Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Pokédex 3D review

A free 3D Pokédex? What's not to recommend?

Pokédex 3D review The utterly free Pokédex 3D slipped into the eShop earlier today, handing you the keys to 16 starter Pokémon and offering you the chance to unlock the entire Unova catalogue without having to chuck a single Pokéball.

Entirely separate to Pokémon Black and White, the Pokédex allows you to peruse a collection of Pokémon in full 3D, rotate them, watch them loaf about, hear their cries, read their descriptions and see their list of moves.

You can also, assuming you've got the correct AR Marker in front of you, use the 3DS's camera to project your Pokémon into the real world.

Click to view larger image
Unlocking more Pokémon is a matter of either simply waiting - three new Pokémon are unlocked daily via SpotPass - or trading with other Pokédex owners. You can also scan AR Markers to unlock more Pokémon, but only ones that have been made available by Nintendo.

Collect Em All

Any others you come across will appear as haunting silhouettes, only emerging fully once you've acquired them by other means. As you successfully scan AR Markers and take photos of the resulting Pokémon, you'll also collect stickers.

The more stickers you earn, the more tools you unlock - a setting that allows you to scale the sizes of the on-screen Pokémon, for example. Nothing too fancy.

Click to view larger image
It's a tad limited, especially with so few Pokémon available today, but the potential uses of the AR Markers are a point of interest. They work both perpendicularly as well as parallel-y! For example, if the AR Marker is placed on a wall, the Pokémon that emerges will still be facing you neatly, instead of looking off at some weird angle.

So new Pokémon could easily be rolled out on websites, TV and billboards. We anticipate the collectible element becoming more interesting as your 'dex fills up and certain Pokémon become increasingly elusive.

As long as collecting the whole set is never as simple as pointing your 3DS at 150-odd AR Markers, Pokédex 3D could do for SpotPass what Mii Plaza did for StreetPass by providing a gentle and clever incentive to keep your console tethered to the internet. As such it is impossible to score as the potential of it has yet to be seen

Yet considering that Pokédex 3D is a free, daily drip-feed of beautifully rendered 3D Pokémon, what's not to recommend?

Want to read more reviews of 3DS eShop games? Here's our Alleyway review and our Super Mario Land review.

Comments

15 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Bugpy Tuesday 7th Jun 2011 at 15:51

    I was hoping for the full National pokedex, maybe a random selection of Pokemon when you download, then streetpass to collect new pokemon from other players... still good enough for free!

  2. mattym727 Tuesday 7th Jun 2011 at 16:50

    I got this and not usually liking pokemon I havent a clue what to do.It was free so i bought it

  3. jason 1995 Tuesday 7th Jun 2011 at 19:48

    i love it and hope they'll give you a national pokedex once you complete it :mrgreen:

  4. saswatch Wednesday 8th Jun 2011 at 17:47

    can it do anything else apart from given u a list of moves just saying

  5. Ai64 Wednesday 8th Jun 2011 at 18:36

    I downloaded it. Pretty good and nifty If I say so myself. ^^

  6. taximadish Friday 10th Jun 2011 at 04:29

    Love it. A bit annoying that certain things need to be unlocked, but I found the "Learnabe Moves" part of the 'dex particularly useful. Definite winner if an upgrade to National Dex is possible.

  7. ceza999 Friday 10th Jun 2011 at 06:45

    so how do you get the AR markers????? :| :| :!:

  8. HyrulianWarrior Friday 10th Jun 2011 at 22:29

    http://matthewmc685.deviantart.com/art/ ... -212081703
    You can scan 3 a day, and you have to take pictures of the Pokemon you already have to get photo stickers :)

  9. OracleOfPokemon Sunday 12th Jun 2011 at 07:26

    Nothing to do with pokedex 3d, but, I'VE FINALLY GOT ALL THE POKEMON GAMES (on DS)! including dual versions and spin offs and rubbish ones like Dash!
    Diamond, Pearl, Platinum
    HeartGold, SoulSilver
    MD Blue Rescue Team
    MD Explorers of Time, Darkness, Sky
    Ranger, Shadows of Almia, Guardian Signs
    Link
    Dash
    :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D

  10. OracleOfPokemon Sunday 12th Jun 2011 at 07:45

    Nothing to do with pokedex 3d, but, I'VE FINALLY GOT ALL THE POKEMON GAMES (on DS)! including dual versions and spin offs and rubbish ones like Dash!
    Diamond, Pearl, Platinum
    HeartGold, SoulSilver
    MD Blue Rescue Team
    MD Explorers of Time, Darkness, Sky
    Ranger, Shadows of Almia, Guardian Signs
    Link
    Dash
    :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D


    Sorry, i forgot to add:
    Black, White
    Pokedex 3D

  11. tahkshi Sunday 12th Jun 2011 at 09:12

    Have to love that ^

  12. layton lover Monday 13th Jun 2011 at 09:06

    I got it (just to see how the eShop works really) but it is quite clever. It will provide some entertainment. :)

  13. Redo80 Monday 13th Jun 2011 at 15:23

    Its a shame that it doesnt have any other pokedexes
    that would make it much better and more popular

    I dont have the black/whit games so its a bit of a waste if i get it

  14. OracleOfPokemon Monday 13th Jun 2011 at 15:41

    Its a shame that it doesnt have any other pokedexes
    that would make it much better and more popular

    I dont have the black/whit games so its a bit of a waste if i get it

    What do you mean? How is it a waste? It's FREE.

    Anyway, you don't need to know the pokemon before hand, the whole point of it is to learn about them. You might get Black/White one day.

  15. Starman64O Wednesday 15th Jun 2011 at 19:26

    I think its great. Every Morning, I like seeing that little blue dot next to the symbol to see which Pokémon I will be getting today. One day I was lucky, getting Zorua, Tornadus and Reshiram, then the next day I got Zekrom, Thundurus and... Sewaddle... :?

    Well i suppose you can't be too lucky, eh?

    The other aspect of AR viewing is brilliant too, I like the tool where you can set backgrounds for the Pokémon to play/fight/pose on. My best snaps involve A huge Throh aiming a punch at the Volcano in Pilotwings resort, or mixing Mii Pics with it, Miis run in terror at the sight of Hydreigon.

    Overall I give it 7 out of 10, but I'm going to give it 9...

    I just like the look of Tepig sitting on my plate looking at bacon! :lol:

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.