Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Legend Of Zelda: Four Swords Anniversary Edition Review

The updates in this Anniversary Edition make it an essential Zelda game

Don't let it be said that Nintendo never treat their fans. A month after giving 3DS ambassadors ten free NES games, they've released Legend Of Zelda Four Swords Anniversary Edition as a free download for 3DS and DSi owners.

 Loading video...

To be honest, it would be very difficult to charge people for Four Swords - after all, it was originally released as a bonus game that came with the Link To The Past re-release.

Click to view larger image
Still, what Nintendo didn't have to do with this new Anniversary Edition is update it with two new areas - Realm Of Memories and The Hero's Trial - the first of which will wow Zelda veterans.

The other big difference between the original and Four Swords Anniversary Edition is the ability to play the game on your own. The original was a multiplayer game that sent two to four players on a rupee chase around random dungeons as they attempted to save Zelda from the clutches of the evil Vaati.

Now you can go on this journey alone although you will still control two Links. A quick blow of the whistle will make the pair join together and you can separate them again by pressing the R button. There are times when you'll need to separate them in order to progress while you'll need them together in order to do something like light a flame with both swords.

 Loading video...

Treated as a single-player adventure, Four Swords is one of the shortest in the Zelda canon. After an exhaustive tutorial in the Chamber Of Insights, you're sent to The Sea Of Trees, Talus Cave and Death Mountain before getting the keys to Vaati's Palace where you can take on the Wind Mage.

There are two levels in each before you reach a boss battle and you'll have defeated Vaati in three hours at the most.

You see, there's very little in the way of puzzles in these dungeons and unlike traditional Zelda adventures, there isn't a twisting story to follow. You simply work your way through these levels, taking out enemies with your sword and collecting rupees.

While it's great to be able to play Four Swords on your own, what you will miss out on if you choose not to play it with friends is the thrill of the rupee chase.

As a multiplayer game, four players can compete to see who can collect the most rupees and there's a race to see who can be first to the heart container. You'll have to work together to defeat enemies but it becomes competitive when the foe falls and you need to collect the falling rupees. It really is a lot of fun.

Click to view larger image
Also, when things do start to get tough in The Realm Of Memories, you could do with a hand to take out multiple enemies. When tiles are flying out you and multiple Stalfos are lobbing bones at you, you could do with a pal to help out. It's proof that Four Swords is still best enjoyed as a multiplayer experience.

Hey Good Lookin

It looks lovely with Nintendo making the most of the gorgeous cartoony art style they perfected in this era with Wind Waker and Minish Cap. Talking of Minish Cap, Four Swords was actually the adventure which first enabled Link to shrink thanks to the Gnats Hat, the only original item here.

Yet if you thought the original looked good, wait until you get to The Realm Of Memories. We already knew that this bonus area would feature famous locations from old Zelda games but it's done absolutely brilliantly.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

28 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. ThePokekid78 Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 16:48

    First!

    Four Swords Anniversary is quite cool but not like other Zelda titles and kinda weird to play on your own. I haven't got any friends with a 3ds, so haven't tried multiplayer though.

  2. I Am Error Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 16:55

    well even if it got 50% i would still get it its FREE! :mrgreen:

  3. WenGobou Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 17:21

    well even if it got 50% i would still get it its FREE! :mrgreen:


    Correction
    Even if it hadn't been free, I would still get it's a 90% game !
    that's a lie

  4. Rockerdude Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 17:23

    i cant connect my 3ds to the dsi :( :( does it have something to do with the fact that my dsi is american

  5. hunter metroid Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 17:51

    yes you dsi being american is the reason why you cant connect them as even the mulitplayer is region locked i hope they do an update for it which alows mulitplayer with ones from different regions

  6. MartinIsAwesome Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 18:41

    I think that score is a bit high personally. Its great that its free, and the Realm of Memories is indeed the best part of the whole package, but the rest of it is just too basic. Having said that, I've only played it in single player so maybe the heated multiplayer mode does bring it up to that level of excellence.
    Either way, it'll look dubious if Skyward Sword end up getting only a few percentage points more.

  7. trogdor25 Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 19:16

    So... Your reviewing a free game...
    :shock: I'd download it whether or not you like zelda, but steer clear if you are one of the four people who hate zelda.

  8. lrwr14 Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 20:42

    You do know the title on the main page "Four Swords 3DS review" is misleading. Considering the fact this is a DSiWare game it should be classed as DSi not 3DS. I keep thinking there is a 3DS version.

  9. imbusydoctorwho Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 21:22

    So... Your reviewing a free game...
    :shock: I'd download it whether or not you like zelda, but steer clear if you are one of the four people who hate zelda.

    ONM reviewed Flipnote Studio,and that was a free game.

    Anyway,it's a very fun game,with a fair amount of content.
    The main Menu music is epic,some of the best in gaming.
    The game really makes me want to try Minish Cap,I hope it's one of the free GBA games.

  10. fisher2007 Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 21:46

    I wish it had a story for single player and online it more great.

    also when is Flipnote Studio coming for the 3ds.

  11. Jabaxaro Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 23:18

    Truly a great version of this game...

    I loved playing it with a friend from start to finish, and I loved replaying these again.
    The Realm of Memories and the Hero's Trial are truly great additions and me as a Zelda veteran (I'd like to believe so at least) had quite the difficult time in the Hero's Trial (spending nearly 15-20 minutes per floor).
    You truly have to screw with the enemy AI playing alone switching back and forth.

  12. Hisoka Tuesday 4th Oct 2011 at 23:41

    when is Flipnote Studio coming for the 3ds.

    Flipnote Memo is coming very soon. It's been in development for a while.

  13. mgkoeln Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 07:50

    You should correct the somehow misleading verdict into "...a must play for any Zelda fan who owns a 3DS or a DSi".

  14. triforce-manc Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 14:43

    You should correct the somehow misleading verdict into "...a must play for any Zelda fan who owns a 3DS or a DSi".

    I think they listened to you.

    Loving this game in co-op

  15. CraigEmberson Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 14:59

    First!

    Four Swords Anniversary is quite cool but not like other Zelda titles and kinda weird to play on your own. I haven't got any friends with a 3ds, so haven't tried multiplayer though.[/quote
    I agree... but this is the only Zelda game I really dislike because it's not a real story - you realise how important that is when you play it because it's just kidnap and general levels and boss fights...

  16. abovethewell Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 15:23

    Love the remixed title music. The beat captures the frantic essence of the game perfectly =)

  17. Xikelle Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 15:59

    Does this indicate how much pricing effects reviews? It would be interesting to see what the percentage would be if this wasn't free. The seemingly randomness of it (lack of story, near enough), and linearity, I definitely find that odd.
    I'm grateful for the realm of memories, and I look forward to being able to play with a friend and unlock the hero's trial.
    I find it difficult to see how people who say, the older a Zelda game the harder it is, can say that, and hence be calling four swords harder than Twilight Princess. Unless they're comparing the Hero's trial to the main Twilight Princess story or something.

  18. tomutwit Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 18:18

    Collecting them rupees to get to Heros Trial is craaa-aaapppeeetacularrrr.

  19. Dalekbuster523 Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 19:19

    I wish Nintendo had upgraded the graphics and made this free game 3D on the 3DS.That would've improved it a bit.However,I think this free game is pretty fun.

  20. ZeldaKing Wednesday 5th Oct 2011 at 20:51

    For what it is, it's excellent and who can argue with two new areas? Still it is rather short but essential download for any 3ds owner

  21. hazzamadazzla Saturday 8th Oct 2011 at 07:48

    whilst im not saying it is the best videogame ever, its not a waste of your time and its free so there is NO REASON not to get it, surely this should get 100%.


    LOL just joking I dont wanna start that old Ocarina 3D debate again!! :)

  22. A.B.Lexis Saturday 15th Oct 2011 at 22:07

    There's nothing like downloading this onto your friend's 3DS, playing it with him, and then trolling him by picking him up and throwing him around. Sometimes into danger, sometimes off a cliff, or just picking him up to hear him swear. Good times.

  23. George12130 Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 10:33

    It may be an old game but it is still a classic game re-made amazingly and it is free of charge, anyone with DSi, DSi XL and 3DS should get it :D :D :D

  24. mudders Wednesday 26th Oct 2011 at 08:58

    This game is too short and too easy. Took me 1 hour to complete.

    70% max.

  25. dragoncrasher Thursday 3rd Nov 2011 at 20:55

    Look, if it's a FREE Zelda game, then it's absolutely essential if you want to call youself a proper gamer.
    BTW dragons rule

  26. spacemen13 Wednesday 14th Dec 2011 at 16:11

    I can't believe how awesome this game and even better it's FREE, zelda is the best thing that has happened to 2011, skyward sword,ocarina of time, and last but no least four swords. 2011 YEAR OF ZELDA!!

  27. spacemen13 Wednesday 14th Dec 2011 at 16:12

    First!

    Four Swords Anniversary is quite cool but not like other Zelda titles and kinda weird to play on your own. I haven't got any friends with a 3ds, so haven't tried multiplayer though.


    If you got any friends who have a DSI or DSI XL they can play to. Trust me multiplayers worth it!

  28. stormsinger Wednesday 6th Mar 2013 at 20:47

    FOUR SWOOOOOOORDS!! WHOOHOOOOO!!
    This game brings back so many memories for me! In fact, Four Swords Adventures was the first Zelda game I ever played, and believe it or not, I was completely hooked. I genuinely thought it was the best game in the series until I played Minish Cap- and then OoT- SS- ALttP... um...
    Anyway, I still absolutely love the whole Four Sword trilogy. It'll always be a sweet, steaming vat of nostalgia for me. Mmmm.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.