Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword review

The best Zelda game ever? We think so...

Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword review: We'll say it upfront: Skyward Sword is the best Zelda game ever made. It's a constantly surprising adventure that progresses at breakneck pace, guiding you through unexpected and original locations, presenting you with breathtaking, inspiring vistas and introducing you to charming, funny and memorable characters. It's an absolute masterpiece from start to finish and a contender for the crown of best game on Wii.

 Loading video...

Naturally, you're the guy in the green tunic. Skyloft is your home, a floating island above the clouds. Skyloftians are linked from birth with a Loftwing, giant birds capable of carrying their riders skywards.

Birdie Song

Skyloft's populace is oblivious to the wider world below the clouds, the proto-Hyrule into which Zelda is dumped and into which Link must travel to recover her. From here, Link's true destiny begins to unfold: he's the chosen hero of the goddess and, with the help of his Skyward Sword, he must achieve spiritual awakening in order to triumph over a procession of ever greater evils.

With Wii Motion Plus in hand, most enemies can only be attacked from certain directons. Bokoblins, for example, will use their swords to defend on either their left or right flanks, requiring you to strike from the opposite side.

Click to view larger image
Almost every enemy in Skyward Sword requires a degree of forethought, but such is the clear design and animation of enemies that it rapidly becomes a reflex action. As the game progresses, more proficient enemies will parry attacks. Swipe at the sabre-wielding, shield-carrying Lizalfos from the wrong angle and he'll punish you for it, leading to some tense and technical swordplay.

Motion Plus controls permeate every inch of the game, whether through the remarkably precise and useful aiming of your bow, the pilotable, item-grabbing flying beetle or the ability to roll a bomb between an enemy's legs.

Errand Boy

Outside of the main quest, secondary characters shower you in odd jobs, fetch quests and rescue missions. An upgrade system, available in Skyloft's bustling bazaar, provides a constant and welcome distraction too, allowing you to improve most of your items, weapons and shields using treasure dropped by defeated foes.

Higher-level upgrades to some of the better items call for the use of rarer treasures - perfect cause for exploring every corner of every room. The ability to return to Skyloft from the surface at almost any time to carry out these side-quests amplifies the feeling of absolute freedom.

Item Get

Skyward Sword still follows the basic structure of discovering an item, using that item in a dungeon and finally encountering a boss with a peculiar weakness to the item you just discovered. The variety of these dungeons has been ramped up though. Gone are your conventional, room-based temples, replaced by increasingly weird, fascinating and wonderful locations.

There's so much more going on in between dungeons, too, that the usual pace of Zelda games becomes blurred by the many mini-dungeons, hidden paths and mysterious caves. The game races from new location to new location, giving you cool new toys that use Wii Motion Plus in interesting ways.

Some old items make a reappearance, such as your slingshot and bow, though by the game's close your inventory will be largely made up of strange and funky new gadgets. There's about 35 hours to be spent on Skyward Sword's main thread alone, and at least double that if you plan on dipping into the game's plentiful side-quests, collecting all of the insects, upgrading all of the items, and finding the Goddess Cubes (those being difficult-to-reach crates that, when struck, unlock treasure chests back up in the sky).

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

21 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. PureAwesomeness Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 09:42

    It looks like Skyward Sword is going to be one hell of a game. IGN gave it a 10, so that's saying something.

  2. taximadish Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 09:50

    Aw, thought it was going to be the first 99%!

    Not that that will make any difference on whether I believe it to be the best game ever or not :wink:

  3. 2Black4U Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 13:40

    I'm buying this on the Day, in Gamestation with Vouchers this game is gonna be Epic to play. Now all we need is a sequel to Majora's Mask...

  4. Ai64 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 15:51

    The best ever wii game in super 75th issue is shaping up to be a true legenday game.
    Can't wait to get it on christmas. In bundle! :D

  5. ganonkilla Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 16:28

    YEAH COME ON! BRINGIT, COMON!COME ON, SS YOU BEEUTEEFULL CREATURE

  6. bluelight Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 19:21

    @ONM Team, I sent a PM to tomONM that I need someone to answer me. It is about a spoiler that I read about SS ending. I really want to know if it is false or not because I have been very uncomfortable since and I really want to play the game without any spoilers. (spoilers courtesy of 4chan; I stumble them unknowingly). If someone of the staff can help me with this I would be very thankfull.

  7. ganonkilla Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 21:46

    CAN'T WAIT FOR THE LEGEND OF ZELDA SKYWARD SWORD ROLL ON YOU STUPID SEVEN-DAY PERIOD OF TIME

  8. CraigEmberson Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 03:15

    @ONM Team, I sent a PM to tomONM that I need someone to answer me. It is about a spoiler that I read about SS ending. I really want to know if it is false or not because I have been very uncomfortable since and I really want to play the game without any spoilers. (spoilers courtesy of 4chan; I stumble them unknowingly). If someone of the staff can help me with this I would be very thankfull.


    If you mean the "rumours" from the text dump that was ripped from the game files - It's actually true - All of that script is from the game (although words usually change in minor ways or some lines aren't used but the story it gave away is true).

  9. ThePokekid78 Wednesday 16th Nov 2011 at 20:09

    So I was looking through Skyward Sword reviews....ONM = 98%, Edge = 10/10, IGN = 10/10 (higher than Skyrim!!)
    Fine, fine
    Then I saw Gamespot.....7.5/10
    WHAAAAAA???
    Apparently the controls are annoying/cause problems, and it's too predictable?? Anyone have an opinion on that?

  10. CraigEmberson Friday 18th Nov 2011 at 08:24

    So I was looking through Skyward Sword reviews....ONM = 98%, Edge = 10/10, IGN = 10/10 (higher than Skyrim!!)
    Fine, fine
    Then I saw Gamespot.....7.5/10
    WHAAAAAA???
    Apparently the controls are annoying/cause problems, and it's too predictable?? Anyone have an opinion on that?


    Gamespot are always perfectionist and synical... Ignore them, it's their own review because they epected so much more on top of what was promised... They knew that before hand but were greedy for precisely what THEY wanted. Most reviews are the high end so that's more reliable. All I know is that the controls I've experienced are almost perfect...

  11. imbusydoctorwho Friday 18th Nov 2011 at 14:12

    So I was looking through Skyward Sword reviews....ONM = 98%, Edge = 10/10, IGN = 10/10 (higher than Skyrim!!)
    Fine, fine
    Then I saw Gamespot.....7.5/10
    WHAAAAAA???
    Apparently the controls are annoying/cause problems, and it's too predictable?? Anyone have an opinion on that?

    Gamespot aren't a great company to trust on reviews,especially when it comes to Nintendo games.
    As most of the time they under rate them.

  12. Jacen Wednesday 23rd Nov 2011 at 20:20

    It is very good, but there are some minor control issues. Constantly having to re-centre every time I go into a menu or use first-person is a little annoying. The rest of the game is so good, I can probably forgive it.

  13. Zeldakid Friday 25th Nov 2011 at 10:44

    IVE COMPLETED IT AND I MUST SAY IT WAS AT LEAST 50 HRS LONG AND I DIDN'T USE THE STRATEGY GUIDE BECAUSE I DON'T OWN ONE :L ALSO I DO AGREE IT IS POSSIBLY THE BEST LEGEND OF ZELDA GAME I'VE PLAYED SO FAR ROLL ON THE NEXT ONE!! :3

  14. PureAwesomeness Tuesday 29th Nov 2011 at 22:57

    HEY LISTEN!
    It's the G4TV deathmatch- The Legend of Zelda vs Batman: Arkham City
    Zelda is losing! Hopefully it won't stay on the losing side if every Zelda or Nintendo fan votes! So please, help us smash Batman out of the way and give way for SS! Surely if ONM had given SS such a high score, it would easily beat Batman? The answer is no. SS is still losing. So let us give all the Batman fans a hard fight!
    http://www.g4tv.com/vgdm/best-game-2011/vote/207/zeldaskywardsword-vs-batmanarkhamcity/
    VOTE NOW...and spread the word!!!

  15. Link_girl_28 Sunday 4th Dec 2011 at 21:31

    ROLL ON XMAS :!: :!: :!: :!: :!: :!:

  16. spacemen13 Wednesday 11th Jan 2012 at 19:49

    The BEST game ever. For xmas I got so many great games (spirit tracks, metroid prime 3) but I'm putting them aside. Boss battles are LEGENDARY, I love the goddess cubes idea its acutally makes flying around the sky have a purpose. And the cutscene are AMAZING, I'm still exicted even though I've had it since xmas!

  17. olrodlegacy Wednesday 22nd Feb 2012 at 12:59

    Do not agree that it is the best Zelda ever. Lacked the personality and depth of Wind Waker, and excluding Skyloft there were only 3 regions!
    There was also a huge opportunity missed with potential DS/3DS integration with a Tingle Tuner of sorts, a feature which made Wind Waker the perfect game. I struggle to see what it is that makes it better than Twilight Princess.

  18. benjymc Tuesday 6th Mar 2012 at 15:34

    Honestly, I thought the game was quite good because of the new feature of using the loftwings but as the game is based in the past there is something that didnt make much sense to me. :twisted: *SPOILER ALERT* :twisted:

    At the end of the game Fi says 'Hopefully we may meet in an other life' well as its set in the past, how come they do not meet in the following/later games? :?

    Anyway, thanks for the time tro read my post as this is my 1st Post and I wanted it to be on something awesome (A.K.A Zelda games)

  19. Ultrasnorlax Sunday 13th May 2012 at 19:50

    For once ONM, i completely disagree with you, skyward sword is terrible for a zelda game, of course it's a very good game but there's no denying it is the most disapointing zelda i have ever played. Ocarina Of Time and Majoras Mask are incredibly amazing, they have nastalga, they have memories, they have amazing music, they have many areas. A sacred land. A Evil man. A evil Maniac that will destroy a world of inocent people within 3 days. A terrifying moon. A iritating owl. A unique dark feel. Emotions; sadness, darkness, horrer, happiness. Spiritual stones. The 4 gods. A sea of wonder. A castle of evil. A field of wonder and mysteries. Islands full of mysteries. A instrument that can cahnge weather, time, emotions and telerpotation. A man who devours people's souls and creates masks. 4 Tribes, of a sacred land guarded by 4 sacred gods. a deku child, a deku father, a monsterous imp, a crying father, a deku tree. A couple. A marridge. A tingle, a middle aged creep, floating by a baloon.

    Do this review again and tell me if skyward sword has any of that, in skyward sword you are praticly a loner, there's no cults, lack of species, lack of evil characters and evil eneemies, a lack of a good ending. I find it extremely hard to imagine any of you think this is the best zelda, you guys are probably overating it because shigeru miyamoto said that if this wasn't the best zelda there would be no more zelda, well i'm not denying the truth, there's no doubt skyward sword is the most disapointing, overated zelda and playing it pretty much crushes my memorable moments with the gorons, zoras, the ikana, the deku, etc.

    Syward sword feels more like a fetch quest then anything fresh and exciting as you're coming up with. :(

  20. Wacko212 Friday 24th Aug 2012 at 08:44

    Never played a zelda game but 98% and my friend telling me how good it is
    I am so gonna get this game aswell as orcarnia of time :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :mrgreen:

  21. MissAliss Sunday 11th Nov 2012 at 16:45

    I love this game and the graphics are amiazing the music is brilliant. I am on the final fight with girahim any tips on how to defeat him

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.