Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

The Legend Of Zelda: Twilight Princess Review

The Hylian hero returns to show us how it's done

So, here it is. Our review of perhaps the most eagerly awaited game in the history of gaming. But what could we possibly tell you that you don't already know? Over the past year we must have given Twilight Princess enough coverage to warrant a magazine of its own, so why would you need a ten-page review to regurgitate the same information all over again?

Well, what if we told you that what you think you know only covers a fraction of what Link's new adventure has to offer? What if we told you that we've clocked up nearly 40 hours of gameplay and are still nowhere near seeing everything? What if we told you that this game is up there in the giddying heights of interactive entertainment stardom mingling with titles like Resident Evil 4 and Ocarina Of Time, and in fact could well surpass them? You'd want to read on, wouldn't you?

Click to view larger image
The truth is that you should forget anything you think you knew about Nintendo's epic adventure game. You know nothing. Clear your mind, take a deep breath and we'll start again.

A Legend Is Born

Once upon a time, there was a game called The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina Of Time. It was a sprawling, immersive adventure that told the story of an unlikely young hero and stole the hearts of millions of gamer. Never before had a game offered such atmospheric worlds. Dungeons oozing with evil and enemies that dwarfed our young hero all bowed down to a continent's worth of exploration.

A few years later, Peter Jackson resurrected the Lord Of The Rings stories in cinemas and the similarities with Ocarina were clear. After seeing a teaser of a realistic-looking Zelda game, fans dreamed of a GameCube Zelda title that could mimic Jackson's films' majesty... yet it never came. But now, six years after that demo, the wait is over. The spiritual successor to Ocarina Of Time is here and it delivers on all of your wildest dreams.

Before we (finally) start this review we have to make one thing clear. Part of what makes this game so utterly absorbing is not knowing what's going to happen next. We wouldn't normally say this but to experience this game in its purest form we must advise you to stop reading. Turn to the last page, read the summary and look at the score. That's really all you need to know to make your decision. For those of you who are going to brave it, we accept no responsibility for any disappointment caused by finding out any of the game's secrets, but we have tried to protect you against any big spoilers by slapping a spoiler warning on the relevant sections. You have been warned.

Click to view larger image
The Legend Of Zelda: Twilight Princess places you in the body of young ranch-hand Link and sets you down in a peaceful village in Hyrule where life trickles by at a snail's pace. Children run around carefree and you can just sit in the sun and dream all day, because nothing else matters. You'll most likely spend hours (and we do mean hours) wandering around chatting to people, picking things up, shooting things with your slingshot and rounding up goats. It's a taste of the simple life but, as you may have guessed, such innocence can't last.

On his way to Hyrule Castle to deliver a gift for Princess Zelda, Link finds his path blocked by a dark, mysterious wall of energy that picks him up and drags him inside. The next thing he knows is that he's imprisoned in a dungeon and has been transformed into a wolf. He's barely spent two minutes in beast form before a rather disturbing creature by the name of Midna appears and offers to help him escape - for a price, of course. You will now be Midna's slave...

Previous 1 2 3 Next page

Comments

34 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. GlobboTwilight Saturday 9th Feb 2008 at 19:57

    I dont care if it has no voice acting

    I care about that fact its an old GC game, not a new game

    Why? Make something new, dont make us play the same game FFS

  2. bishop x Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 15:24

    Best game ever! 100%

  3. link_saintrez Tuesday 19th Feb 2008 at 19:57

    Link is far too cool for a voice.
    99%

  4. merse4england Tuesday 8th Apr 2008 at 14:22

    This could actually be the best game ever.

  5. theherooftime Wednesday 28th May 2008 at 18:18

    How many of you actually know the Legend Of Zelda series because I can assure you that this may be a great game and it is matching up to its predecessors e.g. Windwaker but it still hasn't surpassed Ocarina of Time. The fact that this game beat Ocarina of Time in terms of ratings is quite bad. I would think ONM where being a bit modest or don't know a better game when they see one. Surely Ocarina of Time far exceeds its sequels. On the other hand however Twilight Princess is a great game for anyone and it is a must have game. The storyline has completely ruined it for me on the basis that nintendo had to contradict the fact that it is set in an alternate timeline which messes up the Legend Of Zelda plot and storyline as well as its timeline. The game having been based of Ocarina Of Time doesn't show much revelance or relation to its predecessor. Having given a rating I would have given it 95%, lacking 5% continuative storyline.

  6. Lost In Hyrule Wednesday 16th Jul 2008 at 21:14

    Greatest. Game. Ever. :D

  7. brawlazoid Thursday 31st Jul 2008 at 13:50

    :o I would never give Twilight Princess 97% I Hated It!! It starts pathetically and can get a bit samey. 75% max.

  8. jgri8105 Tuesday 14th Oct 2008 at 15:50

    I love this game. There are so many good things about this game such as the graphics the music the gameplay and the story :D . I also like the fact that this is not to overly hard as I know that I would die in every boss fight :oops: i would say a definate 100%

  9. Johnzaloog Wednesday 29th Oct 2008 at 19:24

    A voice? well, excuuuuuse me princess. Link's had 2 voices before, and both were really bad, i think he's better without one. I guess other characters could have had one but meh.

    I love this game to bits, but I still say it should be more like 94/95%, It's not as great as Ocarina.

  10. nasher1994 Friday 31st Oct 2008 at 19:26

    did u really expect voice acting in a zelda game

  11. gils Tuesday 11th Nov 2008 at 12:38

    a great game with great graphics and gameply,i loved how you can used the wiimote to fire arrows etc,
    i didnt like the whole wolf thing, but the storyline worked well with it.

    Its probably the best game on wii and the fishing minigame itself is brillant and so relaxing. I think ive played 50-60 hours on this game, it truely is great to comeback to and is a modern day classic.

    But the real question is, is it better than ocarina,NO purely as ocarina was so groundbreaking, but twilight princess certainly gives ocarina a run for its money and has taken the franchise in a positive way!

    Great work ninty :lol:

  12. FireHawk Tuesday 16th Dec 2008 at 23:17

    Sorry, but I disagree on the 'Wii Vs. GC' side. Some of the Wii controls are a mess, or are hard to get to grips with and feel tacked-on (such as the item system, and several mini-game controls... Balloon-popping and Rollgoal spring to mind here). While aiming with the remote is great, I found the angle of the player in relation to Link to be awkward (and in some cases, it makes some targets harder to see when compared to the GC's first-person perspective... I've made several great shots on the 'Cube version that I can't even attempt with the Wii simply because of the aiming angle). The fishing is one aspect where the Wii truly shines, but that's not saying much.

    I could go on forever about this, but I'll just say that I personally prefer the 'Cube version over the Wii one.

  13. NGamer37 Sunday 28th Dec 2008 at 20:37

    this game was great :D not my favourite out of all the zelda games but i still loved it.

    i really dont think any game can beat ocarina of time, that game is 100% the best game ever.

  14. Smash-bros fan Tuesday 3rd Feb 2009 at 11:44

    Hang on... how could you give this a higher rating that Ocarina?

  15. Adam2112 Monday 9th Feb 2009 at 00:34

    I still haven't got this or Ocarina yet. I only got into the Zelda series recently and haven't got round to picking this up. Might be able to get it with trade ins later in the week here.

  16. nikifindlay Sunday 22nd Mar 2009 at 13:14

    :) i love this game so much, the graphics are brilliant, i still dont think that this was the best Zelda game but it is in the top 3.

    midna is easily the best character 8) she roxx!

  17. cal494 Tuesday 24th Mar 2009 at 19:36

    This is proberly the BEST game on the wii!!! :D

  18. RealToonLink Monday 30th Mar 2009 at 23:37

    I completed it today (I know it's a bit late) but this is my favourite Zelda game I have played, however I would probably give Ocarina a better score simply because it was the first 3D Zelda.

    Ocarina of Time 98%

    Wind Waker 97%

    Twilight Princess 98%

    Phantom Hourglass 97%

  19. Metroidfan09 Wednesday 1st Apr 2009 at 12:33

    I completed it today (I know it's a bit late) but this is my favourite Zelda game I have played, however I would probably give Ocarina a better score simply because it was the first 3D Zelda.

    Ocarina of Time 98%

    Wind Waker 97%

    Twilight Princess 98%

    Phantom Hourglass 97%


    well i know its your point of view BUT PH is a bit high?

    OoT:98.5%

    WW:95%

    TP:98%

    PH:85%

    their mine :)

  20. Frankay Friday 17th Apr 2009 at 17:31

    I am actually in love with this game! <3

    Its quite pathetic really. haha.

    I think if they made a sequal to this it would be amazing!

    :P

  21. Wii_With_Mii Friday 17th Apr 2009 at 22:04

    Nintendo are so good that now, the Wii has the best games of each of their main franchises, Mario and Zelda. I absolutely LOVE this game. Best Zelda game. Period. No contest.

  22. Heroofhyrule Saturday 27th Jun 2009 at 17:50

    I dont care if it has no voice acting

    I care about that fact its an old GC game, not a new game

    Why? Make something new, dont make us play the same game FFS

    What are you talking about? The wii version came out first, there was two versions of the game so that they gave people choice if they still had a gamecube at the time (the game was way in development a while before the wii even came out, the original trailer for the game came out before the wii was even announced) So shut your trap.

  23. Okami Saturday 15th Aug 2009 at 10:32

    This game looks and sounds awesome. I MUST HAVE IT!!! >=3


    EDIT: Oh flipping hell. >< I just found out that later on in the game there are giant spiders, that are meant to move and walk realistically. Now I can't play it!
    Stupid arachnophobia. :x :cry:

  24. eleanorminimew Tuesday 1st Sep 2009 at 17:46

    :P Just started but I think it's ace!!! :D

  25. Ai64 Friday 18th Sep 2009 at 22:54

    A very, very big game even combined with the twilight realm.

  26. Ai64 Saturday 3rd Oct 2009 at 21:30

    The ending was awsome!

  27. mint45 Thursday 29th Oct 2009 at 17:56

    Someone said that they wanted a new game, instead of a Gamecube port. I would rather have a port and experianced this than had a new game in 2006 and not 2010. A definate 100%

  28. Nintendo Boy Wednesday 11th Nov 2009 at 14:48

    The ending was awsome!

    The whole game was awesome.

    and tbh, i don't care about any voice acting...

  29. Hammy206 Friday 13th Nov 2009 at 20:59

    Just wow.

  30. futurama-daft Tuesday 8th Dec 2009 at 16:26

    This game looks and sounds awesome. I MUST HAVE IT!!! >=3


    EDIT: Oh flipping hell. >< I just found out that later on in the game there are giant spiders, that are meant to move and walk realistically. Now I can't play it!
    Stupid arachnophobia. :x :cry:

    I dont remeber very many of them and they are pathetically easy to slaughter. Look on youtube and decide for yourself.

    Twilight Princess = Best. Game. EVER!!

  31. lolly93 Monday 6th Sep 2010 at 15:00

    this game is just brilliant in my opion it gives ocrina of time a run for its money but it dosent beat it i LOVEEEE the wolf/twilight theme to this its just WOW in my opion just brill XD cant wait for skyward sword :D :D :D

  32. kirbyfreak64 Monday 20th Dec 2010 at 22:35

    this game is pure brilliance. why did it have points taken off for no voice acting, they would only screw up links anyway. :(

  33. garsh303 Monday 24th Oct 2011 at 19:53

    Just seen the ending of this game. How is LoZ going to continue when Ganondorf's dead?

  34. stormsinger Tuesday 2nd Jul 2013 at 18:10

    Just seen the ending of this game. How is LoZ going to continue when Ganondorf's dead?

    I would imagine he's able to reincarnate or be revived by one of his followers at a later time. According to Hyrule Historia, that's basically what's always happened except for when a completely new Ganondorf is born. Hope this answers your question! =)

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.