Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Professor Layton And The Mask Of Miracle review - 32/40 in Famitsu

Layton 3DS reviewed

The first Professor Layton 3DS game has received a respectable review score in the new issue of Japanese magazine Famtisu. Professor Layton And The Mask Of Miracle, a Nintendo 3DS launch game in Japan, received 32/40.

Level 5's Akihiro Hino believes that Professor Layton And The Mask Of Miracle is the best game in the series.

Click to view larger image
He redesigned Mask Of Miracle for 3DS after seeing what other developers were doing with Nintendo 3DS games.

Yet according to Famitsu "the puzzle solving doesn't use 3D too much." However the magazine reports that "investigating a screen with depth feels good."

Professor Layton And The Mask Of Miracle is just one of many Nintendo 3DS reviews in the latest issue of Famitsu.

Here are the rest of the mag's Nintendo 3DS game reviews.

You can find out how we rate the Nintendo 3DS launch games - including Pilotwings Resort, Splinter Cell 3D and Rayman 3D - by reading the new issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which goes on sale on 17 March.

You can subscribe and get Monster Hunter Tri.

[Source: Andriasang]

Comments

20 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Gamesman2000 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 11:14

    AWSOME!

    FIRST again!

  2. MrChewtoy Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 11:58

    So that equates to 80%. Hmmmm, well, it'll be a while until we get it anyway.

  3. Kooper Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 12:09

    Does anyone know what scores the other Layton games got so we can get an idea of how good it is comparatively?

  4. layton lover Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 12:09

    80%, really? I find that hard to believe.

  5. zapper01 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 12:18

    That's not as good as the other layton games is it? Pretty much what I expected.

  6. Waldy565 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 12:28

    i'll still be giving it a good score myself, but suprised that 3D isn't used too much (APPARANTLY HINT HINT!) :P

  7. nq93 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 13:15

    Does anyone know what scores the other Layton games got so we can get an idea of how good it is comparatively?


    1. Curious Village = 8/8/8/9 (33/40)
    2. Diabolical Box = 9/9/8/8 (34/40)
    3. Unwound Future = 9/8/8/8 (33/40)
    4. Spectres Flute = 8/9/9/8 (34/40)
    5. Miracle Mask = 8/8/8/8 (32/40)

    its lowest so far(not by much)
    which disappoints me because of level 5s statements.
    although since it is reviewed as a 3ds game rather than a ds game it could still be the best so far

  8. kirby711 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 13:20

    I don't really care that it doesn't use the 3D effect much. Some people won't use it anyway, and I certainly won't if it hurts my eyes. It's the gameplay that matters to me, 80% is unacceptable for a game series which is so popular.

  9. Bing Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 13:53

    I don't really care that it doesn't use the 3D effect much. Some people won't use it anyway, and I certainly won't if it hurts my eyes. It's the gameplay that matters to me, 80% is unacceptable for a game series which is so popular.

    Oh come on everybody, since when was 80% a bad score?

  10. ShigeruMiyamoto Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 14:18

    I don't really care that it doesn't use the 3D effect much. Some people won't use it anyway, and I certainly won't if it hurts my eyes. It's the gameplay that matters to me, 80% is unacceptable for a game series which is so popular.

    Oh come on everybody, since when was 80% a bad score?

    I totally agree with you.

  11. Kooper Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 14:22

    Does anyone know what scores the other Layton games got so we can get an idea of how good it is comparatively?


    1. Curious Village = 8/8/8/9 (33/40)
    2. Diabolical Box = 9/9/8/8 (34/40)
    3. Unwound Future = 9/8/8/8 (33/40)
    4. Spectres Flute = 8/9/9/8 (34/40)
    5. Miracle Mask = 8/8/8/8 (32/40)

    its lowest so far(not by much)
    which disappoints me because of level 5s statements.
    although since it is reviewed as a 3ds game rather than a ds game it could still be the best so far


    Thanks!

    Like you say it isn't by much, so I hope it is just because it is a 3ds game. Still, equated to ONM's scale, it should get at least 90%.

  12. C00LI098 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 15:07

    I don't really care that it doesn't use the 3D effect much. Some people won't use it anyway, and I certainly won't if it hurts my eyes. It's the gameplay that matters to me, 80% is unacceptable for a game series which is so popular.

    Oh come on everybody, since when was 80% a bad score?


    Since Nintendogs + Cats got 95%.

  13. MrChewtoy Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 15:19

    And for those of you complaining who didn't work it out, that means that the highest they've ranked any of the Layton games is 85%. So if you thought their score of 80% was too low (even though it's still a great score), that may be why.

  14. mario kart Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 19:41

    One of there comments is that 3D ain't used too well, but really, Layton ain't a type of game that can take real advantage of it. Here and there sure, and I imagine the cutscenes are amazing, but otherwise nothing really added. But it has to be on Nintendo handhelds, so we gotta put up with it, and so do the reviewers apparently.

  15. fisher2007 Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 22:01

    80%, really? I find that hard to believe.

    official nintendo magazine will give it a gold award like other layton games they are a fan.

  16. imbusydoctorwho Wednesday 23rd Feb 2011 at 23:23

    32/40 isn't a bad score tbh .
    In fact it's brilliant for this series still getting good scores.

  17. SuperLuigiYoshi Thursday 24th Feb 2011 at 11:58

    Only 80% is a bit disappointing really - especially when you see that Nintendogs + Cats got 95%... I would have thought they would be the other way around...

  18. killganon Thursday 24th Feb 2011 at 20:03

    since this trad concerns layton can someone tell me if and when lyton vs wright is out over here

  19. jammy3000100 Saturday 26th Feb 2011 at 20:57

    Wait only 32/40? Well I really do hope its good I pester my local game almost every week asking if they know when its coming out over here.

  20. Stachenscarfen Tuesday 5th Apr 2011 at 11:34

    I think the Lost Future is the best Layton game!!!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.