Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Zelda Skyward Sword review scores higher than Ocarina Of Time 3D

Is Skyward Sword the best Zelda game ever? The internet says yes!

We said that Skyward Sword is the greatest Zelda game ever in our Legend Of Zelda Skyward Sword review and it seems that many people agree with us. Loads of Zelda Skyward Sword reviews were published on the internet this morning and it already has a higher average score than The Legend Of Zelda: Ocarina Of Time 3D, the remake of the game that many considered to be the greatest Zelda game of all time.

 Loading video...

The Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword currently has an average score of 95 on reviews aggregator site Metacritic while Ocarina Of Time 3D managed 94.

Click to view larger image
Here is a round-up of the review scores so far:

  • CVG: 9.8 - Link's latest is rule-breaking, dream-weaving, tech-loving, heart-soaring stuff. If it Wii's last hurrah, they don't come more impassioned than this.
  • Edge: 10/10 - How apt that this ultimate tale of hero-making should see Nintendo's hardware become the console it was always meant to be.
  • GamesRadar: 9/10 - A perfectly balanced mix of innovation and classic Zelda gameplay, Skyward Sword truly lives up to the Zelda legacy of excellence and offers the most variety of any Zelda game to date. Its swordplay and puzzles are some of the best in the series, and seeing Link and Zelda's first story chronologically is a treat for longtime fans.
  • The Guardian: 5/5 - Revolutionary on at least two counts, with the best motion controls ever seen in a video game and an inspired reinvention and improvement of the Zelda formula.
  • Wired: 10/10 - Exceptional visual design and music, reinvented Zelda gameplay, tons of content that doesn't get repetitive.
  • IGN: 10/10 - This is the Wii game we've been waiting for. Through all of the mini-games and odd sports collections, many wondered if and when Nintendo would ever find a way to deliver a deeper experience that still fulfilled on Wii's limitless potential. Skyward Sword makes good on that promise.
  • Metro: 10/10 - Revolutionary on at least two counts, with the best motion controls ever seen in a video game and an inspired reinvention and improvement of the Zelda formula.
  • Nintendo World Report: 10/10 - If you bought a Wii, you owe it to yourself to get this game right away. After all, isn't one-to-one swordplay what made us all excited about the Wii in the first place?
  • Joystiq: 4.5/5 - Somewhere within Skyward Sword slumbers the best Zelda game of all time. It is choked by a dozen hours of needless cruft; but it's there, a masterpiece entombed by a misguided ambition to be the lengthiest game in the franchise's history. It's still an incredible game, but it could have been the greatest game ever made, and the moments that keep it from doing so are absolutely going to break your heart.
  • Game Informer: 10/10 - hat fact alone makes Skyward Sword a title that every gamer should experience.
  • GamePro: 4/5 - A good, well-designed adventure that does much to redeem five years of motion controlled shovelware. When I look back on it, I think I'll mainly remember the combat -- not something I've ever said about a Zelda title
  • GiantBomb: 4/5 - For mostly better and only a little bit worse, Skyward Sword is the best Zelda game in years, and makes a strong case for motion controls when done right.
  • GamesTM: 9/10 - After twenty-five years and sixteen games, Nintendo celebrates Link's birthday with a breathtaking voyage through Hyrule with The Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword. It's the Zelda the Wii was made for.
  • 1UP: B+ - I believe this to be one of the more admirable chapters of the series, even if at times it feels the developers were unsure of which sacred cows to keep and which to sacrifice.

There are a lot of 10s in there! Legend Of Zelda: Skyward Sword will be released in the UK on Friday 18 November, the same day as Super Mario 3D Land. Which game are you most excited about Vote now in our Mario Vs Zelda poll.

[ Source: CVG ]

Comments

25 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. shy guy 64 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 11:59

    everybody says its good

    it going to be grat for those of who love zeldas no matter what

  2. Serebii Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 12:13

    I'm amused by EGM's reviewer who clearly is trying to play in a manner akin to the waggle of Twilight Princess, and then complaining that that doesn't work

  3. Sabrewulf Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 12:14

    I'm seriously excited about next Friday, this game will define the Wii experience. Just a shame it's taken this long...

  4. imbusydoctorwho Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 12:27

    This game makes me glad I've stick with Nintendo over the years.

    I wonder what Gamespot will give it?,I guess a 8.5.

  5. MartinIsAwesome Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 12:58

    I really hope that even though I've pre-ordered from Amazon I'll still get it by the weekend this time. It's going to suck if I have to wait a further five days for postal like I did with my 3SD and Ocarina of Time 3D.

  6. ninjafox Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 13:05

    Really pleased to see so many high scores for what is obviously going to be one of the greatest games over and will be rembered for years to come :D It really says something when the worst score the game has recieved so far is 4.5/5, which would normally be a decent score!

  7. wiill 64 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 13:42

    It might have taken it's time to get here but it looks like we'll finally have the game that the Wii was made for! Even though there are a lot of great games out for it, a lot of them could've been done as good as or better with a standard pad, but Skyward Sword looks set to be the first truly great game that motion controls benefit the gameplay.

  8. Ai64 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 15:42

    Pleased to see high and perfect scores. Game of the year I hope to see too?

  9. Missile T Dog Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 16:38

    Blimey charlie, well guess who's going to be bragging to his COD loving friends tommorow, me 8) I think it i really astonishing to have such a unified response, just reading them gave me a nice warm tingly feeling inside, oh why can't you be out right now :D

  10. Dan-the-Wii-man Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 17:05

    so annoyed that its metacritic rating is 1 lower than skyrim :evil: but ign gave SS 10 and skyrim 9.5 soooo... that what im going by (and of course onm's review :P)

  11. Jakesawakening Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 17:49

    Geez, It must be pretty good, Ocarina of Time has been my favorite game since it came out and it still is by a lot. So I'm sure Skyward Sword will live up to this title.

  12. Waldy565 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 18:33

    many 100% reviews! that's great to hear and will be even better to play

  13. ARWING64 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 19:46

    On IGN it beat Skyrim and CoD! :D

  14. Samster296 Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 19:48

    I can't wait for this game! Gonna be playing this 24/7 untill I complete it

  15. Otis P Jivefunk Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 20:29

    Too many low scores, but I'm pleased with the high ones!...

  16. IPecksU Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 20:48

    Shame that some reviewers lower scores due to lack of HD and use of motion control, even if skyward sword is supposedly beautiful with revolutionary motion controls, actually looking colourful and interesting is apparently not as good as looking almost kinda realistic. Oh and guns, people love guns.

  17. PureAwesomeness Friday 11th Nov 2011 at 23:33

    B+?! WAAAAHHH! YOU INSIGNIFICANT LOWLIFE!
    HOW DARE YOU GIVE SUCH A MEDIOCRE SCORE FOR ZELDA?! I am OUTRAGED! AHHHHH!
    *faints*

  18. CraigEmberson Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 03:35

    Shame that some reviewers lower scores due to lack of HD and use of motion control, even if skyward sword is supposedly beautiful with revolutionary motion controls, actually looking colourful and interesting is apparently not as good as looking almost kinda realistic. Oh and guns, people love guns.


    You would not believe how nice it is to hear someone say this... I love HD and new technology but it doesn't mean it has to be shoved in your face to get an amazing experience out of something. I have a 4 year old laptop but I'm happy with it still, I don't need a new one to enjoy it... HD is a resolution enhancement, that's all - People seem to think the graphics are "HD" but it's just the screen size and framerate that make it sharper. It also bugs me when people think the textures are "graphics"... Graphics are the polygons and 3D models, Art Style is the textures (digital imagery placed onto 3D polygonal models to give them their look - on a character in a game, it's known as a "skin"). It should be clear to people that when they play Skyward Sword, they can see the watercolour in the distance, pastel colours and literally you can see brush strokes in the distance on top of the water colour. It's based on impressionism and old art because Zelda is an old tale and is timeless... Some of it reminds me of cave paintings too and it fits the epic feel of it. When I played the demo, in motion, it's a perfect fit for the series and I really hope they consider the new 3DS game to feature a style similar to this - seeing as the 3DS has at least equal the power of the Wii and then some (don't mistaken power for capability - which the 3DS also has more of, just slightly different stuff).

  19. LuigisBrother Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 08:31

    Is it just me or do the Guardian and Metro say exactly the same thing. :?

  20. MrChewtoy Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 10:53

    Well you scored OoT 3D higher than it should have been anyway ONM.

  21. professor luke Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 19:28

    Please don't attack me with comments but...
    I Really don't like Zelda, same story each time blab blab blab, use the sword and shield blab blab blab, more reccuring themes blab blab blahhhhhhh
    [ :x

  22. professor luke Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 19:30

    Well you scored OoT 3D higher than it should have been anyway ONM.


    Finally somebody to agree with!

  23. MrChewtoy Saturday 12th Nov 2011 at 21:33

    Yeah, but it was still deserving of a high score, just not that high when compared to games such as Twilight Princess. And, while I'm not saying you have to like the Zelda series, your opinion of it seems a bit narrow minded.

  24. onm101 Sunday 13th Nov 2011 at 16:17

    It actually doesn't say that it's the best Zelda game ever, Ocarina of Time on the N64 is the #1 game of all time.

  25. Adam_Lloyd Monday 14th Nov 2011 at 05:17

    Is Skyward Sword the best Zelda game ever? The internet says yes!

    Actually, the 'internet' (if that's what we're calling Metacritic) says:

    Ocarina of Time (N64): 99
    Twilight Princess (GC): 96
    Wind Waker (GC): 96
    Majora's Mask (N64): 95
    Skyward Sword (Wii): 95
    Twilight Princess (Wii): 95
    Ocarina of Time (3DS): 94

    So... that's a joint third then? I look forward to forming my own opinion ;)

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.