Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

FIFA 12 Wii Review

Is FIFA 12 on Wii full of charm and Quaresma, or just a little too Messi?

While the FIFA series continues to grow from strength to strength on other formats, EA has struggled to give FIFA on Wii an identity. We've seen attempts at realism one year and over-the-top rocket shots the next. Finally, it seems that EA has settled on a style as FIFA 12 is very similar to its predecessor.

<b>FIFA 12 Wii - Is that Robin Van Persie?</b>
FIFA 12 Wii - Is that Robin Van Persie?
Like FIFA 11's the visuals aren't trying to be photorealistic. Street football is back and with it comes the Streets To Stadium mode, in which you create a player who improves over the course of five seasons to get a professional contract. From here you can enter loads of trophies.

The only real new additions to FIFA 12 are the interesting FIFA City system and the improved Manager mode. The former is a welcome addition because it offers 110 achievements and getting every one will take tens of hours, giving the game plenty of longevity. The latter is a basic version of the Manager mode seen in FIFA games on other formats,

As for the action, FIFA 12 takes a little getting used to. The pace in 11-a-side games is noticeably slower than usual and passing is something that has to be re-learnt as you'll find through-balls trundling into the keeper's hands and crosses stopping too short or heading for the corner flag. Eventually you'll get used to it.

Can Wii Kick It?

Free kicks are much better. After lining up your kick you hold the shot button to set the power and then press it a second time to set the amount of curve.. Seeing exactly how much swerve you've added is infinitely more satisfying than simply holding left or right and hoping for the best.

Much like last year's entry, the highlight of FIFA 12 is the five-a-side street football. As before, there are five different types of goal you can play with, ranging from normal and half-sized goals to tiny little gaps (with no keepers), goals drawn on the wall (so play just continues after you score) and even little bins you chip the ball in to score.

<b>Fifa 12 Wii - Street mode<b>
Fifa 12 Wii - Street mode
As great as this is, it's just the same as last year and a cynic could accuse EA of simply taking FIFA 11, adding a fancy front-end, improving the Manager mode slightly and updating the squads. However, if you didn't buy FIFA 11 then you should consider FIFA 12, because it's still a great game of football.

This is an edited version of a review which appeared in the November issue of Official Nintendo Magazine. For the full review with more in-depth analysis, screenshots and boxouts, you can buy the mag here.

Want to know what the 3DS version is like? Here's our FIFA 12 3DS review.

Comments

18 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Mighty Shouter Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 12:05

    *sigh* Yet again, no effort by EA put into the Wii version this year. This is another FIFA on Wii I won't bother buying. And to think I got hyped-up for this year's game. Oh well, guess I'll have to make do with FIFA 09 for a FOURTH year (loving the replay value)...

  2. mr FBE Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 14:23

    Only bought fifa for the manager mode and there's never been a good manager mode on fifa on wii. last good one was back on the gamecube on 07. this looked to be shaping up well but will sit and wait for next year

  3. Davesoh Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 15:45

    I'll probably just get this on my 3DS, or play it on my friend's PS3.

  4. andrea987 Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 16:08

    No mention of the online, so I suppose is still rubbish (pretty much like everything else, really). No subs, 5 min games, no injuries, no tactics... Oh well, I know now which footy game to get this year, and it ain't Fifa. Again.

  5. olrodlegacy Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 16:18

    How you can give this 80% I do not know. Their excuse for the lack of manager mode is essentially that the Wii's graphics aren't as good as other consoles'. WHAT HAS THAT GOT TO DO WITH ANYTHING? No effort on modes, graphics, stadiums, or gameplay. I am not buying a game because 'free kicks have improved'. Every Wii FIFA has been absolutely shocking.

    Rant over...

  6. Mighty Shouter Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 17:09

    No mention of the online, so I suppose is still rubbish (pretty much like everything else, really). No subs, 5 min games, no injuries, no tactics... Oh well, I know now which footy game to get this year, and it ain't Fifa. Again.

    I don't think they could review the online, as the servers aren't up yet.

    How you can give this 80% I do not know. Their excuse for the lack of manager mode is essentially that the Wii's graphics aren't as good as other consoles'. WHAT HAS THAT GOT TO DO WITH ANYTHING? No effort on modes, graphics, stadiums, or gameplay. I am not buying a game because 'free kicks have improved'. Every Wii FIFA has been absolutely shocking.

    Rant over...

    I know man. They're just making crappy excuses for their lack of effort and care. Lol their excuse for not putting online on NBA Jam was that they couldn't get the frame rate to stay at 60fps!

  7. Davesoh Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 17:55

    No mention of the online, so I suppose is still rubbish (pretty much like everything else, really). No subs, 5 min games, no injuries, no tactics... Oh well, I know now which footy game to get this year, and it ain't Fifa. Again.


    Yeah it was terrible last year, I scored some great goals online and I didn't get to see them again because of the stupid no replays.

  8. Mighty Shouter Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 19:28

    I'm sorry, ONM, but I don't see how this game gets 80%. It's the same watered-down game from last year (horrible, unpassable graphics, gimmicky modes), only with a feeble attempt at improving Manager Mode, and some City Mode gimmick. Did you know that this year, the Wii is the ONLY console without Career Mode? That's right, even the previous-gen PS2 and PSP versions have it. EA have no excuse not including, other than sheer laziness. And the only reason that the Nintendo consoles have Street Football is because EA knew they would make FIFA Street (4) exclusive for PS360, so decided to include a watered-down version for Nintendo.

  9. ACRID Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 19:29

    The Graphics look better on the 3DS version, this just looks awful

  10. emperor ing Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 19:57

    I don't know why EA bother except for the money. They're just embarrassing themselves. Those who are fans of the series would more likely have a 360/PS3 and get it on that.

    A lot of these corporate mega monsters really have lost touch with what creating a game is: a fine art of everyone coming together to hand-craft a beautiful baby. This certainly isn't that.

  11. andrea987 Monday 26th Sep 2011 at 21:42

    No mention of the online, so I suppose is still rubbish (pretty much like everything else, really). No subs, 5 min games, no injuries, no tactics... Oh well, I know now which footy game to get this year, and it ain't Fifa. Again.

    I don't think they could review the online, as the servers aren't up yet.

    I'm pretty sure EA has given them all the details of the game, online included. If EA didn't, or if they did and ONM didn't mention it at all, I can only assume there are not major changes in that section.

  12. super yoshifan Tuesday 27th Sep 2011 at 14:49

    Oh look, the same crappy game we got two years ago.

  13. Mighty Shouter Tuesday 27th Sep 2011 at 15:44

    I'm pretty sure EA has given them all the details of the game, online included. If EA didn't, or if they did and ONM didn't mention it at all, I can only assume there are not major changes in that section.

    Yep, I can only assume that too. In fact I'm 100% sure that's the case.

  14. Mighty Shouter Wednesday 28th Sep 2011 at 12:16

    No mention of the online, so I suppose is still rubbish (pretty much like everything else, really). No subs, 5 min games, no injuries, no tactics... Oh well, I know now which footy game to get this year, and it ain't Fifa. Again.

    Sorry dude, it's been confirmed that FIFA 12 Wii does not have online play. Weak as hell.

  15. andrea987 Wednesday 28th Sep 2011 at 16:34

    No mention of the online, so I suppose is still rubbish (pretty much like everything else, really). No subs, 5 min games, no injuries, no tactics... Oh well, I know now which footy game to get this year, and it ain't Fifa. Again.

    Sorry dude, it's been confirmed that FIFA 12 Wii does not have online play. Weak as hell.

    Wow, that's beyond bad, is abysmally wrong. I think ONM should have mentioned it in the review (yes I know is an edited version, but still, how many words does it takes to say 'no online'?).
    Pes, here I come!

  16. Mighty Shouter Friday 30th Sep 2011 at 21:04

    Looking at at least 5 other reviews of this game, I'm starting to question how ONM can give this 80%. It is by no means "excellent"!

  17. kevws77 Monday 3rd Oct 2011 at 08:47

    Oh dear. Let the readers commence with my stoning. Bought this. Just sold it again. Absolutely awful. Everything about it. Gameplay, Graphics, Player Physics Engine, Ball Movement, Fifa City. All atrocious. Played the 360 version in HMV Saturday and it was great. What happened do you say? Lazy port. Not even worthy of the PS2. PLEASE, PLEASE take my advice and SAVE YOUR MONEY. Back to PES 2011 for me then.

  18. Scouseajk Saturday 22nd Oct 2011 at 23:03

    This game is awesome on the wii. As a pro Evo fan for many years after FIFA 07 I made the switch back to FIFA last year 11. And bought FIFA 12 three weeks ago. Since buying I've been playing it every night for 2 hours a time and can honestly say its amazing. The manager mode is brilliant and the real currency is a definite plus from last years points system. Yes the game lacks on graphics compared with ps and 360 but it's never meant to be a contender in the graphics department. Therefore have adapted an arcade style approach which works brilliantly on players and gameplay. Great gameplay with some tweaks such as passing and tackling and dribbling which makes it a tad harder to master but overall a great game. If ea keep FIFA like this for next year and just update teams and players I'd be happy. With the addition of online play of course which is the only negative for me.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.