Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Pokémon Black and White review

The best Pokémon game ever?

Pokémon Black and White Review Pokémon Black and White represents the series biggest step forward since the original Gold and Silver introduced the internal clock, held items and breeding . A brand-new region, more dynamic battles and a significant expansion of the online game are just three reasons why Pokémon feels fresher than it has for a while. Pokémon Black and White really are the best Pokémon games ever.

Not that you'll really be able to tell during your first few hours in Unova. Everything feels perhaps just a touch too familiar. Even the objective is identical: become Pokémon champion by collecting eight gym badges, tackle the Elite Four and then finally beat the current champ.

Click to view larger image
Things immediately settle into that old recognisable rhythm, as you step into the tall grass and start battling Pokémon. Every one of the 150-odd new Pokémon is brand-new, but that's not to say your synapses won't feel a gentle fizz of familiarity as Patrat, Lillipup and Pidove introduce themselves as, essentially, the new Bidoof, Rattata and Pidgey.

Oshawott's New?

You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

Battles are much more exciting visually, with a roving camera that pans left to right past the combatants if you leave it idle while choosing your options. Select an attack and you'll see it carried out in a much more impressive and physical way than ever before. The camera zooms in to follow projectiles, pans outwards to reveal the full extent of area attacks, and overall there's a far greater sense that you are actually making contact with your opponent.

Sound effects are far meatier, and the battle music is superb, adjusting the pace to add to the drama when your Pokémon is low on health or your opposite number is down to their last monster.

The visual improvements don't end there. Towns and cities are no longer just arrangements of boxy buildings, offering much greater graphical variety, while monthly changes of season add to the sense of place. Interiors are still a little plain, but the gyms are much more inventive, ranging from a space-age rollercoaster ride to a series of cannons that shoot the player through hoops.

Click to view larger image

Path To Glory

What's striking about Unova is how linear the layout seems. There are plenty of opportunities to wander off the beaten track, but a map is hardly required to get through the eight gyms. With little opportunity to get lost, it's easy to recall where you were when you last played, and the faster pace of the combat - status updates and special abilities used are relayed instantly rather than in the text commentary at the bottom of the screen - make it better-suited for shorter play sessions.

Unova isn't as large as Johto and Kanto combined, but it's still pretty huge with plenty left to do once you've seen the credits roll, as older Pokémon arrive from other regions, ready for you to capture all over again. You'll also pick up more in the Dream World, where you connect your DS to a PC and send a Pokémon to explore as they slumber. It's like an expanded version of HeartGold and SoulSilver's Pokéwalker and it feels more substantial.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

63 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Gwiifanboy Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 12:36

    Pokemon B/W is like a breath of fresh air that the Pokemon franchise needed.

  2. Mattechoo Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 12:53

    I'm still annoyed at having to wait until you finish the game to trade any Pokémon from any of the other games.... :evil:

  3. Ai64 Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 13:40

    Fantastic for Pokemon black & White to arrive here. It looks to be the best in the series. Was it worth the wait? Yes! Yes it was.

  4. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 13:47

    I can't wait to get this.
    Fantastic review ONM.
    This looks like this could be one of the best looking DS games out there.
    Hopefully the next gen Pokemon will be a 3D moving world.

  5. NOM is NOM Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 15:04

    I'm still annoyed at having to wait until you finish the game to trade any Pokémon from any of the other games.... :evil:

    Why? It kills the game if you can just bring over your fully trained 'mon before the Elite Four.

  6. omegoku Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 15:16

    I'm taking tomorrow off just to pick this up and play it to death!

  7. Guybrush20X6 Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 15:51

    I'm glad they're coming out around the same times as America this time around. I knew everything about Diamond and Peral before they came out cause Yanks didn't stop blabbing.

  8. LightSamus Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 16:31

    Chris Schilling

    Eh? XD

  9. SteveSalmon999 Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 16:33

    I wrote into ONM in the summer complaining about some the new pokemon designs. It was published but they said i was getting caught up on design and not gameplay possibilities etc.
    but now they come to my way of thinking... ... ..

    :roll:

  10. Chocolate king Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 16:46

    Can't wait to play this game... I've been anticipating it for so long.

  11. sciqueen Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 17:58

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.

  12. Ninja_Jaden Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 18:58

    I think they have got a nice balance. You get an equal measure of good and bad Pokemon in terms of physical appearance. I mean you have to admit that some of the designs are poor, referring to the new Cornetto mascots, but they grow on you.

    And Litwick is awesome :D

  13. Komodo_Wolfgang Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 19:56

    Im getting up early tommorow just to buy this. But like a Trainer, Im stuck on what pokemon to start off with =(

    Its also caused a little tiff with me and my girlfriend... XD

  14. Moomoomunch Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 20:35

    Got mine today :D. Brilliant so far

  15. C00LI098 Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 20:41

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .

  16. Rnald Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 21:12

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    I think R/S/E are the best games and D/P/P was good but I still agree with that guy, I could probably only name about ten designs that I really liked.

    Not sure whether to buy this, I think I'm getting too old now.

  17. sciqueen Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 21:23

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    Just because something is new doesn't mean it's good. I think these games are getting far too much hype.

  18. ClockMenace Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 22:05

    Every one of the 150-odd new Pokémon is brand-new, but that's not to say your synapses won't feel a gentle fizz of familiarity as Patrat, Lillipup and Pidove introduce themselves as, essentially, the new Bidoof, Rattata and Pidgey.

    That's exactly what I was thinking about - it doesn't matter if you switch out the Pokemon - if they still have Attack, Tail Whip, and Defense Curl, it'll be hard to be amazed in the first hour.

  19. Take Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 22:42

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    Just because something is new doesn't mean it's good. I think these games are getting far too much hype.

    http://chztotsandgiggles.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/0ad2560b-dbb7-450a-a037-bef7051c82cb.jpg

  20. PokeRave Thursday 3rd Mar 2011 at 22:52

    Met the creators of Pokemon, well at least two of them Masuda and Ken Sugimori and got a bunch of stuff signed and won a special DSi bundle signed by both, so Happy but I'm not sure whether I should keep it or sell it for lots of money. What does my fellow ONMers think?

  21. Sonic56 Friday 4th Mar 2011 at 01:24

    Black and white is officially out. But I live in Canada Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa how can i cope

  22. sciqueen Friday 4th Mar 2011 at 10:20

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    Just because something is new doesn't mean it's good. I think these games are getting far too much hype.

    http://chztotsandgiggles.files.wordpress.com/2010/11/0ad2560b-dbb7-450a-a037-bef7051c82cb.jpg

    Very mature...

  23. Jacen Friday 4th Mar 2011 at 20:01

    Mine was delivered yesterday, and I downloaded my Liberty Pass today.

    It's everything I hoped it would be, but am I the only one who's a little bothered by the dodgy pixelation of your Pokémon during battle sequences? The rest of the game looks so nice, a little antialiasing wouldn't have hurt. I guess that's the price we pay for Pokémon that actually move.

  24. The_Legend_not Friday 4th Mar 2011 at 20:50

    Met the creators of Pokemon, well at least two of them Masuda and Ken Sugimori and got a bunch of stuff signed and won a special DSi bundle signed by both, so Happy but I'm not sure whether I should keep it or sell it for lots of money. What does my fellow ONMers think?


    I think you should keep it because. It'll go up in value in a few months/years and get lots more. If you are getting the 3ds then you will have to think what would you use it for. Also if you give it back to a store you will get it like a trade in. The fact that it is signed will not make a difference.If you have 2 pokemon games you could keep ur special dsi and keep it for trading if you want 2. Me personally would keep it as a collectors item. If u want to sell it go either with ebay or amazon.
    Hope this helps :D

  25. PokeRave Friday 4th Mar 2011 at 21:17

    Met the creators of Pokemon, well at least two of them Masuda and Ken Sugimori and got a bunch of stuff signed and won a special DSi bundle signed by both, so Happy but I'm not sure whether I should keep it or sell it for lots of money. What does my fellow ONMers think?


    I think you should keep it because. It'll go up in value in a few months/years and get lots more. If you are getting the 3ds then you will have to think what would you use it for. Also if you give it back to a store you will get it like a trade in. The fact that it is signed will not make a difference.If you have 2 pokemon games you could keep ur special dsi and keep it for trading if you want 2. Me personally would keep it as a collectors item. If u want to sell it go either with ebay or amazon.
    Hope this helps :D

    yer I opened it and I am playing pokemon white on a very special DSi yay :D

  26. UnitedMatt28 Friday 4th Mar 2011 at 23:09

    Got my version of White on Thursday (here's to pre-ordering!) and have hardly been able to put it down. Fantastic.

  27. greycloud007 Saturday 5th Mar 2011 at 01:56

    Lol i picked up pokemon white from my morrisons store which only cost me Ł22.75.

    They had it listed this morning as a 3DS launch game, until i told them to change it.

    I then went to game and got the special pokemon black bundle with the DSi...well worth it!

    When i play pokemon white i get the feeling i had from when i first played pokemon red,silver,emerald and platinum...that i'm getting something new and challenging.

    I like not knowing about any of the pokemon :)

  28. Lugia Saturday 5th Mar 2011 at 09:08

    So far no complaints from me - lovely smooth battle style, and the game music sounds more advanced than its ever been. All in all - refinement at its best!

    As for the twin ice cream and rubbish pile pokemon.. the designs may be utterly silly but thats added entertainment value in my eyes!

    Waiting impatiently now for Pokemon Global Link! http://www.pokemon-gl.com/

  29. Red-Wolf Saturday 5th Mar 2011 at 14:44

    Wow... I. Can't. Wait.

    It feels like I'm really going to set out on a totally brand new adventure.

    I'm getting really powerful memories of playing Pokemon Yellow for the first time, all of 11 years ago. Now I feel old...

    BTW the structure of the battle animation reminds me of Golden Sun.

  30. NINTENDOPOKEMON Saturday 5th Mar 2011 at 21:23

    yeah, the best pokemon ever and ive found a glitch already. :x now i will loose a ton of gameplay :'(

  31. GloverMist Sunday 6th Mar 2011 at 15:55

    I got Black on the release date and I think it's the best Pokemon game of all time by far! I've also got the Liberty Pass to get Victini! :D

  32. codcam2 Sunday 6th Mar 2011 at 16:39

    Just finished it in 24 hours, and I can safely say that was amazing. I too had doubts when it was first revealed last year, due to the Pokemon not looking... Well, at their best, but after playing it, it's one of the hardest Pokemon games yet! (second only to Emerald) The battles are much more fun with their battle animations, and they also go by a lot quicker, which is good due to how they drag on in all the other games. There are a few things I disliked about it, like battling the elite 4 in order. Forget that! I want a clear path to the champion! Another thing was Team Plasma itself. They weren't threatening (except N when he get ...) and were the PETA of the Pokemon world. They could've at least brought back Team Rocket. I mean, they were, and always will be, my favorite evil team in any Pokemon game. The last thing I didn't like was how short the game was. It took over 50 hours for me to finish Soul Silver, same for Platinum, and then comes White with an amazing, yet short story. Anyway, here's my verdict:
    +The plot's amazing
    +The Unova region's got so much to explore
    +The battles are much more fun
    +N was very interesting
    -Too short
    91% overall.

  33. Waldy565 Sunday 6th Mar 2011 at 16:56

    i dont think anyone can argue with the score, its right on perfect! xD

  34. okamiwolf21 Sunday 6th Mar 2011 at 23:08

    yeah, the best pokemon ever and ive found a glitch already. :x now i will loose a ton of gameplay :'(

    what glitch? :?

  35. Eusegone Monday 7th Mar 2011 at 16:34

    :D Great review and great game.... just started playing white and loving every second of it, looking forward to completing it and trading all the previous pokemon from past games.
    Will Gamefreak take pokemon to a new level now that 3DS is coming out? and will there be other chances for UK players to get rare, mystical creatures such as Celebi? : roll :
    I think that we waited 10 years to be given the chance of getting Celebi and many people missed it, how about a WIFI event???

    Last few words are congratulations and thanks to everyone in the Pokemon development team :D

  36. NINTENDOPOKEMON Monday 7th Mar 2011 at 16:56

    yeah, the best pokemon ever and ive found a glitch already. :x now i will loose a ton of gameplay :'(

    what glitch? :?

    right, this has happend twice now :(

    a pokemon faints in a doubble or tripple battle and then when you select your next pokemon to send out it continues in an infinate loop;
    select pokemon *taps pokemon* send out pokemon? *taps send out*.

    select pokemon *taps pokemon* send out pokemon? *taps send out*

    this loops for ever and when you try to select a difrent pokemon then it says that it is unable to battle, even with full hp.
    Is this just my coppy though?

  37. Pappi Monday 7th Mar 2011 at 20:40

    i'm not keen on these gen of pokemon. i mean, like that blue one dressed in a karate outfit--POKEMON SHOULD NOT WEAR CLOTHESSSS X.X

  38. ZeldaKing Monday 7th Mar 2011 at 22:18

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    I think R/S/E are the best games and D/P/P was good but I still agree with that guy, I could probably only name about ten designs that I really liked.

    Not sure whether to buy this, I think I'm getting too old now.

    You young sir are not nor will you ever be too old to buy a pokemon game and if you ever think it again may you be hit on the head with an orange.

  39. ChrisONM Tuesday 8th Mar 2011 at 10:45

    i'm not keen on these gen of pokemon. i mean, like that blue one dressed in a karate outfit--POKEMON SHOULD NOT WEAR CLOTHESSSS X.X


    Since when? :wink:

    http://pokemon.supercheats.com/artwork/67.png

    http://b.domaindlx.com/cg103006/sky_wondermails/images/107.jpg

    http://paranerds.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/02/jynx.gif

  40. Toastie Tuesday 8th Mar 2011 at 16:08

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.

    OBJECTION!!

    You can't really rate Pokemon games on the Pokemon designs, as it is completely subjective. I for one think these Pokemon are by far the best.

  41. Gamesman2000 Tuesday 8th Mar 2011 at 18:34

    yeah, the best pokemon ever and ive found a glitch already. :x now i will loose a ton of gameplay :'(

    what glitch? :?

    right, this has happend twice now :(

    a pokemon faints in a doubble or tripple battle and then when you select your next pokemon to send out it continues in an infinate loop;
    select pokemon *taps pokemon* send out pokemon? *taps send out*.

    select pokemon *taps pokemon* send out pokemon? *taps send out*

    this loops for ever and when you try to select a difrent pokemon then it says that it is unable to battle, even with full hp.
    Is this just my coppy though?

    You have to tap the pokemon you want to send out and then choose the pokemon that fainted.

  42. NINTENDOPOKEMON Tuesday 8th Mar 2011 at 19:28

    yeah, the best pokemon ever and ive found a glitch already. :x now i will loose a ton of gameplay :'(

    what glitch? :?

    right, this has happend twice now :(

    a pokemon faints in a doubble or tripple battle and then when you select your next pokemon to send out it continues in an infinate loop;
    select pokemon *taps pokemon* send out pokemon? *taps send out*.

    select pokemon *taps pokemon* send out pokemon? *taps send out*

    this loops for ever and when you try to select a difrent pokemon then it says that it is unable to battle, even with full hp.
    Is this just my coppy though?

    You have to tap the pokemon you want to send out and then choose the pokemon that fainted.

    thanks, wow, that makes me sound noobish, should do it autimaticly though. I have now caut the same 5 pokemon 3 times

  43. DragonRider Tuesday 8th Mar 2011 at 22:27

    I'm at the elite 4 in pokemon white. My team is a lv 50 emboar, lv 46 Krookodile, lv 48 Haxuros, lv 42 Carracosta, lv 41 Gurdurr, lv 43 Zebstrika. What should I do to improve my team? :?

  44. Monika 2011 Wednesday 9th Mar 2011 at 14:29

    Brought the game on friday 4th March 2011 and completed in three days i say that's a record for me. :D

  45. Rnald Wednesday 9th Mar 2011 at 17:14

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    I think R/S/E are the best games and D/P/P was good but I still agree with that guy, I could probably only name about ten designs that I really liked.

    Not sure whether to buy this, I think I'm getting too old now.

    You young sir are not nor will you ever be too old to buy a pokemon game and if you ever think it again may you be hit on the head with an orange.


    I got it in the end.

    Designs are still crap though.

  46. sciqueen Wednesday 9th Mar 2011 at 17:59

    You're teased with these safe, slightly boring designs, before things get more interesting and you're soon chucking Ultra Balls at a twin-scoop ice cream with two faces, being poisoned by an overflowing sack of rubbish, or - much later on - desperately trying to keep your last team member alive as the rest are decimated by a three-headed dragon. Everyone will have a new favourite, and the sense of discovery is back.

    Behave yourselves. The new Pokemon are awful and you know it.

    The series peaked with Gold and Silver and no Pokemon game will ever capture the magic of the first two generations.


    I smellz a nostalgia f*g. . .


    I think R/S/E are the best games and D/P/P was good but I still agree with that guy, I could probably only name about ten designs that I really liked.

    Not sure whether to buy this, I think I'm getting too old now.

    You young sir are not nor will you ever be too old to buy a pokemon game and if you ever think it again may you be hit on the head with an orange.


    I got it in the end.

    Designs are still crap though.

    LOL I'm the same situation - I may end up buying it even though you are stuck with these awful new ones until you have finished the adventure. Maybe I should get HGSS, but then I will be a generation behind!

  47. Tailzy Friday 11th Mar 2011 at 10:54

    Whether the Pokemon designs are bad or not is all a matter of opinion and shouldn't effect the game itself.

  48. 08boatfg Thursday 17th Mar 2011 at 17:30

    Tepig Rules!!! :D

  49. Rainbow Yoshi Thursday 17th Mar 2011 at 21:28

    I had my doubts about Generation V but after people convinced me to buy it I am hooked! It is certainly an outstanding game and surely the best in the series.

  50. Saulmeister3 Saturday 19th Mar 2011 at 12:50

    WHAT? 95% is an outrage. Its a good enough game, but the only thing it really adds is a few camera angles and moving scenes. Big woop.

  51. crimson vengance Sunday 20th Mar 2011 at 00:07

    I'm still annoyed at having to wait until you finish the game to trade any Pokémon from any of the other games.... :evil:

    I think that the fact you have to start over is brilliant! Discovering new pokemon is the fun bit :)

    I can't wait to get white on friday when i get a 3DS

  52. herbiethecar Sunday 20th Mar 2011 at 21:25

    To all those hating on the new pokemon

    Seel

    'nuff said

  53. Teamoverdrive Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 21:02

    I wish u could walk around with your pokemon like in hg.
    I'm currently near the 5th gym I have-
    Pokedex(caught)-64
    Pokedex(seen)-74
    I have all the ones that rusel around and I'm gona have each and every pokemon XD. Theres only 150? Shame lol. The new abilitys are Awsome.
    My current team-
    Serperior-39 (I love it. It's a epic starter! Esspecialy cause it's shiny!
    Simisear-43 (not keen on this 1)
    Semitoad-37 (not so bad)
    Stoutland-37 (mehh)
    Excadril-37
    Krookodile-40 (EPIC very happy to have this when I saw it I almost fainted lol. ITS SHINY!!!!!
    Working to get to lv 50 for all my ppokes before chalangeing WOOT!!!
    So yer so far so good!
    For all of u wondering I DIDN'T HACK IT!

  54. jimbob555 Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 23:35

    To all those hating on the new pokemon

    Seel

    'nuff said

    Ducklett.

  55. Guitarhero84 Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 20:42

    Everybody really needs to stop complaining about this awesome game. I am a Pokemaniac, and own every Pokemon game ever released in the UK. I have every single Pokemon except for Keldeo, Meloetta and Genosect (they haven't been released yet), and so I know a thing or two about the game.
    1) C-Gear - Everybody says that they hate this feature. In my opinion, it is immensely useful, and makes trading and battling far quicker and easier. And as for the people moaning about having to go through two screens to check on their team - How lazy are you people!? It takes literally two seconds and is not annoying at all. The touch screen can only take so many features!
    2) Poisoning - Lots of people are also whining about your Pokemon not losing health through poisoning outside of battle. This is such a petty complaint. Personally, I'm glad that I don't have to waste hyper potions and full restores to heal 33HP anymore.
    3) Reusable TMs - This is by far one of the greatest additions that Game Freak have ever made to Pokemon. I'm glad not to use awesome TMs on a Pokemon, only to realise later that I could have used them on a better Pokemon. Besides, you have to work hard enough for them - they cost epic amounts of cash and the best ones are only available post-game. I think that rather than making the game easier, this feature has made it harder - TMs can't be traded or held anymore, and not as many Pokemon can learn them in Generation 5.
    4) Lower catch rates - I definitely think that Pokemon are now far easier to catch. Does anybody remember Mewtwo, or Rayquaza? They took days to catch, and gave me a sense of great satisfaction when caught them. In this game, however, normal wild Pokemon are caught on the first try without being weakened, and Reshiram was disgustingly easy to catch. I understand that it is vital to the story, but they could have at least made it a bit of a challenge. The same goes for Cobalion, Virizion and Terrakion. These are the new legendary trio and so by tradition should be hard to catch. I caught Cobalion on full health with a great ball, third try, and Terrakion and Virizion with ultra balls within the first 10 tries. On the other hand though, some non-legendaries are too hard to catch - Lv 65 Metang, anyone?
    5) Rematches - These are a staple for any Pokemon game and I'm very surprised that they're not in Unova. The Vs Seeker was the best, but even a gym leader rematch or battle tower that gives EXP would have done.
    6) Post-game - The post-game part is nowhere near as good as in HG/SS, but is still pretty nifty. There are lots of ways to train your team and get money - challenging the stronger Elite 4, repeating the Elite 4, battling Game Freak Morimoto (in Castelia City), battling Cynthia, Nimbasa City Sports Domes, battling the Riches family of Undella Town, etc.
    7) Pokedex - My only complaint about this is the loss of the size and weight feature. It was small and rarely used, but was a nice touch.
    8) Pokemon - The new Pokemon are awesome. There are a few cute, low-level evolving Pokemon for beginners, and loads of late-evolving pseudo-legendaries for us Poke-pros. Cool designs, cool names, cool moves.
    9) Bike - The controls on this are awful. I'm glad that it's super-fast, but there's just no excusing such bad controls.
    10) Sprint Lock - This was a cool but unnecessary feature in HG/SS. How lazy do you have to be to complain about having to hold down "B"?
    Overall, this by far and away the best game of all time. I'd give it 100% - there are some very minor flaws, but not even enough to deduct 1%. It has massive appeal and replay value - I already have 100 hours play time and plan to amass hundreds more. Stop complaining and enjoy the game for what it is - AWESOME!!!! :D

  56. Scottybhoy Sunday 3rd Apr 2011 at 10:06

    95%!? This has got to be one of the best games ever! I got and couldn't put it down until I completed it. The graphics were the best I have ever seen in a DS game, the new pokemon were both interesting and unusual( I mean, a fire-breathing pig, which incidentally I did pick), so why did it only get 95%? My favourite pokemon game since fire red, which was my first. At least 97%, be fair.

  57. OracleOfPokemon Thursday 14th Apr 2011 at 11:53

    I really enjoyed Black and White, but they are so short, I managed to clear every location (including abyssal ruins), defeat every trainer, pick up every item, and catch every pokemon in unova's tall grass, caves and sea, in just 2 weeks. the musical was awful, and to be brutally honest, i prefered HG/SS, they were nice and long, and the pokeathlon was awsome. 94%.

  58. OracleOfPokemon Thursday 14th Apr 2011 at 11:57

    Why does everybody think the first 2 generations were the best, THEY WERE ABSOLUTELY AWFUL! they had slow games, with rubbish pokemon designs, and unimaginative graphics (yes, i know the game boy was limited). I think the series didn't pick up until generation 3, and in my opinion, the order is this:
    1st: Gen IV
    2nd: Gen V
    3rd: Gen III
    4th: Gen II
    5th: Gen I

  59. boofan25 Friday 15th Apr 2011 at 14:43

    Pokemon in 3D (as if we didn't see that coming)

  60. OracleOfPokemon Tuesday 26th Apr 2011 at 15:25

    4) Lower catch rates - I definitely think that Pokemon are now far easier to catch. Does anybody remember Mewtwo, or Rayquaza? They took days to catch, and gave me a sense of great satisfaction when caught them. In this game, however, normal wild Pokemon are caught on the first try without being weakened, and Reshiram was disgustingly easy to catch. I understand that it is vital to the story, but they could have at least made it a bit of a challenge. The same goes for Cobalion, Virizion and Terrakion. These are the new legendary trio and so by tradition should be hard to catch. I caught Cobalion on full health with a great ball, third try, and Terrakion and Virizion with ultra balls within the first 10 tries. On the other hand though, some non-legendaries are too hard to catch - Lv 65 Metang, anyone?


    Why does everyone keep saying the pokemon are easier to catch? the catch rates for legendaries has always been 3(not including reshiram, zekrom, dialga, palkia as they have 45). if you don't believe me, check the pokemon out on Bulbapedia.

  61. boofan25 Sunday 17th Jul 2011 at 12:07

    A pokemon 3d dreamscape this game has everything an rpg game needs however i was a bit disspointed that the game did not feature any evolve forms of pokemon of previous games.

  62. spacemen13 Monday 21st May 2012 at 15:01

    The DS is going to stuck getting new games soon. So I decide to get some of the classics I have missed,time to order this and okamiden off EBAY.

  63. King J Monday 19th Aug 2013 at 09:33

    this was a very good game it had a good story to it wish that i could have gotten the zorua at the gamefreak building in the game

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.