Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Super Mario Galaxy Review

In space, everyone will hear you scream... with glee

There are some moments in gaming that define why we're all here right now, moments that explain why we love games so much. They're the main reasons we chose to be games journalists and the main reasons you're reading this magazine. These moments are different for each individual gamer; for you it could be that death in Final Fantasy VII, for us it could be scoring directly from a corner in the original International Superstar Soccer. But then there are those that almost universally affect everyone: doing your first loop-the-loop in Sonic The Hedgehog, getting your first Tetris, the first time you swung the Wii Remote playing tennis in Wii Sports, and so forth.

It seems appropriate for this review then that the franchise responsible for most of these moments is the Mario series. Everyone who has played their fair share of games can relate to sliding down their first flagpole in Super Mario Bros, finding Yoshi for the first time in Super Mario World, running around Peach's castle grounds in Super Mario 64 and so on.

Click to view larger image
Now, with Mario's first proper adventure on Nintendo's fifth generation console, the plan is to provide some more of these defining moments and revolutionise platforming all over again, as had been done with Super Mario 64 just over a decade ago. Thankfully, we can safely state "mission accomplished", as Super Mario Galaxy is one of the finest games we've ever played.

The Look Of Love

It's funny, because the thing that annoys us most about Galaxy is that its fantastic graphics show us the sort of games we could have been playing for the past year had some developers bothered to pull their finger out and actually tried to use the Wii to its full potential. Any claims that Nintendo's console is effectively a motion-sensitive GameCube are blown right out of the water when you start the game and witness the controllable intro sequence. As you make Mario approach Peach's castle during a night-time meteor party you can't help but stop and admire the incredible water effects as the light shining through the castle windows reflects on the surrounding lake, while small meteor fragments and stars rain onto the castle grounds.

It doesn't let up there either. Throughout the whole game the graphics constantly amaze, with stunning visual effects (as the camera moves and large planets rise or set far in the distance you're treated to a fantastic sight as the horizon glows, creating a sort of lens flare effect), some remarkably huge playing areas (if you stop just before you collect the star in one of the Honey Hive Galaxy missions, you can see the whole of the level sprawling down below you) and characters that are positively filled to the brim with personality (not least of all, the main man himself).

Click to view larger image
Simply put, if you've long been dreaming of a game that actually makes the most of the Wii's powerful graphics processor then your dreams have come true. Super Mario Galaxy will not only rock your socks, it will blow your actual feet clean off, leaving you with a set of comedy stumps that you can use to pretend you're a marauding pirate (not literally mind, Nintendo's strict health and safety policy wouldn't allow that).

Sweet, Sweet Music

If your ears are starting to feel a little bit jealous, tell them not to worry; the eyes aren't the only thing being treated to a feast here. The sound is some of the best we've heard in a Mario game. While the new musical themes may not immediately be as catchy as the classics we all know and love, they fit the environments perfectly and capture the feeling of being in an unfamiliar location and we promise that eventually you'll grow to love them all the same and find yourself uncontrollably humming along as you've done in previous Mario titles.

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

60 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. KraTerrak Thursday 17th Jan 2008 at 18:18

    Its a fantastic game, and one I should really spend more time on. It really adds something every level - increasing its bag of tricks until it needs a skip rather than a bag.

    I'm sure it will hold my interest a lot longer than most other games.

  2. Asim Temoor Friday 18th Jan 2008 at 21:28

    Agreed a brilliant game.Everything used perfectly the controls, music and even the Graphics are great.Best of all the gameplay is great :P Top marks ^^

  3. Links Apprentice Friday 18th Jan 2008 at 22:08

    Im really thankful you didn't spoil anything in your review, as just like you said the amount of times I said 'Wow' and 'Omg' was unbelievable! It truly is a gaming master peice there is nothing wrong with it :D

  4. checkmiiout Saturday 19th Jan 2008 at 18:16

    ok its quite a good game, but whats all the hype about there are a few fun levels. and its quite original but... its repetetive and a walkover. i think its easy and i beat it quite simply.

  5. monkie_scott Sunday 20th Jan 2008 at 14:35

    Love the game i like being luigi :D

  6. Anonymous Sunday 20th Jan 2008 at 20:15

    i'm on 114 stars and loving the toy time galaxy music (just pure brilliance)
    great game
    great visuals
    great everything O_o

  7. DaveD78UK Monday 21st Jan 2008 at 15:28

    Great game and by far the true follow up to Super Mario 64, I was worried that this would be over hyped but I'm glad to say it almost perfect Mario game. 98%

  8. Super_Spig Friday 25th Jan 2008 at 22:15

    I adore this game! :D

    Despite only having 53 stars to date (GCSE's, grr :evil:) , I've enjoyed every minute.

    The music on Toy Time Galaxy is AMAZING, and is usually something I never notice in a game!


    Well worth the buy!

  9. TwilightPrincess Friday 1st Feb 2008 at 18:26

    One of the best games I have ever played (Apart from TLOZ Twilight Princess, HENCE THE NAME) A great game. I would reccomend this game to everyone who has a wii. Sometimes It can be on a little bit of the easy side though :?

  10. SpinachPuffs Sunday 3rd Feb 2008 at 18:42

    This is gaming perfection!
    The fact that it's occasionally quite easy only adds to the enjoyment, as you then have more time to enjoy the surroundings and the music.
    But if anyone tells you that they got all 120 stars without struggling on a single level, they are blatantly lying!!!

  11. Wayne22uk Wednesday 6th Feb 2008 at 03:14

    This game is awesome i will admit that but there's something about it that i cant explain too well,it's like i cant get into it i find myself doing a few stars then switching it off for abit,its not as jaw dropping as Mario 64 i think and not as addictive either. It could just be that im older and have a shorter attention span to games but still its a great game and well worth a space in your collection,if just for the retro music that brought a big smile to my face.

    Wayne22uk's Score

    93%

  12. randomdragongirl Monday 11th Feb 2008 at 03:40

    This game is definately one of the better games on wii.However, I found it way too easy, there were only 1 or 2 hard stars and even they didn't take much time to get.The only other downside to the game is having to play the same game all over again as Luigi.There really wasn't alot of incentive to complete the game as Luigi since it was identical albeit slightly harder to control.Otherwise, it's a good game.I'd give it about 91%.ONM's score, in my opinion, was a little overrated due to nostalgia, as was new super mario bro's score.

  13. stephen53 Thursday 14th Feb 2008 at 22:24

    This is brilliant the people behind mario must be as brilliant as mario himself, but whats this about luigi?

  14. bishop x Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 15:16

    I must be one of the only people if not the only one on the forum who thinks this game is nowhere near as good as it's cracked up to be. I think the game can't live upto that much hype (except for zelda tp) and this game proves it. It should have 85-88% at best!

  15. randomdragongirl Sunday 24th Feb 2008 at 18:23

    This game is definately one of the best games on wii.I can't remember the last time I continuously played a game without stopping and getting bored.However, I found it way too easy, there were only 1 or 2 hard stars and even they didn't take much time to get.The only other downside to the game is having to play the same game all over again as Luigi.There really wasn't alot of incentive to complete the game as Luigi since it was identical albeit slightly harder to control.Otherwise, it's a good game.I'd give it about 91%.ONM's score, in my opinion, was a little overrated due to nostalgia, as was new super mario bro's score.

  16. thecoop Saturday 8th Mar 2008 at 14:47

    I must be one of the only people if not the only one on the forum who thinks this game is nowhere near as good as it's cracked up to be. I think the game can't live upto that much hype (except for zelda tp) and this game proves it. It should have 85-88% at best!

    There's 2 of us now!

    The game is very good. But it is not a 97% game. That would imply there's very little that could be improved and that's not the case. Mario is too slow, some levels are really easy and far too much involves Mario's spin attack. If ever you're not sure how something works when you first come across it - spin attack is 90% of the time the way to go. The camera is sometimes too restrictive I find. For example it's not always possible to use the 1st person perspective to look around - very irritating if you're looking for purple coins or where to go next. Finally, I hate the shadow effect when there's something between Mario and the camera, and when it gets stuck in a stupid position this makes getting out from there nearly impossible (eg in the icy water in Freeze Flame.) Oh and spring Mario is THE most ANNOYING thing to control ever. And the gravity bits aren't done as well as in the 3D Sonic games in my opinion.

    Very good game, but not 97%.

  17. Anonymous Friday 28th Mar 2008 at 12:37

    THIS GAME ROCKS!!! I got 120 stars as Mario on New Year's Day! :D :D :D :D :D

  18. Gaming 98 Monday 21st Apr 2008 at 22:07

    Everything about this game is magical, from the graphics to the gameplay to the music. Thumbs up for Nintendo!

  19. TheLegendOfNinte Monday 28th Apr 2008 at 15:05

    Never have i said this but, hands-down this game deserves 100%, to be honest NOTHING can be improved on this, this game is AMAZING and i thought nothing would beat LOZ: TP, boy was i wrong, AMAZING GAME!

  20. lecto2007 Wednesday 30th Apr 2008 at 13:42

    This game is awesome, amazing and fun and best of all Mario's back,but to give it 97% i must say is a bit generous it's a great game but so close to a perfect score i must say thats overrated.

    Maybe a 94%

  21. mario2 Thursday 22nd May 2008 at 12:58

    98/99% EASY

    its a good feeling getting 120 stars + 1
    graphics are fantastic
    and gameplay is awsome. :D

  22. solid MKsnaker Saturday 24th May 2008 at 16:03

    EVERYBODY THIS GAME HAS 5 SEQUELS REVEALED
    1.Super Mario Galaxy Chocolate
    2.Super Mario and The Milky Way
    3.Super Mario Cadbury
    4.Super Star 'Mario' Wars
    5.Mario's Monkey Madness

  23. Anonymous Tuesday 27th May 2008 at 18:13

    THIS GAME IS ABSOLUTE GAMING PERFICTION! 99% is what this game should be given. The controls, graphics and gameplay are brillant. Story is a little dry though.

  24. mcleism01 Tuesday 27th May 2008 at 20:22

    Did't like it at first, but it's grown on me.

  25. theherooftime Thursday 12th Jun 2008 at 13:39

    Another great Mario game. It meets up to its expectations and is a good game to play. Nintendo have outdone themselves her. New graphics and storyline offering a new look and layout, much different to older games. I think the ratings could be a bit higher but i'm not bothered. its just a fun and new to see mario and crew on their adventures. Very challenging and a decent length of plot. Its a great game to have which won't dissapoint.

  26. 94paulm Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 17:53

    possibly the best adventure mario game so far, it has everything great story and adventure,cool graphics, but mario 64 is very very close behind

  27. Anonymous Friday 4th Jul 2008 at 18:47

    I think the ratings could be a bit higher but i'm not bothered.

    Are you trying to do a cathrine tate or somthing.Oh, and sorry for the spelling mistake. Then again that's what galaxy is. Perfect, and fiction.

  28. Quantum Raven Saturday 19th Jul 2008 at 18:11

    97% is good but I think this game deserves more! As Super Mario 64 was the first 3D Mario game I think the series gets better and better with every game made and Super Mario Galaxy proves that I'm not wrong so I would give it 100%

  29. StriderHedgehog Saturday 16th Aug 2008 at 09:41

    Along with Brawl and Ocarina of Time, it's the best game ever devised. The classic power-ups, the wonderful graphics, the nostalgic music, the memorable bosses, like Bouldergeist and Kingfin, and the timeless Mario gameplay means that this game deserves as close to 100% as it can get. Legendary.

  30. shad177 Saturday 16th Aug 2008 at 21:14

    It's allright. not woth 97 though more like 75-80

    the memorable bosses, like Bouldergeist and Kingfin

    who?

  31. Smash-bros fan Monday 18th Aug 2008 at 18:02

    This is awesome. Although i admit i dont really like mario 64

  32. MailToad94 Sunday 7th Sep 2008 at 15:26

    This is the the best game ever made. Period. It is better than 64 and literally pounds Sunshine into the ground repeatedly until it can do nothing but gasp out a couple of frustrating level designs.

    97%?

    I think there was meant to be a 1 before the 9....

  33. MyElement Thursday 11th Sep 2008 at 10:57

    I must be one of the only people if not the only one on the forum who thinks this game is nowhere near as good as it's cracked up to be. I think the game can't live upto that much hype (except for zelda tp) and this game proves it. It should have 85-88% at best!

    There's 2 of us now!

    The game is very good. But it is not a 97% game. That would imply there's very little that could be improved and that's not the case. Mario is too slow, some levels are really easy and far too much involves Mario's spin attack. If ever you're not sure how something works when you first come across it - spin attack is 90% of the time the way to go. The camera is sometimes too restrictive I find. For example it's not always possible to use the 1st person perspective to look around - very irritating if you're looking for purple coins or where to go next. Finally, I hate the shadow effect when there's something between Mario and the camera, and when it gets stuck in a stupid position this makes getting out from there nearly impossible (eg in the icy water in Freeze Flame.) Oh and spring Mario is THE most ANNOYING thing to control ever. And the gravity bits aren't done as well as in the 3D Sonic games in my opinion.

    Very good game, but not 97%.

    WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes everyone is entitled to their opinion and all that but I must protest. All this person has done is point out all the bad points of the game (which is a tiny minority of every aspect of this phenominal game!) This game has been given 97% for a reason, simply because its the best 1 player game to be released onto the wii. Yes spring mario is very difficult to control and as a result quite frustrating at times but the spring isn't the only power up. Fire mario and Boo mario are great! The levels ARE easy at times but the depth and detail of the graphics is so good you don't really care how easy SOME of the galaxies are (Beach Bowl Galaxy for example)Finally the game isn't worth 85% at all! Thank you for reading ((Dedicated to me boi, BurplePurple... JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!))

  34. StarKillerDrewie Sunday 30th Nov 2008 at 09:19

    Fantastic story,graphics,and replay value! XD This is directed to ONM. I respect your review but, come on, how can you say, as a negative, ''it has to end eventually''? Everything has to end eventually. It should have been given 99-100%!

    p.s. ONM ROCKS! Bye Bye Chandra! Miss ur humour! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

  35. acguy95 Saturday 13th Dec 2008 at 18:45

    Got this for xmas last year, went off it, and started playing it again recently- I never realized how awesome this game is! The best platformer ever! This and mario 64 are my favourite mario games.

  36. DBZFan355 Sunday 28th Dec 2008 at 19:50

    When I first played Mario 64 I though, "WOW! This is the best game ever!" I was terribly wrong. This is only my opinion, but I think it is the BEST GAME EVER! However, I don't think it will win any "Best Game Ever awards" because of Retro-Gamers. They won't like it, just because it wasn't released 10 years ago. Anyway, if any game were to get the golden 100% award, this would be it. There is virtually nothing wrong with it. It's fun, beautiful, has jaw-dropping graphics, heart stopping music, loads of replay fun and will hold any gamer's attention for years.

  37. NGamer37 Sunday 28th Dec 2008 at 20:57

    another great mario game, it was kinda easy in some points but its still a brilliant game, the graphics are good and so is the storyline.

  38. fynn66 Monday 5th Jan 2009 at 20:05

    this game is amazing!!!

  39. Mr Resettio Thursday 12th Feb 2009 at 15:41

    in my opinion it needs less.

    the levels are too easy, the gravity is weird, there are not enough types of enemys, Luigi mode is a letdown and the Grand Finale Galaxy is not worth tracking down 240 stars to unlock. the only good things are the cut-scenes and the music.
    85%

  40. ginger007luke Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 20:30

    great for a 3 year old and everthing apart from that is good and it is babyish
    90%

  41. Heroofhyrule Wednesday 18th Mar 2009 at 13:11

    great for a 3 year old and everthing apart from that is good and it is babyish
    90%

    great for a 3 year old?! babyish?! 90 percent?!
    ARE YOU CRAZY?! :shock:

  42. Wii_With_Mii Monday 30th Mar 2009 at 16:52

    This is the the best game ever made. Period. It is better than 64 and literally pounds Sunshine into the ground repeatedly until it can do nothing but gasp out a couple of frustrating level designs.

    97%?

    I think there was meant to be a 1 before the 9....

    Agreed. Oh, and what ONM really meant about the soundtrack was that it was not SOME of the best in a Mario, but it was the best PERIOD. Oh, and best Music ever in videogame. :lol:

  43. Alex Muscas Friday 10th Apr 2009 at 12:54

    Awsome game!! :lol: :D :D 16 more stars left :) Never underestimate nintendo people! They are truly the gods of videogames! :D :lol: :lol: :D :D

  44. LEGEND MARIOID Friday 15th May 2009 at 09:29

    Personally, my favourite game of all time on any console.....and boy have I played a few in my time!

  45. saz16 Tuesday 19th May 2009 at 13:32

    This game is like theBEST wii game ever!! :D
    i love it. it's my favourite wii game. everyone should buy it its that good, and you won't be dissapointed at all.
    it has superb graphics, sensational storyline.
    A MUST BUY :D :D

  46. xray544 Thursday 28th May 2009 at 11:32

    why does every one like mario galaxy it is the same but wiyh boo mario, bee mario and new stuff to collet like star bits e.t.c this game from me gets 94%

  47. Erdogan44 Sunday 9th Aug 2009 at 20:08

    This game is superb. The graphics rock! The gameplay EVEN BETTER.


    Flying across planets is excellent.

  48. Nintendo Boy Friday 18th Sep 2009 at 15:35

    I think the game is excellent; Graphics are top notch, the story may be slightly predictable, but the galaxies(theres's like 40) are superbly designed. Each and every one of them.

  49. mint45 Monday 28th Sep 2009 at 17:52

    This game is awesome. Best game on wii. Hell the best game Ive ever played 100% theres nothing rong with it it has to end eventually yeah but come i just got all 120 stars and now doing it again as Luigi but i don't care cause it's call seeing all the first levels again :) :D :D :D :D :)

    gret for a 3 year old?! babyish?! 90 percent?!

    Omg it's amazeing for any age

  50. mint45 Monday 28th Sep 2009 at 17:52

    This game is awesome. Best game on wii. Hell the best game Ive ever played 100% theres nothing rong with it it has to end eventually yeah but come i just got all 120 stars and now doing it again as Luigi but i don't care cause it's call seeing all the first levels again :) :D :D :D :D :)

    gret for a 3 year old?! babyish?! 90 percent?!

    Omg it's amazeing for any age

  51. mint45 Monday 28th Sep 2009 at 17:55

    This game is awesome. Best game on wii. Hell the best game Ive ever played 100% theres nothing rong with it it has to end eventually yeah but come i just got all 120 stars and now doing it again as Luigi but i don't care cause it's call seeing all the first levels again :) :D :D :D :D :)

    gret for a 3 year old?! babyish?! 90 percent?!

    Omg it's amazeing for any age

  52. xs3mx Friday 16th Oct 2009 at 23:51

    The Best Game On Wii

    PEROID

    I Got This LastReally Enjoyed It But StartePlay It Again & Its One Of The Best Games Ever Made

    Story Great
    Graphics Perfect
    Audio Perfect
    Gameplay Perfect
    Controls Perfect

    The Only Thing Keeping T 100% Was The Story But For A Mario Game You Can't Blame Them & The 2 Player COuld Have Been A Luigi Character To Move Rather Than A Pointer

  53. Nintendo Boy Saturday 17th Oct 2009 at 13:25

    This game is absolutley amazing.

    Gameplay is perfect. Graphics are top notch. The story book is also a nice touch, and i absolutley loved the Bee Mario, and the Ray things which you surf on. Lastly, bringing in Luigi just made me smile even more. :)

  54. Splinter435 Saturday 28th Nov 2009 at 18:20

    Anyone who states that this game is bad clearly has someting seriously wrong with them.

  55. ZELDALEGEND Saturday 28th Nov 2009 at 18:40

    i love the music in that insane game it reminds of the film, free willy.And i love that you can jump all the way around the small planets but beating bowser for the final time is just to easy especially in multiplayer.

  56. mariostar6 Saturday 8th May 2010 at 13:23

    God this game ROCKS!!!!!!!! :D :mrgreen:

  57. mariostar6 Saturday 8th May 2010 at 13:29

    I must be one of the only people if not the only one on the forum who thinks this game is nowhere near as good as it's cracked up to be. I think the game can't live upto that much hype (except for zelda tp) and this game proves it. It should have 85-88% at best!

    There's 2 of us now!

    The game is very good. But it is not a 97% game. That would imply there's very little that could be improved and that's not the case. Mario is too slow, some levels are really easy and far too much involves Mario's spin attack. If ever you're not sure how something works when you first come across it - spin attack is 90% of the time the way to go. The camera is sometimes too restrictive I find. For example it's not always possible to use the 1st person perspective to look around - very irritating if you're looking for purple coins or where to go next. Finally, I hate the shadow effect when there's something between Mario and the camera, and when it gets stuck in a stupid position this makes getting out from there nearly impossible (eg in the icy water in Freeze Flame.) Oh and spring Mario is THE most ANNOYING thing to control ever. And the gravity bits aren't done as well as in the 3D Sonic games in my opinion.

    Very good game, but not 97%.

    WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yes everyone is entitled to their opinion and all that but I must protest. All this person has done is point out all the bad points of the game (which is a tiny minority of every aspect of this phenominal game!) This game has been given 97% for a reason, simply because its the best 1 player game to be released onto the wii. Yes spring mario is very difficult to control and as a result quite frustrating at times but the spring isn't the only power up. Fire mario and Boo mario are great! The levels ARE easy at times but the depth and detail of the graphics is so good you don't really care how easy SOME of the galaxies are (Beach Bowl Galaxy for example)Finally the game isn't worth 85% at all! Thank you for reading ((Dedicated to me boi, BurplePurple... JAAAAAAAAAAAAAAN!))


    And I would like you to know that your no alone. :wink:

  58. Burtley Sunday 6th Jun 2010 at 10:55

    In the buoy base galaxy at the top of the buoy its design looks like a pokeball and its got the colours except for the white. Also ive completed it as mario now i need to do it as Luigi which ive got about 20 stars already!

  59. The_Legend_not Monday 13th Dec 2010 at 17:05

    All games have to end i dont think the dude who wrote this should've took of 3 percent just because the game has to end . ALL games have to end at some point : :x

  60. ashleywinglet Saturday 3rd Mar 2012 at 09:11

    Super Mario Galaxy is an amazing game.i like this game so much.This is one of my all time favorite game.It is really so fantastic game.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.