Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Epic Mickey review

Paint misbehavin' in Mickey's dark new adventure

You can make Mickey commit some fairly outrageous and humiliating acts, as well as gestures of heart-warming kindness in Epic Mickey. It's a dark world in which the moral compass spins a full 360 degrees.

Set in a wasteland of forgotten, resentful Disney characters plagued by Blot, a demonic ink stain of Mickey's own accidental creation, you use paint to restore objects and chunks of scenery back into existence, and thinner to do just the opposite.

So you point and spray the two opposing fluids from your magical brush to complete bridges and walkways, fight enemies, remove obstacles, fix machinery and solve puzzles and quests. It creates a wonderful visual effect as the world is drawn to life around you.

Click to view larger image
At their most unsubtle, the moral crossroads arrive in the form of machines that can be filled with either paint or thinner, usually accompanied by your stern gremlin friend warning you of the bad things that will happen should you fill the machine with the wrong stuff. It's weirdly amusing to defy them.

Crime And Punishment

Ignore a request from a character and it's likely that there will be repercussions - for example, the vendetta between Small Pete and the gremlins can be settled if you bother to root around Asia Town long enough to find his ship's manifesto. If you're more concerned with reaching the end of the level, however, he'll be annoyed enough to trap you in a room and hurl enemies at you until he gets bored and wanders off. Both paths offer rewards and collectibles.

Crucially, you won't be able to get everything in a single playthrough as you are effectively choosing to play as a thinner or a painter, and you're actively rewarded for choosing one style over the other.

The problem is, as a platformer, Epic Mickey feels rather average. Location design aims for 'desolate beauty', but the game often simply looks desolate, a mush of browns and greys even Mickey's colour-splurge can't fix.

Jumping feels oddly mechanical at times, especially during the between-level side-scrolling sections, as if Mickey is disconnected from the floors and walls around him. The camera can be a tricksy begger too, often refusing to centre itself, or randomly pointing at bits of scenery.

Combat - you thin enemies to death or smother them in paint to turn them friendly, but faster-moving enemies - highlights just how inaccurate the paintbrush can be. And with the Remote acting as an imprecise onscreen cursor, you're unable to attack enemies once they're no longer in sight.

Click to view larger image
You'll readily forgive many of its faults though, as its failings as a platformer are only evident during the parts of the game in which paintable scenery is scarce. Its setting and plot are to be praised too. An unexpectedly mature, and at times touching, story: Oswald the Lucky Rabbit is an infinitely more charming character than the sickeningly twee and charisma-free Mickey Mouse.

At times, it's one of the best-looking games on Wii - it swims in its own painterly style, and the Disney-grade animation lends every motion some real punch. If you look past its shortcomings as an admittedly un-epic platformer, you'll see that Epic Mickey is a deep game with explicit replay value and immense character.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the Christmas issue of Official Nintendo Magazine. For more in-depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts, buy the magazine here.

Comments

43 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. JamieRIOT Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 09:17

    I was really expecting this to be a lot better than it has turned out to be honest (from what most websites reviews say), particularly with it being bigged up so much with big money backing!.. Glad i opted to get Goldeneye as a christmas prezzy instead of this.

  2. lminett Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 10:13

    any game thats 80% or above means its a worthy buy, id love to invest in this

  3. Slayso Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 10:20

    I was really expecting this to be a lot better than it has turned out to be honest (from what most websites reviews say), particularly with it being bigged up so much with big money backing!.. Glad i opted to get Goldeneye as a christmas prezzy instead of this.

    85% is a bad score?

    And of course it has big money backing. It's Disney.

  4. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 11:41

    As it says in the mag 85-89% games are a diamond in the rough.
    I was expecting a gold award but long as I like it that all that matters.
    Also a much more better review that IGN.

    Come on everyone 85% isn't a bad score.

  5. Toman Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 12:12

    Platforming average? pft. I couldn't care LESS about the platforming. 85% is a good score, and it can be considered for game of the year. It certainly kick's Mario Galaxy 2's ass when it comes to story, the most important thing to me about a game. If the control is right, and the story excellent(which it is), then this game is right for me, and it should be right for the rest of the world. The story enhances the character of a game(if it is good, that is), and it is something complelty in denial outside RPG's, in my books. Rachet and Clank are the exceptions. Be realistic, MARIO GALAXY 2 IS NOT THE BEST GAME EVER, AND NEITHER IS THE ORIGINAL!

  6. Slayso Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 12:34

    Curiously enough the platforming in a platform game is kind of important.

  7. Ai64 Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 13:17

    85%. A good score for Epic micky. I thought it was aiming for gold award satus though. ^^;

  8. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 13:33

    The best platformer not made by Nintendo.
    It could well be.
    The game reminds be of Banjo and other N64 classic platformers.
    Would it be out of place if I said he reminds me of Conker.

  9. Toman Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 14:07

    Curiously enough the platforming in a platform game is kind of important.


    The RPG element is most important. That is what seperates it from mario, the most popular platformer and my least favourite character of all time. Anyways, wasn't the RPG element the thing meant to make Epic Mickey a great game, NOT THE PLATFORMING!?!
    Anyways, you said that the platforming in Epic Mickey was AVERAGE, NOT HORRIBLE! THERE IS A DIFFERENCE, PEOPLE! :evil:
    Anyways, the best platformer was Rachet and Clank 2 and/or 3 on PS2. It was WAY more fun than Mario, and IT HAD A STORY! You don't agree? then you see WAY too much in mario, one of the most souless platformers EVER. So, NAH! :P

  10. Al3x Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 14:12

    I played Epic Mickey for about an hour and a half (or maybe it was longer?) at a local games store. The chick at the counter probably thought it's a sad sight but whatever, lol.

    It started off good. A nice intro that used seemingly in game visuals, although it's likely pre-rendered to have extra effects and higher quality. The assets seem to be the same as the in game stuff, so the difference isn't big. It's similar to the Red Steel 2 CG in that aspect. At first glance it looks in game but is not.

    Then it went bad. Once you get control of the cursor after pressing A at the title screen the thing moves at like 2 frames per second, teleporting left and right as you move the remote. There's even no reason to have a cursor at that point as there are just two options, Start Game and Extras, yet you can't just use the analog stick or d-pad. I checked the Extras option first but it asked me to pick a save file, and there were none available so I chose to start a game and created a save file, then things got good again.

    It continues to a final part of the intro then goes in game. I was impressed by the visuals. The atmosphere is much better and more vibrant than it seems to be in videos. I thought the game looked lackluster in most of the footage but seeing it in person I was impressed, although I still think they were a bit too succesful in creating a destroyed wasteland, which may turn some people off. It has none of the happy feelings found in Super Mario Galaxy.

    The areas I explored were very well designed with interesting vertical layouts and I enjoyed checking them out in the stationary pivoting first person view you can enable with the 1 button. It all meshes really well together and there are subtle efffects you do not notice in videos so they look more bland (like those machines you break in the first "boss" have a specular mapping shine to them). The character models also are really well done and have a weird subtle cel shading effect that really fits the mood.

    Control wise, Mickey handled great. Despite just running, double jumping with A, and using a spin move by shaking the remote, he feels very different to Mario but also feels just right after a while. The cursor was also much smoother. Not really smooth as in Metroid Prime 3 or the Wii menu, not even close, but it didn't hinder the gameplay like it would if it was as in the main menu.

    Then things got a bit bad. The camera is a combination of automatic angles or a standard third person camera depending on the area. If it's more open it tends to be free, if it's in more enclosed spaces, or in areas where you want to follow a particular path, it may go to a side or overhead view, or whatever is needed. The preset angles are not as polished as in Nintendo games but they're servicable. It was also annoying that the fixed angles often disabled the first person view so you couldn't look at the level and see things visible from that spot.

    The free camera was not very good at all. It sort of stays behind Mickey and if you want to look around you have to use the d-pad to rotate it around Mickey, you can't just move it with the cursor like in say, Silent Hill, which is dumb. DUMB. So dumb I hope they fix it for the US release since it's later. It's like the Crystal Bearers camera basically, although not as bad as you tend to have a larger view of your surroundings. You can instantly re-center it by tapping the C button or hold C to lock on an enemy, though again the lock on is not as polished as in Nintendo games like Zelda. The free camera often had some minor trouble in more closed spaces.

    It was frustrating at first but I got over it after a while. The pace of the game makes it a mere annoyance in my opinion, not a critical flaw as it would be in Super Mario Galaxy. Epic Mickey seems to be a slower paced exploration based platformer. It's not so much the actual platforming that is hard or tricky, but just exploring the level, seeing a particular area or object ahead and trying to figure out how to get there. It's kind of like the difference between old school Castlevania and the newer Metroidvanias. You wouldn't say the latter have tricky platforming despite all the jumping you do in order to explore the castle (Epic Mickey has self contained areas, it's not all interconnected like a Metroidvania, I'm just talking about the platforming).

    The paint and thinner mechanics felt good but the camera brought some issues to it. Sometimes you'd want to paint something in front of you and Mickey would just splatter the ground (possibly sending you down below if it was some thinnable bridge for example). Other times you'd be at a ledge trying to aim something below and again hit the ground. But again it was more of an annoyance that you learned to work with, jumping and thinning, or moving Mickey more to the edge and so his paint arm is outside the ledge, or using the first person view, etc.

  11. Al3x Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 14:12

    The painting and thinning effect is really nice to look at as the objects take form or dissolve. At first there are very few points where you can use it as the game teaches you (often even taking control away allowing you to only do what it asks, thinning or painting something to proceed), but it seems it's expanded as you reach further and further, and it's quite impressive to run through an area dissolving everything or painting in everything in sight. Although you shouldn't imagine that you can delete the whole level. If you thin some critical part of geometry out, chances are under it there's an object that can't be affected further, or a lethal pool of thinner.

    You may for example thin out an angled roof that you slipped off of if you tried to climb it, and under it may be a more boxy skeleton design that you can walk on easier and reach where you wanted. Other times you may thin stuff out, like a wall or door, and there's nothing at all in their place, allowing access to other parts of the area, secret rooms, or items. At first it seems random but you learn to recognise which objects are likely to have what result. Although a lot of the level still remains unaffected by paint or thinner. You'll have noticed in footage that levels look like they're patched up from different materials. The more colorful stuff are what can be thinned out or filled in. The rest is made of the same stuff that may be under the layer of paint you thin out elsewhere. But you still affect the layout considerably as you try to move about.

    Outside the thinner and paint, interactivity comes with the spinning move as you hit switches, set gears in motion, break objects for the tickets within (they seem to be like rupees in Zelda so don't try to collect them all), talk to NPCs with A button, jump on pressure plates, etc. I didn't see advanced stuff but it showed promise in how you'll navigate later levels to reach the areas you want by exploring the layout, seeing what you can thin and fill, and what machinery you activate, deactivate or trash.

    It was also possible to almost completely bypass whole chunks of areas and just get to the next one. One area in particular, after helping a Gremlin, I could just get on a boat ride he activated and leave the area, but I stuck around and there was a LOT to do, lots of hidden areas, a couple of sidequests to get more rides running and reach higher parts of the area, etc. So it paid off to just stick around and explore instead of move forward, despite the fact as first glance the area seemed VERY simple in design, almost like a box with a few things in. But behind walls and in higher levels you could reach after fixing more rides there was some nice thinner & paint powered platforming to do and items to find (stuff that unlocked things like concept art, not just tickets).

    Also, the more you use paint or thinner you get up to three guardians, either paint or thinner, which can make combat faster as you can send them out to instantly destroy or befriend a minor enemy. So it also paid off to explore the level and use your paint or thinner everywhere you can in that way too.

    Gremlins also seem to help you and take care of tasks for you if you save them. Sometimes they do it automatically when you reach a point, other times they ask you for tickets in return for help with a tricky part which you can refuse and try and figure out how to do yourself.

    Ops, I forgot to mention the 2D sections. They look nice but they'e forgetable and will probably be another annoyance later on since I read you can/need to go back and forth between different areas for the story or side quests. I think you can't skip them when that occurs so just doing the same 2D platforming level a few times back and forth won't be good. They have one or two film reel items to find inside them which are a bit trickier to get sometimes, but you may do that on your first time and then just rush back and forth just to reach the 3D parts you want to get to for your goals. Although at the part I was in I couldn't go back at all. After moving to a new area I couldn't jump in the projector again and go back to the previous using the 2D level.

    Well, this is messier and longer than I planned so I'll stop, there's not much else to tell. It went from good to bad to good. I'll definitely get it at some point. It may lack polish in its mechanics but it's a greater game than the sum of its parts. Much greater. I'm not a Disney nut at all. I respect the old school Disney it draws from but I never was into such cartoons, as a kid or otherwise. I've never seen the parks it's modelled after either. But this just feels like a really well made game that does most things right and has a few control annoyances that don't hinder the core gameplay experience due to the pace and style of gameplay.

    I do think that it may not have great sales potential, mainly due to the aesthetics. When people think Mickey they don't think bleak, dark, Mad Doctor type things these days, do they? When they think Disneyland/world they don't think sloppy homebrew half broken rides, right? This approach may be off putting to some. But I respect Warren for doing this, it's perfect for the game. And if people say this isn't the game Spector promised, well, look at Deus Ex. The shooting gameplay in that game wasn't exactly spectacular since it focused on other things, and it's those other things that made it a classic. I think Epic Mickey can be a classic too if it continues improving at the rate it did, but won't be recognised as such because of the few things it doesn't do so well.

    I hope we'll get a sequel that's more polished and doesn't give room for people to bash it. Maybe they can even fix some of the annoyances for the US release which is later? I doubt it but you never know.

  12. Gavin Rozee Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 15:29

    Can someone who's played it let me know if the game has underscan when played at 480p through component? Underscan puts small black bars around the sides and/or top and bottom.

    A lot of third party Wii games suffer from it, such as the recent Goldeneye. I won't be buying third party Wii games anymore unless I know for sure that they run in a way that's acceptable for the year 2010.

  13. Slayso Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 15:32

    Curiously enough the platforming in a platform game is kind of important.

    The RPG element is most important.

    Eh... what?

    You don't level up, you don't equip or learn new skills and moves. Dunno where you're getting all that from.

    Played it for a good 3 hours or so now and it's 3D platforming through and through. Just one with an awkward camera and occasional dodgy double jump.

  14. Al3x Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 15:59

    It's not a platformer, it's an action adventure with a lot of exploration (often done via jumping thanks to fun, interesting, vertical level design), and a few minor camera/control issues that do little to take from the whole magical experience. Just because you jump a lot doesn't mean it's a platformer. You jump a lot in the Metroid Prime games as well. In most games you run a lot, that doesn't make them sprinting games. The platforming isn't really tricky for the most part, you just explore and figure out where to go and with what and how to interact with objects and characters to do what you want. The double jump is very forgiving in range and doesn't require precision as in say, Super Mario Bros superplays. Most involved "platforming" sections are more about the paint and thinner mechanic than the jumping difficulty. Getting platforms to start/stop in the positions you need them to make it across etc. It's more like Zelda than Mario (tickets are much like rupees even), except the jumping is manual and more commonly needed and used due to the level layouts.

    The actual jumping controls just fine anyway, so it's not average. It's the camera that has issues, which are minor. You don't die because of the camera, it doesn't change angle mid-jump causing you to fall or whatever, it just has a behaviour that makes you be a bit more cautious before you attempt a jump, rotating it with the d-pad to get a better view if possible and positioning Mickey better instead of just running off as if it's a time trial. It works with the game's pace which doesn't have any such urgency. The same for when you try to use paint/thinner and it instead hits the ground. You learn and deal with it making sure to aim higher rather than lower first as to not risk that happening, making sure you're on solid non-paint ground before doing so, or carefully positioning mickey to the very edge of a platform if you want to hit something below. It's all minor annoyances, the core of the game is intact, and great.

    Deus Ex was an unpolished mess in many ways, including controls, but that didn't make it any less of a classic. The focus was clearly elsewhere, not in having sweet gunplay or melee combat, and it worked out for it. It was also butt ugly even for its time. Epic Mickey does a lot of things way better in comparison, including the presentation, control and overall polish. Of course it's far from Nintendo polish but most games are, especially from the West. In the end, it's a worthwhile package that gamers should be asking more of, not condemn it harshly for its few failings, in turn making Disney think it's a failed experiment they shouldn't follow up on. An Epic Mickey 2 in the same way we got SMG2, taking the concepts of the original as far as they can go, would be one of the best games ever.

    It's like GoldenEye. A great game with some unpolished bits (probably less so in Mickey, no multiplayer portion and a lengthier campaign) that most people will easily get over while others latch onto and bash like there's no tommorow, somehow missing the point, either genuinely or to push an agenda. On this website the rating difference is only like 5% so there's room for error, some will lean to Mickey, others to GoldenEye. That it didn't receive 90% like GoldenEye doesn't mean it's really the inferior product, it's all close enough and up to what you prefer.

  15. Toman Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 16:49

    Curiously enough the platforming in a platform game is kind of important.

    The RPG element is most important.

    Eh... what?

    You don't level up, you don't equip or learn new skills and moves. Dunno where you're getting all that from.

    Played it for a good 3 hours or so now and it's 3D platforming through and through. Just one with an awkward camera and occasional dodgy double jump.


    But didn't say that you had a choice to be good or bad? I believe THAT'S and RPG element. Besides, Warren said that is was a platformer/RPG. To think that a moderater can't spot such an obvious RPG element...

  16. sciqueen Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 16:52

    I'll get this when it's cheaper. I want Disney games to be bright and cheerful, not dark and depressing. There is a worrying trend affecting games, TV, movies etc that dark = good and happy = bad!

  17. blublur101 Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 16:56

    I have to say, I'm surprised at this score. I expected this game to either get a Gold Award or below 70%. So to hear that it's a 'very good' game rather than a 'fantastic' or 'crap' has raised my eyebrows.
    But this score hasn't effected my decision to get this game. Ever since I heard about it, I was sure I was going to get it.

  18. nintendood Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 17:41

    OMG al3x, you write waaaay too much!

    It's a decent score, but I was expecting a bit more because of the craaazy hype.

  19. JamieRIOT Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 17:58

    I was really expecting this to be a lot better than it has turned out to be honest (from what most websites reviews say), particularly with it being bigged up so much with big money backing!.. Glad i opted to get Goldeneye as a christmas prezzy instead of this.

    85% is a bad score?

    And of course it has big money backing. It's Disney.

    Don't get me wrong, 85% is a very good score. I think it is just all the boasting about the game from Warren Spector that maybe pumped my expectations too much! :/ I really wanted this to be in the top games on wii, but hasn't quite got there.

  20. JamieRIOT Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 17:59

    OMG al3x, you write waaaay too much!

    It's a decent score, but I was expecting a bit more because of the craaazy hype.

    Yeah totally!

  21. Cormsie Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 18:01

    At least they didn't make a hash of it :P

  22. Hammer Bro. Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 18:09

    Curiously enough the platforming in a platform game is kind of important.

    The RPG element is most important.

    Eh... what?

    You don't level up, you don't equip or learn new skills and moves. Dunno where you're getting all that from.

    Played it for a good 3 hours or so now and it's 3D platforming through and through. Just one with an awkward camera and occasional dodgy double jump.


    But didn't say that you had a choice to be good or bad? I believe THAT'S and RPG element. Besides, Warren said that is was a platformer/RPG. To think that a moderater can't spot such an obvious RPG element...

    The game is primarily platforming. If you're buying a game which is mainly platforming, then you should care about the platforming. You'll find yourself not enjoying the game very much if you just "Don't care about the platforming"

    I think you're riding on your hopes and dreams for this game and are trying to dismiss any bad things that have been said about it instead of taking everything into account and deciding how good you think the game will actually be for you. That said, I think I'm getting this game for Christmas because I think it looks pretty good myself.

  23. wikiisthecutest Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 18:16

    Epic Mickey:

    + Dark Story
    + Great Platforming
    + New and Old Chaacters
    + Lives up to 'Epic' Title
    - Sometimes dull

    Overall:

    91%

    The Gold Award

  24. Gavin Rozee Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 19:01

    Someone please answer my question so I know whether to get this or GT5 tomorrow!

  25. Al3x Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 19:02

    The game is primarily platforming.

    It's not. It's primarily exploration & experimentation with the paint/thinner. See previous posts. Having to jump a lot in some areas doesn't make it a platformer, much like Metroid Prime isn't a platformer, and Call of Duty isn't an 100m sprint game despite how often you do that. If you want a platformer for Christmas, get Donkey Kong Country Returns instead.

  26. Shahrukh9000 Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 20:30

    Someone please answer my question so I know whether to get this or GT5 tomorrow!

    i would get GT5

  27. Hammer Bro. Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 20:37

    The game is primarily platforming.

    It's not. It's primarily exploration & experimentation with the paint/thinner. See previous posts. Having to jump a lot in some areas doesn't make it a platformer, much like Metroid Prime isn't a platformer, and Call of Duty isn't an 100m sprint game despite how often you do that. If you want a platformer for Christmas, get Donkey Kong Country Returns instead.


    Its genre is described as an action adventure platforming game(Taken directly from the official website) so by the sound of it, it's an action adventure game based on platforming. I haven't played it yet, mind. And yeah, I am getting Donkey Kong Country Returns also. I'm not just buying this game for the platforming. I'm getting it for other reasons too and I just generally like the sound of it.

  28. Al3x Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 21:55

    And the Diablo II official website says it's an RPG but that's hardly the case. The words publishers use to maximise sales potential don't mean much. Anyway, action adventure fits, I called it that earlier.

  29. Deep4t Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 22:32

    personally i think that score is too high.

  30. Slayso Thursday 25th Nov 2010 at 23:04

    But didn't say that you had a choice to be good or bad? I believe THAT'S and RPG element. Besides, Warren said that is was a platformer/RPG. To think that a moderater can't spot such an obvious RPG element...

    A moral choice now and then is hardly what I'd call an important RPG element. If you asked anyone 'yo, tell me what you associate most with RPGs', no one is gonna say 'oh, moral choices definitely'.

    The RPG elements (if you wanna argue they exist) are minimal at most. I personally wouldn't call a good/evil mechanic a RPG feature.

    It's a 3D platformer. Deal with it.

    Action/adventure maybe, but it's a 3D platformer at the core and primarily.

  31. Al3x Friday 26th Nov 2010 at 05:00

    It's not primarily platforming. Not by a long shot. The only pure platforming segments are the 1-minute-long 2D transition sections which completely disable your paint and thinner abilities. Much like one can argue there are a few RPG elements, you can only argue there are a few platforming elements. Quake is all about learning the layout, jumping/rocket/strafe jumping like a pro from impossible angles to shortcut your way to ledges and areas, and in general moving through the map as if you're on a freeform speedrun while you destroy everyone and get all the ammo/armor/health spawns (collect-a-thon!!!1). That doesn't make it a platformer. Similarly, Epic Mickey is an action adventure with the emphasis on exploration and exprimentation with the paint and thinner despite the fact you jump a lot. Even the advanced jumping tends to be more about the paint and thinner than the actual jump since your double jump works great (no, it's not dodgy) and you rarely need its whole, super generous reach.

  32. hoshixcandy Friday 26th Nov 2010 at 10:54

    Gonna put this on my wish list. I think it looks interesting, despite the mixed views?

    Can't really say anything else until I try it.

  33. DavidVM Friday 26th Nov 2010 at 17:50

    I played this for an extremely enjoyable couple of hours last night and can't believe no one has mentioned Okami in connection with this game which is another action-adventure game with a gorgeous art style in which you had to do a lot of painting but at times camera and the jumping weren't great, not bad though, just not great.

    Alright, it's fallen just short of SMG2's GOTY status but that was a long shot anyway but it's still a really good game! The whining in the reviews about the camera issues are greatly exaggerated as 95% of the time you can move it where you want it to be, it's just not very fast to do so but then it's not a fast game.

    I would say to anyone who was interested in buying this game, get it! I think the reviews are smacking it down a bit because Warren Spector has been doing a "Molyneux" by making promises his game couldn't keep but this a great game by anybody's standards and has far less wrong with it than many so called triple A titles around these days.

  34. CrimsonViper Friday 26th Nov 2010 at 21:30

    I probably would like this game but I don't like how everything is over-hyped.
    Take the Good/Evil mechanic. They hyped this like they were the first ones to do it. They weren't. I'm not sure who did it first but there was a more complex Good/Evil system in Knights of the Old Republic. Interestingly enough, this WAS and actual RPG so perhaps that's where Toman gets his delusions of Good/Evil is primarily an RPG mechanic.
    Continuing with the above theme, the paint brush took cues from Okami, the Action-Adventure from Zelda and the Platforming from Mario. Is there even anything this game does that is original?

  35. ledreppe Saturday 27th Nov 2010 at 00:20

    I probably would like this game but I don't like how everything is over-hyped.
    Take the Good/Evil mechanic. They hyped this like they were the first ones to do it. They weren't. I'm not sure who did it first but there was a more complex Good/Evil system in Knights of the Old Republic. Interestingly enough, this WAS and actual RPG so perhaps that's where Toman gets his delusions of Good/Evil is primarily an RPG mechanic.
    Continuing with the above theme, the paint brush took cues from Okami, the Action-Adventure from Zelda and the Platforming from Mario. Is there even anything this game does that is original?

    I've played it for 3 hours now, and I can tell you there is nothing original so far. But I'm still enjoying it, if I ignore some dodgy jumps which resulted in death and being attacked by a swarm of enemies blocking the bad guy I'm trying to paint.

  36. markdean2012 Saturday 27th Nov 2010 at 01:46

    say how it however you want at the end of the day its a platformer.
    also galaxy>ratchet and clank
    ratchet and clank doesnt win just because it has a story you know, take into account the actual gameplay and galaxy wins hands down, i'm not saying that galaxy is perfect or is the greatest platformer of all time because personally i didnt like it that much, sunshine was much better, but thats beside the point galaxy is better than ratchet and clank, end of.
    *hides behind giant flame shield*

  37. CrimsonViper Saturday 27th Nov 2010 at 18:00

    IMO, 2D Platforming > 3D Platforming.
    Super Mario Bros > Mario 64 > Ratchet & Clank > Galaxy > Sunshine.

  38. Evosnake Saturday 27th Nov 2010 at 20:52

    Maybe if it was more like warhawk or Colin Mcrae Dirt 2 it would have got 999% like fancypants man said it would....

    .. im going to go back on warhawk now..

  39. Pappi Monday 29th Nov 2010 at 16:49

    To think that a moderater can't spot such an obvious RPG element...

    Dude, it is nearly xmas, don't be a toilet seat.

    I would like this game but it isn't my number one game to get. The fact Warren S made it obviously has me going, why wouldn't this game be awesome? But I'd rather someone bought it for me for christmas. :D

  40. The_Legend_not Friday 10th Dec 2010 at 20:12

    :shock: I really really expected this game to get a better score.
    I really dont see what is wrong with this game. :(

    Hello. You have found my first Clue. No go forth and find the next!
    what is 5 + 13= That is the answer.

  41. Rabbid_girl Wednesday 29th Dec 2010 at 17:56

    This is how a quick game review is done:

    Epic mickey has the 3D adventure-style of Galaxy, except it is set in a interesting, darker world, stars mickey mouse and uses a painting affect. It also has a deeper storyline then the galaxy games, and the cut scenes are well executed. The 2D platforming part is no super mario bros, as the main attention is on the 3D parts as they take up the majority of the game, but is decent and rather clever-if it were the 2D parts alone it would deserve 76%. The camera, however, does get irritating, but is bearable and to me is the only minus. The grafics are as you make them, so you can make the worlds scary or cheery.

    90%

  42. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 3rd Feb 2011 at 23:44

    I love Epic Mickey but the only problem is the Cmaera so I gave it 90%

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.