Official Nintendo Magazine

Log in to access exclusive Nintendo content, win prizes and post on our forums. Not a member yet? Join for free

Destroy All Humans: Big Willy Unleashed Review

And here's one they made in five minutes

Crypto, the lead character, is a funny alien. His bad-ass attitude compliments his taste for destruction, human brains and general carnage. His previous games were innovative, funny and enjoyable. Unfortunately though, Cryto's lost his mojo.

In Big Williy Unleashed, Crypto must help stop rebels from exposing Pox, Crypto's superior and mentor, who has got into the fast food business, selling the meat of murdered humans to unsuspecting customers in his thriving establishment, The Big Willy restaurant.

You're set free into an open-world urban environment in which you complete objectives for Pox, while killing humans and fighting off police retaliation. It's a sort of wacky take on Grand Theft Auto.

Click to view larger image
The controls find any excuse to use the Remote, regardless of whether it's beneficial to do so. You move Crypto with the Nunchuk, while guiding the camera with the pointer. You can grab people and objects with Crypto's mind powers and throw them with a lunging gesture on the Remote. You tilt the Remote to steer Cryto's flying saucer, but you'd have an easier time steering a car with a wind sail.

Beam Us Up

That's not all. Yet again Wii owners are faced with a third-party developer that's put no effort whatsoever into the visual side of things. The game boasts the most basic and dull pallet of pastel colours we've seen on the Wii, and the textures are so low-res and blurry it's almost funny.

The whole game just feels so cheap and nasty that it's almost insulting. It seems that all production values were lost in the crossover to Locomotive Games from the series' previous developers, Pandemic Studios. This really isn't worth any of your time or money.

Comments

52 comments so far...
Add a comment

  1. ploiper Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:03

    im suprised by this. i realy am. i thought this could turn out to be a decent game. how wrong i was.

  2. mightyjake Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:11

    I was actually thinking about getting this game, the last couple for ths ps2 were good. Bit of a shame.

  3. Anonymous Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:18

    eeerrrrrrr, the graphics look horrible

  4. Doclector Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:18

    *sigh* I had a feeling that the 'Destroy all humans' series couldn't survive it's difficult third outing. I love both games on the ps2, but I just knew that it couldn't do a third. This feeling started right after I finished laughing at the innuendo-tastic title. I hope pandemic learns from this and pulls it together for a fourth.

  5. Turkey Toad Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:24

    Just imagine if aliens come to our planet, and this is the first game they play. They'd get such a bad impression....

  6. Anonymous Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:27

    what? :shock: i'm a massive fan of Destroy All Humans games; the previous two on ps2 were really good. but it sounds like they've screwed this'n up. :( i suppose it'd only be good for crypto's attitude and the mindless destruction. :P and about the graphics, i'm suprised as the graphics for DAH2 were pretty good for a ps2 game.

  7. _chadd Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:37

    I had the first Destroy All Humans on Xbox and it was easily my favourite game. I had to get an invincibility cheat to complete it, but I enjoyed it immensely. I must say, I am really disappointed. I was looking forward to this game quite a lot.

  8. wii_underworld Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:39

    Another game from your Hot 100 feature a few issues back that failed to live up to expectations. Not to the same extent a WWE, mind, you were planning to rate that at like 101% or something...

  9. Asteroid Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 16:49

    The graphics look worse than the origanal...

  10. Kamizoroe Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:00

    This is basically a PSP game ported to the Wii. Kinda like POTC. Good times.

    At least Path of the Furon will be good.

  11. Icarus_Kid Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:02

    lol good review
    rip the game apart before it has a chance eh?
    but u do know, that most wii owners (which are causal gamers saddly) will buy this game like morrons

  12. Reisen Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:12

    That's the first time i've clicked on a screenshot at the end of a review, just to see if the larger image is really that bad looking..

    Im almost glad my laptop refused to display it now..

  13. peter337 Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:20

    I was actually thinking about getting this game, the last couple for ths ps2 were good. Bit of a shame.

    I agree. I game I might actually want is mucked up again by 3rd party developers.

  14. MilkyBarKid Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:21

    It looks like a PS1 game...

  15. Shaun2005 Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:31

    Shame as I was looking forward to this game.

  16. mollyontour Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 17:50

    im not surprised really, the first one was brilliant and highly enjoyable the second one seemed to drag on and well im guessing the third was really just a lacklusture attempt of getting something from a dying game.
    how unfortunate

  17. killercelibi Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 18:46

    Always looking for a good time too say this, I spit' in yer' genral direction! i wish i'd read this review before buying not after.. darn it!!!

  18. speedifist Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 18:51

    *sigh* I really thought after two stunning games for the PS2/Xbox, Pandemic could rally get their act together and make a brilliant experience utilizing the wii, but no, we get a horrible PS2 port while our next-gen cousins get a better version, im sick of hand-me-down PS2 ports with rushed, gimmicky controls, people are begginning to abuse the wii and take it forgranted.

  19. my mario box Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 19:19

    OK... WTF happened here?

    The other games were good, and yet this isn't good. I've seen import versions and the visuals are so crap, "I can't tell a face from an ass!" (Reference to "Resident Evil WUN!" on YouTube

  20. wiivil Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 20:20

    Big Willy Unleashed? seriously?

  21. Mrlizard Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 20:28

    *sigh* I really thought after two stunning games for the PS2/Xbox, Pandemic could rally get their act together and make a brilliant experience utilizing the wii, but no, we get a horrible PS2 port while our next-gen cousins get a better version, im sick of hand-me-down PS2 ports with rushed, gimmicky controls, people are begginning to abuse the wii and take it forgranted.

    It was developed by another team, I believe.

  22. Donal Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 20:35

    Why must every decent game series be ruined? My suggestion to kill off this series in Akerjlg's "Kill of a series with style" thread could be more fun.

  23. Maul-your-ass Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 20:42

    Usually I read ONm reviews to give me a general idea of the game but it doesn't usually put me off if i realy want the game.

    I loved the sandbox style of the first 2, but this is one of the few reviews that has actually stopped me from buying a game.

  24. Akerjlg Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 20:54

    The first game is never really going to be topped.

    It seemed so special as well.

  25. Gordon Ramsey Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 21:54

    Never was interested in this game anyway. So what?

  26. uster dog Thursday 6th Mar 2008 at 22:38

    :lol: well it sounds to me like...."CRYPTOS gone CRAPTO" and why would anyone want the "POX" :?: they should "ARSE PROBE" the people responsible :lol: .

  27. speedifist Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 07:34

    *sigh* I really thought after two stunning games for the PS2/Xbox, Pandemic could rally get their act together and make a brilliant experience utilizing the wii, but no, we get a horrible PS2 port while our next-gen cousins get a better version, im sick of hand-me-down PS2 ports with rushed, gimmicky controls, people are begginning to abuse the wii and take it forgranted.

    It was developed by another team, I believe.

    hmmm, i suppose thats not always a bad thing, but this team must have taken something. Infinity Ward took over the Call of Duty series for Modern Warfare, and it was one of the best games in the series, however, the people behind CoD 3(the worst game in the series) are taking over the 5th, and its *sigh* set in WW2...again

  28. ACRID Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 12:35

    I'm not surprised I never had high hopes for this game, the graphics are disgusting, I'd expect better on a WiiWare title.

  29. Ignatius_P Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 14:01

    Usually I read ONm reviews to give me a general idea of the game but it doesn't usually put me off if i realy want the game.

    I loved the sandbox style of the first 2, but this is one of the few reviews that has actually stopped me from buying a game.

    I would take a look at some of the other reviews out there, although they're far from glowing, they haven't slated it as much as ONM - whether this is fair or not, I can't say as I haven't played.

    Generally the majority of reviewers were most critical about it - is that Big willy is virtually identical to the other two installments, whereas they're pulling out all the stops for the 360/PS3 DAH.

  30. jobiwan Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 17:55

    suddenly ninja bread man is looking more like a purchase than ever before,

  31. GlobboTwilight Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 18:12

    lol good review
    rip the game apart before it has a chance eh?
    but u do know, that most wii owners (which are causal gamers saddly) will buy this game like morrons

    Thats unfortuantly is why 3rd party (or something) make such crap wii games

    Just let Ninty make em I say

  32. Yoshi Dude Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 18:54

    One word.....Oh, for heavens sake its not worth the effort :cry:

  33. GrimReaper Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 18:57

    Such a shame when the last two were so good. When the first DOH! game came out it was original, interesting, hilarious and fun to play. I guess you can probably blame that on the fact its not developed by Pandemic studios anymore.

  34. Warimaniac Friday 7th Mar 2008 at 22:16

    I thought that this would work quite well on the Wii because of the innovative uses of the remote. But instead, it turned out to be another rubbishy third-party game, where the developers couldn't be bothered to make it the same class as they would with the PS3 or the Xbox 360! It really is a serious traversty!!!

  35. EDisney Saturday 8th Mar 2008 at 16:25

    I thought 1 and 2 were good. The storlines were alright, it was funny, it was very fun to play and the graphics were ok for a PS2 game.

    But this just looks rubbish! :(

    I hate when games get ruined because they are developed by other companies.

  36. gamecube145 Saturday 8th Mar 2008 at 17:10

    I am going to up to the designers building and just before they have there lunch breaks, pee in all the drinks in sight.

  37. neeteson Saturday 8th Mar 2008 at 22:58

    PLEASE DONT READ THIS. YOU WILL GET KISSED ON THE NEAREST POSSIBLE FRIDAY BY THE LOVE OF YOUR LIFE. TOMORROW WILL BE THE BEST DAY OF YOUR LIFE. HOWEVER IF YOU DONT POST THIS COMMENT TO AT LEAST 3 VIDEOS YOU WILL DIE WITHIN 2 DAYS. NOW UV STARTED READIN DIS DUNT STOP THIS IS SO SCARY. SEND THIS OVER TO 5 VIDEOS IN 143 MINUTES WHEN UR DONE PRESS F6 AND UR CRUSHES NAME WILL APPEAR ON THE SCREEN IN BIG LETTERS. THIS IS SO SCARY BECAUSE IT ACTUALLY WORKS

  38. colemanbenjamin Sunday 9th Mar 2008 at 08:25

    The second 1 was the best the first one was pretty funny but a bit short, I was actualy going to buy this yesterday... lucky i chose not to cos it looks crap! :twisted:

  39. Dancingcyberman Sunday 9th Mar 2008 at 11:03

    Guy's, this isn't the 3rd game, Path of the Forun is. Big Willy Unleashed is infact a spin-off. ;)

  40. FLIPPY16 Sunday 9th Mar 2008 at 16:21

    im going 2 get such a bashing for this but i think this game's good. Its hilarious alot of the time, mostly due to pox, and i know the visuals arnt going to blow your mind but there not as terrible as other games on the console, Driver im looking at you! The story line is also preety good and it has a charachter called Mr. Pork!. Im certainly not saying its perfect cause its not by a long way. its let down by the controls for the ship and big willy. The foot controls work fine once you get used to them and its easy to throw people and cars after a while. I have to ask you not to slag it off to much unless youve played it for a while, onm is only here to give you a little help in buying games by steering u in the right direction but if you have been looking forward to this game, or like the others in the series, them go ahead and buy it cause its a good game belive it or not.

  41. super.james Sunday 9th Mar 2008 at 16:46

    man this game looks terrible its probely will sell like 50,000 copies and thts since some ppl who don't buy nintendo magazines and they don't have internet

  42. Deaniosevil4 Sunday 9th Mar 2008 at 18:07

    thats a surprise i thought it would be good.

  43. bobie509 Sunday 9th Mar 2008 at 21:09

    im still going to get it because i have seen game play videos that look amazing

  44. White1Hunter Tuesday 11th Mar 2008 at 13:20

    Big Willy Unleashed? seriously?

    :lol:

  45. slangman Wednesday 12th Mar 2008 at 16:30

    Great another PS2/PSP port. I said it once and i will say it again, if i wanted to play a PS2 game i would play it on my PS2 NOT on my Wii.

    More effort in graphics please. :roll:

    Sadly i have a feeling its gonna sell due to all the crap games for the Wii rising in sales. :(

  46. mario-9 Wednesday 12th Mar 2008 at 19:54

    It's a shame I've played it on the ps2 and it was gr8 but it doesn't look as good is it worth buying?

  47. scizorset Saturday 15th Mar 2008 at 14:25

    :x What happened? Destroy all Humans used to be really good. Why has destroy all humans become this bad. I blame the new developers. They messed up BIG time! I'm a huge fan of DAH but I am definitely not buying this. Message to new developers. Congratulations, you messed up one of the best game series of all time. I hope you're happy! I want pandemic to make the next game. At least they knew what they were doing!

  48. 13david3 Friday 28th Mar 2008 at 20:27

    i disagree with your rating it should be around 50-70
    its a cool game and it would noy look the same on the 64 it would lok worst idf it was :wink: :wink: :wink:

  49. go4it Thursday 15th May 2008 at 15:10

    It's good really

  50. jster99 Tuesday 2nd Jun 2009 at 16:17

    i have got this game and the graphics are much better and the game is brilliant. 90 percent at least

  51. Rabbid_girl Sunday 21st Mar 2010 at 13:09

    Is it me or is there just something slightly strange about the title Big willy unleashed? sounds like a game for my brother!!! :mrgreen:

  52. mariostar6 Sunday 2nd May 2010 at 18:09

    Dear god I just cant stand these tacky alien invasion games, why dont they make a game were humans and gay lil aliens join forces to fight.

Register or log in to commment
Add a comment
Nintendo Co., Ltd. is the owner of certain copyright which subsists and trade marks and other intellectual property rights in certain content, characters, artwork, logos, scripts and representations used in this publication. All rights are expressly recognised and they are used by Future Publishing Limited under licence © 2006 Nintendo Co., Ltd. All rights reserved. "Nintendo", "International Nintendo Licensed Product" "Nintendo DS", "Nintendo DS Lite", "Nintendo DSi", "Nintendo 3DS", "Nintendo DSi XL", "Nintendo 3DS XL", "Wii" and "Wii U" and the associated logos are the trademarks of Nintendo Co. Ltd. All rights reserved.