens+. We don't need that Sing Star Disney crap.
    Buying black ops instead of Goldeneye ;D

  66. john higgleton Wednesday 17th Nov 2010 at 12:35

    Does this game have the option to turn the violence and swearing down like World at War did?

  67. Lanky031 Wednesday 17th Nov 2010 at 17:22

    unlike you MWR score i fully agree with this score (well 92% from me i mean come on online CO-OP zombies) but still good score, you forgot mention and take into account that this will have DLC(read the instructions it says store) and supports patching, and you forget to make jokes about how Dimitri looks like Mario, other than that great review, this game is everything WAW(half the stuff) and MWR(2 years late) should have been, shame there is no theatre mode...yet.

    also your supposed to unlock an extra zombie map(the pentagon) when you complete the campagin but i completed it and no map, have you guys unlocked it? do you need to collect the intel or complete it on veteran or what?

    i did this on 360 but im not sure if it will work on wii
    at the main menu look downand break out of the torture chair walk to the computer and type
    "3arc unlock" then it unlocked the pentagon map "five" and Dead Ops Arcade


    Ive tried this already,and it hasnt worked :cry:
    Im two levels away from completing on veteran, so will let you know soon
    If they dont have the pentagon map in, thatll be things that have annoyed me.
    1)Cut down version of level on boat(forgotten name)
    2)Cut down version on Redemption level
    3?)No pentagon map

  68. BlueLink3411 Thursday 18th Nov 2010 at 15:31

    90%? Black Ops is a mockery of what is already one of the worst franchises of recent years. I'll admit that the Nazi Zombies is much better than it was in World At War (on 360), and the multiplayer isn't terrible (plus it isn't made by Infinity Ward!!), but generally it's just an over-hyped, over-rated and downright dull game.

  69. shuggybarr Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 16:11

    Any truth in the rumour that this will be made available as DLC? When you type DOA to access, it says something like - "cannot access drive A" , eg - SD card. Otherwise, loving it!!!

  70. shuggybarr Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 16:12

    Any truth in the rumour that this will be made available as DLC? When you type DOA to access, it says something like - "cannot access drive A" , eg - SD card. Otherwise, loving it!!!

    This should have started with - Why No Dead Ops Arcade.

  71. Moo-dyman Monday 29th Nov 2010 at 13:03

    Sounds great ... but goldeneyes hopefully better.

  72. sboy Wednesday 8th Dec 2010 at 11:23

    Whoa Whoa Whoa!
    HEY ONM!
    What DO YOU THING YOU GUYS ARE DOING?!
    GIVING COD BO 90% ONLY?! IT IS DESERVING OF 100%!
    SURE IT DOESN'T HAVE LOCAL MULTIPLAYER BUT WHO REALLY CARES?! I HAVE PLAYED MODERN WARFARE REFLEX ON WII AND WELL WHEN I TRIED TO DO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER AND NOTHING HAPPENED AND IT ALSO INCREASED LAG SO TAKING IT OUT IS NOT A BAD THING.

    SURE GRAPHICS ARE NOT UP TO IT'S HD COMPATIBLE RIVALS BUT THE IF YOU GUYS ARE TRUE REVIEWERS THEN LOOK PAST THAT AND THE FACT IT HAS NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER AND LOOK AT THE GAME PLAY.

    I MAY BE A NEWBIE TO ALL THIS BUT AT LEAST I CAN LOOK PAST ONE INSIGNIFICANT DETAIL CAUSE MOST OF THE PLAYERS OF BLACK OPS ARE AMERICAN OR NEW ZEALAND OR EUROPEAN SO TALKING IN ENGLISH AMERICAN ENGLISH OR ENGLISH ENGLISH WONT BE A PROBLEM!

    SO PLEASE FIND IT IN YOUR HARTS TO CHANGE THE RATING YOU GAVE IT TO 100% OR AT LEAST 95%

    THANK YOU

  73. metal_mario Wednesday 8th Dec 2010 at 14:10

    Whoa Whoa Whoa!
    HEY ONM!
    What DO YOU THING YOU GUYS ARE DOING?!
    GIVING COD BO 90% ONLY?! IT IS DESERVING OF 100%!
    SURE IT DOESN'T HAVE LOCAL MULTIPLAYER BUT WHO REALLY CARES?! I HAVE PLAYED MODERN WARFARE REFLEX ON WII AND WELL WHEN I TRIED TO DO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER AND NOTHING HAPPENED AND IT ALSO INCREASED LAG SO TAKING IT OUT IS NOT A BAD THING.

    SURE GRAPHICS ARE NOT UP TO IT'S HD COMPATIBLE RIVALS BUT THE IF YOU GUYS ARE TRUE REVIEWERS THEN LOOK PAST THAT AND THE FACT IT HAS NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER AND LOOK AT THE GAME PLAY.

    I MAY BE A NEWBIE TO ALL THIS BUT AT LEAST I CAN LOOK PAST ONE INSIGNIFICANT DETAIL CAUSE MOST OF THE PLAYERS OF BLACK OPS ARE AMERICAN OR NEW ZEALAND OR EUROPEAN SO TALKING IN ENGLISH AMERICAN ENGLISH OR ENGLISH ENGLISH WONT BE A PROBLEM!

    SO PLEASE FIND IT IN YOUR HARTS TO CHANGE THE RATING YOU GAVE IT TO 100% OR AT LEAST 95%

    THANK YOU

    actually the reviewer's work for OFFICIAL nintendo magazine, the key word is official. Basically means they are bias. Don't get me wrong the reviews and writers are great but I've stopped buying the magazine because almost every first party review is bias towards Nintendo.

    That said this has nothing to do with what you said but I thought I would mention it anyway...

  74. ThePokekid78 Wednesday 8th Dec 2010 at 17:22

    NO LOCAL MULTIPLAYER????!!!!!!!!!!!!! HOW DARE THEY!!!
    I was going to get this until I found that out. Come on ONM, how could rate this as high as Goldeneye? You said in your review, and I quote: "But Call of Duty was always about the multiplayer, and the Wii version of Black Ops is no different." How? They removed player vs player and split screen zombies! How could you rate it as highly as Goldeneye for that? I'm waiting for mw2 wii.

  75. gaby2107 Friday 10th Dec 2010 at 18:35

    are we talking about the same game here.90% you gotta be kidding me,all treyarch have done is made an fps with loads of big guns,loads of swearing,loads of blood,and a lot of explosions.

    what about good AI and good level design.

    73% I say,and thats being generous.

    never in a million years could this game touch the pure class of goldeneye wii


    Erm..yeah.
    You have Blacks Ops...definitely.
    Anyways, wasn't one thing being better than the other proved wrong? I dunno, something to with personal preference...

  76. Monty9 Thursday 23rd Dec 2010 at 16:40

    I got here using the Hydroventure link.

  77. NINTENDOPOKEMON Wednesday 29th Dec 2010 at 09:49

    I got here using the Hydroventure link.

    That's nice

    but seriously, the game is only £20, stop complaining.

  78. Everegreen Friday 31st Dec 2010 at 11:50

    i really don't like it when people say that COD is rubish on the wii. they just assume that because there are family games on the wii, it means that 'hardcore' games are bad. but they couldn't be more wrong, and when i tell them about ONMs score they just boil up excuses. it's really starting to get on my nerves people sayin that COD is s*** on the wii because that's not true. people may prefer to play them on the 'big' consoles so the 'fit in' with the 'hard crowd', but you can play online COD, with voice chat, on the wii aswell.

    beat that, heretics! Nintendo all the way!

  79. Everegreen Friday 31st Dec 2010 at 11:50

    i really don't like it when people say that COD is rubish on the wii. they just assume that because there are family games on the wii, it means that 'hardcore' games are bad. but they couldn't be more wrong, and when i tell them about ONMs score they just boil up excuses. it's really starting to get on my nerves people sayin that COD is s*** on the wii because that's not true. people may prefer to play them on the 'big' consoles so the 'fit in' with the 'hard crowd', but you can play online COD, with voice chat, on the wii aswell.

    beat that, heretics! Nintendo all the way!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.