Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

The Sims 3 3DS Review

Ever wanted the Sims with all the good bits taken out? Well, someone did.

Of all thirteen 3DS launch games, The Sims 3 was the only one we weren't sent for review before it was released. It's almost as if someone didn't want us to play it and find out how abysmal it is.

It's almost an achievement that EA has made a 3DS version of a game that's not only worse than the Wii version, but the DS version too.

Click to view larger image
Controlling your Sim is an exercise in patience. You may be able to see the item you want to interact with on the top screen, but you'll need to find it on a horribly confusing map on the touchscreen and tap it to choose what you want to do.

Get your Sim to step outside into the wide world and you'll be presented with a grand total of two different locations to visit - a park and a shopping square. Even the iPhone version of the game had more locations than this. It's frankly pathetic.

On top of all this it features choppy animations and looks horrible. We don't like suggesting games are rushed out for launch but when a game's framerate is ropier than an assault course it's clear that very little time has been spent optimising the game.

The Sim Of All Fears

We haven't even told you the most annoying thing yet. For some reason, the 3DS version of The Sims 3 has removed the mood bars that tell you how hungry, clean, tired and so forth your Sim is. No big deal, you know, it's only the WHOLE POINT of the entire game.

Instead these are replaced with pithy little 'moodlets' that simply pop up just as things are about to go horribly badly. As a result you have no idea how hungry your Sim is until you get a message telling you they're absolutely starving and you don't know how clean they are until there's literally green stink clouds coming off them.

Click to view larger image
This would be manageable if two or more of these dilemmas didn't happen at the same time but you're regularly told out of the blue that your Sim is starving, bursting and exhausted at the same time.

Since this is all a game about time management this just ruins the experience and many a time we've had our ravenous Sim frantically cooking dinner only for them to wet themselves then fall asleep on the floor next to a puddle of their own urine through no fault of our own.

The Sims 3 is a disgrace. The gameplay mechanics have been savaged, the graphics are choppy and the user interface makes the simplest of tasks frustrating.

Comments

31 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. andthatisthat Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 13:13

    From Chris's review:

    many a time we've had our ravenous Sim frantically cooking dinner only for them to wet themselves then fall asleep on the floor next to a puddle of their own urine through no fault of our own.

    Is it just me, or does this sound like the version of the game that actually comes closest to real life? At least, it does if you know my brother.

  2. PrincessPeach Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 13:22

    This should come as no surprise, of course, seeing as the whole sims series went down the drain when the PC/Mac version of The Sims 3 was released in '09.

  3. JamieRIOT Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 13:29

    Um, yeah. Don't buy a sims game unless it is the original PC ones. I haven't personally played it, but this review is shocking. Why do developers even bother churning out trash like this?!

  4. Hylian_Grouch Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 13:32

    this is funny. the trouble is though, because its so cheaply made, it will definitely turn a profit. naughty developers. presumably the first of many many awful games that are released in three dimensions to earn a quick buck.

  5. PrincessPeach Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 14:04

    Um, yeah. Don't buy a sims game unless it is the original PC ones. I haven't personally played it, but this review is shocking. Why do developers even bother churning out trash like this?!

    And, at that, only get Sims 1 and Sims 2.

  6. ChrisONM Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 14:06

    Um, yeah. Don't buy a sims game unless it is the original PC ones. I haven't personally played it, but this review is shocking. Why do developers even bother churning out trash like this?!

    And, at that, only get Sims 1 and Sims 2.


    I actually love The Sims 3 on PC, which is what makes this version even more disappointing for me.

  7. Wiintendo Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 14:16

    Well, each ninty console has a bad launch game

    GC- Universal Studios
    DS- ROBOTS
    Wii- Rampage
    3DS- Sims 3

    So this doesn;t surprise me too much and I didn;t think the sims 3 would work well on the 3DS anyways.

  8. Laganwanderer Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 14:22

    I'm so pleased that I never spent my cash on this. I had really considered it but thought I would wait for the reviews. Like others have said here's the first of lazy cash grabbing ports.

  9. imbusydoctorwho Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 14:52

    Isn't no surprise.
    The Sims is better on the PC.
    I feel sorry for my mate who brought this,it was his most wanted 3DS game.

  10. Jedi_jester Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 14:57

    Its a real shame. I was kind of looking forward to a SIMS game in 3D. Plus the PC/Mac game is really good. Maybe when they do the sims medieval port for the system they can work a bit more on it before they release it.

  11. keybearer322 Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 15:19

    Chris you were excited for this too. I say that we destroy EA's 3DS dev kit. We would save the world from so much more rubbish.

  12. robophobia Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 15:32

    I feel duped.

    After scraping together my old DS and sacrificing some games, I managed to scrape together enough to get a 3DS on saturday. I had enough money to get one game (you can see what is coming here) and I got sims for the 3DS.

    It really is a big dissapointment, I have been going to visit street fighter in the shop.

    DRAT!

  13. bananaoomarang Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 15:46

    Ouch. Not gonna buy it anymore.

  14. Joe_Crow Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 15:52

    @Wiintendo
    Agreed. The DS had many.
    Remember Ping Pals and Sprung: The Dating Game?

  15. Snarafe Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 16:02

    I don't know if it deserves a score that low. I pre-ordered mine from Amazon, so I got it before all the reviews were out and it's not an awful game. It's not as good as Sims 1 but its by far better than Sims 2 Pets for DS. I don't think it is bad enough to be compared with a game like Doctor Who: return to Earth (Which only got 2% lower).

  16. retrotoad Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 16:22

    Can't they make this even half decent? It's a real shame, I would love a good quality portable Sims.

  17. slangman Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 18:11

    Goes to show there is always at least one awful launch game every time a new Nintendo console is released.

  18. robophobia Monday 28th Mar 2011 at 20:27

    News update!

    Just purchased street fighter 3D and all I can say is that the sims 3 definitely deserves a low score, to be honest, I am not sure where you scraped 20% from!

  19. Shigeru Tuesday 29th Mar 2011 at 08:39

    Well that solves the question of weather to get this game or not. I think I'll hold off for the PC version of Medievil.

  20. samus aran09 Wednesday 30th Mar 2011 at 18:11

    i bought the game and it is complete rubbish every time i want to mke my sim do something it ends up doing something else. the grahics in3d are rubbish they could have brought a better game out instead. whish i had bought rayman instead

  21. tohaker Wednesday 30th Mar 2011 at 20:31

    OMG!! I SAID IT WOULD BE ALRIGHT IF MY FRIEND GOT IT!!! IM A MONSTER!!!! :cry: :cry: :cry:

  22. Amidamaru Thursday 31st Mar 2011 at 18:44

    I'm enjoying The Sims 3D atm, it isn't that bad it is certainly addictive and the graphics on the bottom screen do take some getting used to. The 3D graphics I think are really good and puts you in the world of the sims, Yes okay getting rid of mood bars wasn't a good idea but the features are okay for handheld.

  23. Turbo Blooper Friday 1st Apr 2011 at 18:38

    Oh my, I actually love this review. My cousin got this when she got her 3DS, a day after me, when I hadn't got a game yet. She tried to rub it in my face, so I'm rubbing this review in hers!

    I had a go on it, and I totally agree. Loads of glitches, and the loss of the need meters basically destroys the game. The nature-controlling thing might've been good, if it actually worked! :P

  24. Yoshi_8793 Wednesday 6th Apr 2011 at 16:25

    I got this game at a car-boot sale on Sunday for a Ł10. I picked it up because I had it on PS3 and PC, and I thought it would be worth it for a Ł10. It was ok for about 1-2 hours but then you start to notice all of the glitches and it get to repetitive. If you see it for a Ł10, I'd recommend it, as I sold it to CEX earlier today for Ł18 :D :D :D :D

  25. The_Legend_not Thursday 7th Apr 2011 at 06:52

    This should come as no surprise, of course, seeing as the whole sims series went down the drain when the PC/Mac version of The Sims 3 was released in '09.


    More like when it was released on a console.

  26. randomnerdfairy Tuesday 12th Apr 2011 at 15:26

    I bought this on launch day, then traded it in because it was so bad.

  27. WindWaker Thursday 14th Apr 2011 at 19:07

    A real dissapointment. I was going to get this but after that review score...EA just lost a sale.

  28. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 14th Apr 2011 at 23:42

    TBH it could be pretty decent if EA put the time into it.
    But again the Sims should stay on the PC,sim city 3d would be nice thought.

  29. 3D Gamer Monday 30th May 2011 at 10:52

    This game looks quite good, and i do not own a sims game (since i traded in sims 2 pets ds) and i hav been doing loads of reaserch and i wanna get it. also during this i stumbled across this
    This info has been leaked(it will most probably be at e3) there is going to be an expansion pack for all consoles (including 3ds) so u never know, this could signify the release of special 3ds only updates/expansion packs so i am gonna buy it!
    Wach the Trailer now
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WDFZupUPZvA

    If you don't believe me
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h5Hnqtj5juI&feature=feedu

  30. 3D Gamer Thursday 2nd Jun 2011 at 18:05

    Can't they make this even half decent? It's a real shame, I would love a good quality portable Sims.


    It is a good quality portable sims, it is a absolutely lovely game

  31. Purple Zora Wednesday 8th Jun 2011 at 10:19

    :mrgreen: hahaa gasssss but the only good one is the the one on computer i mean there dreadful on everything else. the wii rmote is the closest thing to a computer mouse ur gonna get but the lazy bast-erds down in ea didnt even bother to adapt the xbox nd ps3 games properly for the wii because there lazy and only intrested in money nd not the satisfaction of thier customers. and what did they give us in return for this shambles of a control..... the ability to go to work or school.... BORING!!! i mean y in ur rite mind wud u wnt to go to school/work when ur not in school r wrk, its so boring nd unrealistic, i mean one of the options is to snooze under ur desk!! i personfully feel that any sims games which is not on a computer is not worth the time r money :D

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.