Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows: Part 2 Review

It's a case of Prior Incantato second time around

Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part 2 review: And so it comes to an end. EA's long-lasting series of Harry Potter games which started all the way back in 2001 is finally over with this, the game of the movie of the second part of the last book. But while Harry's gaming series has been a long journey with more ups and downs than a mine cart at Gringotts, Deathly Hallows Part 2 is over surprisingly quickly.

Click to view larger image
The game takes the same approach as Part 1 by offering a series of Gears Of War-style levels in which you have to duck behind cover then pop out every now and then to fire some bulle... um, cast some magic at other soldi... ahem, Death Eaters. It's generally satisfying - pointing with the Remote makes you feel like you're actually using a wand and the different types of spell are conveniently available through D-Pad presses.

While the hiding-then-shooting format undoubtedly works well though, it's a bit uninspired to base the entire game round it. After a while it starts to feel like every level was originally conceived with the question "right, what can Harry hide behind next?".

Granted, EA Bright Light has done everything in its power to try and make things feel at least a little different. Each stage presents minor variations of the main gameplay - one sees you destroying spiders as Ron tries to open a door (easily the dullest section of the game, unfortunately), and there are very occasional short scenes where you have to run into the screen while some sort of big calamity is chasing after you.

Gears Of Horcrux

Things are also livened up a little with the ability to play as various different characters throughout the game. One minute you're fighting Snape as Professor McGonagall, the next you're controlling Seamus Finnigan as he plants explosives under a bridge (no, we don't remember that bit either). It's fun not playing as Harry all the time, even though it becomes quickly apparent they all have an unusual fondness for hiding behind things and shooting.

Naturally, your "weapons" come in the form of various spells which are added to your inventory as you play through the game. They're not very well-balanced though. Once you get the rapid-fire Expulso, you're never going to use the single-shot Stupefy again, for example.

Combat strategy is also very basic (fire whatever you want at them unless they're using Protego, in which case use Expelliarmus once and then fire whatever you want) and doesn't change much throughout.

By far the most disappointing aspect of Deathly Hallows Part 2 however is its length. When a game is only a little longer than the movie it's based on there's a problem, and with a bit of practice you can have this one licked in around three hours or so. Many fans who have followed Harry Potter since its beginnings are in their late teens and early 20's now, and for those this is a breeze to saunter through.

As entertaining and visually impressive as Deathly Hallows Part 2 is, we just can't recommend paying full price for it. Go and see the film instead, and get this when it inevitably drops down to a tenner online in six months' time.

This is an edited version of a review that will appear in the September issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which is out on 4 August. If you want to receive a future issue before it reaches the shops, subscribe here.

Comments

18 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Gorsewaygirl Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 13:33

    So it's rough then - what a surprise! I wonder how much EA have actually made from this license. It's clear that the last couple of games have not been lavished with the attention that the order of the phoenix or the half blood prince got. Do these games make them money whether they try or not? So disappointed. For the fans this series was important - but EA you turned it into a cash cow :0(

  2. C00LI098 Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 13:44

    I'm afraid I've gotta agree with this. While extremely entertaining on the most part, the game just doesn't have enough substance. I got it at eleven o' clock, and I haven't been playing without pause (I swear), and I'm already at the final two chapters. I've noticed that the clips that play between levels are very short and remove and replace material without being faithful to the books. Poignant and important deaths are either mentioned in passing or take place on-screen for a fraction of the time they should.

  3. Adam_Lloyd Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 13:55

    Disappointed, but not shocked. It's a cash cow franchise... and a massive lost opportunity all round. Few of the games in the series have been above average and some have been decidedly below par. Just think what these games could actually have been like if more time and effort had been put into them - Chamber of Secrets and Order of the Phoenix games spring to mind as tasters of what could have been done. As it is, Lego Harry Potter has done a better job than most of the individual offerings combined. That should speak volumes for the lack of care put in by EA. Ahh well.

  4. imbusydoctorwho Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 14:17

    Shame,are you going to post the DS review up?

  5. ChrisONM Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 14:34

    Shame,are you going to post the DS review up?


    We were sent it late, expect a review on Monday

  6. Gorsewaygirl Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 14:59

    As it is, Lego Harry Potter has done a better job than most of the individual offerings combined. That should speak volumes for the lack of care put in by EA. Ahh well.

    Here, here. The lack of care speaks volumes - and Lego Harry Potter 1-4 was brilliant, I'm sure 5-7 will be more of the same. EA needed to take a leaf out of Travellers Tales book - big time, just a massive lost opportunity :(

  7. Gorsewaygirl Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 15:02

    We were sent it late, expect a review on Monday

    The cynic in me thinks that you were sent it late so you couldn't get reviews in the mag or on the website. They sent it late so everyone would buy it without reading the reviews - so they knew it was pants themselves.

    But of course it would be wrong of me to say that wouldn't itů

  8. ChrisONM Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 15:16

    The cynic in me thinks that you were sent it late so you couldn't get reviews in the mag or on the website. They sent it late so everyone would buy it without reading the reviews - so they knew it was pants themselves.

    But of course it would be wrong of me to say that wouldn't itů


    I couldn't possibly speculate

  9. goomboo Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 16:16

    NO! I can remember the amazing games that were the Harry Potter PC games though 1-4. After 5 they went into cash snobbing cows D:

  10. Zelda101 Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 16:18

    well, i dont really mind how long it lasts. its a great game. {just got it today}

  11. Buffalo_K Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 18:10

    NO! I can remember the amazing games that were the Harry Potter PC games though 1-4. After 5 they went into cash snobbing cows D:


    I had 1-4 on PC too, the were really good.
    Im thinking about getting this on PC, or is it just the exact same game?

  12. Captain Kuchiki Friday 15th Jul 2011 at 21:18

    Poignant and important deaths are either mentioned in passing or take place on-screen for a fraction of the time they should.


    So, just like the book and film then?

  13. imbusydoctorwho Saturday 16th Jul 2011 at 08:06

    Is there a Wii U version coming?,as I went on Gamespot website and it had a listing for it.

  14. Flag Captured Saturday 16th Jul 2011 at 14:51

    It's a shame, really - the film was absolutely epic, and it would have been nice to have a similarly epic game, but alas, it went the way of most movie tie-ins...
    But I highly doubt this'll be the last Harry Potter game like this, they'll do a 'duels' game or something along those lines. I'd put money on it to be honest.

  15. shinybisharp Saturday 16th Jul 2011 at 15:34

    just seen the film and it's terrible

  16. Dapz Saturday 16th Jul 2011 at 15:40

    NO! I can remember the amazing games that were the Harry Potter PC games though 1-4. After 5 they went into cash snobbing cows D:


    I had 1-4 on PC too, the were really good.
    Im thinking about getting this on PC, or is it just the exact same game?


    'Fraid so. Ever since Goblet of Fire, the PC games have been exactly the same as the console ones.

  17. bouncer0304 Sunday 17th Jul 2011 at 21:57

    If i recall, the ds version of part 1 had a quite good rating in the mag did it not? Hopefully it'll be a little better than thr wii version :/

  18. C00LI098 Monday 18th Jul 2011 at 13:27

    Poignant and important deaths are either mentioned in passing or take place on-screen for a fraction of the time they should.


    So, just like the book and film then?


    No, not at all. Highlight for spoiler: The game has Hermione mentioning the deaths of Remus, Tonks and Fred all in one sentence, and we don't even get to see the deaths.

    The voice acting isn't great in the game either, neither Snape nor McGonagall sound anything like their on-screen counterparts.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.