Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 Review

Is anyone still excited about World War II Games

It's almost a cliché of a cliché, moaning about how World War II is overplayed in war games. "Aren't there other wars to choose from?" is the question routinely asked by bitter games reviewers across the world as they find themselves stuck in the muddy trenches fighting the Germans... again, finding out they're developing a new superweapon... again, and that we're the only ones to stop them... again. The problem isn't really to do with the abundance of WWII games; more specifically, it's to do with the abundance of mediocre WWII games.

Does Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 change that? Not really. Not for a lack of effort though. If we reviewed games on the sole basis of effort put in, Medal Of Honor: Heroes 2 would walk off with a gold star glued to its t-shirt, proudly showing it off to anyone who happens to walk past. Unfortunately, we still have to take into consideration those other minor details: AI, pacing, polish and balance. Things that, without exception, EA has managed to get wrong here.

Click to view larger image

The Good News!

Let's start with what it gets right. The multiplayer is fantastic. The tightly designed maps of the Campaign mode come into their own and having 32 players online firing, strafing, ducking and diving is electric. The modes are limited but there aren't any major lag issues and the teamplay dynamic works really well. Throw in customisation options such as being able to choose your weapon and uniform, along with a cute killcam, and for instant pick up and play fun, this can't be topped.

For lone rangers, Medal of Honor: Heroes 2 also does a decent job of shaking up the well worn grooves of a war game, dropping you in sewers, open fields, ruined cities and monasteries. The story connecting the levels is pretty thin but it doesn't matter. The fact that the levels actually change beyond green-and-brown textures lifts this above the majority of its genre stable-mates.

The levels themselves aren't too bad from a gameplay standpoint either, as again, attempts to vary the formula keeps things fresh. You could be sniping guards from a distance, blowing up fuel tanks, disabling generators, holding off counter-attacks or surviving ambushes. It rarely settles into a humdrum corridor shooter routine and is all the better for it. Heroes 2 might not be reinventing the wheel but it's reinventing the war FPS of old and that's good enough.

The effort put in is especially apparent when it comes to the controls. EA, never known as a bastion of innovation, has turned its own reputation on its head and injected life into the tired legs of the traditional FPS control scheme. Witness the way you have to twist the Wii Remote sideways to zoom in with your sniper rifle (to replicate scope twisting), jerk the Wii Remote forward to reload your shotgun (to replicate bad-ass action movies) and best of all, turn the Wii remote upside down and place it on your shoulder to fire a bazooka (to replicate... real life?). There are also mini-games thrown in, the best one demanding you twist the Wii Remote to tune into allied frequencies on the radios you find throughout. You can also use the Wii Zapper to good effect here and either control scheme works equally well.

Click to view larger image
The good news is, 99% of the time, the controls are solid enough to hold together the attempts at innovation, aided by the fact you can tweak the sensitivity and deadzones to fit your own specific arm-waving antics - especially useful given the fast pace of the online side.

That's not to say there aren't annoying problems though. One particularly delightful section sees you having to twist the Wii Remote and jerk it upwards to set a bomb that will blow-up a gunship, which would be fine if you didn't have to put up with fire on both sides, the Wii Remote struggling to realign itself after the jerk to set the bomb and a checkpoint that begrudgingly lumbers into view a good while after you've made it out alive.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

54 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. jip100 Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 15:11

    Wait, is this just a port of the PSP game? If yes i strongly sugest you advoid this game, and wii owners should just go for Call Of Duty 3 over this

  2. Malmo Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 15:26

    Wait, is this just a port of the PSP game? If yes i strongly sugest you advoid this game, and wii owners should just go for Call Of Duty 3 over this

    It's been modified quite a bit from the psp game, but I'd do the opposite of your advice either way, CoD3 on wii is a pathetic attempt at making a game, no multiplayer to even speak of.At least this plays well (mostly) and has something to bring you back after a day.

  3. chazrinelli Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 15:48

    i dont care this is what the wii needed, an online multiplayer game shoot em up! its gonna be great!

  4. mightyjake Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 16:28

    This is a bit of a letdown for me, i was hoping to get a Wii Zapper for this game but it doesnt seem as good as i thought it would. Is Call Of Duty 3 any better? It got a better review from ONM, but ive heard its a poor effort of a WWII game.

  5. Icarus_Kid Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 16:36

    heroes 2 is a game thati've wanted since it was anoced,so i'm still gonna buy it, i mean gotta be better then the glitchy controls for COD3

  6. Anonymous Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 16:44

    Why do you always have to play as an American anyway?
    I would really like a World War 1 game to come out, I think it would be great to experience fighting in the trenches. World War 2 has been done to death.

  7. Maul-your-ass Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 16:46

    This game will be the turning point for the Wii. If it is received with open arms and praised and sells loads then developers may look past Nintendos "casual" image and start developing games for the hardcore Nintendo fans e.g. Call of Duty 5 and Rainbow six Vegas after seeing the audience for it.

  8. RobertK Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 17:47

    Bought a PSP for my birthday last week and I gt this game with it. Havn't even opened it yet

  9. kee43 Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 18:20

    ah well bit of a suprise with the score,

    but im still buying it lol

  10. Mr. Nintendo Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 19:41

    WOW! :D
    This game looks good!!! :D
    I just wish i hadn't bought ghost squad now. :(
    Dang Blast It!!!! :x

  11. sonicliam Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 20:20

    Wait, is this just a port of the PSP game? If yes i strongly sugest you advoid this game, and wii owners should just go for Call Of Duty 3 over this

    not a port At all i got it today it is brilliant the online rocks and graphics are gr8

  12. NTG Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 20:38

    Wait, is this just a port of the PSP game? If yes i strongly sugest you advoid this game, and wii owners should just go for Call Of Duty 3 over this


    I would have to disagree with you on that, COD3 has a very annoying glich.

  13. metal_mario Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 21:26

    dispite the surprising score im still buying it, i think i can handle some crappy ai and level design.
    online multi-player FTW!!!!

  14. Ou3nDaN Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 21:56

    You can also use the Wii Zapper to good effect here and either control scheme works equally well.

    LOL! Typical ONM, "a nintnedo made "Peripheral" (i use peripheral looseley) is a perfect peripheral!"

    Also also love the way that the review phails to mention how the online interface kicks the crap out of a 1st party online game...

    As always in the eyes of ONM:
    1st party (+ r3d steel) > The world


    >.>

  15. superh Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 22:22

    Well i got this game today, a day before it is out :D, and i have to say i love it!

    In some places could have been made better, like the useless soldiers with you, and how the enemy just spawn right in front of you if your in the right place at the right time.

    Over all i would give this game a 88% my-self.

  16. Shortay Thursday 7th Feb 2008 at 23:43

    Well, regardless of ONM's score, I'm getting it tomorrow. I still can't believe that that Horse game got higher :?

  17. Anonymous Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 14:55

    I don't care about the score it's got. It has got other favourable reviews elsewhere, and there seems to be lot's of ways to play the game, with it's arcade mode and multiplayer. I can see I will have a lot of fun with this one- more so than Vanguard with it's less than perfect controls and short campaign, and definately more than COD3- I can't believe that game got released in the state it was in. There was a terrible control glitch at certain parts of a lot of missions through the game which made it unplayable till the glitch resolves itself. I thought there was something wrong with my Wii or set up!

  18. Polysics_2004 Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 17:35

    I think you're review is a bit harsh really. In my opinion it's easily got the best control scheme I've seen on a console FPS. And well, the online mode is superb even with the lack of voice chat.

  19. Anonymous Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 18:06

    I want to get this game, but then again i'm not sure... Would u recommend me getting it? :?

  20. King gerbil Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 18:49

    This games predessesor Vanguard was a dissapointment due to shortness of play (yet good replay abilty), I hope that is fixed for this game. :(

  21. Icarus_Kid Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 21:12

    you've underratted this game, i bought it today, and well i just think its awesome, yes some problems, but it relly it deserves about 86%!

  22. metal_mario Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 21:27

    very underrated, sure the AI is dodgy but there are so many little innovations, like snipering, radio tuning and bomb setting using the wii remote. and don't even get me started on the online mode...

  23. Anonymous Friday 8th Feb 2008 at 23:22

    Okay- this game deserves SO much more than the score they gave it. I have been playing the single player campaign for a few hours now, and I still haven't completed it yet. Compared to Vanguard it does offer more of a challenge, is more frenetic, and plays brilliantly. Even once you finish the campaign (there are 8 missions in all- all long too except for the first one) there are plenty of reasons to go back and replay it. For each mission it gives you a percentage of completion, and the only way to get 100% is too complete extra goals like finding secret documents on your route etc. Even once you have 100% completion for all missions, which should take a while, you can then try and earn all the medals in the game. And all this before we even play multiplayer!!! It is far better than COD3 and Vanguard in my opinion- I love it.

    PS. This is the first FPS I've played where I enjoy using the pistol more than the rifles! It's actually really accurate, without having to aim with the 'A' button.

  24. Anonymous Saturday 9th Feb 2008 at 03:28

    People shouldn't listen to this review, I usually agree with ONM's reviews but this is just silly. This game is great and probably the best Online experience you're going to find on Wii as of now, especially for those of us sick of playing Mario Striker's repeatedly. Who cares if the campaign's average, there's an arcade mode and a brilliant Multiplayer option to return to. Also, the control system is simple and can be picked up in a few minutes.
    The worst part of this review is how they have to state Metroid Primes 3's a better game towards the end... it's just pathetic.

  25. Tommson Saturday 9th Feb 2008 at 10:41

    Online can be pretty annoying, but yeah it's great fun still, well worth it.

  26. Anonymous Saturday 9th Feb 2008 at 12:10

    I now have this game, and i think it's great. Lets face it any online game is a great feature and is enjoyed despite the genre of game. I think this is a must have for any gamer and I would personally give it a score of 92% :D

  27. mickymcv Saturday 9th Feb 2008 at 19:28

    this game is cool. jus got my wii online today its awesome. need to get some wii points some golden oldies on der. i love the wii..........

  28. Ratmaster Saturday 9th Feb 2008 at 20:07

    I have to say ONM you have made a MASSIVE mistake with this review. It's a great game. Really fun, superb controls probably the best first person controls yet. Tom east saying "we can't fully recommend it" shame on you, please apologise to EA and everyone who enjoys FPS - this is a triumph on Wii
    Thankyou.

  29. Anonymous Sunday 10th Feb 2008 at 08:44

    I played online for the first time yesterday, and I loved it. Funny thing is, I am not normally bothered about online as I used to always get a thrashing. This time I still got thrashed a few times, but there was plenty of times I gave as good as I got so long as I had the right weapon. It was brilliant, and I love it. The single player campaign is getting tougher (I am on the sixth mission), but it is great fun. The gunplay is very strategic in places and constantly keeps you on your toes. My favourite game at the moment.

  30. Anonymous Sunday 10th Feb 2008 at 10:53

    you have under rated this game!!! this game is worth at least 85% i know the graphics are rubbish but i dont really think about them when im playing it cause the game is so much fun (online mode)

  31. dragon2s6 Sunday 10th Feb 2008 at 20:05

    I now have this game, and i think it's great. Lets face it any online game is a great feature and is enjoyed despite the genre of game. I think this is a must have for any gamer and I would personally give it a score of 92% :D

    I jave just got this and I have to agree. The online play is absolutely brilliant and the longitivity of the arcade and campaign is not worth 78%.

    I think 92% is a pretty good rating...

    I'm with you adam10 :D :D

  32. BloodBrova Gott Monday 11th Feb 2008 at 18:11

    i got the game 2day and i think its great except for the rubbish ai on your squad menbers and enemies the multiplayer is fantastic and i hope in the year of 2008 the wii got a game that all 360 and ps3 owners want and is not coming out for there consoles and i reccommend medal of honour to be bought by people who havent bought it yet

  33. BloodBrova Gott Monday 11th Feb 2008 at 18:51

    i think this is a great game with gud graphics and good multiplayer there only problem is s**t ai thats all

    i reccomend getting for the multiplayer

  34. Shortay Monday 11th Feb 2008 at 18:58

    The ONM review for Heroes 2 is one of the few I've disagreed with, and I don't understand how they only gave it 78%. The controls are the best in any FPS I've played, great online mode (more than Ghost Squad, and the sad-excuse-for-online leaderboards were a good point for it...) and overall it's just fun to play. The AI is very poor and it should have been more polished in places, but regardless of that I would give it 85%.

  35. Icarus_Kid Monday 11th Feb 2008 at 23:07

    (3rd post) omg... bought a better router 2day, online play is freakin amazin!! good the wii should get way more online gameslike this...

  36. gillepy Tuesday 12th Feb 2008 at 16:26

    How many battles where there in world war two?

  37. DrDeathbed Wednesday 13th Feb 2008 at 13:05

    personally, i think it looks great. i am a great fan of WWII shooters, but it has been hard to get any good ones on wii. there is Call of Duty 3, but that denies the wii zapper its rights, and this has 36 player multiplayer, which is 12 more than COD3. i will definitely be getting this

  38. Anonymous Wednesday 13th Feb 2008 at 13:30

    I just started up a new clan called the SSclan it is originally an american clan but the leader of it has told me to lead the british side

    if u want to tryout for it just pm me i am currently makin a web site 4 it and should b ready very very soon 1day tops

    i hope 2 c many people tryout

    note: this is a european clan only and this is for medal of honor heroes 2 wii

  39. JapanBoy Thursday 14th Feb 2008 at 00:32

    Bought the game-love it.Online play is great,game is longer and with better graphics than cod3,unipue controls and great guns are what wii war game needed.to the victory all the way it is a very intense and enjoyable expirience.

  40. bloodtyrant666 Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 19:17

    wich is better cod3 or mohh2 please i must know :cry: :cry: :cry: :shock: :?:

  41. ollie89 Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 18:16

    Got this game today after trading in BWii. The online mode is alot better then BWii simply because of the set up. Nintendo should be ashmed that a 3rd party company can get online right compared to their own friend code system :(

  42. ike1994 Saturday 23rd Feb 2008 at 14:47

    on another forum people are moaning about the graphics of mario kart wii ,but the graphics don't stop this from being a brilliant game!!!

  43. FACEslime Monday 25th Feb 2008 at 16:08

    I didnt buy cos its WWII... again

    it just gets boring....

  44. Martaaay Wednesday 27th Feb 2008 at 22:32

    I've more or less played all the Medal of Honor games so when I heard an old PSP title was coming to the Wii I was a little sceptic.... But hold on I thought, it's got online multiplayer! Which is what i've been looking forward to for the Wii. So I did something I don't usually do and ignored most of the reviews. Honestly if you read most reviews you'd probably be put off!
    Whilst the Campain is nothing to write home about it's still a solid game with good enough graphics and the always amazing Saving Private Ryan sound effects. Where the game really comes into it's own are the controls they are as close to a mouse and keyboard a la "PC" as you're going to get, they are very responsive and extreamly accurate you can even tweak the sensitivity and reduce the dead zone for deadly accuracy.
    Basically buy this game for the Multiplayer because it's just what the Wii needed, there's enough maps and options to keep you going untill something better comes along.... Which may be a while.
    So buy this game and come join me in the SNIPERS game at the PORT.
    I'm all snipers at the port I love it!

  45. Wii 101 Thursday 28th Feb 2008 at 22:07

    What have ONM being taking to give this such a low score. This game deserves at least 90%. It has brilliant multiplayer, good graphics, Excellent campain and over all this is just supurb. It's much better than Metroid Prime 3 Corruption for first person shooting at any rate.

  46. Wii 101 Tuesday 4th Mar 2008 at 20:39

    People shouldn't listen to this review, I usually agree with ONM's reviews but this is just silly. This game is great and probably the best Online experience you're going to find on Wii as of now, especially for those of us sick of playing Mario Striker's repeatedly. Who cares if the campaign's average, there's an arcade mode and a brilliant Multiplayer option to return to. Also, the control system is simple and can be picked up in a few minutes.
    The worst part of this review is how they have to state Metroid Primes 3's a better game towards the end... it's just pathetic.

    I completly agree with you this tops metroid prime 3 corruptions who the enemies look like they fell out of X Men.

    Also they say about stupid spawing points well look at MP3 you leave a room having secured all the rooms behind it and the enemie has respawned straight away.

    At least on this if you kill someone they stay dead

  47. lattywatty Sunday 16th Mar 2008 at 23:06

    Okay. so the game is no Metroid Prime 3, but it's really good. 90% minimum.

  48. NK3233 Thursday 27th Mar 2008 at 12:03

    CoD3 campaign was brilliant, if CoD3 had online multiplayer it would've been my favourite game of all time.

    MoH:H2 campaign sucks, but the online is what you'd expect from any online shooting experience. Marks only for Online play.

  49. NJW95 Tuesday 8th Apr 2008 at 10:15

    i rekon mohh2 is quite a good game for world war 2 on wii

    game tag for mohh2= NJW95

  50. Anonymous Thursday 8th May 2008 at 18:27

    This is a great game. I have got COD3 and MOHV but MOHH2 is so much better. Do not doubt it. :D

  51. x-man2000 Tuesday 13th May 2008 at 21:30

    Were it not for COD3's glitchy controls and sometimes poor framerate, it would probably beat this slightly (I just really prefer the campaign on COD3, this can be a bit tedious at some points). However, the online is great for the Wii, my only two complaints being the limited game modes (for a game based so much on multiplayer, modes such as co-op missions or King of the Hill should have been included) and messaging your team mates in-game can be a bit fiddly (although to be fair, I can't think of any less fiddly ways to send messages using the Wii remote).

    None of my friends are that fond of it though; they all stopped playing it after four days.

  52. Wii 101 Monday 9th Jun 2008 at 16:21

    You can also use the Wii Zapper to good effect here and either control scheme works equally well.

    LOL! Typical ONM, "a nintnedo made "Peripheral" (i use peripheral looseley) is a perfect peripheral!"

    Also also love the way that the review phails to mention how the online interface kicks the crap out of a 1st party online game...

    As always in the eyes of ONM:
    1st party (+ r3d steel) > The world


    >.>

    Totally agree with you, ONM is probably the most biased Ninty mag available. It's the same with the Wii Wheel, they seem to think its God's gift to gaming, when all it is, is a piece of plastic and so many other companies have created far better ones with grip and stuff.

    I can garantee now that when ONM review ferrari challenge they won't rate it no where near as good as MK: Wii even if it is better. I mean they critise sega for not putting online in their tennis game when really MK Wii doesn't have online because the lack of interation just makes it seem you are playing a computer opponant

  53. Tom East Tuesday 23rd Dec 2008 at 10:25

    Your reviews are pretty confused.:?
    You seem to give nintendo games more points.:(
    Quote me if you agree.

  54. markdean2012 Friday 6th Mar 2009 at 15:31

    Your reviews are pretty confused.:?
    You seem to give nintendo games more points.:(
    Quote me if you agree.

    well sometimes they do like with super mario galaxy and loz:tp and sometimes they don't like with mario party 8 and mario power tennis: new play control
    anyway this game proves that the wii can handle 32 players online, i have got cod5 and thats only eight people online, but it has good single player gameplay, so the question is: do you want a game that has good online mode but a bad single mode or a game that has good single player but average online mode?

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.