Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Rayman 3D Review

Tenth time's the charm for this often re-released gem

Rayman 3D review: It's been a long time since Rayman fans were treated to a new game. What we have here is the umpteenth version of Rayman 2: The Great Escape, released on the N64 in 1999 and as a DS launch title.

It does look impressive at times. While it shows its age for the most part with dull textures, poor lighting effects and angular, flat walls and environments, the odd set-piece moment really gives the 3D effect a chance to shine.

Click to view larger image
Sometimes the camera pans back and the level suddenly seems vast, as a tiny Rayman stands in the middle of the screen, while at others the camera pans above Rayman's head as he falls down sizeable caverns and pits. It's safe to say Rayman 2 has never looked this good.

Ray Jŕ Vu

What is disappointing, however, is that other aspects of the game are really starting to show their age. The camera can be horrible at times, especially when you try to swing it round in a thin corridor and it gets stuck in the walls, leaving you unable to see in the opposite direction.

The sound is also disappointment as effects are often nonexistent, such as when you throw a projectile at an enemy. Worse yet, the voice acting that was present in the PS2 version of the game has been scrapped here, lumbering players with the gibberish chat that featured in the N64 and Dreamcast versions.

Click to view larger image
None of this detracts from the fact that, ultimately, Rayman 3D is still a fun platformer. It takes a long time to collect all of the 1000 Lums that are scattered throughout each area and completely finish the game. The script is generally quite funny, and the games different worlds are varied and enjoyable to wander through.

Its just annoying - and a teensy bit rude - that this is essentially the 10th re-release of the same game in 12th years. If youve already played through it on the Nintendo 64, PlayStation, iPhone, DS, PC, Dreamcast or what-have-you, there's nothing here (other than the 3D effect, of course) that you havent seen before.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the May issue of Official Nintendo Magazine. Want to make sure you never miss and issue Subscribe now and save money.

Want to to find out more about the game? Here's a Rayman 3D interview.

Comments

38 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. dm_1782 Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 13:22

    Seriously I personally think 60% is a bit generous.

  2. peteflea Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 13:41

    wow , im kinda wishin i had waited and not bought this at the midnight launch :P

  3. imbusydoctorwho Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 13:56

    Wow.
    A bit dissapointed but after seeing some reviews I knew this wouldn't get a great score.
    I might get this on the cheap.

  4. samus_killer Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 14:01

    I got the chance to pick this up last night for Ł16.99, so I did. I haven't played it yet, but I'm looking forward to it nonetheless.

  5. AL X Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 14:35

    Over on msn they gave this a respectable 7.5/10. In the micro review they say that as in the original game the gameplay is great.

    See:

    http://games.uk.msn.com/gaming/photos/p ... 144&page=9

  6. ploiper Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 15:18

    from what ive played so far its very fun.

  7. PinkShaymin Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 15:18

    I picked this up last night as it was on special offer and I've never played a Rayman game, but it's still sitting in it's wrapping because the reviews aren't terribly positive and I'm still debating as to whether I should exchange it! :)

  8. NEO.BAHAMUT Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 15:32

    I picked this up last night as it was on special offer and I've never played a Rayman game, but it's still sitting in it's wrapping because the reviews aren't terribly positive and I'm still debting as to whether I should exchange it! :)

    Although the reviews aren't positive, I'd say still keep it.. It's not as bad as the reviews say, it's actually a fun platformer in my honest opinion!

  9. jimbob555 Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 15:33

    For any of you who haven't played it, it is a fantastic game. I played the N64 version and it was really really good. If you never have had a chance to play it do play it if you get it on the cheap. It's a really good game with inventive powers and bosses and stages.

  10. PinkShaymin Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 15:37

    Thanks to NEO.BAHAMUT and jimbob555 for the opinions and advice! I think I will keep this game, it'll be a new experience so hopefully should be worth playing :D

  11. Natawii Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 15:39

    The game's good, but you can get it for about Ł4 on the computer now...

  12. ChrisONM Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 16:23

    I picked this up last night as it was on special offer and I've never played a Rayman game, but it's still sitting in it's wrapping because the reviews aren't terribly positive and I'm still debating as to whether I should exchange it! :)


    If you haven't played it before then you definitely should. The main reason the score's so low is because all the Rayman fans who have played it numerous times before and have been looking forward for a new Rayman game for years have been shafted with the umpteenth re-release. It's still a good game for those who haven't played it before though.

  13. mariosgal64 Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 17:24

    I got this game (as well as Super Street Fighter), i haven't played it before and i must say im quite enjoying it! :) Graphics are great too. Pm me if you want to swap 3ds codes! ^_^

  14. DJEvan Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 17:33

    If Chris is still online, what score would you give the game if you have never played it before.
    I would guess an extra 20% or so.

  15. IanC Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 17:38

    Mmmmh, they should have ported Rayman 3. The name would work in a punny way then!

  16. Nintendosauras Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 19:10

    Looks utter :cry:


    Why the :twisted: did they do it ?!

  17. bananaoomarang Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 21:25

    Arghhhh, PLEASE MAKE A NEW RAYMAN GAME. Not this rabbids rubbish, not great escaoe AGAIN. NEWNEWNEWNEWNEWNEWNEWNEWNEWNEWNEW!!!

    sorry for the rant but c'mon Ubisoft! I've played this (admittedly excellent) platformer to death SO many times.

  18. MARION64WII Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 21:34

    This is even cheaper than the PS1 version. The voices are messed up, the sound is weird and the map has been watered down...I regret buying this but its my only chance to complete it once and for all

  19. MrChewtoy Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 21:41

    My only gripes are the lack of voice acting (although many people prefer the odd noises they made in the N64 and Dreamcast versions) and lack of sounds when fighting enemies.

    Apart from that, it's much better than the PS1 original (which I still love and played only a few weeks ago) and a great platformer all the same. It does more than the DS could have hoped to do, and for me a good portable Rayman 2 is something I'd never have expected to see.

  20. FriarLawrenceIII Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 21:50

    Rayman 3D is an odd nut. The gameplay is fantastic. The 3D effects are fantastic (at times). It's let down by the fact that it hasn't changed much since 1999. But in that case, just think of it as an enhanced virtual console game. Its a truly fantastic game in its own right, and is certainly playable (i.e. camera issues don't ruin it), so it should rate much higher than 60%.

  21. Lagerboy Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 22:18

    I have only played the first 10 mins of the N64 version, so I am considering it. The review has made me hesitate slightly but thats only because its a lazy port of a decade old game, with a 3D mask. Ill still get it because its a good game and ive never played it before and the gibberish chat is cool. It was in Banjo Kazooie/Tooie and its very similar here and not many people complain about that.

  22. sciqueen Friday 25th Mar 2011 at 23:50

    Rayman Teaches Maths for 3DS! XD

  23. Swixer-Swaxer Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 11:56

    Meh. Unlike some, I don't feel I need a review to tell me what to think of a game. I bought it, opened it, played it and am currently enjoying it. The visuals are superb, the gameplay itself is good and the camera isn't as bad as they make it out to be.

    Well worth the Ł24, really.

  24. K2000 Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 17:20

    Haveing played the game I feel that by giveing this game 60% that OOT should get about 70% since the game is just as good as it was along with one or two things that featured in some versions and not others(like the bounces missions) while giveing teh game a whole new feel by adding in 3D. I personily would say that its better than Street Fighter.

  25. MrChewtoy Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 18:07

    Game is much better than reviewers are making it out to be, and so far the majority of people who have played it have said they enjoy it, and I'm one of those people.

    I'm glad ONM's review copy was delayed otherwise I may not have pre-ordered this, but as it happens I'm very pleased I did!

  26. NEO.BAHAMUT Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 18:09

    Thanks to NEO.BAHAMUT and jimbob555 for the opinions and advice! I think I will keep this game, it'll be a new experience so hopefully should be worth playing :D


    You're welcome, my friend! =D

  27. HNF1 Saturday 26th Mar 2011 at 19:53

    Basically, this game is absolutely fantastic even by today's standards, but because critics are so badass they're marking it down by at least 20% compared to what it deserves, solely based on the fact this has been re-released a few times before. It's 12 years old for Christ sake, of course some of the textures are going to look flat and certain aspects will seem dated. Does that detract from the experience? Hell no. It just makes things feel more retro and; for those who have played it before; nostalgic, if anything. The music remains some of the best you'll ever hear in gaming, for a multitude of reasons. It's charming, it's fun, it's jam-packed with a plethora of platforming variation - including truly inspirational moments.

    Ok, so it was more classic all those years ago, but this still offers a meaty adventure of what was once considered near platforming perfection, and I highly recommend this to anyone. If there was ever a time to not base your purchase on review scores, now couldn't be more apt. Seriously, this is still awesome.

    And as a side note I've rarely experienced camera issues, and they last for two or three seconds so they're hardly a big deal either. :/

  28. The_Legend_not Sunday 27th Mar 2011 at 09:09

    Rayman 3d is very good . Ive played through the second level. And yes the graphics aybe flat but i thought it was about the gameplay. It is a very good game if you have played it and if you havent it's even better.
    P.S i had it on the PC

  29. Kev_h80 Sunday 27th Mar 2011 at 15:04

    I still have this for my N64 and it's the only copy of the game I own. It is much better suited to the big screen so I will only get this once I see it on the cheap.

  30. wolfy98 Sunday 27th Mar 2011 at 16:44

    I have this on the 3DS in my opinion it's fantastic

  31. Medevac Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 13:55

    Best of a bad bunch, so I'll be getting this game no doubt.

    I love how its being advertised on the website too :lol:

  32. dannyboy04 Friday 8th Apr 2011 at 21:34

    If you hadn't played it on soo many consoles would it still have got such a low mark cause I got it cheap with my 3ds for only Ł25 so would anyone else say that was good but I think the low mark was from its re releases but it should be good for me when I get to play it cause I've never played a Rayman game ever so it should be more interesting than for someone who's played it 10 times before

  33. crystal Monday 11th Apr 2011 at 19:31

    This is my first Rayman game and all I can say is that it's awesome :D
    I'd recommend it highly to anyone who hasn't played it before even though it only got 60%! :) It's great

  34. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 14th Apr 2011 at 23:26

    Tis a pretty fun game,much more better than I expected.
    I see where ONM came from with the 60% but as I never Played Rayman 2 before this was the better of the ports in recent year.
    The platforming is incredibly fun with reminders of Mario 64,Banjo and all the other platforming stars.
    I think the music is brilliant in the game with loads of humfull tunes.
    So far I give it a respectable 7.5/10.

  35. dsamus Friday 3rd Jun 2011 at 18:55

    i have all 12 re releases of this game and i still love it

  36. saswatch Sunday 24th Jul 2011 at 20:40

    if oot3d got 98 then this should have got 90. it might have been released several times but oot time has as well 4 times

  37. Nina-P Sunday 11th Sep 2011 at 16:16

    I'm Liking Rayman So far :D I got It Pretty cheap (Ł20)

  38. callum2003 Friday 6th Jan 2012 at 17:25

    OMG the first picture in the review looks like Rayman is farting fire HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.