Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

First Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword review - 98% in ONM

Read ONM's Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword review today

Official Nintendo Magazine have awarded The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword their joint highest review score ever. Yes, the new issue of Official Nintendo Magazine is on sale now and it features the first Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword review.

 Loading video...

The magazine awarded The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword 98% in their review, the same score they gave Legend Of Zelda Ocarina Of Time 3D, a remake of a game that many Nintendo fans regard as the greatest game of all time.

They might have to think again as ONM's review states that The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword is the "best Zelda game ever made."

Click to view larger image
The review score means that The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword is also ONM's highest rated Wii game, beating Super Mario Galaxy, Super Mario Galaxy 2 and Legend Of Zelda Twilight Princess, all of which received 97% review scores.

Summing up, ONM's review said "It's not something we say lightly, but the Zelda series really has never been this good."

Want to find out why? You'll have to read the full Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword review in the December issue of Official Nintendo Magazine which is on sale now. Buy it here!

Want to discuss The Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword review score? Comment below or leave your thoughts in our Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword forum thread.

Comments

102 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. daiches99 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 05:57

    If it's the best zelda game ever, then why not 99%? I mean 100% is quite a heavy score, but 99%...

  2. Yoshi_8793 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 05:58

    Why put the score on the homepage? I'd rather find out while reading the magazine. Cheers ONM

  3. Sidney600 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 05:58

    Oh my god, must buy O_o

  4. SoulSilver IV Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:03

    So threatening to never make another Zelda game again unless this one was better than Ocarina of Time clearly worked then! :lol:

    But seriously, mad props to the Zelda team for pulling this one off. Ocarina 3D was the first Zelda game I ever properly played, having dabbled in Wind Waker and Links Awakening beforehand, so if this is as good as Ocarina 3D this is definitely one to go on my "to buy" list. Lets see if other mags and sites agree. :)

  5. emperor ing Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:13

    Sounds like a great score. I don't get the magazine any more so nice you put this up.

  6. bobbyy29 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:16

    Just heard that the LE bundle is sold out on Amazon, going to have to save up pretty darn quick, this is going to be amazing.

  7. tomonm Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:25

    Why put the score on the homepage? I'd rather find out while reading the magazine. Cheers ONM

    I hear what your saying but unfortunately it's impossible to keep anything like this a secret these days. If we don't do it this morning, another website will and then it will spread around social networks and various other gaming websites. That's the reality I'm afraid. So we might as well do it ourselves and have it first.

    Let's face it, you all knew it was going to be amazing. The words in the mag are the most important thing - the actual review will tell you why it's so good.

    It's like when I hear Mark Kermode review the latest Pirates film on his 5Live show. I know he's going to say it's rubbish but hearing why it's rubbish is the reason I listen.

    So enjoy the review in ONM today - it's a good 'un. There's loads more reviews too - Go Vacation, Super Pokemon Rumble, Tetris 3DS, BlazBlue, Kirby Mass Attack.

  8. masamune Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:35

    i shouldn't really be surprised, this is ONM after all

  9. BlueSoup8 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:42

    Oh. Cool.

  10. Loryuken Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 06:58

    I'll be picking up the magazine later. Looking forward to reading the review. :)

  11. Raszero Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 07:07

    Does it have a left handed mode? If not I can't imagine 98% being fair for everyone...

  12. ChrisONM Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 07:12

    i shouldn't really be surprised, this is ONM after all


    *sigh* I was expecting one like this, but that's the earliest yet. Well done! :wink:

    I am completely certain that when other mags reveal their Skyward Sword scores the vast majority will be similarly astronomical, it really is that good.

    Just because we've got the word "Official" in our title doesn't mean we're under any obligation to give games published by Nintendo high scores, and if you buy the latest issue and read our Super Pokemon Rumble review you'd see this to be true.

    It's a "damned if we do, damned if we don't" situation really. When it comes out everyone will see it's amazing - if we'd given it a lower score people would have started asking why it didn't get a higher one, whereas if we give it a high one people say we're biased. Steve clearly went down the right route and gave the game what it deserved.

    Just trust me - play through the game yourself and form your own judgment of it before you decide ours is wrong and then we'll happily take the criticism on board, but I'm certain we'll have far more people agreeing with us than not when it comes out and everyone gets to experience this stunning game for themselves.

  13. andisart Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 07:52

    WOW amazing! Now I REALLY cant wait for Nov. 18th!
    I was biased initially about the new grafic style and the change of scene (sky world), but soon grew warm to what the incoming trailers were showing.
    Really sounds like big N did it again! :D

  14. masamune Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 08:00

    i shouldn't really be surprised, this is ONM after all


    *sigh* I was expecting one like this, but that's the earliest yet. Well done! :wink:

    I am completely certain that when other mags reveal their Skyward Sword scores the vast majority will be similarly astronomical, it really is that good.

    Just because we've got the word "Official" in our title doesn't mean we're under any obligation to give games published by Nintendo high scores, and if you buy the latest issue and read our Super Pokemon Rumble review you'd see this to be true.

    It's a "damned if we do, damned if we don't" situation really. When it comes out everyone will see it's amazing - if we'd given it a lower score people would have started asking why it didn't get a higher one, whereas if we give it a high one people say we're biased. Steve clearly went down the right route and gave the game what it deserved.

    Just trust me - play through the game yourself and form your own judgment of it before you decide ours is wrong and then we'll happily take the criticism on board, but I'm certain we'll have far more people agreeing with us than not when it comes out and everyone gets to experience this stunning game for themselves.

    you may not have any obligation to rate Nintendo games high (i realise that you're merely endorsed by nintendo but not particularly affiliated with them (i think)), but i don't think i've ever seen a big name nintendo title rate less than 80% (games like Pokémon Rumble aren't exactly big titles) - Twilight Princess got like 97% iirc, and i thought it was a horrendously horrid game with one of the worst control schemes i've ever used (on the wii version at least). i can't say anything about Skyward Sword yet, tbf, but in all honestly i'm hoping it fixes everything i found wrong with TP (it's already fixed one, the brown/grey graphics) and deserves the score you gave it

    of course, this kind of debate isn't really proving anything, i just wanted to see what kind of reaction i'd get from dem fanboiz who completely agree with every score you give a game

    wait, that sounds like i'm making an excuse. :/

  15. Slinkington Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 08:27

    98% for Ocarina of Time 3D? I'd have awarded it something more along the lines of 80% simply because there was missed potential with this remake, or as I'd rather call it "enhanced rerelease".

    The same score for Skyward Sword, obviously I can't pass judgement on it yet having not played it, but I'd say 98% for any game is rather high. But as reviews are opinions and all subjective, that's just my perspective on it - I think it's best not to score much past 90% when reviewing anything. Too many people would disagree though. I've yet to play a game which is "perfect" and 98% is very, very close to that. We shall see. :)

  16. Super Andre Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 08:35

    I thought Twilight Princess was my favourite Zelda game and it is one of my best games of all time.

  17. Mario84 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 08:45

    I want to love this game, I really do - but I just can't get into the motion controls.

    As an avid fan of all Zelda games from my NES days through to 3DS, I'm afraid this might be the first I'm gonna have to say no to.

    Why didn't they just include button controls too, surely they could just amend some of the gameplay to suit that.... :(

  18. Jameseyey Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:00

    Chris, I live in New Zealand and cannot subscribe...
    Could you please tell me if there were any negatives to this game?
    The silent realm? Anything?
    Thanks!

  19. mario_boi Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:04

    Ye, um, thanks for putting the score on the home page! Damn you ONM, only thing I was looking forward to in this months issue

  20. andisart Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:09

    you may not have any obligation to rate Nintendo games high (i realise that you're merely endorsed by nintendo but not particularly affiliated with them (i think)), but i don't think i've ever seen a big name nintendo title rate less than 80% (games like Pokémon Rumble aren't exactly big titles)


    Maybe that is because the big Nintendo titles usually ARE high quality titles. Check gamerankings.com or metacritic.com to see yourself what the critics census is.

    Twilight Princess got like 97% iirc, and i thought it was a horrendously horrid game


    That just totally discredited your opinion... TP is one of the highest rated games ever.

  21. ChrisONM Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:10

    Ye, um, thanks for putting the score on the home page! Damn you ONM, only thing I was looking forward to in this months issue


    Just those two digits? :wink:

    Trust me mate, it's still well worth reading the mag because Steve's review itself will excite you a lot more than just the percentage would.

  22. King Slazo Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:16

    Tbf, a 96%+ score from ONM was a given. I'm not gonna say "it doesn't deserve it" until I've got the game and made my own opinions, but you can't deny there's a history of Nintendo's big games getting very high ONM scores, regardless of what the public then actually thought. Hence why I'm personally far more interested in what Edge gives it (probably an 8 or 9).

    What does surprise me is the reviewer. Steve? I thought you'd be all over this one Chris. :lol:

  23. masamune Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:20

    Twilight Princess got like 97% iirc, and i thought it was a horrendously horrid game


    That just totally discredited your opinion... TP is one of the highest rated games ever.

    yes because if the majority says something then it must be true!

  24. retrotoad Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:28

    That just totally discredited your opinion... TP is one of the highest rated games ever.

    yes because if the majority says something then it must be true!

    It's all opinion at the end of the day, and it's best to form your own than go with someone elses. I only look at reviews as guidlines and information about the game, really. You need to play the game youreself to judge. ONM don't force you agree with their scores, but a lot of people automatically do without giving it thought, which I think is what annoys people.

    On topic: Can't wait to get my copy and read the review. Did Motoheroz get a review this month?

  25. Slayso Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:29

    Masa, you shot yourself in the foot with the words "I thought".

    YOU thought. I thought Twilight Princess was an utterly brilliant game. Played it for 60 odd hours, loved every second.

    In the end, just with this, it all comes down to personal opinion. And calling bias because you disagree with something is tacky and unfair.

  26. ChrisONM Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:32

    Tbf, a 96%+ score from ONM was a given. I'm not gonna say "it doesn't deserve it" until I've got the game and made my own opinions, but you can't deny there's a history of Nintendo's big games getting very high ONM scores, regardless of what the public then actually thought. Hence why I'm personally far more interested in what Edge gives it (probably an 8 or 9).


    Which of Nintendo's "big" games have we given significantly higher scores than the rest of the games media? I'd like to think the vast majority of our scores are in line with the rest of the non-official mags. Yes, there'll be one or two that are different but that happens with every mag. After all, we're all individuals with our own opinions.

  27. LuigiFoofighter Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:37

    Which of Nintendo's "big" games have we given significantly higher scores than the rest of the games media? I'd like to think the vast majority of our scores are in line with the rest of the non-official mags. Yes, there'll be one or two that are different but that happens with every mag. After all, we're all individuals with our own opinions.


    Just remember that when Steve gave Ocarina 3D 98%, there were people who thought it should have been scored higher. This shows us that, ultimatly, there will always be people who disagree with the scores given to games.

    Also, it's the review that's the really important part anyway, the score is just a way of quickly comparing the games to each other.

  28. Slayso Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:40

    Just remember that when Steve gave Ocarina 3D 98%, there were people who thought it should have been scored higher. This shows us that, ultimatly, there will always be people who disagree with the scores given to games.

    If it's the best zelda game ever, then why not 99%? I mean 100% is quite a heavy score, but 99%...

    Yeah...

  29. ChrisONM Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:46

    it's the review that's the really important part anyway, the score is just a way of quickly comparing the games to each other.


    Exactly right mate. The score is just there for easy comparison with other games - it's the actual text in the review that should help people decide if this is the game for them.

  30. mario_boi Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:48

    Ye, um, thanks for putting the score on the home page! Damn you ONM, only thing I was looking forward to in this months issue


    Just those two digits? :wink:

    Trust me mate, it's still well worth reading the mag because Steve's review itself will excite you a lot more than just the percentage would.

    I understand that it is ideal for you to put the score up as it is a world exclusive, but really? The homepage? Still, on my way to WH Smith right now.

    Just thought I would squeeze this in......it's my 25th Birthday today! :D

  31. mafu1989 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 09:48

    Glad the game received a fantastic score .... was there ever any doubt? I just hope that this game sells well and receives the attention it deserves. Hopefully it wont disappear from charts after a couple of weeks due to the november crush with the ridiculous number of games hitting between now and the release date. Too many brilliant games all in such a short period of time.

  32. Malice of Yoshi Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 10:04

    I would have loved to have read your review today, but every shop in my area is still selling last months issue! Will have to wait until tomorrow, but I knew you would give it either 97 or 98 percent.

  33. Eragon Firesword Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 10:12

    Has it maybe occured to those slagging ONM for "biased reviews" that maybe, just maybe, Nintendo's big games are... well made enough to deserve high praise? Surely not!

  34. Medea Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 10:25

    I never take notice of scores. Its all down to interpretation and tastes. I'm merely picking this game up because Zelda hasn't let me down as of yet

  35. ChrisONM Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 10:28

    Has it maybe occured to those slagging ONM for "biased reviews" that maybe, just maybe, Nintendo's big games are... well made enough to deserve high praise? Surely not!


    That's the sort of crazy thinking that could bring this world to its knees. Be careful with ideas like that :wink:

  36. andisart Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 10:30


    That just totally discredited your opinion... TP is one of the highest rated games ever.

    yes because if the majority says something then it must be true!


    Maybe you dont like it, but it's still an amazingly well made game.
    You have to make a distinction between personal taste and craftsmanship. You dont have to like TP, or any other game that gets high review scores. That's where it comes down to personal taste.

    TP shines in many of it's aspects judging from gameplay, art style, story, game depth, music, sound and so on. And that's how a review score comes together, by putting all creative and technical aspects into one.

    In this sense you cannot deny the excellence in which the game was made and to say it is a "horrendously horrid game" is just slashing like it was effortless crap.

  37. ZeldaKing Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 10:49

    Has anyone EVER thought that they give the "big" games get good scores because they deserve them??? Anyway the scores aren't even that important. All a review is essentially is an opinion that should help you to decide on whether to get the product.
    and why is everyone judging the game before they've even played it?

  38. Captain Kuchiki Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:05

    98%?

    I know I haven't played the game yet...but I find it hard to believe that any game can realistically get that high. After all, just the visual style of the game (particularly the human character models) would be enough to knock a few percent off for me.

    Still, considering the LE bundle costs only Ł10 more than a Wiimotion Plus, and I need one of those...

  39. reeesy Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:19

    Personally I'm not bothered ONM revealed the score on here. I'll be getting the magazine anyway to read it in full, so knowing the score a few hours before is fine.
    I think it's a shame people are attacking ONM for praising a game like this. Did anyone really think this game would be anything less than spectacular?
    So to all those moaning i say this to you... Games of this quality and substance rarely come along. So when they do surely we should be celebrating. We are ALL Nintendo fans at the end of the day so lets unite and just enjoy the return of Zelda at it's finest.

  40. Beyond Birthday Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:26

    I'm going to ignore the review score and concentrate on something much more important.

    Why is the whole article practically written in 3rd person? It's really weird.

  41. Cinaclov Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:27

    This article's written in the third person. Which is abit odd really :/

  42. rayquaza9999 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:35

    how come youve started talking about yourself in third person, onm. ive seen it in a few recent articles.

  43. retrotoad Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:37

    Retrotoad has also noticed the 3rd person articles of late.

  44. sciqueen Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:46

    I really hope SS won't disappoint me like TP did, the ugliest, lifeless Zelda I have ever played.

  45. lagiasyd Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 11:50

    ONM, is SS truly the greatest game you have ever played? Is it as revolutionary as OOT was back in 1998? If so, then this is video game history being rewritten

  46. Ben707 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 12:17

    When I play it I'll form an opinion, it's the only Wii game I've looked forward to for over a year.

    Just to put a point across, Ocarina of Time 3D isn't worth 98%, it hasn't got the playability factor that the original had when I first played and completed it back in 2006. They gyro controls are terrible and I never use the 3D effect.

  47. Dertdood Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 12:31

    I quite honestly think that OOT3D was a 95% game with 98% moments. However I get the feeling that skyward sword will be the better game.

  48. zelda97 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 12:50

    98% is quite low for such a briliant game, it should be 99-100% at least (I know it dosn't make sense but still it does in my head).

  49. Slayso Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 12:53

    98% is quite low for such a briliant game, it should be 99-100% at least (I know it dosn't make sense but still it does in my head).

    A game you haven't played and therefore can have no real opinion of other than "it looks good".

  50. MartinIsAwesome Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 13:00

    I'm just gutted that my subscription issue hasn't arrived in the post yet.
    DAMN YOU ROYAL MAIL!
    And I don't think you're wrong to post the score on the homepage. For me that's just a lovely little teaser, and I already knew that it'd be a high scorer so its no surprise. What is a surprise is that other people are so surprised.

  51. hoshixcandy Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 13:12

    98% huh?

    How could you? :(

    How could you make me even more impatient! :D

    Sadly, I'm avoiding the magazine for a while, to avoid anything about Skyward Sword. I've been a real good girl, when it comes to spoilers so far. But this is making me desperate to sink my teeth into the game!


    Mind you, the mags got BlazBlue in it this month...

  52. imbusydoctorwho Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 13:21

    Very good score,I'll look forward to reading it in the Mag.

  53. retrotoad Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 13:27

    98% is quite low for such a briliant game, it should be 99-100% at least (I know it dosn't make sense but still it does in my head).


    Firstly, 98% is not a low score for any game. It's 2% off being a perfect video game. No game should be given 100% if you are a serious reviewer and I'm sure the whole industry would be raging if it was given a perfect score. 99% is incredibly high and I'm not aware of any game to have recieved it. Also, you're making an opinion on a game which you've never played and is not released yet. Calling it a "brilliant game" isn't even a valid statement. Sorry for being really very picky here but it wasn't a very well thought out post.

  54. IfritXVII Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 14:03

    Cheers for spoiling the score! I think from now on, I'm going to reveal every score on the feedback page. If you can break your own rules then so can I. :roll:

  55. mario_boi Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 14:16

    I cannot find it in any shops in Bristol :( damn!

  56. tomutwit Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 14:27

    it's bad enough when you talk about yourselves as a collective, but now in third person? That's pretty cheesy.

  57. Link16 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 14:59

    @first commenter: are you really that f@cking stupid? just cuz its the best game ever doesnt mean it gets 99.

    i say that because obv no game can get 100. yes, ss is the best zelda but that doesnt mean it should get 99

  58. Moo-dyman Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 15:15

    Oh no this the first time i will get the mag after its been realsed since i subscribed :roll: .
    Its shame seeing as this one looked flawless.And (this is not a complaint) if it did come i might of never seen the score.

  59. abovethewell Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 15:43

    Damn.. my wii's broken and my Dad'll go mental when he finds out... there's no chance of him letting me buy a new one, so goodbye best game in the world...

  60. Thios42 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 15:49

    -

  61. puppypower Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 16:00

    should the magazine have come today then because i didnt get my issue and i have subscribed, or is it normal to be a few days after its on sale in the shops?
    I would have thought if i subscribed i would get it before the shops, or is that not the case?
    :? yay so happy that it got an amazing score tho carnt wait to read full review! :D

  62. Ai64 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 16:06

    Oh wow! I hope to recive the new issue soon. I must read the review of that game! O_O

  63. Flag Captured Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 16:18

    I would bet it'd have a slightly higher score if they'd have gone one way or another with the graphics, not a mix of Wind Waker and Twilight Princess...
    Just my opinion, but I would have liked to see a Toon Link style game again, like proper cell shading, not the semi-realistic version of it here, and with the toon version of young link...

    But it's still a Zelda game and I'll probably buy it, just depends if I have enough...

  64. fitzy1999 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 16:20

    Saying that The Legend of Zelda is being released on the same day as Super Mario 3D Land, will there be some sort of review in this magazine? And if not, will it be the main review of the next issue? Otherwise, a great steal off of other gaming mags looking for the first review - ONM 1-0 Rest of the world :lol:

  65. SB5 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 17:31

    Why's the article written in the third person? It seems strange to read about ONM as if it isn't written by ONM...

    Anywho, I look forward to the review. Bring on November 18.

  66. zapper01 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 17:32

    Finally an end to the skyward sword previews! I was getting tired of seeing those every month.

  67. Snizzbut Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 17:37


    Which of Nintendo's "big" games have we given significantly higher scores than the rest of the games media? I'd like to think the vast majority of our scores are in line with the rest of the non-official mags. Yes, there'll be one or two that are different but that happens with every mag. After all, we're all individuals with our own opinions.

    Well to be fair Chris, here's a quote from your review of Phantom Hourglass, a game that is usually considered one of the worst in the Zelda series (but by no means a bad game) and it goes along the same lines as this article:

    "It's not just the best Zelda game in recent years, but it's also the best one scine Zelda: Link to the Past revolutionised the series back on the SNES. Yes, really. Before you go off on a rant about us spouting rubbish though, we're well aware that such things shouldn't be said lightly. Indeed, it's an opinion we've taken ages deliberating over while playing the game to completeion and, with this particular reviewer being a staunched zealot of the Zelda franchise who knows the games inside out, it's been difficult to say the least. But the thing is, no matter how much we think about it there's no getting around the fact that it's true."

    Still, I'll reserve judgement for when I actually read the review and play the game but I can say that OoT3D didn't nearly live up to the massive hype that you built around it.


    But it all boils down to opinion.
    PH is my favourite zelda game ever.

  68. Thios42 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 18:12

    -

  69. FamilyGAMEGuy8 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 18:46

    My postman must suck. I'm a subscriber and I haven't run out of subscriptions....haven't got latest issue yet... :evil:

  70. ProfJimbobLayton Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 19:04

    hmm, maybe the scores should be reviewed? i mean the ocarina remake is good, but the game really does show its age compared to modern games, and should a game as such have the same score as a current gen title that looks as good as skyward sword does?

  71. JSupremoJ Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 19:21

    Wasn't convinced by the 98% dished out to Ocarina of Time, and I'm also sure that the motion controls will displease long-term fans, but overall I think this will be superb.

  72. Mmmyeah Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 20:17

    But it all boils down to opinion.
    PH is my favourite zelda game ever.

    While I respect your opinion you must admit that you'd have a hard time finding a "best Zelda games" list without PH somewhere near the bottom.

    While i wouldn't call it my favourite, i do think phantom hourglass and spirit tracks are quite underrated.

    I was right with my predicted score anyway. i just would have prefered to find out in the magazine. never mind, i look forward to review still. i wouldn't have read this article, but the title had the score written on it anyway.

    anyway, this is my most anticipated game for a while.

  73. Otis P Jivefunk Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 20:38

    Good score, pleased for it. It was bound to be good, but 98% means amazing so I'm really excited! This will be the first Wii game I buy in 2011...

  74. Dan-the-Wii-man Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 21:44

    I wasnt convinced by the OOT getting 98% mostly because it was a remake. This however, by what we've seen so far, looks to be well worth that score and I CAN'T WAIT :3

  75. Link16 Thursday 20th Oct 2011 at 22:58

    lol skyward sword is now the best game of all time on gamerankings ;)

  76. CraigEmberson Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 01:50

    WOW amazing! Now I REALLY cant wait for Nov. 18th!
    I was biased initially about the new grafic style and the change of scene (sky world), but soon grew warm to what the incoming trailers were showing.
    Really sounds like big N did it again! :D


    I think you're confusing graphics with art style... The graphics are the 3D models and the polygon count - whereas the art style is all of the rocky/grassy/character images called textures (see Minecraft for a clear example of this). The textures aren't necessarily purely because it's on Wii as many people believe. They chose the impressionist painting art because it's telling almost the beginning of the main games (Hyrule, Royal Family, Link's destiny, Why Ganondorf enters the ring (so to speak), the interlopers and the hunt for the Triforce and of course, the Master Sword). It represents an old tale and timelessness but also an epic adventure full of a vibrant world that really does look like it's alive and fully functioning - which no other Zelda game has really been able to manage before... Then of course, this art style makes it all the more better when you have the darker areas that contrast it - you suddenly see this lively world take a darker outlook if you get what I mean (from doing media studies this technique is used in films etc... but obviously not so much with textures obviously lol). This style just screams Zelda and I feel is the most suited art style in the series so far.

  77. CraigEmberson Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 01:53

    I want to love this game, I really do - but I just can't get into the motion controls.

    As an avid fan of all Zelda games from my NES days through to 3DS, I'm afraid this might be the first I'm gonna have to say no to.

    Why didn't they just include button controls too, surely they could just amend some of the gameplay to suit that.... :(


    Everything changes in time but how can you judge without trying? You just sound lazy to be bluntly honest... You don't want to open your mind (which is why society fails these days and has become lazy and unruly).

  78. CraigEmberson Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 01:56

    Does it have a left handed mode? If not I can't imagine 98% being fair for everyone...


    It's actually more fair that it's right-handed because 90% of the population are right handed. To make a left handed mode they would have to rework all of the coding in the game and it would take up more data, meaning they'd have to limit the main game just to accommodate the few... Plus, they began with making the controls before any other part of the game - to go back would also mean it comes out next year as well.

  79. CraigEmberson Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 02:00

    98% for Ocarina of Time 3D? I'd have awarded it something more along the lines of 80% simply because there was missed potential with this remake, or as I'd rather call it "enhanced rerelease".

    The same score for Skyward Sword, obviously I can't pass judgement on it yet having not played it, but I'd say 98% for any game is rather high. But as reviews are opinions and all subjective, that's just my perspective on it - I think it's best not to score much past 90% when reviewing anything. Too many people would disagree though. I've yet to play a game which is "perfect" and 98% is very, very close to that. We shall see. :)


    But it's not meant to have been changed... Ocarina of Time was faithfully remade from the ground up (and NO - it was NOT a port... right down to the music and coding being remade from scratch too). They remade the music to sound the same but with surround sound and had the graphical models be enhanced and the textures more up to date versions of what the original art style was (and yes, it did have it's own bright and defined art style)... If you were expecting a TP style Ocarina, your hopes are wayyy too high buddy.

  80. AverageJoe7411 Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 06:15

    I am SO glad that this game got a high score. I have been looking foreward to this game since August last year! Thanks for posting the review on the website so quickly, I can't wait to read the review! :D :D :D

  81. golden toad Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 06:29

    Just heard that the LE bundle is sold out on Amazon, going to have to save up pretty darn quick, this is going to be amazing.


    That's why I pre-ordered mine a month ago! :D

  82. ledreppe Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 16:07

    Why put the score on the homepage? I'd rather find out while reading the magazine. Cheers ONM

    My thoughts exactly. Subscribers are being delayed with the mag this month, I rang the subscriptions dept and they say there have been problems. Then ONM goes and puts the review score on the front page of their site, where it's almost impossible to not see. You shouldn't put review scores on the site, until at least the subscriber's have all got their copy, cheers ONM.

  83. onm101 Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 20:16

    I'm really happy that it got 98%. ONM always seem to give Mario games higher scores than Zelda games, and I personally think that Twilight Princess was better than Super Mario Galaxy.

  84. bytor33 Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 20:49

    Does anyone even know if the game will be on a dual layer disc? There have been multiple reviews and the release is less than a month away, yet there is no information on this. Doesn't make any sense. I even emailed the ONM reviewer and no reply. Makes me wonder if they even played it.

  85. onm101 Friday 21st Oct 2011 at 22:50

    Does anyone even know if the game will be on a dual layer disc? There have been multiple reviews and the release is less than a month away, yet there is no information on this. Doesn't make any sense. I even emailed the ONM reviewer and no reply. Makes me wonder if they even played it.


    They can't release any info about it.

  86. bytor33 Saturday 22nd Oct 2011 at 04:18

    They can't release any info about it.

    Strange, it doesn't make any sense why they'd be so secretive about what type of disc it's on. For those of us with old Wii's that won't play dual layer discs, it'd be nice to know ahead of time so we can send them in to Nintendo if we need to.

  87. Waldy565 Saturday 22nd Oct 2011 at 09:11

    yeh, after reading your review CANNOT WAIT for saturya, zela takeover day in nottingham, get a play woop woop! :D

  88. CraigEmberson Sunday 23rd Oct 2011 at 03:11

    They can't release any info about it.

    Strange, it doesn't make any sense why they'd be so secretive about what type of disc it's on. For those of us with old Wii's that won't play dual layer discs, it'd be nice to know ahead of time so we can send them in to Nintendo if we need to.


    I got the Wii when it first came out and all games work on mine...

  89. XxImIrishxX Sunday 23rd Oct 2011 at 21:08

    Pre-ordered limited editon a feew days ago and can not wait for 18th Nov.Twilight Princess is my fav game EVER its the only game iv cleared 100% twice so this shall be epic!!!

  90. taximadish Monday 24th Oct 2011 at 03:21

    Now I can't wait EVEN MORE!!!
    Oh dear, the next few weeks are going to go so slowly... :cry:

  91. ZeldaKing Wednesday 26th Oct 2011 at 01:06

    hmm, maybe the scores should be reviewed? i mean the ocarina remake is good, but the game really does show its age compared to modern games, and should a game as such have the same score as a current gen title that looks as good as skyward sword does?

    no no no no no just no... *sigh*
    Look at the zelda games out on 3DS/DS there's PH, ST & OOT. OOT has better visuals, gameplay, music and is more challenging.
    how does that show it's age???

    and about the same scores, OOT was widely known as the best game ever for 13 Years! (original & remake)
    and the two reviews i've read have heralded SS as even better.

    So should they be classed in the same category?
    I should hope so or the whole world would have gone mad

  92. Icytroid1993 Wednesday 26th Oct 2011 at 19:04

    Fantastic review ONM! I'm looking forward to this game intensely :D As for the score being displayed on the main page many people seem to be really annoyed :? I don't see the issue, its what is said in the review that matters! The score at the end is just a guide as to how good a game is. We all have opinions at the end of the day, for example i thought 91% for Metroid Other M was too little because i enjoyed it very much! Anyone who has complained about two digits on a computer screen are touchy in my view. Never mind, great review! :)

  93. Icytroid1993 Wednesday 26th Oct 2011 at 19:08

    Question... If Skyward Sword was 98% and in the review said nothing negative then what was wrong with it? There has to be something wrong if it didn't get 100%. The only thing I miss from the old magaziens before the 3DS gave it a new layout was the + and - points so we could see what was wrong with a game. Someone tell me 1 negative point! I still think it is a great game and I am glad I pre-ordered but still I wan't to now what didn't work. Someone help me please!

    I think the reason ONM probably wouldn't give a game any more than 98%, is because any game is never everyone's cup of tea 8) So in effect, no game is ever perfect for that reason.

  94. Basty K Tuesday 1st Nov 2011 at 11:11

    Question... If Skyward Sword was 98% and in the review said nothing negative then what was wrong with it? There has to be something wrong if it didn't get 100%. The only thing I miss from the old magaziens before the 3DS gave it a new layout was the + and - points so we could see what was wrong with a game. Someone tell me 1 negative point! I still think it is a great game and I am glad I pre-ordered but still I wan't to now what didn't work. Someone help me please!

    I think the reason ONM probably wouldn't give a game any more than 98%, is because any game is never everyone's cup of tea 8) So in effect, no game is ever perfect for that reason.

    I totally agree. Everyone's opinion is different.

  95. Link9427 Wednesday 2nd Nov 2011 at 14:36

    Obviously ONM gives Nintendo games higher ratings because Nintendo games are simply amazing. And even if they put the score on the website there is still the other amazing things to read in the magazine, for example the actual review. You're going to find out the score anyway so what does it matter if it's in the magazine or on the website? They're both ONM. And face it, everyone knew that this Zelda game, with all the hype it's getting, would have recieved a pretty high score, a score that it deserved.

  96. Silent Sparrow Wednesday 2nd Nov 2011 at 16:03

    I hope I agree with your review, ONM. As much as I want to like this game, I can't help feeling it won't be as good as the previous zelda titles. It also can't be good that I got more excited over the Zelda HD demo than i did for any of the Skyward Sword trailers or reviews.

  97. Brawlftw Friday 4th Nov 2011 at 04:41

    i shouldn't really be surprised, this is ONM after all

    *sigh* I was expecting one like this, but that's the earliest yet. Well done!

    I am completely certain that when other mags reveal their Skyward Sword scores the vast majority will be similarly astronomical, it really is that good.

    Just because we've got the word "Official" in our title doesn't mean we're under any obligation to give games published by Nintendo high scores, and if you buy the latest issue and read our Super Pokemon Rumble review you'd see this to be true.

    It's a "damned if we do, damned if we don't" situation really. When it comes out everyone will see it's amazing - if we'd given it a lower score people would have started asking why it didn't get a higher one, whereas if we give it a high one people say we're biased. Steve clearly went down the right route and gave the game what it deserved.

    Just trust me - play through the game yourself and form your own judgment of it before you decide ours is wrong and then we'll happily take the criticism on board, but I'm certain we'll have far more people agreeing with us than not when it comes out and everyone gets to experience this stunning game for themselves.
    you may not have any obligation to rate Nintendo games high (i realise that you're merely endorsed by nintendo but not particularly affiliated with them (i think)), but i don't think i've ever seen a big name nintendo title rate less than 80% (games like Pokémon Rumble aren't exactly big titles) - Twilight Princess got like 97% iirc, and i thought it was a horrendously horrid game with one of the worst control schemes i've ever used (on the wii version at least). i can't say anything about Skyward Sword yet, tbf, but in all honestly i'm hoping it fixes everything i found wrong with TP (it's already fixed one, the brown/grey graphics) and deserves the score you gave it

    of course, this kind of debate isn't really proving anything, i just wanted to see what kind of reaction i'd get from dem fanboiz who completely agree with every score you give a game

    wait, that sounds like i'm making an excuse. :/

    You're kidding, right? Twilight Princess was, and still is, one of the best games of the current generation. The control scheme wasn't finely honed and needed a bit of work, but it was always easy enough to use.

    Anywho, I was doubting that this game was going to be as good as TP, based on what I had seen in trailers and on the fact that Nintendo were working on TP for longer than SS. That's not to say it won't be brilliant, just that I would have guessed it would have been somewhere between 92-94% rather than the higher 90's. Still, I look forward to being proved wrong...

  98. the fly guy Saturday 5th Nov 2011 at 12:35

    Finally an end to the skyward sword previews! I was getting tired of seeing those every month.

    Now were getting luigi's mansion 2 previews every month. 3 times in a row so far....

  99. 9 Times Saturday 5th Nov 2011 at 19:58

    I'm Tired of seeing comments saying Skyward Sword is the best game ever, when it's clear that it's not possible for any game to surpass Ocarina of Time as the best, because Ocarina of Time didn't just manage a breakthrough in quality for the Zelda series, but for technology itself. Even reviewers who hadn't reviewed a Zelda game before reviewed OOT back in '98, because of what it did for gaming history. It isn't just that simple for Skyward Sword to surpass that. I've been a fan for most of my life, but this is just annoying and bothering me. I'm gonna wait till all the hype dies down and Zelda on the 3DS gets made.

  100. the fly guy Sunday 6th Nov 2011 at 09:35

    I Didn't like Ocarina of time as much as TP.

  101. Icytroid1993 Monday 7th Nov 2011 at 11:49

    I Didn't like Ocarina of time as much as TP.

    I also enjoyed Twilight Princess more! Ocarina of Time has always been hyped as the greatest game of all time, personally i don't think its quite as good as the hype suggests, Twilight Princess is probably my favorite Zelda game. Also many peoples favorite game isn't Ocarina of Time.

  102. Dark Marth Wednesday 9th Nov 2011 at 00:10

    So glad that I have a November birthday!

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.