Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Bit.Trip Fate review

A drop in quality for Commander Video

The Bit.Trip series has easily offered the most diverse range of genres we've ever seen in a single collection of games. Bit.Trip Fate, the fifth entry in the six-part saga, continues this by chucking a side-scrolling shooter into the mix.

Commander Video is stuck to a rail that goes along the entire length of each level, so all you can do is press left and right on the Control Stick to slide him forward and back on the rail.

By moving along the rail and taking advantage of its dips and hills, you can avoid the projectiles the enemies fire at you. It's an interesting way of doing things and requires a little more thought than simply being able to move your character freely in all directions.

Click to view larger image
You can aim by pointing your Remote at an enemy and holding A to fire continuously or you can use the Classic Controller.

Off The Rails?

Oddly, for a series known for its incredible difficulty, Bit.Trip Fate is nowhere near as hard as the other Bit.Trip games. We managed to get through the first three of the game's six levels without dying, something we certainly couldn't say about the likes of Beat, Runner or Core.

That said, it does eventually get difficult in the last couple of levels and the fact that you get sent right back to the start of the level when you die means it could still take you a while to finish the game, especially when you reach the huge boss battles.

It doesn't quite have the same 'one more go' feeling that games like Runner do, however, as if you get right to the end of a level in Fate and then die, the thought of playing through the whole thing all over again is somewhat less appealing.

It's not a bad game by any means. Fans of the series will still enjoy it but don't expect the same insane difficulty that makes the other games so engrossing.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the January issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which goes on sale on 23 December.

Comments

13 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Ammytastic Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 11:20

    This is WRONG Wrong wrong wrong!!!! This IS better than runner this IS the best of WiiWare!!! It Has the one more go factor and it IS Hard as I died countless times just trying to beat the second boss!!!!!!!!!!!!! You, ONM are LUCKY

  2. imbusydoctorwho Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 11:23

    I was having my doubts about this so I tried the demo of it.
    It was pretty boring and easy,so I might get this later
    cause I love the Bit. Trip series.

  3. Scribblenuts Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 13:28

    sadly I can't connect to the store so i can't get it :(
    Looks good It should jump to DSIware soon

  4. bobbyy29 Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 14:20

    Great but...
    THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE REVIEW YOU DID NOT MENTION MUSIC! Why should you review a rhythm action game and not mention music! Sorry ONM but this is just... CRAZY!

  5. conorr Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 15:43

    I just got bored when I played the demo.

  6. LaytonMario3 Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 15:50

    One of the best shooters on wiiware? You do realise the others are bobbins?

  7. MrChewtoy Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 15:59

    I loved Beat and Runner, but after I saw the first video for this, it didn't appeal as much. I'll try out the demo sometime though.

    And @bobbyy29. this is an edited review of the one which will appear in the magazine, so it may mention the music in the full version.

  8. ChrisONM Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 16:42

    Great but...
    THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE REVIEW YOU DID NOT MENTION MUSIC! Why should you review a rhythm action game and not mention music! Sorry ONM but this is just... CRAZY!


    It's not a rhythm action game though mate, not in the same way the other ones are. It's a shooter, and playing with the music up has no effect on the way you play the game since you don't need to time anything to the music.

  9. leomckitten Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 16:59

    Great but...
    THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE REVIEW YOU DID NOT MENTION MUSIC! Why should you review a rhythm action game and not mention music! Sorry ONM but this is just... CRAZY!


    It's not a rhythm action game though mate, not in the same way the other ones are. It's a shooter, and playing with the music up has no effect on the way you play the game since you don't need to time anything to the music.

    No, but each kill is in-time, I believe.

    Anyway, I enjoyed the demo, but it was a little lacking in the 'one more go' factor if you wanna call it that. The levels were too long to want to do the whole thing again when you die (not that I did, that would almost be embarrassing). It was a slower pace than some of the others, which ruined it a bit for me. I might still get it though...

  10. Violet Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 18:47

    I found the demo very enjoyable, but then I figured the game would be longer than just six stages. The demo takes you right up to the second boss... is that really just under one third of the game in the demo? If the game had, say, nine stages with a continued increase in difficulty I could see it being a must have. Runner may of only had three "stages" but each one was broken up into a ton of different and increasingly challenging levels.

    Then again, Runner was a bit TOO hard.

  11. SoulSilver IV Tuesday 30th Nov 2010 at 20:10

    Great but...
    THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE REVIEW YOU DID NOT MENTION MUSIC! Why should you review a rhythm action game and not mention music! Sorry ONM but this is just... CRAZY!


    It's not a rhythm action game though mate, not in the same way the other ones are. It's a shooter, and playing with the music up has no effect on the way you play the game since you don't need to time anything to the music.


    Even so, you didn't mention anything about the soundtrack, which I feel was one of the game's strongest points.

    I'm quite disappointed with this review score really, I was expecting it to score about 85%, but seeing a score in the 70s immediately generates an "average game" mentality for me. I have the full version, and I think it's a blast, if not infuriatingly difficult later on. Not to mention is that you didn't discuss any positive aspects about the game in the body of the review. =/

  12. geengy Wednesday 1st Dec 2010 at 19:37

    Yikes, we were expecting better.

  13. bobbyy29 Thursday 23rd Dec 2010 at 09:53

    Great but...
    THROUGHOUT THE WHOLE REVIEW YOU DID NOT MENTION MUSIC! Why should you review a rhythm action game and not mention music! Sorry ONM but this is just... CRAZY!


    It's not a rhythm action game though mate, not in the same way the other ones are. It's a shooter, and playing with the music up has no effect on the way you play the game since you don't need to time anything to the music.


    Oh... er... sorry... I really should stop abusing the ONM team...

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.