Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Battalion Wars 2 Review

Incoming! At long last Nintendo takes the good fight online

It may feel like this game has been a long time coming but in fact that's simply not the case. Sure, it's arrived a good few months after it was intended to, but the delay was simply there to ensure that Nintendo's Wi-Fi Connection was in place. And that was a very important factor because it's the online multiplayer modes that transform Battalion Wars 2 into such a fantastic Wii experience.

BWii is the direct sequel to 2005's GameCube original, which was itself a home-console take on the critically acclaimed handheld Advance Wars series. The main difference was that Battalion Wars allowed you to lead your troops through

Click to view larger image
A sumptuous 3D world as opposed to commanding them with turn-based strategies. It looked and played really well but was screaming out for online gameplay, so as soon as work on the sequel began (which kicked off as soon as BW was finished), online multiplayer was the obvious priority. BWii is three years in the making then but has it been worth the wait?

On The Front Line

First things first, we should tell you what this game is all about. As the name suggests, you control a battalion of troops. These troops are divided into a vast array of different units that are divided into three main categories: land, air and naval. These range from various types of infantry, to tanks, bombers, choppers and submarines. In most situations you're able to directly control every unit's movements and behaviour. Your mission is to use your battalion in order to defeat the enemy.

As the story unwinds you'll make pacts with different armies and even travel back in time to take part in flashback missions, so you'll get to play out various different sides of the story. This in turn allows you to control a vast array of different units throughout the game.

Each one of your units has its own strengths and weaknesses. For example, a Bazooka Veteran is extremely effective against a Light Tank but is vulnerable to regular Grunts. Long-Range Artillery Tanks are devastating against Frigate Ships but they're sitting ducks in close-range combat. Defeating the enemy is all about mastering each unit and using them correctly.

Relationship Of Command

In order to do that, the game needs an accurate means of control. The original command system has been refined and now comes complete with pinpoint Wii Remote aiming. Your unit types are displayed along the bottom of the screen. You can cycle through them by tapping left and right on the D-pad. Tapping the A button will make that unit type 'wait' or 'follow' you, whoever you happen to be.

Click to view larger image
As well as aiming your sights and allowing you to look around, the Wii Remote is also your command cursor. Aiming at an enemy and tapping A will make your chosen unit type attack. If you want to go all-out simply select the 'All' icon before attacking and your entire battalion will let rip. The other extreme is also available. Pressing up on the D-pad will allow you to give commands to individual units within a unit type. This is particularly useful when some lowly grunts are low on energy and you want them to stay behind and man a gun placement.

If you're a sucker for planning out battles then the '-' button takes you to a bird's eye view of the battlefield where you can scope out the land and plan out exactly which troops you'll need and where you should be aiming for. The great thing about BWii is that you can be as all-out offensive or as strategic as you like. The winning formula, though, is somewhere in the middle.

Previous 1 2 Next page

Comments

58 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. Anonymous Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 11:01

    Coming from the same magazine who have "Girl Gamer" magazine.

    Also, Battallion Wars 2 clearly isn't that great if it hasn't received a single 90 or above percent review from anyway else. Real top games like Galaxy sell really well, not kinda good games like Battalion Wars 2.

  2. uster dog Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 12:30

    i'v just got home from gamestation with my copy :D i never played the gamecube game so i hope it plays as good as the first game :?: so WAR what is it good for :?: THE WII :!: :D :!: .

  3. Darksaber Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 13:02

    I've had my copy on pre-order for over a month and finally recieved it yesterday(one day before release :) ), so far I'm in two minds about it, on the one hand there's a nice array of different units, both new and old, and some of the levels look to have multiple paths, adding to replay value. On the other hand though, the controls for selecting and commanding units now seem rather fiddly, as do the controls for jumping and rolling. I'm also rather worried about the games lifespan, I've been playing for less than five hours yet I'm already around half-way through :( .
    Still, there are some good ideas here and I'm sure the game will grow on me as time goes on :D .

  4. shakesqueer Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 13:09

    can anyone tell me what the online aspects include and do you need friend codes cos that would suck .

  5. Charliebois Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 13:18

    I hope I'm not going to regret ordering this based on the review, as I know other mags and sites haven't given it great scores. There seems a big difference in view. Seems odd that it got higher than No More Heroes which has been rated so highly elsewhere. This isn't really my type of game but I wanted to try something news. If it is pants I won't be so trusting of ONM in future.

  6. stephen53 Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 18:05

    Help is it better on ds or wii? please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  7. Illume Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 19:05

    Help is it better on ds or wii? please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Battalion Wars and Advance Wars aren't the same series. Totally different games.

    I feel people are being too harsh on Bwii but I could only feel this way because I was such a fan of the original and the 2 year wait has heightened my anticipation of this game.
    Nonetheless, it's an excellent game.

    A bit too easy at times but still very interesting.

  8. john higgleton Friday 15th Feb 2008 at 20:23

    WHAT!!!!!!!!! this game deserves more than 90%
    93% at least!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!looks and plays really well.

  9. mattyboy Saturday 16th Feb 2008 at 12:09

    the controls arn't bad, if all your men pegged it in all directions, they would be easy pickinhs by an grunt/tank, also collecting them up again would be bad.
    You have to stick together to win, how many armies have you seen running in all directions?
    Bwii is better than LOZ TP in difficulty, graphics, evrything apart from length. 94%

  10. Javman05 Saturday 16th Feb 2008 at 12:47

    ive just bought this and had a quick blast on the very first mission which seemed pretty good. believe what they say about the graphics, although ive only played the first mission, the graphics are absolutely incredible!! are developers finally realising the power of the wii, i hope so. i havent played the original on the cube and i must admit was very scpertical to see what score onm would give it after it received blanket coverage in the mag but so far so good.
    to think i had madden 08 in my hand when i noticed that this was out, hopefully made the right choice!!

  11. Bing Saturday 16th Feb 2008 at 21:31

    i got it today!! Although im also in two minds: the scenarios are amazingly beautiful (as is the water) and the unit models are great, but i think the animations of for example the taking over of an enemy dock, are really choppy and its dissapointing they couldnt have spent a little more time perfecting these small annoyances xD
    Also, it doesnt seem that long, much shorter than the gamecube version :cry: ive been playing a short time and im already 30% through!! But, BUT!!! this can all be forgiven with the great online play :D even without voice chat, its still extremely fun (but very challenging...or maybe i just suck xD) and will keep me entertained for a long while ^.^

  12. Twilit-Triforce Saturday 16th Feb 2008 at 22:38

    I got it yesterday not having played the first one and I really like it :D I love campaign and for one of the first times in ages i find myself getting stuck at some missions (flashback 2 mainly) But what i really love is wi-fi assault because at the moment a lot of people are quite easily beaten which means a quick star on my profile :twisted:

  13. bishop x Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 14:27

    I must admit that the game is really good. I've never played the first so I don't know weather or not it is any better. But I can't help but think that it should have a standard multiplayer mode. The online mode is good but I think having an assault match with my little bro would have hightened the fun alot more. And I cant decide weather an RPG element in the game would have made it any better or not.

  14. super.james Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 19:29

    ive got it but i did think it would be better

  15. Anonymous Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 21:35

    Is it better than medal of honor heroes 2?

  16. Matty Dude Sunday 17th Feb 2008 at 21:41

    Im not decided on whether to get a copy of BWii, i mean the game looks great and im a big fan of the Advance Wars series (even though the two are not the same) but its the controls being so called fiddly that put me off! but then i suppose you dont know how they are gonig to be unless you have played it.

  17. Broken_Angel Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 10:07

    fantastic game, but did anyone else feel it was too short and too easy? ive only had it since friday and ive already cleared 80% of the game. considering i only have a few hours between work and uni in which to play....

  18. Anonymous Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 11:00

    this game is amazing but when i go online it disconnects from server and its really annoying so now i cant play wi fi :evil: :x

  19. super.james Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 11:22

    Im not decided on whether to get a copy of BWii, i mean the game looks great and im a big fan of the Advance Wars series (even though the two are not the same) but its the controls being so called fiddly that put me off! but then i suppose you dont know how they are gonig to be unless you have played it.

    The controls are not fiddle i don't know y onm said tht cos they are easy 2 use so u should buy it unless u don't want a very short game

  20. Andre Peaface Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 12:53

    Really great game, bought it last week... Let's hope it gets the sales it deserves!!

  21. penfolderboulder Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 16:10

    This game is so good! I got it on saturday (as soon as i could) and I havn't stopped playing it until now. I have yet to play Wi-Fi, I didnt want to try it until I finished the main game. I actually like the controls, I wouldnt say they were hard to use, but that is completely different when it comes to controling the fighters :shock:

    I hope the sales for this game go shooting up :D more people to shoot down in wi-fi 8)

    well done on this game :)

  22. TOM BOM BADIL Monday 18th Feb 2008 at 20:54

    dead gd
    graphics are incredible
    i have a feeling the campiagn is going to be quite short looking ast where i am but it plays amazin and the online play is mint i love it!!!

    pm for codes for it :D :D :D :D

  23. wiilovewii Tuesday 19th Feb 2008 at 09:05

    Im happy BWii managed to snag a gold award but its *slightly* underated :(. Its the best Wi-Fi game on the wii, at least 94%, online play is so da best! :D

  24. Icarus_Kid Tuesday 19th Feb 2008 at 10:18

    i like this game worth the buy
    but no more heroes 88%?!
    the reviews i've seen for NMH have all been good, over 90 at least, nd so wat if santa destroy is deserted, u did the same the to medal of honor, ur a bit too much judgemental on faults

  25. wii_underworld Tuesday 19th Feb 2008 at 17:01

    Um, is it ok if I buy this now and get Zack & Wiki for my birthday?

  26. Chaos_Absolute Tuesday 19th Feb 2008 at 19:51

    This is a really good, enjoyable game I will admit that. However as you have already stated the controls are a bit fiddly at times and get a bit of getting used to like most games.

    BUT!! I have a big complaint about it, there is no local multiplayer!! What's with that? We're given lots of online multiplayer options, but no local multiplayer?? I was looking forward to playing some of the co-op modes with my brother, however that's not going to happen now and you haven't mentioned the fact that there is no local multiplayer in your review.

    One more minor gripe is that although the graphics are really good, the draw distance isn't very far.

  27. Bruiser Tuesday 19th Feb 2008 at 20:49

    It's a great game some of the graphics are beautifull, Control fighters can be ahrd at times, but i'd say the rest is pretty top knotch.

    One thing i would have liekd to ahve seen is SplitScreen Gameplay, Me and my bro can't battle with or against eachother :(

    Havn't got a router so i can't go online, but im sure it will be a great experiance.

  28. Kane69 Wednesday 20th Feb 2008 at 20:13

    i bought this on Tuesday 19th and OMG it lived up to my expectations and dreams the controls are so simple yet seemingly complicated and has definitely lived up to the greatest wii graphics so far surpassing mario galaxy and even metroid prime 3 (i know i have them both) the online is sickeningly amazing and must be better than the online of mario strikers making this game in my opinion one of the greatest wii games so far (Of course it will never beat SUPER SMASH BRAWL NOTHING CAN!!!!!!!) nothing can stop it not even batman but back on track Battalion will be endless fun and obviously will become a nintendo classic as the years go by

  29. Anonymous Friday 22nd Feb 2008 at 10:14

    Does anyone know if you can control individual soldiers like shoot with them run and so on

  30. super.james Friday 22nd Feb 2008 at 12:46

    this game is gd but i think its a 85% to me cos the little trailers at the begging of each lvl is boring

  31. Sgtsarge Saturday 23rd Feb 2008 at 08:28

    Im not sure whether to spend my money on No More Heroes or Battalion wars 2. Id buy Battalion wars for the online play and No More Heroes for it's originality and lightsaber swinging action.

  32. bloodtyrant666 Saturday 23rd Feb 2008 at 14:19

    i just got it and its amazing but my friend says it has major flaws wich is just so wrong

  33. Blobthedie Sunday 24th Feb 2008 at 11:40

    If your not sure wether to buy this or not, take it from me. It's worth the money just to fly the gunship.
    If you buy it from amazon you could save about a tenner.

  34. FightThePower Sunday 24th Feb 2008 at 11:47

    Score is pretty much spot on here. I don't see why other reviewers have rated this lower than the original, the controls work better on GC true, but this version has better graphics, is even more hectic than before with more depth and has online multiplayer.

    Not as great as Zack and Wiki, Prime 3 or Galaxy but definately worth the cash.

  35. GrimReaper Sunday 24th Feb 2008 at 19:19

    The moment I started playing it sucked me in and refused to let go with its fantastic gameplay, visuals and the best online play on the Wii. A classic.

  36. johndfernley Monday 25th Feb 2008 at 17:08

    Also, Battallion Wars 2 clearly isn't that great if it hasn't received a single 90 or above percent review from anyway else. Real top games like Galaxy sell really well, not kinda good games like Battalion Wars 2.

    other magazines often get it wrong :roll:

  37. john higgleton Wednesday 27th Feb 2008 at 15:41

    this game is amazin!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    it deserves 93% at the lowest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  38. Brado Wednesday 27th Feb 2008 at 17:39

    this is one hell of a game, awsome campaign, great online, shame theres no free play mode though.

  39. Anonymous Wednesday 27th Feb 2008 at 17:58

    i was playin my friends battalion wars and i found it awsome the game play is great and it has some really cool features. i love this game and i am getting it for myself

  40. Tiki Thursday 28th Feb 2008 at 18:52

    At first I was a little worried about the length of the game, I'm a complete novice and was 50% through it after 5 Hours. However, the Wi-fi is why you should buy the game. That really put my skills to the test more than the campaign as I was playin an intelligent person who did not send his infantry out in easy to defeat waves. Well done nintendo, great game!

  41. dragon2s6 Tuesday 4th Mar 2008 at 20:16

    I also pretty much agree mainly becaus eof the WiFi. Alhtough I haven't even got A for every mission yet alone an S, the length is an issue.

    The assault mode on WiFi has to be the best and the mode that lasts the longest.

  42. 13th Nightmare Saturday 15th Mar 2008 at 20:36

    I got a copy of it today. I've only played it for about an hour, but I am impressed with the game. I can see myself going back to the campaign mode again and again, just to get an S rank on each of the missions.

  43. JimBarrUK Friday 21st Mar 2008 at 17:50

    :D
    i got this a few days ago
    and i realy do like it

  44. evaz10n Sunday 13th Apr 2008 at 14:20

    To be completely honest, I thought that it was an absolute huge dissapointment.

  45. x-man2000 Tuesday 13th May 2008 at 21:19

    I loved it (never played the first one though), but the lack of checkpoints in the levels is annoying. I started playing this again the other day (having not been on it since NMH came out) and wondered why I ever stopped.

  46. lkiam Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 18:54

    in the first game you could order your troops forward. Why have they taken this out in bwii :?: :x

  47. lkiam Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 18:59

    Does anyone know if you can control individual soldiers like shoot with them run and so on

    You do, how haave you got past mission one without knowing this u r so dumb :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

  48. lkiam Tuesday 20th May 2008 at 19:00

    Does anyone know if you can control individual soldiers like shoot with them run and so on

    You do, how haave you got past mission one without knowing this u r so dumb :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

  49. Kolo67 Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 17:39

    I bought issue 27 of the magazine, and instantly read the review for Battalion Wars 2, and 3 months after Begging my mum for it, she let me buy it! (with my money of course. No seriously, My money) I really like it, and the style of gameply and stunning visials make this a difnate must have(although some people may find it a little short). :D :shock: 8)

  50. Kolo67 Saturday 28th Jun 2008 at 17:41

    I bought issue 27 of the magazine, and instantly read the review for Battalion Wars 2, and 3 months after Begging my mum for it, she let me buy it! (with my money of course. No seriously, My money) I really like it, and the style of gameply and stunning visials make this a difnate must have(although some people may find it a little short). :D :shock: 8)

  51. MyElement Tuesday 9th Sep 2008 at 08:43

    I think that this game is great. The game play both on and offline is fantastic. Even though the controls are just a wee bit fiddly when you first start they are quite easy to pick up after a few hours practise. The graphics (by wii standards) are very good, perhaps not as good as Mario Galaxy but still good enough to enhance the pleasure of playing this. Im not just trying to justify my purchase this is a genuinely good game. Well done Nintendo! :D

  52. Koopa Troopa Thursday 16th Oct 2008 at 07:52

    I agree with this review as this game is the best on the Wii!!!

  53. andrewwsmith Saturday 25th Oct 2008 at 21:29

    this sould not have a gold award the contols are bad and the story gets boring very easily & no multiplayer this should have 70-80%

  54. Kolo67 Tuesday 2nd Dec 2008 at 20:04

    this sould not have a gold award the contols are bad and the story gets boring very easily & no multiplayer this should have 70-80%

    You have the wrong game. It does have multyplayer(even if not split screen), and the story is ok, but it is not all about the story. And you can calibrate and have different options to make the controls esier.

  55. Kolo67 Thursday 4th Dec 2008 at 14:00

    I agree with this review as this game is the best on the Wii!!!

    You are right...almost.
    I completely agree that it is a really good game, but I have to say that Mario Kart and Metroid Prime 3 are vetter. Not by much, but better.

  56. lol95 Tuesday 30th Dec 2008 at 16:17

    This game is awesome I hope the series continues as I am addicted!

  57. Ghostmaker Friday 1st May 2009 at 16:16

    :D a decent game, with beautiful visuals and a decent online multiplayer!! brilliant!!
    and PM me for my friend code guys :roll:

  58. Super Link Aran Wednesday 20th May 2009 at 10:12

    I wouldn't even say that the story's short. I may just be useless but at least 4 missions took me about 3 tries to just do them. And then you gotta go back and do them well.
    I haven't even gotten good enough for online yet so I think this could have a fantastic lifespan.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.